Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Blu-Ray Transfer - well worth upgrading from DVD
Own a Samsung 46" 3D LED TV and just watched Groundhog Day and also compared it to my DVD version.
Amazing transfer. Well worth the upgrade. Pictures and colours are nice and sharp.

You know the details of this now classic comedy, so I won't go into it.

You also get :-

25 mins doc - Groundhog Day - The Weight Of Time
6 mins doc...
Published 22 months ago by Fleece

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor picture quality
US imported Bluray to play in our US Bluray player here in UK.
The picture quality on this disc I found to be rather dark & a little grainy. I know it is an old film but I have many Old films reproduced back onto Bluray which have a clearer picture. I was not impressed so returned disc.
Sorry, only 3 Stars.
Published 6 months ago by Margaret Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 416 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's Groundhog Day! Again......", 8 Sep 2006
This review is from: Groundhog Day [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Every now and again you see a movie that acts as the perfect vehicle for an actor. In Groundhog Day we see Bill Murray's. The movie is replete with fine performances from the man ably supported by the likes of Chris Elliott and Andie Macdowell, but the film is Bill's and his alone.

The story is basically what would you do if you could repeat the same day over and over again? What would it do to you? Would you turn it to your advantage? Or What? Bill Murray as TV Weatherman Phil Connors is stuck in a loop forever repeating "Groundhog Day" the day he meets Punxsutawney Phil the weather sensing Groundhog. Connors goes from surprised bafflement at the repeating of the day though euphoria, depression and then sublime acceptance. The movie at no time even dares to explain why he's repeating the day, and in my opinion had it done so it would have spoiled the film - Groundhog Day focuses on Phil Connors and the story of the man.

I loved this movie and I watch it again and again and again......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic - feel good rom com, 30 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Groundhog Day (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is one of those films you can watch over and over again and still enjoy - somewhat like the main character (Bill Murray) re-living that one day in his life until he gets it right. Knowing how things turn out doesn't detract from the fun.
There's an element of wish fulfillment in there - who wouldn't want to relive some part of their life over and over until they got it right? but the cast are so engaging, the writing so good and the story so entertaining that it's hard to fault.
Probably Bill Murray's greatest film role (and maybe Andi Macdowell's too - although she was good in Four Weddings and a Funeral, if that's your kind of film).
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A comedy classic, 11 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This has to be one of the greatest comedies of all time. The sharp script and crackling performances make this as an enjoyable film as you will ever see. Bill Murray's sarcastic, cynical weatherman Phil is one of the characters of the eighties and is perfectly supported by the charming Andie MacDowell. The scenario of the film (re-living the same day over and over again) is a wonderfully original premise, and Harold Ramis never lets the idea get stale or tired. This film is an absolute treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unrivalled in its originality., 21 July 2000
This review is from: Groundhog Day [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I've never known a film like it. A perfectly-cast Bill Murray living the same day of his life over and over again until he gets it absolutely perfect. Of course, Murray was the best choice to play Phil - he's always had a great chemistry with director Harold Ramis and his laid-back, relaxed and witty persona help develop Phil's character throughout the course of the film. He starts out not giving a damn - he just wants to get the job over with and get out. Yet the longer he's trapped in the town of Punxsutawny, the more he grows to love it and gets to know the towns inhabitants.
The acting is fantastic and the storyline is really funny and unpredictable - no doubt ranked along with "Caddyshack" as one of Harold Ramis' triumphs.
Besides - where else can you see a truck-driving groundhog?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Murray at his comedic best!!, 2 Dec 2000
This review is from: Groundhog Day [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I, in the same way as Phil Connors, have viewed this film over and over and over... again!! Its fantastic!! A real heart warmer that makes you laugh at every turn!! Bill Murray is absolutly spot on as the grumpy weather man stuck with the same day, Groundhog Day, over and over again!! His deadpan humour and wit makes you smile whenever you see him!! There are more serious parts in the film such as Phil's desperate attempt to end his life through stabbing, electrocution, poisoning and every other death you can think of, and also, Phils good humanity of trying to save the life of a homeless, old man which unfortunatly fail!! When you see this film, it makes you wonder why Bill Murray has been overlooked for so many awards, and just how brilliant an actor he really is!!
A truly hilarious, heartwarming and feel good movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have a DVD collection this should be in it!!!, 17 July 2004
This review is from: Groundhog Day (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The bulk of the reviewers loved this film and I can only agree with all of their positive statements on the film. This is in fact my all time favourite film and that is saying something with competition from Lord of the rings, Matrix, Terminator etc. I have watched it over and over again. It never fails to make me smile and the whole feel of the movie is absolutely marvelous I cannot recommend it highly enough - and hey I have always, always, always wanted to smash my alarm clock up first thing in the morning!! Buy it, it's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just can't accept that this film is that good - but it IS!, 31 Jan 2006
By 
Mark Grindell "Mark Grindell" (Driffield, East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Groundhog Day (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
How many films do you know start with a premise that is outrageously impossible, undoubtedly reducing the cast to hysterics, let alone the audience, and yet have such a deep, no, forget that, DEEP message. This film wants to teach us so many things. I can't believe that it made me laugh so much, while in a way, slapping me hard around the face in doing so...

I bear tribute to the skills of the madman that brought this into being.

Essentially, what happens, is that a bored weatherman drops inot a provincial (real) town called Puxatawny, not realising that his life, as he knows it, is about to be turned upside down. He slowly realises, to his horror, that he somehow cannot help but re-live this one day over and over... and over again.

Boring? Forget it. Bill Murray is hysterical; after seeing this the fifth time or so I ached all over; I needed a hankerchief, I laughed so much. Bill is like me so badly that I can't look at this straight without getting at least six sevenths paranoid. So how does the director KNOW ME SO WELL?

Well, I think that he knew Bill Murray, who plays the part amazingly well, veering from smart and savvy, impossibly funny, to lost and scared, to cynical (the incident with the police car just cracks my eldest son up totally).

Then it gets dark; Phil gets lonely and morbid, and it is odd to see just how far this is played by Murray, seemingly prepared to follow a dark path with a very bad destiny. But no, it isn't to be that way; he finds, or is shown... a way out.

This is frankly when I get a bit shaky. When bill/phil finds that the way out of misery and despair is ... to truly love ... then my knees start to knock a bit and I need the tissues again. Because this is truly the touch from heaven, whether it is mentioned or not; certainly the touch of the Almighty (who does not appear on the credits especially. But he's there).

This is where the film gets epic, and the miraculous is right there in front of you; Everything bill / phil touches suddenly is set alight; people live better lives, or simply don't die that day; one old man is saved a lonely death; quite a lot of amazing things in fact. I have to say that the film at this point is truly transcendent, and unlike almost anything else; it becomes simply astonishing, and lights up with tremendous power and beauty.

The ending is, of course when Bill/phil is no longer thinking about himself. It ends unapologetically on a truly happy note that perhaps never could happen in real life. Or could it? It's too good to be true - it's ridiculous, but by then you don't care because the better half of you knew that it was impossible from the beginning, but that is no excuse - who cares? What matters about the impossible if no one else is watching? It's brilliant - more than it should be - almost like being in love?

I need a run around the block now. That's quite enough...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic film, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film. Even though its repeated every Christmas I can't get enough of it and it leaves me with a warm, positive feeling by the end every time. The quality of the Amazon instant video version was excellent and I could not notice any encoding artefacts from the compression of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
By 
Roger Rice "Creteroger" (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Groundhog Day (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I love it but may not be your choice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sweet, unmissable, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Groundhog Day (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Corny, sweet, unmissable,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 416 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Groundhog Day (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2002]
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews