Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story - well told!
This is a fantastic film that has something for everyone - it's funny, it's moving, it's exciting and it's well acted, a gripping story with some excellent twists and beautifully filmed. You will bond with the characters quickly and be desperate to know how it all works out right till the last second.
Published on 20 Mar. 2011 by Adam C. Dale

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and Funny Film
This film has had a lot of criticism, partly because of the involvement of Brad Pitt and Julia Roberts. It's amusing to watch their relationship play out and always wondering if it'll last by the end. This film is part comedy and part thriller and not like most think another romance. When the two stars are together, they are very funny. James Gandolfini is excellent in...
Published on 20 Jan. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story - well told!, 20 Mar. 2011
By 
Adam C. Dale "Devotee" (Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mexican [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic film that has something for everyone - it's funny, it's moving, it's exciting and it's well acted, a gripping story with some excellent twists and beautifully filmed. You will bond with the characters quickly and be desperate to know how it all works out right till the last second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mexican, 18 Sept. 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mexican [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
For a film that stars two of the biggest box office draws of modern day Hollywood, the composition of this film is quite unusual to say the least. Both Julia Roberts and Brad Pitt spend hardly any of the film's time actually opposite each other, and to be perfectly frank, the film works a whole lot better when they are apart!
Jerry Welbach is a small time hoodlum of pathetic stature. Having caused a motor accident with high powered mobster Arnold Margolese, Welbach is sent on a numerous jobs to redeem himself. With his unfortunate ability to mess everything up, he is given one last chance to get himself off the hook by travelling to Mexico and picking up an antique pistol for the now imprisoned boss.
Welbach's partner Samantha not being too chuffed with the prospect of her lover dashing off again, throws his clothes out of their room and generally hot foots it out of his life. Unfortunately the message that Jerry and Samantha are no longer an item hasn't reached Margolese's ears as he sets a hitman off to abduct Samantha.
A hitman (notice I say "a" and not "the hitman") does abduct Samantha and in an "odd couple road trip" of traditional cinematic style, takes her off to Las Vegas. Needless to say that this job also starts to go wrong for Jerry and it's not too long before Samantha and her "guide" also have to travel to Mexico to dig Jerry out of his latest hole.
I was quite interested to read that Brad Pitt didn't really want to do this film and it was only contractual restrictions that forced him into it. His performance, whilst not being awful by a long chalk, is never the less, under par and more than a little half-hearted. Julia Roberts on the other hand seems to have great fun with her role and revels in many of her scenes. Perhaps it's because she has to play off James Gandolfini for so much of it and he really puts in a performance that all but steals the show. There's still time for Gene Hackman to pop up at the end and round things off to a nice happy end.
Not the best thriller or best black comedy I've seen but there are several really good one-off scenes that are worth watching the film for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 17 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Mexican [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film !
Great characters, great dog.... and the music is supurb and just adds to the comedy that this film really is!
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprising little gem, 8 Oct. 2004
By 
Mark Thomas "physics_mark" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mexican [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This film was a real surprise when I watched it for the first time. I expected a conventional romantic road trip story, not a zany, comic adventure, rich with asides and unpredictable twists.
Jerry, a small-time crook trying to go straight to save his relationship with the fiery Sam, gets hired to retrieve a pair of antique pistols, steeped in folklore, for a mystery buyer. As collateral, Sam is taken hostage by a tough looking hitman, who isn't all he seems to be. Sneaking the guns away isn't as easy as it might first seem, and Jerry has to race against time to rescue his girlfriend and their relationship.
Inspite of the cracking pace of the film's main storyline, both characters get plenty of opportunity to explore the complexities of their relationship. There are many moments of surprising levity peppered throughout - the repeated telling of the tale behind the pistols from different perspectives is particularly sharp and amusing - and James Gandolfini puts in a stonking show as a hitman-with-a-secret.
Brad and Julia really do excel in their roles, and the scenes where they are both together are highly charged, entertaining exchanges, though the film's premise keeps them apart for the majority of the whole thing. The film is given added depth by keeping a tight, compact primary set of characters, but builds the climax very nicely for a keen finish.
I see from the review list that opinion is certainly split on this one - some people love it, some people hate it, in which case the only advice I'd give is to take a look and see for yourself. I could understand why some people might not take to a strange film that can at first seem quite superficial, but personally, I thought it was top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Movie!, 21 Oct. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do not understand why people hate this movie so much! I found it really enjoyable. Julia Roberts & Brad Pitt are two of the biggest actors and work so well together in this movie. It is very funny but serious at the same time. It has a good story and keeps you entertained from start to finish. If you like either Julia Roberts or Brad Pitt I would recommend you buy this movie. I really, really liked it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Off-beat, quirky, funny film, 7 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mexican [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This film garnered a lot of criticism, partly because of the involvement of Brad Pitt and Julia Roberts. No, they are not together for a lot of the film, but that is not a bad thing. It's amusing to watch their relationship play out amongst everything else that happens. This is not primarily a romance; it is part comedy and part thriller. When the two stars are together, they are very funny. James Gandolfini is excellent in his role, and his scenes with Julia are some of the best in the movie. It is a long but enjoyable film with a fun plot, and certainly worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprising little gem, 29 Sept. 2004
By 
Mark Thomas "physics_mark" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mexican [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This film is very much a case of 'expect the unexpected', and is a surprisingly fun and light-hearted adventure/comedy.
Jerry, a part-time thief trying to 'go straight' to save his relationship with the feisty Sam, gets dragged into a scheme to gain possession of two antique pistols and deliver them to a mysterious buyer. As collateral to make sure he comes through with the goods, Sam is kidnapped by a burly, but chatty and world-weary guard (James Gandolfini) who isn't quite what he seems...
Brad and Julia do their 'thing', and their characters have plenty of scenes to really explore the intricacies of Sam and Jerry's relationship, despite them rarely appearing on-screen at the same time for virtually the whole film. There are lots of amusing moments to lighten the fast-paced journey of the film - the multiple version flashbacks to the story behind the pistols which Jerry has been sent to retrieve are really quite entertaining - and the quirky characters chasing Jerry and Sam definitely add something to an eclectic mix of personalities. The plot takes a few strange twists and livens things up with a few sideline stories and characters, but moves along at a cracking pace, and with some slick acting from Pitt throughout.
There's a real mix of opinion on this film here, I notice. It's hard to sum it up in just a few sentences, I suppose the best advice is to see it with an open mind, let the film take you through the story and see what you think.
Personally I thought it was top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and Funny Film, 20 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mexican [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This film has had a lot of criticism, partly because of the involvement of Brad Pitt and Julia Roberts. It's amusing to watch their relationship play out and always wondering if it'll last by the end. This film is part comedy and part thriller and not like most think another romance. When the two stars are together, they are very funny. James Gandolfini is excellent in his role, and his scenes with Julia are some of the best in the movie. It is a long but enjoyable film with a fun plot, and certainly worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mexican, 6 April 2010
By 
Sway (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mexican [DVD] (DVD)
Offbeat and unpredictable, wth a couple of laugh out loud moments. I've heard reviews blaming the oversized star status of Brad and Julia for the film's relative failure but they play their respective characters' incompetent attempts to get the situation under control to a t. It's definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz, 5 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Mexican [DVD] (DVD)
I have always wanted to travel to Mexico and enjoy watching Julia Roberts so I thought I would give this a go. Apart from the occasion smile I found this very dull and disjointed. The film offers little talking points and is very not very engaging and at just under 2 hours long getting to the end is a struggle. Another issue is that the entire movie changes its tone from one moment to the next. It would be fair to say that it can't decide weather it wants to be a comedy or thriller and ending up being a awkward blend of both. Even though I can not claim to have watched every film they have been in, this is by far the worst individual Pitt and Roberts film I have watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mexican [DVD] [2001]
The Mexican [DVD] [2001] by Gore Verbinski (DVD - 2002)
£2.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews