Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most infamous exploitation film of all time
When movies first came out on video there were two legendary exploitation films I had to track down. One was "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and the other was "I Spit on Your Grave," which is actually the more memorable film of the pair overall (although I do grant the highest place to the "hook" scene in TCM). Director Meir Zarchi's 1978 film has become rather infamous,...
Published on 8 Jan 2003

versus
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different, controversial...but somewhat muted in UK version
New York writer Jennifer (Camille Keaton, the grand-niece of physical comedy genius Buster Keaton) retreats to a cabin in the country to write her first novel, but her peace and train of thought is interrupted by four men she meets upon arrival, who go on to gang-rape and commit savagery on her three times before leaving her for dead (one of the guys was supposed to kill...
Published on 15 Sep 2005 by Mr. A. T. Whitaker


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different, controversial...but somewhat muted in UK version, 15 Sep 2005
By 
New York writer Jennifer (Camille Keaton, the grand-niece of physical comedy genius Buster Keaton) retreats to a cabin in the country to write her first novel, but her peace and train of thought is interrupted by four men she meets upon arrival, who go on to gang-rape and commit savagery on her three times before leaving her for dead (one of the guys was supposed to kill her so she couldn't grass them up but he couldn't go through with it and faked her death instead).
However, Jennifer soon recovers from her ordeal sufficiently enough to enact some very painful revenge on each of her four attackers, one by one...
Banned in the UK until 2001, it was only finally granted an 18 certificate in that year when the BBFC ordered just over seven minutes of cuts to the rape scenes. When this newer version was resubmitted to the BBFC in 2003 with some of the previously cut footage reframed to put Jennifer off the bottom of the screen, they passed all except just 41 seconds of cuts, making this the most complete version we have ever had in the UK. While it's still shocking, the reframed footage is noticeably blurrier and the wrongness of the screen layout is very obvious. Also, not being able to see the victim has undoubtedly muted the effect, making her vengeful attacks later seem over-the-top compared to what it might have been had the censored footage been left in its original uncut form, but I guess on this occasion the BBFC's hands are tied and that we should think ourselves lucky that we got the film officially released at all.
Many have accused it of glorifying rape, which is not the case at all. If anything, it shows just how horrific it really is, and how damaging it is, physically and emotionally, to the victim. Meir Zarchi, the Italian director, handled a very difficult subject matter here, and it was even based on a real event.
Other complaints that even the uncut version wouldn't cure is that the acting is a bit hammy sometimes, with dialogue sometimes sounding like it's being barked down a hollow tube, and some of the gore isn't quite the right shade of red, but given the time it was made it's not miles away from the correct colour, and the bathroom scene is still a ghastly sight.
If you like shocks and scares, you'll certainly get some in I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE, possibly one of the most complained-about and controversial movies in cinema history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most infamous exploitation film of all time, 8 Jan 2003
By A Customer
When movies first came out on video there were two legendary exploitation films I had to track down. One was "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and the other was "I Spit on Your Grave," which is actually the more memorable film of the pair overall (although I do grant the highest place to the "hook" scene in TCM). Director Meir Zarchi's 1978 film has become rather infamous, since critics hated it, audiences were outraged, and the film was banned in Germany and Great Britain. The story, such as it is, finds Jennifer Hill (Camille Keaton, Buster's grand-niece) out in the woods of Connecticut to work on a novel when she crosses the path of some local boys who decide she should be the first sexual partner for their mentally-disabled friend. When he cannot complete the rape, his friends do it for him. Then they decide that they are not done with Jennifer.
At issue are not Jennifer's specific acts of revenge, including the infamous bathroom scene, but rather the series of brutal rapes that precede them. I do not want to meet anyone who is not disturbed by these rape scenes and I think it is fairly obvious that Zarchi intended to make audiences uncomfortable. In retrospect you have to wonder about all those movies with rape scenes that do NOT upset the audience. But Zarchi certainly pours it on thick, absolutely assuring that things go beyond the tolerance level of anyone who watches this film. So the bottom line is that this film will upset you and it is therefore effective at doing exactly what it wants to do, which is supposed to be a good thing, right? I have always considered this an "X" rated movie although I would not consider it pornographic in the traditional sense. But it is a very disturbing film and I do not think I would want my kids to see it until after they graduate college (if ever). Anyone renting this film for cheap thrills is in for a shock.
As I now understand it, this 1978 film was originally released as "Day of the Woman," but that rather innocuous title was replaced by the well known "I Spit on Your Grave," although the film was also screened as "I Hate Your Guts" and "The Rape and Revenge of Jennifer Hill." All of this is interesting since it seems the producers were trying to pass off this film with both higher and lover levels of pretention. Beyond being letterboxed, this DVD offers nothing than the cheesy original theatrical trailer. But this is one film where you would certainly like to have to hear what the director has to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Censorship, 25 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: I Spit On Your Grave (Cut Version) (DVD) (DVD)
The rape scenes are not as bad as described because the BBFC cut them and also altered the framing. The bottle sequence is missing. These cuts make the director look incompetant and alters the impact of the entire film. This version becomes a mere entertainment by such bowdlerisation, extenuating the 'fun' aspects, i.e. the murders, which couldn't have been the BBFC's intention. The uncut version is much more disturbing. The cut version reduces the rape trauma and makes Jennifer's revenge seem disproportionate. They cut the sexual activity of the rape but explicit consensual sex is permitted viewing in the pursuit of murder. Where's the morality in that? The censorship of this movie is unconscionable, especially as 'Irreversible' is left untouched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Offers little more than the previously cut version, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I spit on your grave has been remade for 2010, so it is obvious why they have repackaged this original version onto Blu-ray with a poster and a booklet. Although this is classed as uncut compared to last version approved by the BBFC, this version is still cut by some 4 minutes. If you were lucky enough to have seen it in full on VHS, you will probably be disappointed with this version as it excludes some really good scenes. The transfer to Blu-ray wasn't necessary as the picture and audio quality are hardly Hi-Def. I really wish they BBFC would shut up shop and leave films alone, after all, isn't it about individual responsibility for what we wish to watch. Far too many 'video nasties' are now quite tame compared to modern films....BBFC, leave our films alone. Great film, poor picture/audio quality hence 3 stars. An fully uncut version would have been 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warning: this is not uncut, 30 Jun 2010
I Spit on Your Grave is an extremely difficult film to watch and and yet one that is utterly compelling. I'm not sure whether or not it needs high definition treatment, but this will certainly be the best the film has ever looked in the UK and this is the most complete version yet released.

Be warned though. It is not uncut and the cover art looks a little misleading in that department. It is a nice touch to have the original title (Day of the Woman) on the front and this is certainly a release that will interest many people but if you have the uncut R1 release, I'd stick with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The UNCUT version, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your going to buy this film then I would suggest you get the totally uncut version which is sold here on amazon for around 15.
You can get it cheaper, a lot cheaper in fact for the censored version, but if your like me then you would rather fork out for the entire movie not one that is ripped to shreds. The version I purchased is the German import which has a different cover than the one you would expect...look for the one with the screaming man on and titled Day of the woman, I spit on your grave,( not the one with the yellow cover with a semi clad woman walking away with a knife in hand . Avoid that version ! .)
This uncut version has German writing on back cover with German and English audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sadistic in every way possible..., 28 Dec 2005
From start to finish this movie is a complete bloodbath. Ok, I admit, the rape scenes are a little over-the-top, and go on for too long. However they shock the viewer.....and that's the whole point. Films which glorify rape and violence (A Clockwork Orange & Straw Dogs) often portray a picture that this kind of stuff is 'cool'. I Spit on your grave does exactly the opposite, anyone who is aroused by this movie needs serious help and should be locked up. Seriously, there is nothing whatsoever erotic about the rape. The woman is beaten so badly while she is completly naked that you can barley see her skin colour, shes just covered in blood.
The fact that she goes and kills the four men who did this to her satisfies the viewer in the fact that they got what they deserved. Again, the murders are so over-the-top that they become almost cartoonish. The gore is so extreme that it simply doesn't look real.
I praise the director however, because I think no other director on earth would ever dream of making such a movie, in fear of critisism and ridicule. Also, you've got to have a pretty sick mind in order to think up some of the stuff that goes on here. But is having a sick mind always bad?? It's what makes us creative. And this film is creative believe me.
Ok so it's not to everyones taste. I absolutley hate Casablanca, but that doesn't mean it's a bad film. But look that ot the point. The point here is that I spit o your Grave is doing the world a favour. It's shoing the viewer what rape is like. It's showing us it all without censoring anything. The goverment censors enough from us as it is. We are lied to everyday by the prime minister, and the director here isn't. He's showing us what it's really like.
And so, any reviewers who think this is trash are entitled to their opinion. But that's all it is. An opinion. People should open their eyes to the fact that this is not glorifying anything, it's doing the opposite. It's a horror film which aims to scare and disturb the viewer. That what horror films are suppose to do you idiots!
Horror fans will love it. Ignorant people won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 101 Films releases are still CUT, 6 Sep 2010
By 
Dragon0303 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
As the other reviewer has said, and I'll slightly expand on, these Blu-ray and DVD releases are still cut by 2 minutes 54 seconds. So whereas these new releases by 101 Films do include 4 minutes 8 seconds of previous cuts to UK releases, they are not uncut. They look like good releases, but still fall a bit short with this notorious title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNCUT!, 5 Mar 2006
If you buy the Region 2 edition of this film, it still isn't fully uncut, as the BBFC think the UK public arn't ready for the full-on hardcore gore version. But if you dare view the whole film as it was ment to be seen by the director, then buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the only version to have, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. M. Balde "dvds fan" (london.uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
l am suprise,to see that l am the first one ,to write a review for this movie ( which is 100% uncut ). and l can not inderstand why so many people want for the uk version,which is horribly cuts,so much that you want to put the dvd in trash bin. the americain version ? well maybe less cut, but still a waste of time . so which is the best country to buy a dvd which is 100% uncut ? well the answer is very simple: the german version ,the deutch version or maybe the austrian version . ok ,ok some people will say : l can not inderstand the writing on the front cover and the back cover of the dvd,everything is written in deutch or in german.but how care because as long as you have the english audio language ,that is really matter?in my opinion, not at all.that why anyone sould buy this version of this movie, and is written : strong uncut version on the back cover of the dvd .you can not go wrong .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Spit On Your Grave (Cut Version) (DVD)
I Spit On Your Grave (Cut Version) (DVD) by Meir Zarchi (DVD - 2005)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews