Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it?
Murphy at his best, and not a donkey in sight.... Good film, good quality product. Does exactly what it said it would.
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by Alan Cooper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just tell me you didn't love me when you thought I was a goat herder, and I will never bother you ever again.
Coming to America is directed by John Landis and adapted to screenplay by David Sheffield and Barry W. Blaustein from a story originally created by Art Buchwald. It stars Eddie Murphy, Arsenio Hall, James Earl Jones, Shari Headley and John Amos. Music is scored by Nile Rodgers and cinematography by Sol Negrin and Woody Omens. Plot finds Murphy as Akeem Joffer, an African...
Published 23 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it?, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Alan Cooper "Coop" (Blighty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coming To America [DVD] (DVD)
Murphy at his best, and not a donkey in sight.... Good film, good quality product. Does exactly what it said it would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read me!, 5 Dec 2012
This review is from: Coming To America [DVD] (DVD)
If there's one film I can rely on to make happy its this! SO Funny! Such an easy watch..

LOVE IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just tell me you didn't love me when you thought I was a goat herder, and I will never bother you ever again., 8 Sep 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Coming To America [DVD] (DVD)
Coming to America is directed by John Landis and adapted to screenplay by David Sheffield and Barry W. Blaustein from a story originally created by Art Buchwald. It stars Eddie Murphy, Arsenio Hall, James Earl Jones, Shari Headley and John Amos. Music is scored by Nile Rodgers and cinematography by Sol Negrin and Woody Omens. Plot finds Murphy as Akeem Joffer, an African prince who comes to the United States in the hope of finding a good woman he can marry.

Released at a time when Eddie Murphy was ruling the 80s, Coming to America proves to be viable material for Murphy's talents. That's not to say it's a great film, a good one? Debatable now, and it was for sure a success at the box office, but it feels like a lazy excuse for some one liners and the picture hangs on a flimsy premise thread. As a whole it barely works as a romantic comedy (in fact the romance is distinctly tepid), but as a series of comedy set-ups for Murphy and Arsenio it does entertain the nostalgists and those who like immature gags. You do feel that with director Landis stating that Murphy was a pain on set-that Eddie had lost the zest and the willingness to learn that he had on Trading Places five years earlier, that Murphy didn't let Landis produce the picture the director originally envisaged.

No doubt about it, I liked the film much better back in the day, back then the fish out of water comedy hadn't been done to death, and of course Murphy was still coasting in on the wave of charismatic success, which to myself and many others was enough to warrant being in his company. However, watching it now it feels tired and weary, the one film in Murphy's 80s comedy output that doesn't hold up, a chore to get through at nearly two hours in length, many comedy sequences stretched too far (the multi character gimmick played by the leads runs out of steam), an indulgence to ride in on the appeal of the film's two stars. The film actually marks a turning point for Murphy, he would follow this film with eight years of cinema mediocrity, something which I do believe lends Murphy fans to praise Coming to America far higher than they should.

It's certainly not a stinker, not at all. There is occasionally fun to be had, some well written gags, honest intentions to create a charming characterisation for the people. While a cameo appearance by a future star is always worth watching. But in the minority as I am about it, and I do consider myself a Murphy fan, I have to say the film smacks of cheating and laziness, and no amount of penis gags can alter how I now feel about it. I'm off to cuddle my copies of Trading Places, 48 Hours and Beverly Hills Cop. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 24 Oct 2002
By 
S. JENKIN (LONDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coming To America [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolute comedy classic and a must have for anyone's DVD collection! The humour is very discrete and will leave you chuckling throughout the movie (rather than bursting out with laughter), which is perfect - as it keeps the storyline remaining very realistic, and with constant cheesy jokes (like with many other films from the time) I don't think it would have been. Luckily a lovely balance is struck here, and viewers will acknowledge both the humorous nature of the film as well as the realistic messages about love, possessions and class divisions that it portrays. The formidible features of this movie far outweight the questionable features, but if/when you buy this movie, you will notice that the ending was rather hurried - I don't want to spoil the ending for you so I won't point it out here, but you will certainly be scratching your head a bit at the end. I found that another questionable feature was the soundtrack. The African music played at the weddings and whenever the King was about was excellent, but as soon as they get to Queens, horrible 80's pop tunes start blurting out! This was obviously to attract the mainly white audience of the 80's comedy scene into enjoying the film, but it was dissapointing because it wasn't realistic; I don't think any of us associate the roughest areas of Queens in 1988 with pop music! But despite these flaws, the acting is wonderful and the plot gels in perfectly... a wonderful film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most underated film of all time!!!, 14 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Coming To America [DVD] (DVD)
This film shows eddie murphy at his true best, and combines comedy with a very serious messgage too, I was in stiches through the whole film, watch out for a brief appearance by samuel L Jackson too. Definately a must have!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddie murphy's best film, 9 Sep 2004
This review is from: Coming To America [DVD] (DVD)
Coming to america is in my opinion eddie murphys best film and one of the best films of all times, this film will keep you interested all throughout the movie with its jokes and a very good storyline buy this film right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a Date, 23 April 2007
This review is from: Coming To America [DVD] (DVD)
After several years of starring in rowdy action comedies and con man capers, Eddie Murphy gets a chance to deliver a more restrained performance with this film and he manages to do so very well. Murphy portrays Akeem, an African prince who is being pressured into a forced marriage by his parents (James Earl Jones, Madge Sinclair). The woman that they have chosen for him only sees him for his royalty and therefore does not really love him. Akeem sees this right away and brings his loyal servant, Semi (Arsenio Hall) along with him on a discreet mission to America where Akeem hopes to find a beautiful woman who will love him and accept him for who he really is and not just see him for his royalty. Posing as "common folk", Akeem and Semi get jobs at a McDonald's style restaurant and Akeem soon falls for the daughter (Shari Headley) of the restaurant's owner (John Amos). The film features many hilarious scenes and characters especially a group of boxing obsessed senior citizens who spend their days arguing with a barber shop owner. Murphy and Hall demonstrate their levels of versatility by managing to go under heavy makeup and portray several different costarring roles. Yet another example of why Murphy is one of the funniest actors in recent Hollywood history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an inciteful Murphy comedy made at the peak of his abilites, 30 April 2002
By 
Adam Hirschovits "Hirsch" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coming To America [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The story is based on the concept of love for the sake of love, for who people are, not what people are. But Murphy and Landis are sensible, they know not to wallow in the moral highground, and simply do what they do best, i.e comedy. When the crown prince of a rich African country rejects his planned marriage, he sets off to Queens, New York, to find a wife who will ove him for who he is, not what he is. He poses as a common student from Africa, with the help of his servant. Murphy gets a job at the local fast-food joint, where he falls in love with the manager's daughter. The fact that Murphy is African is served as a tool to highlight the difference in cultures between Africans and Afro-Americans. ANd boy is it funny. Murphy excels, of course. Indeed he plays the majority of characters who work in the barber shop, including an old Jewish man, and is brilliant. The film highlights Eddie Murphy's brilliance, his sheer ability, to such an extent that you cannot help but sympathise with his character, and cheer his victories when he wins his love. Plus there's a cameo by Samuel L. Jackson from before he was famous. This is no clever film, it's just basic comedy, occasional very clever and sharp, which is a must for all Eddie Murphy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic eddie murphy, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming To America [DVD] (DVD)
hate to sound like stuck record,but again funny film,eddie murphy younger days,complete nutter,dont know where he gets energy,luv his old stuff ie beverly hills cop.u wanna doof the soul glow dudewell funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Judles "Wudeejeb" (North West, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming To America [DVD] (DVD)
Great watching this movie again. Love Eddy Murphy films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coming To America [VHS]
Coming To America [VHS] by John Landis (VHS Tape - 2002)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews