Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum!
This is the film that started my love affair with films starring the so-called 'Frat Pack' (Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson et al).
A parody of the male modelling world, there are some truly hilarious moments of the film - for example, when Zoolander and Hansel act like apes when trying to figure out how to turn the computer on, David Duchovny's cameo as a hand model and...
Published on 19 July 2005 by Rowena

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Absurd, Flawed, but Enjoyable
This is a film that had great potential but, for me at least, never quite hit the mark. There are some wonderfully daft moments and I'll definitely watch it again.

Absurdly, my most enjoyable thing about this DVD is Will Ferrell's Mugatu dance on the DVD extras menu. It's also worth mentioning that Derek Zoolander started the Onesie. Okay, he didn't but we can...
Published 7 months ago by AndyO


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum!, 19 July 2005
This review is from: Zoolander [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is the film that started my love affair with films starring the so-called 'Frat Pack' (Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson et al).
A parody of the male modelling world, there are some truly hilarious moments of the film - for example, when Zoolander and Hansel act like apes when trying to figure out how to turn the computer on, David Duchovny's cameo as a hand model and the school "For Kids Who Can't Read Good". The scene in the petrol station alone is worth buying the DVD for.
When I first watched the DVD I was laughing uncontrollably. Stiller, as Zoolander, provides instructions on how to work the menu. There is a satisfactory Easter Egg hidden within the Special Features menu, as Stiller says "For all you Internet geeks that search the Web for these things" (I'm one of them).
I really cannot fault this DVD. The film is extremely funny, and all the extras do not disappoint. If you have seen and enjoyed any of the Frat Pack's films, then this one won't let you down either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Really, really ridiculously good DVD", 26 Aug 2004
This review is from: Zoolander [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson are back again in this hilarious insight into the male modelling profession. Derek Zoolander (Stiller), a veteran model, finds himself faced with a rival rookie model in the form of Hansel (Wilson). Not only this, but Derek finds himself wound up in fashion designer Mugatu's (Will Ferrell) plan to kill the Prime Minister of Malaysia.
As you can tell, this film is not to be taken seriously and all thoughts of realism should be left behind before you press play. 'Zoolander' has a great array of characters, each with their own comedic style and a certain amount of quirkiness. That said, the character of Matilda (Taylor) leaves me slightly cold, but the others more than make up for it, not to mention the endless stream of cameos.
'Zoolander' is a great comedy film which hints that-just maybe-there could be more to the male modelling profession than being "really, really ridiculously good looking". I recommend you check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love you Zoolander!, 9 Oct 2005
This review is from: Zoolander [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is the funniest film I have ever seen - and Ive seen it about twenty times! Ben Stiller is hilarious as Derek Zoolander and Owen Wilson perfects his dumb blond routine in this great comedy that is miles better then Meet the Parents and Dodgeball. If you like screwball comedies, Ben, Owen or a great satirical look at the world of fashion and fame then Zoolander is for you. Plus there's loads of star cameos and funny dvd extras! I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 18 July 2004
This review is from: Zoolander [VHS] [2001] (VHS Tape)
Any film with ben stiller and owen wilson has to be above just average. they work so well together and are both really great acters. the film itself does have an unusual story line but does hold interest through out, along with much comedy. this is a very funny film! when i got this film i picked it up cheap so i hav nothing to regret anyway but i also didnt have a clue what it wa about. basicly to models go head to head in the modeling industry, and winner is chosen and later the loser is hypnotised so he'd kill some guy when he hears the song 'relax'. Please, atleast rent this film, its suitable for family viewing and im sure you'd love this film from the first watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum!, 19 July 2005
This review is from: Zoolander [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is the film that started my love affair with films starring the so-called 'Frat Pack' (Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson et al).
A parody of the male modelling world, there are some truly hilarious moments of the film - for example, when Zoolander and Hansel act like apes when trying to figure out how to turn the computer on, David Duchovny's cameo as a hand model and the school "For Kids Who Can't Read Good". The scene in the petrol station alone is worth buying the DVD for. Vince Vaughn makes a fleeting appearance, although it took me a while to recognise him under all the soot!
When I first watched the DVD I was laughing uncontrollably. Stiller, as Zoolander, provides instructions on how to work the menu. There is a satisfactory Easter Egg hidden within the Special Features menu, as Stiller says "For all you Internet geeks that search the Web for these things" (I'm one of them).
I really cannot fault this DVD. The film is extremely funny, and all the extras do not disappoint. If you have seen and enjoyed any of the Frat Pack's films, then this one won't let you down either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can a man with no brain save the world?, 2 Dec 2003
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zoolander [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I am a big fan of zany comedies with far-out premises that aren't very realistic (such as the Airplane and the Naked Gun movies). The more oddball the better, as long as it's done right. These comedies are hard to do, however, and very easy to mess up.
When I first heard of Zoolander, I thought it was supposed to be a more mainstream comedy, though the premise sounded a bit outlandish. I never really made the time to see it, however. That changed when I caught it on a local movie channel recently, and I was riveted to the screen. Zoolander is a farce about the fashion industry. It is also one of the most hilarious movies I've seen in a long time.
Derek Zoolander (Ben Stiller) is the hottest model in the business, having won the VH-1 "Male Model of the Year" award for the last three years. However, this year he's beaten by the up-and-comer Hansel (Owen Wilson). On top of that, Time magazine has branded him an idiot for certain actions Derek did at the awards show (not to mention the fact that he truly is an idiot). Derek decides to retire and return to his family, coal miners in New Jersey. This doesn't work either, though.
Meanwhile, the new Prime Minister of Malaysia has promised to raise the minimum wage, ending the fashion industry's source of cheap labour. The secret coalition of fashion designers that has been behind every major world calamity for the last 200 years decides that this can't happen. Whenever they need a patsy, they get a model. So Mugatu, the visible head of this group, decides that he has the perfect idiot, er, man for the job. He calls Derek out of retirement to headline his new "Derelicte" line of clothing, and when the Prime Minister is in attendance at the opening, Derek will kill him.
Joined by Matilda Jeffries (Christine Taylor), the reporter that besmirched his name, and his rival model Hansel, Derek must stumble...I mean, Derek must stop this insidious plan before it can come to fruition. In the meantime, he learns that not everything is about good looks (though they certainly are the most important).
Stiller does an outstanding job as Derek Zoolander, the model with the trim waistline and the brain to match. I have often thought of Stiller as a funny guy in more conventional comedies, but here he is at his zany best. He plays stupid very well, making the character immensely likeable even as we groan at some of the things he does or says. We really do care about what happens to him. I felt for him when he made his mistake at the Fashion Awards and saw the subsequent issue of Time magazine. He really does have a good heart, even though he doesn't know how to demonstrate it.
Owen Wilson is classic as Hansel. I've been a big fan of his since Shanghai Noon, and he doesn't disappoint here. He has the perfect blend of arrogance, talent, and the ability to change his mind when necessary. But like Derek, he's a bit stupid. Wilson pulls it off with flair, and his reconciliation scene with Derek is a wonder of comic timing. You alternately laugh at him, hate him, and then love him, all in the space of one movie.
The other major character is Matilda Jeffries. I don't think she worked quite as well as she should, though she doesn't detract very much from the movie. Christine Taylor does a pretty good job with her (far removed from her Marcia Brady days), but she just doesn't quite fit with the rest of the cast. I know she's supposed to be the straight woman, but she's almost too straight for this cast. I didn't find her as funny as the rest of them, even given the straight lines she has. She's not horrible, but she's just "ok." I didn't find the budding romance between Derek and her to be that believable, and I think that's down to her.
The villains of the piece are priceless as well. Will Ferrell chews the scenery with gusto as Mugatu (but since this is the type of comedy it is, he's supposed to do that). Milla Jovavich plays the heavy like she was born to play it, and Jerry Stiller basically plays himself as Derek's manager, Maury. It was music to my ears when he started on one of his "Stilleresque" rants at his wife. All of them add the perfect blend to the mix, making the outcome just about perfect.
What really makes the movie, though, are the jokes and the cameos. There are a lot of shots taken at the fashion industry, but most of the models appear to realize that it's all in jest, because they make cameos in the movie. Numerous other Hollywood stars make cameos as well, though I won't say where lest they spoil the fun. Some of them fit in perfectly (David Duchovny), some are just there for sight gags (Gary Shandling), but all of them work.
There are so many great sequences in this movie that I did not stop laughing for more than a few moments. Even the tragic deaths of Derek's friends come in such a blackly comic fashion that it's hard not to laugh. Hansel and Derek face off in a "walk-off" with the winner taking all. The awards show is wonderful. It's all good. In fact, at a trim 89 minutes, I can honestly say there is not a bit of wasted time in this movie. Every scene either forwards the plot or makes you laugh (and oftentimes both).
Is it remotely believable? No, of course not. Is it hilariously funny? You better believe it. If you like zany comedies and don't mind that they're not really based on reality, then give this movie a try. However, I take no responsibility for medical bills incurred when falling off the sofa.
David Roy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT IS THIS? A CENTRE FOR ANTS?!, 2 May 2007
By 
Mr. A. Sands "Sandsman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zoolander [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
For a start, if you're not a fan of Ben Stiller then you probably won't be a fan of this. But then why would you be reading this?

Widley ignored on it's cinema release, this has, like Fight Club, become a "dvd-cult classic", especially amongst students. The performances by Stiller & Wilson are brilliant, who both play the dumb vacuous male model with ease. Ferrel in particular steals the show though, playing an incredibly camp/evil fashion designer.

Countless cameos throughout gives the film a fun, care-free feel. Another thing I love about this film is it's endless quoteability, which you can really appreciate when you chat to other fans about it. Leave your brain at the door whilst watching this and enjoy it for the random stupidity that it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 6 Sep 2006
This review is from: Zoolander [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
first of all i'd like to say my review may be biased as a love ben stiller and owen wilson. i just giggles throughout this film. i absolutely loved it and derek's pose just makes me laugh so much. seriously guys i know it looks weird but it sure as hell is wonderful. if you're not sure maybe rent first but at a fiver a go you can't really go wrong. i'm not gonna spoil it by going into it in detail but ben stiller and owen wilson are competing male models who get caught up in something sinister. watch this movie it is just a smile fest throughout as its so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a film best not forgotten, 13 Sep 2002
By 
S. Clarke "shaun_gladiator" (warrington, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zoolander [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This was one of those films that i chose because there was nothing else to watch and time needed to be passed. It turns out that this is one of the most original comedies that has ever been created.
Anybody that has seen Ben Stiller's previous films will know that he tends to play roles that are verging on comedy but not outright, in your face stuff. This film shows us a new side of his character as he fits easily into a role such as this. It is always difficult to make a comedy without it being too over the top and on the verge of stupidity, few films have made it (Naked Gun etc) but this manages to pull it off superbly. Owen Wilson and Stiller seem as if they work together on every film as they interact with each other.
The basic story is that Eric Zoolander is the establishde male model with his array of poses such as blue steel. Tgis film seems to sum up the model industry while at the same time ridiculing it for all it's worth. If this film is anything to go by we have witnessed the birth of the new Leslie Nielsen, Ben Stiller is that good!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny.. very entertaining., 3 Oct 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zoolander [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Always been a fan of ben stiller's work, mystery men, meet the parents and lots of his older pieces, this is by far one of the funniest films, owen wilson adds his own, not usual, comedy acting to make a great pair!
I will admit not all people will enjoy this film as sometimes it can get alittle "too" stupid but for people with a good sense of humor wont mind this at all!
I do recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good laugh and night in with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zoolander [DVD] [2001]
Zoolander [DVD] [2001] by Ben Stiller (DVD - 2002)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews