Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BLUE HAWAII Elvis - tHe MaN wiTh The GoLdEn VoiCe
If you've got the video and think you've seen the film -think again! Unlike the video this DVD has perfect picture and sound quality. The colours are vivid, the image is pin sharp and the sound is in n 5.1 surround sound. Also with it being in widescreen you get all the side action and get the full effect of the beautiful locations used. Its an audio-visual treat...
Published on 22 Dec. 2002 by paulwood36

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pure fun
This is just the kind of movie to watch on a nasty,cold and wet December afternoon- lots of exotic scenery, sunshine, girls in bikinis and some of Elvis' most popular songs including the magical and legendary Can't Help Falling In Love. The fact that it was shot on location in Hawaii as opposed to some Hollywood back-lot makes it all the more enjoyable.
The movie and...
Published on 23 Mar. 2009 by Al-13


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BLUE HAWAII Elvis - tHe MaN wiTh The GoLdEn VoiCe, 22 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Blue Hawaii [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
If you've got the video and think you've seen the film -think again! Unlike the video this DVD has perfect picture and sound quality. The colours are vivid, the image is pin sharp and the sound is in n 5.1 surround sound. Also with it being in widescreen you get all the side action and get the full effect of the beautiful locations used. Its an audio-visual treat.
The film itself was ELvis most succesful. There are some great songs including Can't Help Falling In Love with You and some great one liners and a light romantic storyline with Elvis in top form as a light comedy actor.
Blue Hawaii is pure escapism and it established a formula that would be copied in other Elvis films. Think of the Bond films; Girls, locations, vechiles, action, Girls, throwaway humour with Elvis having a license to sing.
A first rate film and a top notch DVD - had there been Extras I'd have given it five stars. A minor minus point is that they've used a still from Paradise Hawaiian Style rather than Blue Hawaii on the back cover but thats hardly going to spoil you enjoyment of the film or DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning DVD, But Please, Give Us Special Features, 21 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Hawaii [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Firstly, what a great looking DVD this is; it's pin sharp and in widescreen, it is a delight to watch as the colours are vibrant and the picture is sharp.
Anyone who owns the excellent "Loving You" DVD will know what kind of quality to expect.
Sadly, no features, just a trailer and some really nice menus.
But the important thing is the film, and I love Blue Hawaii. Sure it's lightweight and easy going. It's not Elvis best film, by a long shot; but it is very good and is a real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light Hearted Musical, 22 Mar. 2003
By 
This review is from: Blue Hawaii [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Great location, great music, poor script - but who really cares when Elvis is on screen doing his thing and singing some of the best songs to ever come out of one film.
Elvis returns to the islands from the army determined not to enter into his rich father's pineapple business, preferring to try and make a go of a tour guide business with his Hawaiian girlfriend. His snobbish mother; Landsbury in a great over the top acting part complete with Southern drawl,("Have you got some sugar for your mother?") is horrified but she and his father eventually agree to let him try.
After various plot twists involving a tourist group made entirely up of young girls, he eventually makes a go of things and marries the girl.
Favourite songs have to be, Can't Help Falling In Love, which he sings to his girlfriend's grandmother for her birthday and Almost Always True. Other songs are, Rock A Hula Baby, Hawaiian Wedding Song, Blue Hawaii, Aloha Oe, No More, Moonlight Swim, Ku-u-i-po, Ito Eats, Slicin' Sand, Hawaiian Sunset, Beachboy Blues and Island of Love.
Nice piece of romantic, musical escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pure fun, 23 Mar. 2009
By 
Al-13 (Newcastle,UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blue Hawaii [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
This is just the kind of movie to watch on a nasty,cold and wet December afternoon- lots of exotic scenery, sunshine, girls in bikinis and some of Elvis' most popular songs including the magical and legendary Can't Help Falling In Love. The fact that it was shot on location in Hawaii as opposed to some Hollywood back-lot makes it all the more enjoyable.
The movie and album soundtrack both struck gold financially which meant that Elvis was unable to get away from making this kind of movie for virtually his entire acting career.
The DVD is pristine in both picture and sound and is a pleasure to watch on widescreen tv. If you've seen it on the telly or video and weren't impressed then try the DVD, the difference is remarkable.
Elvis movies are a bit like some of the early Bond films-a tried and tested formula which, although somewhat dated nowadays, were lapped up by 60's audiences in their droves. No sex,bad language or violence - just harmless entertainment.
Blue Hawaii
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Help Falling in Love With This Classic, 26 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Blue Hawaii [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Blue Hawaii is a great film, if there was ever such a genre as paradise cinema, Blue Hawaii would be the definitive flick.
Chad Gates (Elvis) has just left the army, and is living it up on the beautiful Hawaiin beach, lovin' his girl, surfin' and singing.
But he soon has to get a job, and refuses to work for his rich parents which causes all sorts of priblems as he sets out as a tourist guide.
Blue Hawaii of course features the classic song 'Can't Help Falling in Love', magnificent scenery, plenty of laughs and two hours of sheer enjoyment.
A huge, huge film on it's release and still one of Elvis most popular and well known movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 7 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Blue Hawaii [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
I read on one of those movie review sites that someone hated this film becasue they thought it was to corny.....i have to say that is why i love it..i love the fact that the songs get stuck in your head and my faves are definitely in this film, "Rock-A-Hula Baby" and "Slicin Sand" are amazing...but the people at Paramount are obviously very blind as i noticed the other day when i went to watch it hat it has 3 pictures on the inside sleeve and outside cover of Elvis in Paradise Hawaiian Style, a film that was not made until five years later, so as i also have Paradise Hawaiian Style i decided to check that cover and it also has pictures of Elvis in Blue Hawaii on it......All in all i think that this film is fab and no one should say its bad till they have watched it....ROCK A HULA ELVIS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mermories, 9 July 2009
By 
Mr. Brian Edwards "Film Buff" (Skelmersdale UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Hawaii [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
This DVD one of Elvis Presley's better films. Bringing back happy memoris of vacation in Hawaii. Many of the location sites where the places my wife and I visited. Especially the Polynesian Centre, scene of Elvis's wedding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis is Tops, 7 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Hawaii [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Watching this film with it's beautiful vivid colour location shots and it's catchy songs it is difficult to see what some critics have to complain about. Hawaii was an out of this world luxurious and beautiful holiday destination to 99% of us in the sixties and well out of our reach. Seeing it here in big screen rich colour lifted the spirits of 1960's kids.Elvis acting is spot on and Angela Lansbury is hillarious as his 'southern' mother.Regarding Elvis acting , young Mr.Presley had a natural eye and gift for making a script come alive = he was a competent and talented actor. It is so unfair that The Beatles films are regarded more highly, none of the Beatles could or can act their way out of a paper bag.The Beatles three attempts at acting start with 'Wax museum -pasty faced lumps- atrocious' ( Hard Days Night).And conclude with cringemaking ,unbelievably bad ultra-cheap home movie camera, absolute garbage(Magical Mystery Tour) I say this as a fan of both Elvis and the Beatles( I have their dozen albums from 'Please,Please Me 'to 'Let It Be')And when did any musical have an intellectual script - does this mean that South Pacific and Carousel are equal to Ibsen or Checkov. Of course not! Musicals are for pure enjoyment and that is what Elvis delivers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For my wife?, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Hawaii (DVD)
Wife is an forever Elvis fan. Me not, but its me that puts music to the player in our house so thought one day I should surprise her. Choosed this since it got nice reviews and nice priced.

She liked it and so did I! She gives 5 stars to everything from him so its best I write from here. What i liked most was the scenery and the nice music from the time he really could sing. Simple and predictable plot, amusing and enough tension to keep us looking also between the music tracks. The amount of acting and playing I estimate to 60/40%, which I felt was perfect.

Maybe my wife is fan of Elvis, but I was more interrested in his girlfriend in this movie?. Audio was very good. Picture was mostly very good for an old production as this. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BLUE ALOHA, 26 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Hawaii [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Beautiful scenery + Gorgeous girls + Great music + Fun plot + Elvis Presley = = = = BLUE HAWAII

No bonus features, but excellent picture and sound quality.

Confidently recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Hawaii [DVD] [1961]
Blue Hawaii [DVD] [1961] by Norman Taurog (DVD - 2002)
£12.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews