Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Stylish and Brilliantly Original
This is a film I had been meaning to see for a long time and wish I had not left it so long. It stars sultry, hunk, Brad Davis (`Midnight Express' and `Chariots of Fire') as the title character Querelle. He is a gay, sailor who arrives in the French port of Brest to do a drug deal whilst opportunistically being on shore and some random violence and sex if he feels like it...
Published 24 months ago by Tommy Dooley

versus
4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SEE YOU LATER SAILOR.....
This movie had the same effect on me as sea sickness,i felt nausea,cold sweats and a gross queasiness.Sometime's a movie will be a cult because it is unpopular and badly executed...hello Querelle.This film is AWFUL.Shot in a gross,tangerine light,a wobbly studio stage and worse of all a boss eyed confused Brad Davis.Davis was the ONLY reason i wanted to see this film,in...
Published on 29 Aug. 2011 by mister joe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Stylish and Brilliantly Original, 15 Mar. 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Querelle [DVD][1982] (DVD)
This is a film I had been meaning to see for a long time and wish I had not left it so long. It stars sultry, hunk, Brad Davis (`Midnight Express' and `Chariots of Fire') as the title character Querelle. He is a gay, sailor who arrives in the French port of Brest to do a drug deal whilst opportunistically being on shore and some random violence and sex if he feels like it and oh yes he does. He is also the object of unrequited love of the ships Lieutenant Seblon (Franco Nero who's had an amazing career just made `Django Unchained' and was in the original `Django' in 1966) who lustily watches his underling whilst recording his feelings on a Dictaphone.

All the action in the town seems to centre on a bar/brothel where the `host' Nono throws dice to see who gets to `have' whom. If he wins you are basically going to be on the receiving end of some pretty big man `bear' type action. Also Nono's wife is having an open liaison with Querelles' brother and on meeting it is clear they have a love / hate relationship which seems to centre around some sort of physical attraction. Things happen at a poetic pace that is almost surreal at times and this is all absolutely intentional as it builds to an ending that is written big, from the start, that will be tragic.

This is an adaptation of Jean Genet's book and as such was always going to be difficult to adapt, but if anyone could then it has to be the director here Rainer Werner Fassbinder(`The Marriage of Maria Braun' and `The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant'). This was Fassbinder's last film in what had been both a productive and illuminating career; sadly he died of an overdose of cocaine at the age of 37. He wanted to capture the mood of the book and so deliberately filmed everything on a studio set, at some cost, so as to be able to have the surreal orange sky and clearly painted sun in some of the more iconic shots.

Nearly every scene has some homo erotic element to it. The sailors all walk around looking like refugees from a Jean Paul-Gautier advert and quotes from the book are interspersed through-out to help uncover the character which is too complex to be adequately conveyed in the normal restrictions of a two dimensional film. The language is deliberately provocative and infused with sexual meaning as in the real intention of the `f' word. There is also tension through-out along with stylised violence and the use of fetish clothing to make the film feel even more unreal and removed from the ordinary. Even the cop is in a leather biker outfit; wish it was like that in real life, the arrest rates might go up a bit though. And the lighting is stupendous, this has been lit like a noir classic in places, couple this with the lingering sultry shots of Querelle looking both languorous and sexy just by standing there and the effect is one that is both intriguing and almost beguiling.

I watched this almost totally rapt at what it was supposed to be and what I thought a film should be but this was not complying to the norms. So I took a while to think of what I really had seen and it is so obvious that a director like this comes along so rarely that when you get the chance to see his work you realise that this is indeed something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawed masterpiece, 4 Feb. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Querelle [DVD][1982] (DVD)
Fassbinder's last film is based on what would seem to be an unfilmable 'Querelle de Brest', by Jean Genet. It looks wonderful: lush orange sunsets, sailors, workmen, prostitues, policemen, phallic imagery. Brad Davis is stunning as the amoral, beautiful sailor. The plot and the dialogue are patchy and enigmatic, confusing at times, like a dream, bizarre at times, like a fantasy, but the sumptuousness of the whole spectacle carries the viewer along and the film contains some of the most erotic scenes in cinema. Gunther Kaufmann is wonderful as the pimp Nono, against whom all men who visit his brothel must play a game of dice: if the man wins, he gets to have sex with Nono's wife, if he loses, he must let Nono shag him; Querelle loses on purpose, not because he is gay, but in order to go beyond the bounds of experience and morality. The music by Peer Raben is mesmerising and haunting. Although a difficult and flawed film, it is a landmark in modern cinema. Fassbinder must have had a great time directing it. Apparently there is a more explicit cut of this movie. Please release it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Camp like an hour long armani advert but good, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Querelle [DVD][1982] (DVD)
Its maybe two or three times that I had to watch this movie before I grasped its integrity. Yes itsa little self indulgent but once you revel in its idiosyncrasies it becomes rather enjoyable. Camp like an hour long armani advert but good fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fassbinders final, 27 July 2002
By 
This review is from: Querelle [DVD][1982] (DVD)
This was Fassbinders last film before he passed away and it may be one of his best.
Unfortinality this is not a great DVD-realese of the movie.
The transfer is not anamorphic but it's in widescreen aspect 2.35:1, there are no subtitles avaible. The region 1 realese is in anamorphic widescreen and does have subtitles in some laungagues, like english for hearing impacts.
The sound describes as dolby digital 2.0 but it sound more like mono to me, but it probably the original sound.
It's a shame this realese is so bad because it's however a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection on every level. Jeanne Moreau shines!, 24 Aug. 2014
By 
Brian Pinette (Cedar Park, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Querelle [DVD][1982] (DVD)
GREAT classic film sold by a wonderful, quick ship(per) Seller on amazon.com/UK. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Querelle (Audio CD)
Really satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SEE YOU LATER SAILOR....., 29 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Querelle [DVD][1982] (DVD)
This movie had the same effect on me as sea sickness,i felt nausea,cold sweats and a gross queasiness.Sometime's a movie will be a cult because it is unpopular and badly executed...hello Querelle.This film is AWFUL.Shot in a gross,tangerine light,a wobbly studio stage and worse of all a boss eyed confused Brad Davis.Davis was the ONLY reason i wanted to see this film,in the realms of forgotten talent and a star that could've been Brad Davis possibly wore the crown.His performance in Midnight Express is flawless,he had that Brando quality of being macho and sensitive,that unquantifiable charisma.Sadly the fame went to Davis's head,he obliterated himself with drugs,destroyed his career,alienating Hollywood until he was kinda discarded.By the time he sorted himself out he only did tv movie stuff,never really achieving what he could have then worse becoming almost a leper in Hollywood because he discovered he was ill with Aids...this was pre Philadephia before Tom Hanks taught everyone that you cannot contact Aids by touching someones hand or drinking from the same champagne flute.Actually instead of buying Querelle buy After Midnight a sort of biography of Davis wriiten by his wife.Davis had a horribly complex early life,put it this way i think his Mum made him "sleep" in the same bed.Oh yeah...the film.The acting is cardboard cut out,afternoon american soap sensuality,ridicolous ham fights,ugly foreigners and a current of planet sized pretension.I mean the story is actually alright about this shifty,amoral,morally corrupt sailor but it all falls flat in incredibly naff style over substance.The latent homoeroticism is presented sordidly,one particular scene had me wrenching.Another reviewer comments on the "eroticism".Hmmmm....it has all the erotic qualitys of two dogs fornicating down the park tongues flailing,legs jittering.Horrible.As a viewer you DO NOT CARE ONE IOTA about these flat,nasty characters.For Davis while i commend his spirit this movie might have well been called "How To Kill Your Career In Hollywood.Part One".It is one of the biggest examples in my memory of career suicide.Brad Davis,bless him kind of looks bemused wondering around the phallic sound stages.Obviously there are those masochistic Art Movie buffs who will think this bad breath of a film is a "flawed" masterpiece.NO.Just an awful,awful,awful movie.Bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Warning to the Curious, 29 Mar. 2007
By 
R. J. Bowen "fishcheese" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Querelle [DVD][1982] (DVD)
You know that saying about bad movies being train wrecks? Well, this

isn't just a train wreck...this is the Godzilla sequel to the mother of

all train wrecks.

Ohhhhhh, this film plays like an improv sketch of an art-house film

written by lobotomised baboons.

Unwatchable. Really. And orange. With half-naked oiled-up actors and

enormous phallic mooring posts. Well, not so much phallic as phallus...

What on earth Franco Nero and Jeanne Moreau thought they were doing agreeing to take part in this septic tank of a film is quite beyond me.

Truly, the worst movie I have ever tried to watch. I suspect I won't try the book either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Querelle [VHS]
Querelle [VHS] by Rainer Werner Fassbinder (VHS Tape - 2002)
Used & New from: £5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews