Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GO HERE FOR WHAT A REAL FOOTBALL FAN THINKS
ok, ive been playing this game for over 2 years and that says it all. I am aware that the game is extremely old and is in the 03/04 season, but honestly i have nt found any manager game worthy of replacing it . the thing that makes it special is the large player database. it has over 200 000 players, and with a download you can get the background ( former teams, goals for...
Published on 17 Dec 2007 by james bouchier

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning of the End for Champiano
For those of you who are completely new to the world of Championship Manager, (you are a minority - and shame on you) CM4 might seem like a decent footy management sim. But for die-hard fans who have spent countless nights pursiung succesful seasons with our favourite clubs in Champiano 01/02 (thats the name on the street), CM4 will be a huge disappointment.
Its a...
Published on 6 May 2003 by M. Angeli


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning of the End for Champiano, 6 May 2003
By 
M. Angeli "Mike" (Kenley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Championship Manager 4 (Video Game)
For those of you who are completely new to the world of Championship Manager, (you are a minority - and shame on you) CM4 might seem like a decent footy management sim. But for die-hard fans who have spent countless nights pursiung succesful seasons with our favourite clubs in Champiano 01/02 (thats the name on the street), CM4 will be a huge disappointment.
Its a real let-down and a shame really, after waiting for so long.
Well, what exactly is wrong with the game? Its actually very difficult to know where to start. Firstly, the most obvious negative point is the speed of the game. CM4 is TERRIBLY slow, especially during a match when commentary is supposed to be running at a 'very fast speed' but doesn't really go very quick at all. Then there's the pathetic looking 2D option which looks like watching pool balls hit a very tiny white cue ball.
Secondly, there are consistent bugs in the game. For instance, a die-hard fan I know recently started a game with Arsenal. He qualified from phase 1 of the Champions League, but on the news screen it proclaimed "Arsenal have been knocked out of the Champions League". This has happened more than once, which is rather embarassing for a reputable company such as Eidos.
Thirdly, why bring it out (with bugs included) at the end of the season when the stats will be out-of-date within months?
Another minor point which displeases me about CM4 is the fact that I feel as though whatever I do during a match will not affect the outcome of the result, i.e. substitutions, tactical changes etc. make little difference.
The few plus points are - loads of leagues, players, teams and statistics. Thats about it.
In conclusion, it is not worth buying CM4 if you are any sort of a fan. If you are that curious, then buy CM 2001/2002 and download the updated stats for last season. Or buy the best football game ever - Pro Evo 2 on the playstation. AVOID CM4!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Ultimate Soccer Manager than Championship Manager, 5 April 2003
This review is from: Championship Manager 4 (Video Game)
Having waited 18 months for the release of cm4 i was expecting a masterpiece that had taken all the good things from cm01/02 and made them even better, what did i get, a game that requires a patch as soon as you install it otherwise half the features don't work such as player historys, a game that runs so slowly that the weeks are almost real time. I kid you not.
Don't get me wrong some of the new features are impressive such as the 2d match engine but with the introduction of training screens and the new "skin" it feels more like Ultimate Soccer Manager.
Long live cm 01/02 is what i say, now has anybody seen my recipt...................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just a bad game, 21 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Championship Manager 4 (Video Game)
Having been a CM fanatic for many years, i first played the game on the amiga many years ago, i couldnt wait for this game. I queued up for a good hour in my lunch break to buy it on the release date, then had to wait till i finished work to play it. When i did load it and start, i couldnt believe my eyes. First are the graphics. The previous games are all a simple design and very familar set outs, but this one changes all the good points of the other ones and basically starts again. Not the best idea when you have a best selling game title which most people own and are used to. The next thing i noticed was how painfully slow the game is. You could easily complete a season in a days playing, so addictive were the other games, but you would be lucky to finish 10 games in the same time now. This is partly due to the setting out of everthing, which will become easier after time, but mainly due to the loading time after you click continue. It seems to go through every fixtures score of every team in every country, which is displayed at the bottom of the screen. A long time. Then there is the training. Its just so complicated it is stupid. I cant say more because i didnt even attempt to try it. There are some great additions to this game, like the option to offer players to interested clubs rather then wait to see if they bid, and to offer clubs the chance to loan your players even if they show no interest. Also there are improved transfer options. Now you can enquiry after a player and get a price if they want to sell, or just get told where to go. This is an excellent idea. Saying that, you cant really afford to buy anyone as if you enquire you normally get an answer that they want 20-30 million, and you only get a 'healthy'(not my words,the games) 10 million to spend. And this was as arsenal. Then theres the wage cap you get. Good idea, but the thing i liked about the other games were the fact you could do whatever you wanted with the money. If you wanted 20 world class players on 80,000 a week then you could, now you can have 3 key players and 5 important first team players and thats as good as it gets. The final point i noticed was the fact you cant tell whos interested in coming to you in the transfer list. The older games you could filter out uninterested players and know you could get all other players, now you can only ask your assistant to filter out unrealistic targets, which leaves you with about 3 players. Overall the game is just a huge disappointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Champ Man 4, 18 Oct 2003
This review is from: Championship Manager 4 (Video Game)
As a lifelong customer to the Championship Manager franchise, I eargerly awaited this newest addition, much like I eagerly waited for all the previous versions. Version 04, unlike all the others, dissapointed me wholly.
Why? The first, and most important reason is hard to define, but Champ Man fans who have played this and the previous installments will know what I mean...the feel of the game. Champ Man has always improved on itself year by year, and every version always feels good. They had a winning formulae, but decided to completely change it for version 04...why? No idea.
Ok, so you've said that the feel of the game isnt good, but I dont really know what you mean....you only gave it 1 star...what's wrong with the game?
Many things.
Speed - The game plays out so slowly. During matches, there are sluggish pauses when there is a break in play (corners etc.), and the commentary is generally slower than previous games. And unless you have a behemoth of a computer, I would give up ever using the new in game '3d' match screen (which is awful and slow).
Transfers - Well, this is a huge part of the game, so fittingly the developers have tried alot of new features to impress, though sadly none work. The new 'enquiry' option, which aims to give you an impression of a clubs valuation of a player, works something like this: You make an enquiry about a player. Now, one of two things happen. If the player is someone who is obviously for sale (ie - listed, awful stats....) you will be told they are worth what you can see they are worth from their information. If the player is half decent, you will be told he is not for sale at any price, despite the fact most players are fpr sale at the right price.
This sums up Champ Man...so many new features...but why change the winning formulae. Selling players is nigh on impossible, even when clubs have expressed an interested in them, and you then offer the player away. In a full season, I couldnt manage to sell Zidane or Figo, at their suggested prices.
Signing players is equally pathetic. It's hit and miss. Eg - I signed Mendieta in his prime, with a long time still to go on his contract for 12 million, whist 36 million was Diego Tristan's asking price. They've aimed for realism....and maybe they've got it, but is that really what we want? Championship Manager is a GAME....not a tutorial for budding managers. THIS ISNT FUN. Trust me, dont buy this, get Champ Manager 3, the 01/02 update. That game is fantastic and 04 pales in comparison.
To summarize.
Version 04 is ambitious, but all the realism that has been introduced has drowned out all the fun of the previous versions. What a dissapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars damn frustrating!, 15 April 2003
This review is from: Championship Manager 4 (Video Game)
ok, everything about this game screams buy me buy me! at you. and like all the other champ fanantics out there i did. ive owned and loved every single champ pc game that has been released by those genius-type chaps at sports interactive. but i really think they have gone too far this time. the game is really quite unaccessable - and by that i mean b4 u even play it! it says on the box the minimum spec is 64mb ram and 600mhz processor. well if this is your sepc dont even think about it. im running just the spanish league on small database on a 256mb ram 1.6ghz machine, well above the recommended spec let alone the minimum, and i am geting infuriated with the processing time, especially within matches. oh and i was hammering vitesse arnhem 4-2 in the second half wen the computer decided to revert to the half time score in the 71st minute. quite annoying. i know i would love this game if i could play it on nasas computer, but on anything less give me cm01-02 anyday!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just Stay with CM 3!, 30 Mar 2003
By 
John (West Bromwich) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Championship Manager 4 (Video Game)
As the title of my review suggests, this game just does not live upto the expectations one would suggest. You will not find a bigger CM fan that me, I have every version of the game, and was very much looking forward to this raved about revision of the best football management game ever. But this is just disappointing, OK there are a lot of new features such as the 2D pitch, but who wants to spend 10 minutes viewing a game? The tactics are just too detailed and the player attributes too many. In my opinion too much has gone into the game and spoilt it. It is a great shame, as Championship Manager has been so good in the past. Stick to the latest version of CM3, with the latest updates and save your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as everyone says, 20 April 2003
This review is from: Championship Manager 4 (Video Game)
As my title suggests I was extremely disappointed with the latest instalment of Champ Man. Ive been a huge fan of the series since season 97/98. I was expecting so much from this game and I feel let down now.
They have changed everything they could get their hands on it seems. If it's not broke, dont fix it! It was a good move introducing the 2D pitch though, a step in the right direction i thought. But i soon found out I didnt quite like the birds eye view of the action, after all as a die-hard fan of the game i was fairly accustomed to the flashing text commentary that we all know and love. It was unique to Champ Man.
They gave you the option of just watching the text like i had in previous games so i was happy yes? No. The text was slow and jerky at certain points as well as not having enough description in what was happening in the game like it did in previous games.
I pride myself on my PC too, I like to think its pretty good but still just clicking on the simplest of things like "tactics" or "training" and there was an annoyingly long second or two to wait for it to come up. again didnt have this problem with previous Champ Mans.
And another thing, they dont have an editor! Im sure there are many of us who found that just giving your small club a few extra pounds made the game more enjoyable.
A plus side to the game though is their attention to detail. Again, its second to none like it has been previously. But maybe, going a bit over the top now? Raise your hand all those who would rather manage a team in the second division of Hong Kong, India, Israel or Singapore than a team in any other country?! It's just so they can advertise the game as "manage a club from over 80 divisions from over 30 countries". Sounds good but get into the game and who does everyone want to manage? A club from 1 of 8 maybe 10 countries tops.
I know I sound very negative (obviously) but it's only because I feel after Eidos and Sports Interactive (and/or whoever else held it back) held back the original release of the game and set it back around 4 months I felt entitled to expect more from them. I didnt expect them to play around with a game that was already unimaginably popular.
In conclusion, when the new Champ Man comes out, I will find out if it's anything like CM4 and if so then I think I will be staying well away from it, as much as it hurts me to say. I will go back to the days where Ipswich had players like Simon Milton and Alex Mathie on their books in the good ol days on CM 97/98 until things improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What have you done? This isn't a game!, 29 Mar 2003
This review is from: Championship Manager 4 (Video Game)
As a long standing fan of the series, the news that finally a fourth addition was imminent set my saliva glands pumping. Purchased on the day of release, initial thoughts of the game were quite positive - the interface was friendly and somehwhat similar to previous additions. A few things had been moved slightly and new menu features slotted in - evolution I thought.
After a few teathing problems I soon however realised that sitting in front of my PC playing the game was no longer addictive. Faced with so many variables in tactics was training was baffling rather than challenging. The decsision whether to go on a cross country run or have a friendly game of keepy uppy first thing on a monday morning took serious thought, but without genuinely knowing the true effects of your actions on attributes and morale, it was rather akind to a stab in the dark. After finally deciding which methods of training are suitable for your lads over the course of the week, it turns out the whole thing goes out of the window when you have a midweek fixture. Stressful, not fun.
On to the tactics. Much of the features are similar if not identical, except for one major step backwards. On previous additions it was possible to tell individuals where to focus their passing - a feature no longer available. On this 'improved' CM you can only tell your whole team where to focus their balls to. As a fan of wingers, I used to prefer my right MC to play out to the right wing, and my left to do the same for the opposite flank. Now however you either have to tell your whole team to play down the flanks, or tell them to pass down one specific flank. Progression? I think not.
Matches nowadays are nothing less than abysmal. The much hyped 2D match is like watching a fish tank. If opting for the old faithful text commentary however, you will notice that it rarely appears, and when it does it is in the wrong order. For hours I sat wondering, despite the man's intense skill, how Alan Shearer managed to put the ball in the net before shooting.
Match sounds are poor and extremely quiet, despite having a relatively good system on my PC. Loading times are extremely slow, and individual player orders go out the window as you watch your centre back gallop forward aimlessly, only to be hit on the break.
Dont get me wrong, many of the thoughts that have gone into the game are great, but the tools at your disposal to control the variables are lacking.
Overall, the addiction level to the game has gone out of the window, and been replaced by a boring scientific intricacy that makes the game no longer what its supposed to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What have they Done?????????, 20 Oct 2003
This review is from: Championship Manager 4 (Video Game)
I have loved Championship Manager, 00-01 was damn good, 01-02 was fantastic so I was very excited about this.
The first thing that strikes is that the game needs a high spec computer to run in all it's glory so don't plan on playing it on your trusty Pentium III unless you have a copy of War and Peace to occupy you during loading times.
But anyway, you load the game up you pick your team and you look at the screen for about 30 seconds and then exclaim, "What have you done to Chanpionship Manager? They have changed the winning formula of the previous 2 games and have introduced an obscenely complex interface which, granted gives you complete control over virtually everything but it is just sooooo complex that it leeches much of the fun out of the game. They have gone too far with this, the game now takes far too long to play in any great detail, building a winning team now takes hours of fiddling with obscure details, while your board lets you do ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!!!
On the plus side the 2d Match view really helps with strategy.
Basically if you have hours and hours of spare time and the patience of a saint there is a good game under all the menus, and sub-menus however to be honest very few of us have this much time and 01-02 is realistically a far superior and much more balanced game. Roll on Champ Man 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas but flaky execution spoils enjoyment, 1 May 2003
By 
S. Birt "simonbirt" (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Championship Manager 4 (Video Game)
With the the same, high levels of anticipation and expectations as many of the fans of the previous version of this game, would have coming to this version, I couldn't wait to get started on the new season. Despite being a little disappointed at being sacked by Leeds United after winning the UEFA cup, the League cup and the FA Cup in the same season (how wonderful things can be in a fanstasy world!!), I swallowed my pride and started out again with Parma. After a flying season I found myself managing Parma in a dull but enjoyable UEFA cup final, up 1-0 with ten minutes to go. So I was a mite upset when I received an error message that champioship manager 4 had generated errors and windows was going to close it...now.
A few other things happened along the way in both games such as scores in games being different from the scores recorded on the videoprinter i.e. your team wins only to find that in fact you lost when the results are recorded into the league table. Another annoying issue; I don't understand the point of having an enquiry option on the transfer screen for a player when every reply is totally ridiculous, e.g. Brett Emerton is valued at 3.8 million which on enquiry rose to 18 million when Feyenoord replied. This happens every time and with every player, so it isn't a case of the club telling you politely where to go.
In summary, I find this to be a flaky version of a game which in the future should be very good indeed. The slated delivery deadline for this game slipped a few times as most people will know and unfortunately it is showing a few of the bugs that weren't ironed out.
Forewarned is forearmed as they say so if you buy this game just keep checking back to the web site where regular updates (and bug fixes) are being posted. I, for one, look forward to the next - hopefully more mature - version.
For the record I used a machine with windows 2000 and I did have the latest updates installed from the web site(goodness knows what it would have been like before I downloaded the bug fixes).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Championship Manager 4
Championship Manager 4 by Eidos (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
4.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews