Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criminally ignored
After the Union tour and that awful album, Yes reconvened in the Travor Rabin lineup and made this essential album.
From the opening bars of The Calling you know that this is going to be good and it doesn't disappoint. Rabin is the key songwriter but Jon Anderson has a hand in all the songs and his enjoyment is reflected in the overall 'feel'of the...
Published on 19 July 2002

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes, Rabin can write an epic !!
If for no other reason than to hear the criminally neglected Endless Dream, this is a must buy (aren't they all ?) Yes product.
Yes, there are some low lights, too much Rabin not enough Yes - on State of Play, Walls and most of the single The Calling suffers - except for the instrumental exchanges near the end.
I know I should really. really hate, Real Love -...
Published on 19 April 2002 by mikerogers@ntlworld.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criminally ignored, 19 July 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk (Audio CD)
After the Union tour and that awful album, Yes reconvened in the Travor Rabin lineup and made this essential album.
From the opening bars of The Calling you know that this is going to be good and it doesn't disappoint. Rabin is the key songwriter but Jon Anderson has a hand in all the songs and his enjoyment is reflected in the overall 'feel'of the performances.
Highlights are The Calling, I am Waiting and the absolutely stupendous 'Endless Dream' in which Trevor Rabin brings the Yes epic song into the nineties with a vengeance. If you don't value the sheer 'Yes-ness' of this track you're probably not breathing!
The quality of this album really is all down to Trevor Rabin and it completely justifies his stint as a member of the band - without him the band would never have made it through the 80's and 90's and a lot of great music would have been lost. When he left the band and Steve Howe returned things went backwards for a while and have only really come good with the release of Magnification.
This release from Spitfire records includes an additional slightly longer version of The Calling which was originally only included on the Japanese release - it's interesting but not essential - the middle 8 reminds me of Led Zeppelin circa 1972!
The original release of Talk went pretty well unnoticed by the vast majority of Yes fans and was deleted when Victory Records went broke. If you don't have this album and you are a fan then buy it now! You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Lost' Yes album, 16 May 2002
By 
A. D. R. MARKS "adrmarks" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk (Audio CD)
Curiously, this appears to be the Yes album the disappeared off the map almost as soon as it appeared. If you loathe the Rabin-era stuff then you really won't find much here that appeals - although 'Endless Dream' really belongs up there with earlier epics from the Howe/Wakeman era. And yes, I can imagine lots of hippie diehards out there squealing for my blood for making such a suggestion, but have any of you heard this stuff?
Speaking for myself I've always enjoyed Yes in all its many incarnations - including Rabin et al, and the Horn/Downes stuff too. Rabin's influence gave Yes the opportunity to move with the times - surely the very definition of 'progressive rock'? This is a fine record which deserved to be heard far more than it seems to have been thus far. Try it, you may surprise yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best and most underrated Yes Album ever!, 30 Nov 2001
This review is from: Talk (Audio CD)
This album is simply the best Yes album ever, the songs, production and playing are just out of this world. Many people have written this one off as "contemporary LA pop" - nothing could be further from the truth. Only 1 track is under 5 minutes. Great songs here: "The Calling" - wonderful "one world" creation themed anthem; "I am Waiting" - one to send to a loved one; "State of Play" - incendiary heavy metal with great guitar work from Trevor Rabin; And what about "Where will you Be" - so gentle, beautifull y sung and played; and the last track "Endless Dream" is THE best Yes piece ever, a moving paen through the journey of life and beyond. The last 2 minutes of this record are amongst the most moving musical moments ever recorded by ANYONE! Get this album; it'll blow you away and play it LOUD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HARD TO PINNACLE, 12 May 2005
This review is from: Talk (Audio CD)
Owning the entire Yes studio collection gives me a good perspective on this super group. I am a huge fan of the early stuff such as Fragile, CTTE, Relayer, Yes Album etc etc but this is my all time favourite Yes recording. Yes have lagged behind Rush in their musical adaptability for many years. However, when this was released at the same time as Rush's Counterparts album, the little mancunian and his fellow musicians for once managed to leap frog Rush with what I beleive is their crispest, tightest and most accomplished recording (although a subsequent succession of superb albums has seen Rush steam roller their way back in front in this particular comparison). After a succession of concept albums, the ourageous global success of 90125 and the sheer blandness of the hotch-potch Union album, you will discover that Talk is simply a foot stomping, thigh slapping, steering wheel tapping, sunroof opening, stonker of an album that even my 15 yr old daughter concedes is 'kinda good'. Not a single weak track. However, i wouldn't suggest that this be your first ever Yes album, otherwise you simply wont get the earlier stuff, which will always remain classic and groundbreaking rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes, Rabin can write an epic !!, 19 April 2002
By 
This review is from: Talk (Audio CD)
If for no other reason than to hear the criminally neglected Endless Dream, this is a must buy (aren't they all ?) Yes product.
Yes, there are some low lights, too much Rabin not enough Yes - on State of Play, Walls and most of the single The Calling suffers - except for the instrumental exchanges near the end.
I know I should really. really hate, Real Love - not very Yes I know, I know, but it really moves me. I Am Waiting, simple stuff, more Yes-ish and it really, really moves you - JA Yes he still can do it. But to dream endlessly, it just takes me where I want to be every single time I hear it, to be over.....man ! Love it, Love it now if only they would play it live, and maybe rearrange it with Larry Groupe.......:)
I found my copy of Talk in a dingy record store in Arnhem in the Netherlands.....thank god its been rereleased ..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, powerful and more AOR, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Ben Bottle (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Talk (Audio CD)
To my ears this is real AOR stuff and a considerable shift away from the Prog themes.
Very much the work of Trevor Rabin; he was never afraid to "move" Yes on!
Quite frankly it is amazing how well his voice (Rabin) and Jon Anderson's work together.
This album is full of driving lines powered by Alan White's strong drumming. Allan is such a capable and reliable drummer and here he underpins it all amazingly.
Strangely (perhaps?); Chris Squire trademark bass seems a little lost; indeed he seems almost sidelined!
This is a strong album and was, for some time, very overlooked and vilified by the Yes faithful - it deserves better.
Great rhythms, excellent melodies and harmonies provide some of the best AOR/Soft Rock music I have heard in a long time.
It is a refreshing change from "mainstream" Yes, which began with the wonderful "90125".
For me, the star of this - apart from Rabin's superb arrangements and production; is the driving force of the aforementioned Alan White's drumming.
I am - as you may gather - a great fan of this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If In doubt .. dont.. just get it, 25 Oct 2010
By 
J. P. Oneill (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk (Audio CD)
As with a lot of other reviews, for some reason i didnt manage to pick up on this one. I just tend to think that it came from a rather ignominious part of their recording history
Just ignore what you may think of the few before. This album is surprisingly good with many of the the best characteristics from many of their early albums. Its really a no brianer. Not thats its outstandingly good or better than any of their previous, its just AS good as some of their best but in different ways
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk (Audio CD)
How has this has been ignored for so long remains a mystery.
This is one of the Best of all Yes albums! (and Yes, I have almost all of them now)
Well produced should have a sign saying "Beware, some of the greatest rock music of the 20th century inside."
If you like rock, if you like Yes then this is a must have. Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes ... under rated !, 25 Jun 2009
This review is from: Talk (Audio CD)
This is probably one of Yes's most under rated albums. For me, unlike most other Yes albums, that are great to sit back and listen to, 'Talk' actually works better in the Car (played loud of course !).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SuperYes, 21 Feb 2008
By 
Mino (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Talk (Audio CD)
Worth it for Supertramp's Rodger Hodgson's co-written song and backing vocals alone. Which song? Simple find the most commercial, poppiest track on the album: trademark Supertramp!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talk
Talk by Yes (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews