Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked!
After playing Carcassonne once I was instantly hooked. Briefly, the game consists of the following. Players pull a tile from the deck and place it against an already present tile. If you create a new object (a city, a road, a monastery, or a farm), you can claim ownership to it. Your score depends on the items you own, whether or not they have been completed and how...
Published on 20 Nov 2007 by Sonia

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me - strategy too much like luck!
This game didn't really work for us - the first few games involved lots of reading of the rules, which wouldn't normally put us off and quite often leads to a brilliant game, but in this case: nah. We all quickly identified a pretty similar strategy, so it became more about the luck of the draw: not a lot more you can do with the tile you've picked. There's nothing...
Published on 9 Dec 2011 by Elwynd


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked!, 20 Nov 2007
By 
Sonia (Delft, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne (Kitchen & Home)
After playing Carcassonne once I was instantly hooked. Briefly, the game consists of the following. Players pull a tile from the deck and place it against an already present tile. If you create a new object (a city, a road, a monastery, or a farm), you can claim ownership to it. Your score depends on the items you own, whether or not they have been completed and how developed they are.

To win the game you need good strategy and luck. The rules are easy to learn, and the game can be finished within the hour so you can play it more than once in one evening.

To play the game you will need Carcassonne, the original game. There are many expansions available that can only be played with the original game. There are also variants to the original game that cannot be played with the expansions. So read the description carefully before you purchase any additional items.

When purchasing the original Carcassonne I strongly recommend that you also buy at the least the first Expansion: Inns and Cathedrals, which makes the game more challenging and with higher risks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


139 of 141 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile distraction, 28 Dec 2004
By A Customer
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne (Kitchen & Home)
Carcassonne is a family strategy game in which you build up a landscape of roads, cities and cloisters from a set of printed tiles.
The box suggests it is suitable for age 10 and above but it certainly didn't bore any of the adults so there is no upper limit.
It can be played by 2-5 people. Playing with 4 we found it took about 45 minutes to complete a game.
The rules are simple but for once we found it was a game that the more we played it the more we enjoyed it. The fact that you turn over a tile so everyone can see it, and then decide where to place it, allows others to help or suggest alternative courses of play - so everyone can learn the game together as they play.
Wooden "people" markers can be placed on one of the four types of landscape (fields, cities, roads or cloisters) and these people become farmers, knights, thieves or monks respectively. Scoring is based on the size of city "owned" by your knight, length of road controlled by your thief and so on.
Our set included the "river expansion" which starts the same off with some additional tiles and makes the playing area less cramped, but you'll need to make plenty of space on the dining table once you get into it!
It wins perhaps the ultimate accolate in that it distracted us from the television for most of Christmas Day and everyone was keen to resume play on Boxing Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


175 of 178 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll never ger bored of this board game, 8 Dec 2004
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne (Kitchen & Home)
A friend of mine introduced me to Carcassone last year and it's spread like wildfire amongst my family & friends. The basic premise is that players take it in turn to pull map tiles out of a bag and place them like a jigsaw so that features such as roads, rivers, fields and cities grow. Any unclaimed feaure can be claimed by placing one of your characters on the tile, and you get points for each completed feature. There's a bit more strategy to it than that, but the basic game is very accessible, playable after 5 minutes rules, and the expansions really add to your options so that you can play as complex or as simple rules as you like (or as time allows).
Typically a game lasts about an hour with 5 people, and I can't recommend it strongly enough. If you're considering buying any board game, you won't go far wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


132 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most enjoyable games I have ever played., 25 Mar 2008
By 
T. Lewcock (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne (Kitchen & Home)
I've been playing this game now for several years, since it first came out. The game won the German Game Of The Year award, in 2001. I should point out at this point that German board games are considered to be some of the best in the world, as such this is a very high accolade, which the game very much deserves.

I believe that there are two main reasons why this game is so deserving of its Game Of The Year Award: The first of these being that the basic rules of the game are very easy to learn. The second is that despite being easy to learn the rules, mastering the game will take a bit longer, and the randomness prevents a single tactic from becoming a guaranteed win, thus maintaining a more level playing field for games consisting of both experienced and inexperienced players.

Despite being similar, every game that I have played has had a different feel to it. This, I expect, is due to the random nature of the drawing of the tiles. This randomness does not, however, impart a feeling of lack of control; each tile drawn generally has multiple options where it may be placed, a decision that rests firmly with the player.

The choice of location is part of the educational aspect of the game, that of strategy. The player must weigh up the pro's and con's of short-term or long-term gain. This requires a level of mathematical calculation, and needs to be coupled with an element of risk-taking (gambling on the tile(s) needed both being available in the future and actually being the choice of that player). Even then, it may be necessary for a player to recalculate where they wish to play the tile if it does come to them; the situation may have changed through the tactics used by the other players.

Having owned the game for a good half-dozen years, and having used it often I can say that the tiles are wearing well. Despite being made of card the tiles are proving to be quite resilient, even though my tiles are regularly jumbled up in the bag which came with the second expansion. The only word of caution that I feel it is necessary to give is that although the bag is exceedingly useful for running the game it does start to get a bit full with all of the expansion tiles!

There are many expansions available for this game. The rules for each of them are relatively simple, although they will add a great deal to think about. A word of caution here, some some confusion could result the first time all of the expansions are used together. This is because there are increasing options available to a player once they take and place a tile, and the Dragon Flies tiles actually interrupt the game play; so the players have to remember where to carry on from.

If you like the game but think that it is over too quickly or does not provide sufficient tactical thought, then the way ahead is definitely to get one or more of the expansions. Each expansion will add about 30-45 minutes of time to the overall time required to play the game. Playing with the first four expansions, two copies of the Rivers II expansion, the Count of Carcasssonne, and two copies of the King and Bandit results in games that can take up to five hours to play.

One final comment, the game play changes depending on the number of players. This is not a critism, a two-player game is just as enjoyable as a six player game, it is just a different experience; this actually makes the game more appealing, because if you play it with a different number of players each time you have more variety. That said, there would be nothing wrong with playing the game with the same two people every time. Note, you must have the first expansion to be able to play a six-player game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Showing that family boardgames need not be random, 11 Mar 2008
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne (Kitchen & Home)
This is a fantastic game, truly a classic. I can play this with my family and have an hourof fun building roads, completing cities and watching a landscape unfold. I can also play it with more serious game playing adults and its a tense game of strategic tile manipulation to sabotage cities and steal points from other players' fields.

Wonderful to play, easy to explain and customisable to your taste with the array of availabe expansion sets. This is perhaps it's only weakness: it almost needs expansions after a while to keep it lively. Playing with people who can memorise the tile manifest is deeply, deeply, painful. The expansions keep the game fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game for kids, 14 Aug 2008
A Kid's Review
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne (Kitchen & Home)
Carcassonne is a brilliant game full of surprises. It's basically just taking a tile and laying it in the right place, but there's a bit of oomph you've to put into it as well, and that is what makes it fun and exciting. I can't wait to get some expansions which are supposed to make it better.

It's price is very good for the game and I'm very pleased with it, it's also very addictive. William.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicted!, 17 Nov 2006
By 
Amber (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carcassonne (Kitchen & Home)
We were looking for a game to rival Settlers of Catan and in this game I think we may have found it...

As stated by others, the premis of the game is that you build a map of the cities, roads, cloisters and farms of Carcassonne by drawing and placing tiles. When you place a tile, you can also place one of your marker people (or meeples) on the tile to "own" particular features (a city, road, cloister or farm). When these fetures are completed the owner of the meeple scores points. Superficially, this may seem quite dry, but in practice it can be very strategic with players trying to take over particularly cities and farms that "belong" to others and prevent opponents from building.

However, the real strength of this game is the scalability and ease of play. It is a genuinely excellent 2-player game that scales well to more. Additionally, it is really easy to teach to others, since the rules are basically as stated above. Finally, if you like slightly heavier games (or really get into it), there are a number of expansions, which develop the basic game, make it last longer and add complexity. This expansion mechanism means that it is still easy to play a basic game with new players, while retaining the more complex game for more experienced users.

We are completely addicted and it gets full marks from us!

NOTE: This review refers to the original version of Carcassonne, but there are a number of spion off games such as "Hunters and Gatherers", "The Castle" and "The City". We only have experience of Hunters and Gatherers and the original flavour, which we prefer as we find it easier to see the features on the tiles and feel it is more versatile in its use of expansions. However, Hunters and Gatherers is better value for money in that it you get slightly more tiles and pieces and it is analogous (in terms of rules) to the original Carcassonne plus the first expansion, so is prefered by many people. We have played both though, and prefer the original, ideally with some of the expansions (probably Inns and Cathedrals, Traders and Builders and/or the Count).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicitve and absorbing, 11 Nov 2008
By 
J. Brown "robjob3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne (Kitchen & Home)
This arrived on Thursday and it's now Tuesday and we've played it 6 times. A brilliant game! Every time we play we get more tactical and now I'm back on Amazon looking at the expansion packs. Wonderful to have a proper game rather than something on a screen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to spend some time with your teenagers..., 24 April 2011
By 
K A Hall "kazann" (Milton Keynes, Bucks) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this game because I'd played it with some friends and really enjoyed it. It doesn't take too long to play, is a strategy game that doesn't demand you have a mind like a chess grand-master, and it's different every single time. Great. Having made the purchase (followed by the first expansion - Inns and Cathedrals - which I recommend once you've got to grips with the initial game)I suggested to my two children (well, 18 and 20 year olds)that we have a game. A bit of huffing and puffing, spending time with the old fogies playing bored (sorry, board) games...dull. What a surprise. They love it. They want to sit and play it (probably partly because they always beat me...ha!) because they find it genuinely fun. So, it's a truly great family game. I highly recommend it and hope it helps you spend more time with the family...if that's what you'd like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good and intelligently thought out game, 3 Jan 2010
By 
Bill O'Chee (Surfers Paradise, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne (Kitchen & Home)
Carcassone was named Game of the Year in Germany not long ago, and you can see why.

On opening the box the purchaser will see that the product is of high quality. There is a set of simple but elegantly crafted wooden playing pieces (no plastic) and quality, thick die cut playing tiles which players progressively lay out to form the terrain for the game.

Players take turns drawing and laying terrain tiles to create a landscape around the medieval city of Carcassonne. As they do so they also deploy followers as knights, thieves, monks and farmers in an attempt to score as many points as they possibly can. This is a game of competition rather than combat. Players do not attack each other, but they are free to follow strategies which help or hinder others, while maximising their own chances of success.

I like this game for a number of reasons. The first is that you can play it straight out of the box. There is no complicated and tedious set up requires, and the rules are simple and easy to grasp (even if there are some ambiguities which require players to agree on interpretations). The other reason I like this game is that simple but well thought out rules reward players who think strategically, rather than those who get lucky breaks.

As players become more experienced they can add various expansion packs which add additional rules, playing pieces or terrain to the game. The basic game remains, though, an attractive and enjoyable investment. I heartily recommend this game to experienced and novice gamers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carcassonne
Carcassonne by Z-Man Games
Used & New from: £21.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews