Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is more than world music, buy it now
I too bought this after only reading a few words in a magazine and boy am I glad I did! This CD will probably sit in the world music shelves of your local HMV, but dont let that put you off because any music lover, be it pop, dance or indie will find this instantly accessible. The highlight being Michael Stipe paired with a traditional indian singer to produce one of...
Published on 24 Feb 2002 by Mr. Mj Sanders

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Partially Beautiful - but been done better before
Undoubted some very beautiful music here, but is quite inconsistent. There have been better attempts at the combination of modern western music and so called "world music". For example the soundtrack to the "Lonely Planet" a uk tv series, some of the recordings on Peter Garbriel's Real World projects, anything by Ofra Haza and many more. Don't be...
Published on 23 July 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is more than world music, buy it now, 24 Feb 2002
By 
Mr. Mj Sanders "sanderzo" (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1 Giant Leap -12tr- (Audio CD)
I too bought this after only reading a few words in a magazine and boy am I glad I did! This CD will probably sit in the world music shelves of your local HMV, but dont let that put you off because any music lover, be it pop, dance or indie will find this instantly accessible. The highlight being Michael Stipe paired with a traditional indian singer to produce one of the most haunting and amazing songs I have heard in ages. This CD has been under publicised and will probably not be a big seller, shame, cause it deserves a place in everyones CD collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album of 2002? Quite possibly., 14 April 2002
By 
Will (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 1 Giant Leap -12tr- (Audio CD)
Jamie Catto and Duncan Bridgeman are geniuses. Travelling the world with a laptop to record a wide range of musicians, scientist, authors and thinkers on is unusual to say the least. However, they've produced what may well be some of the most beautiful and haunting music ever heard. They describe it themselves on the back of the CD as "exploring the unity in the diversity" and that it is.
Spanning all genres and all the world, this album truly is a masterpiece that deserves a place in everyone's collection. Featuring international stars such as Robbie Williams and Michael Stipe to relative unknowns like Baaba Maal and Speech. None of these artists recorded together yet the songs are contructed so masterfully that you'd never know. The vocals of Speech and Neneh Cherry on 'Braided Hair' are particularly impressive as it sounds so much like they recorded with each other.
The wonderful fusion of different styles in exceptionally good, "Ma' Africa" mixes an African womens choir with modern dance to great effect.
'The Way You Dream' is one of the standout tracks, Michael Stipe's voice will haunt you and effect you more than you can imagine.
This album will leave you enchanted and you can't fail to fall in love with it. Likely to be labelled "World" music which may put some off but don't let it for this really is an outstanding work which will appeal to everyone and deserves huge recognition, let's hope they do it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't be so exclusive, 15 Dec 2002
This review is from: 1 Giant Leap -12tr- (Audio CD)
...I too have been listening to global music for many years and can state that while I have heard the same thing done before it is done just as well if not better on this album.The production is terrific.The ear for music of the two producers and the way they construct songs making the most perfect use of their artists is magnificent.Having never fallen for the hype about Eddi Reader's voice I was apprehensive about her featuring but the production just makes the best use of her.Similarly who can listen to the opening track and not get their imagination jerked into visualising Baba Maal in his natural setting (town or country) crying out his prayer.How can anyone not wonder at Tibetan Prayer Bells fitting so perfectly into a song as "All Alone".Even the spoken pieces just fit in and complement the music everywhere on the album.The overall message of the album - the one world,full of humans of great differnces culturally but physically from the same make up comes through in the album.Yes encourage people to listen to more world music.By all means quote the names of some criminally overlooked artists of the past 3 decades but let people come to appreciate global music in whatever way they come to it. Easily the finest album this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World music for the Contemporary world, 25 Feb 2005
By 
A. G. Gibbons "book & music inamorata" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1 Giant Leap -12tr- (Audio CD)
To say this is world music in this case is in no way to limit it to being a stagnant repetition of the songs and sounds of other cultures and nations. 1 giant leap brings music from all over the world, and blends them with a sense of mainstream. The result is a refreshing reinvigoration of both modern pop/hip-hop and world music. Every track holds its own individual sound, which fit within the over-arching frame of the album, encasing this eclectic mix.
Most people will have heard 'My Culture' which features vocal/rap from Robbie Williams, but this is certainly not the best track. I'd say the weak point for me is 'Braided Hair', which i find the most repetitive and simplistic. That said, one of my best friend adores it.
Personal Favourites are:
'Ma' Africa' - an uplifting track with a clear tribal feel, and lyrics which seek to "make Africa a land of hope"
"The Way you dream" - Truly epic, truly gorgeous, blending the western with the indian and back to the western with Michael Stipe. A selfless song.
"Ghosts" - A ghostly sound, with strings, building in intensity. Absolutely hauntingly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 8 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 1 Giant Leap -12tr- (Audio CD)
I sat down and listened to this cd in one sitting and I was absolutely blown away by it. It manages to seamlessly blend different musical styles and cultures together, producing a truly atmospheric and emotional experience. It's albums like this that remind you of how powerful music can be as an inspirational force in life. Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece - every track is stunning, 20 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 1 Giant Leap -12tr- (Audio CD)
Wow, I'm so glad I discovered this CD. I saw their amazing film at V2002 and it blew my mind as well as everyone else's there. This album has made me appreciate African and Indian sounds in a way I never did before. The purists might hate it, but the SOUL of music is so powerful here. Also the way it was recorded is so groundbreaking. The artists actually travelled the countries and met the musicians, no sampling but real collaboration. Perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best cd I own, 5 Feb 2010
This review is from: 1 Giant Leap -12tr- (Audio CD)
Having bought this cd in 2002 I now have to limit my playing of it to selective occaisions only to ensure its magic never fades. I just don't want to overplay it.
Consistant in its ability to raise the hairs on the back of my neck, not always the same track but always this cd, it simply contains every element of music I like.
Anyone who doesn't love this cd just hasn't yet played it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical mongrelization at its very best!, 21 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 1 Giant Leap -12tr- (Audio CD)
I bought this album out of curiosity and on something of a whim. Thank goodness I did, my ears have been treated to an eclectic feast of musical delights; be it the contrasting styles of Robbie Williams and Maxi Jazz in 'My Culture' or the rootsy raw sound of 'Braided Hair'. This is truly a joy from start to finish, or should I say from Baaba Maal to Eddi Reader!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is something really special., 12 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 1 Giant Leap -12tr- (Audio CD)
How can so many musicians from so many cultures blend together so seamlessly. Robbie Williams, Michael Stipe, Dennis Hopper, Kurt Vonngut, Tabla players, African drummers, Maori singers, phew! It just gets deeper and more addictive with evey track. I haven't taken it off my CD player since I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a journey!, 4 April 2011
By 
G. Seabrook (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1 Giant Leap -12tr- (Audio CD)
This album sounds as fresh today as it did 10 years ago, as it will in 10 years time. One of the main drivers for the '1 Giant Leap' project was Jamie Cato, founding member of Faithless. The musical energy that was evident on Reverence (Faithless first album) is also evident here. Cato embarked on a world musical quest to sample and collaborate with an eclectic blend of musicians including Baaba Maal, Michael Stipe, Michael Franti and a veritable world blend of talent.

The recording output from these collaborations is an ambient, soulful driven album of both power and beauty. The album is defined with the first song - an almost impossibly beautiful offering called 'Dunya Salam' featuring Baaba Maal. The imagery I have for this opener is of a person howling into a gusting sand storm with tears in their eyes and steel in their heart. A solid introduction to a musical journey!

The album's musical heartbeat would probably be defined as 'world' music. But to describe this album as 'world' music alone does not adequately describe the meeting of old and contemporary musical styles. We therefore have Michael Stipe featured in a song (called 'The Way You Dream') played by musicians from New Zealand (Putorino), UK (Guitar), South Africa (Kora) and India (Voice). This theme permeates the album and we hear the likes of Michael Franti, Robbie Williams and Maxi Jazz performing in songs containing, variously, chanting and scratching alongside a wide range of musical instruments.

My personal favourite is a song called 'Daphne' featuring vocals from South Africa, Ghana, India and UK. Mesmerising.

This is an album you will come back to time and again. Even 10 years later I am discovering bits I have missed.

A brilliant album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1 Giant Leap -12tr-
1 Giant Leap -12tr- by 1 Giant Leap (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews