Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars37
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2011
This is a fantastic film that has something for everyone - it's funny, it's moving, it's exciting and it's well acted, a gripping story with some excellent twists and beautifully filmed. You will bond with the characters quickly and be desperate to know how it all works out right till the last second.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2008
I do not understand why people hate this movie so much! I found it really enjoyable. Julia Roberts & Brad Pitt are two of the biggest actors and work so well together in this movie. It is very funny but serious at the same time. It has a good story and keeps you entertained from start to finish. If you like either Julia Roberts or Brad Pitt I would recommend you buy this movie. I really, really liked it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2010
Excellent film !
Great characters, great dog.... and the music is supurb and just adds to the comedy that this film really is!
Brilliant
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2005
For a film that stars two of the biggest box office draws of modern day Hollywood, the composition of this film is quite unusual to say the least. Both Julia Roberts and Brad Pitt spend hardly any of the film's time actually opposite each other, and to be perfectly frank, the film works a whole lot better when they are apart!
Jerry Welbach is a small time hoodlum of pathetic stature. Having caused a motor accident with high powered mobster Arnold Margolese, Welbach is sent on a numerous jobs to redeem himself. With his unfortunate ability to mess everything up, he is given one last chance to get himself off the hook by travelling to Mexico and picking up an antique pistol for the now imprisoned boss.
Welbach's partner Samantha not being too chuffed with the prospect of her lover dashing off again, throws his clothes out of their room and generally hot foots it out of his life. Unfortunately the message that Jerry and Samantha are no longer an item hasn't reached Margolese's ears as he sets a hitman off to abduct Samantha.
A hitman (notice I say "a" and not "the hitman") does abduct Samantha and in an "odd couple road trip" of traditional cinematic style, takes her off to Las Vegas. Needless to say that this job also starts to go wrong for Jerry and it's not too long before Samantha and her "guide" also have to travel to Mexico to dig Jerry out of his latest hole.
I was quite interested to read that Brad Pitt didn't really want to do this film and it was only contractual restrictions that forced him into it. His performance, whilst not being awful by a long chalk, is never the less, under par and more than a little half-hearted. Julia Roberts on the other hand seems to have great fun with her role and revels in many of her scenes. Perhaps it's because she has to play off James Gandolfini for so much of it and he really puts in a performance that all but steals the show. There's still time for Gene Hackman to pop up at the end and round things off to a nice happy end.
Not the best thriller or best black comedy I've seen but there are several really good one-off scenes that are worth watching the film for.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2004
This film was a real surprise when I watched it for the first time. I expected a conventional romantic road trip story, not a zany, comic adventure, rich with asides and unpredictable twists.
Jerry, a small-time crook trying to go straight to save his relationship with the fiery Sam, gets hired to retrieve a pair of antique pistols, steeped in folklore, for a mystery buyer. As collateral, Sam is taken hostage by a tough looking hitman, who isn't all he seems to be. Sneaking the guns away isn't as easy as it might first seem, and Jerry has to race against time to rescue his girlfriend and their relationship.
Inspite of the cracking pace of the film's main storyline, both characters get plenty of opportunity to explore the complexities of their relationship. There are many moments of surprising levity peppered throughout - the repeated telling of the tale behind the pistols from different perspectives is particularly sharp and amusing - and James Gandolfini puts in a stonking show as a hitman-with-a-secret.
Brad and Julia really do excel in their roles, and the scenes where they are both together are highly charged, entertaining exchanges, though the film's premise keeps them apart for the majority of the whole thing. The film is given added depth by keeping a tight, compact primary set of characters, but builds the climax very nicely for a keen finish.
I see from the review list that opinion is certainly split on this one - some people love it, some people hate it, in which case the only advice I'd give is to take a look and see for yourself. I could understand why some people might not take to a strange film that can at first seem quite superficial, but personally, I thought it was top stuff.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2001
This film garnered a lot of criticism, partly because of the involvement of Brad Pitt and Julia Roberts. No, they are not together for a lot of the film, but that is not a bad thing. It's amusing to watch their relationship play out amongst everything else that happens. This is not primarily a romance; it is part comedy and part thriller. When the two stars are together, they are very funny. James Gandolfini is excellent in his role, and his scenes with Julia are some of the best in the movie. It is a long but enjoyable film with a fun plot, and certainly worth buying.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
The Mexican is a very good movie in my opinion. Interesting story and great actors like Bret Pitt, Julia Roberts and James Gandolfini from ( Sopranos). Its a German release but it includes English DTS HD 5.1 sound as well. Picture quality is great as well. I loved the dvd so decided to invest on the blu ray as well. If you love this movie get it as you will love it more on blu ray.
review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 September 2004
This film is very much a case of 'expect the unexpected', and is a surprisingly fun and light-hearted adventure/comedy.
Jerry, a part-time thief trying to 'go straight' to save his relationship with the feisty Sam, gets dragged into a scheme to gain possession of two antique pistols and deliver them to a mysterious buyer. As collateral to make sure he comes through with the goods, Sam is kidnapped by a burly, but chatty and world-weary guard (James Gandolfini) who isn't quite what he seems...
Brad and Julia do their 'thing', and their characters have plenty of scenes to really explore the intricacies of Sam and Jerry's relationship, despite them rarely appearing on-screen at the same time for virtually the whole film. There are lots of amusing moments to lighten the fast-paced journey of the film - the multiple version flashbacks to the story behind the pistols which Jerry has been sent to retrieve are really quite entertaining - and the quirky characters chasing Jerry and Sam definitely add something to an eclectic mix of personalities. The plot takes a few strange twists and livens things up with a few sideline stories and characters, but moves along at a cracking pace, and with some slick acting from Pitt throughout.
There's a real mix of opinion on this film here, I notice. It's hard to sum it up in just a few sentences, I suppose the best advice is to see it with an open mind, let the film take you through the story and see what you think.
Personally I thought it was top.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
brad pitt has to go to mexico and collect a antique pistol which is supposedto be cursed. various incidents take place and julia roberts goes to las vegas and she gets into dilemmas herself. a good script helps this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
As usual a Brad Pitt picture that's only purpose appears to be to show how many faces Brad Pitt can pull. I had three attempts to watch it all the way through and had to give up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)