Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UK Blu-ray the same as the U.S. release
For anyone wondering, this UK release is the same as the recent US release. Mine arrived this morning and I can confirm 100%.

Audio Commentary with director/co-writer Dominique Othenin-Girard, actress Danielle Harris, and actor Jeffrey Landman
Audio Commentary with actor Don Shanks and author Justin Beahm
"Halloween 5: On The Set" featurette...
Published on 16 Oct. 2012 by Stephen Macdonald

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Michael's Bloody Revenge Delivers A Gory Fifth Halloween Entry
Halloween 5: The Revenge Of Michael Myers (DVD).

DVD Info.
Format: PAL
Subtitles: None
Region 2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.85:1
Audio: English 5.1, English 2.0
Subtitles: None
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 18
Studio: Anchor Bay Entertainment
Running Time: 97 minutes

DVD Extras.
Theatrical...
Published 6 months ago by Timelord-007


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UK Blu-ray the same as the U.S. release, 16 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone wondering, this UK release is the same as the recent US release. Mine arrived this morning and I can confirm 100%.

Audio Commentary with director/co-writer Dominique Othenin-Girard, actress Danielle Harris, and actor Jeffrey Landman
Audio Commentary with actor Don Shanks and author Justin Beahm
"Halloween 5: On The Set" featurette (16:17)
Halloween 5: Original Promo (5:50)
Theatrical Trailer (0:36)
Subtitles:English SDH and Spanish
Aspect Ratio:1.85:1
Picture Format: 1080p 24fps AVC MPEG-4
Soundtrack(s):English Dolby TrueHD 5.1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice Upgrade to Blu-ray 10x better than DVD Version!!, 14 Nov. 2012
By 
Saf "Safx" (peterborough, england) - See all my reviews
I dont know what people are on about, i watched Halloween 5 around my friends house as were both massive halloween fans and michael myers is my personal favorite as i grew up with him having watched halloween since i was a kid and being scared lol and the picture quality on the blu-ray release is fantastic, a massive upgrade from the pixellated and washed out dvd version, the picture quality is very sharp, there are some scenes were they look soft but thats the video source not the blu-ray problem but even then they look much better than the dvd version, the daylight scenes particually were michael is stalking Rachel (ellie Cornell) when she is entering her friends house with her dog, looks vibrant and full of colour as it shot in daylight and in the scene were michael is standing around the trees at the location where jamie is staying and she peeps over the window to see michael standing there you can actually see him holding a weapon of sorts which i never saw before, these little details just make the film more enjoyable, The sound is also fantastic aswell and really booms when speakers are connected and bass is set high, the opening credit scene is a good e.g of this when you hear knifes smashing each other it really stands out and makes the film more enjoyable to watch as the sound is Upgraded to Dolby Digital HD 5.1.

The film itself has lot criticism from fans and general public a like and being regarded as the worst halloween in the series, i wouldnt go that far, true its no where near the level of Halloween 1978 and Hallowen 2 1981 with that being my personal favorite halloween film in the entire series, this film was never going to touch them as they cult classic in the horror genre but the story in this is fairly good, you see more of a human side in michael myers in certain situations in this halloween in the scene where he jamie is lying in the coffin and michael comes over and she shouts 'Uncle' and he stops and jamie says 'Can i referring him to take of his mask and see his face to which he does and you can see a tear in his eye' but the suddenly he goes back to rage and goes completely mad including the scene in the bedroom where the cop shoots him and thinking michael is dead he comes back in breaking the door (without his hands) and beating the holy hell out of the police officer which was hilarious and the michael myers that you all know and love and then hangs the officer outside with a rope, pretty awesome stuff, i also liked the interaction between michael and loomis in the myers house where loomis is talking to myers whos holding a knife in his iconic stance and says 'this rage has stop' trying to convince myers and to make him drop his knife but fails and myers goes into that rage,
I even bet Micheal Myers is getting sick and tired of Doctor Loomis coming back every single time, in Halloween 2 he stabs him and then comes back and burns the room in the hospital and survives, and then in the 4th he comes back with his face all scared from the burns and nearly dies when myers blows the petrol station up and is still after him through that film and then in the 5th one he's back again,
I must admit Doctor Loomis is big part of making Halloween films what they are, even with michael myers, if halloween did not have doctor loomis as myers doctor then halloween would not have been as good as it, Michael Myers and Doctor Loomis really have a big Connection with each other,

The film ending was pretty shocking and you get to know more in the 6th instalment which is really good and you really see the Rage side of Michael Myers as he is more Menacing then ever,
Its not the best film, but is a really good watch and has interesting development through out the film, im glad they did make it even though it was rushed into production after the success of halloween 4.

1 thing i should point out the Mask on Michael Myers looks like a piece of crap in this film, the worse throught the 8 film series, what were they thinking? in the first film his mask is perfect, second film his mask is even scarier, the 4th film its dumb but its ok as he needed a new mask after being burnt and surviving from the second film, the 6th film his mask is much better as is in H20 and Resurrection, just in the 5th one in this its just plain stupid, its like his mask aint even stuck on his face, just search a image of it and you will know what i mean dreadful.

Blu-ray Picture Quality - 8.5/10 big upgrade from the dvd version,
Audio Quality - 9.0/10 massive upgrade,
Extras 4.0/10 Disappointing but has audio commentary with the guy who played michael myers in halloween 5 which looks at different perspective.
I give this a blu-ray a resounding 8.5/10,
Some will like it, Someone Wont, Some Regarded as the most disappointing Halloween Film in the Series, Some even say it is a terrible Horror Movie but it has a really interesting plot and you get early glimpses of the man in black who controls michael myers with the rage that he has.
I'd give it a go and watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Michael's Bloody Revenge Delivers A Gory Fifth Halloween Entry, 27 Sept. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Halloween 5: The Revenge Of Michael Myers (DVD).

DVD Info.
Format: PAL
Subtitles: None
Region 2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.85:1
Audio: English 5.1, English 2.0
Subtitles: None
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 18
Studio: Anchor Bay Entertainment
Running Time: 97 minutes

DVD Extras.
Theatrical Trailer
Inside Halloween 5 Featurette

Cast.
Danielle Harris as Jamie Lloyd
Ellie Cornell as Rachel Carruthers
Donald Pleasence as Dr. Samuel Loomis
Don Shanks as Michael Myers
Beau Starr as Sheriff Ben Meeker
Wendy Kaplan as Tina Williams
Tamara Glynn as Samantha Thomas
Jeffrey Landman as Billy Hill
Jonathan Chapin as Mikey
Matthew Walker as Spitz
Betty Carvalho as Nurse Patsey
Troy Evans as Deputy Charlie
Frank Como as Deputy Nick Ross
David Ursin as Deputy Tom Farrah
Karen Alston as Darlene Carruthers

Budget: $3 million
Box office: $11,642,254

Trivia.
1)In the infamous laundry chute scene, Jamie was originally stabbed in the leg but the shot was cut from the film by the MPAA because it was deemed "too disturbing". Danielle Harris still owns the prosthetic leg.
2)Don Shanks revealed in an interview that many of the scenes involving the man in black had him playing the character, because of speculation that he was a blood relative of Michael Myers. He also admitted that even the writers had not yet decided the man in black's identity.
3)As part of the opening, an alternate scene was shot but never used. The scene shows a man who finds Michael Myers body at the beginning & removes his mask, staring at it weirdly. The filming of it can be seen in the documentary, "Inside Halloween 5".
4)Rachel is only in the film for 20 minutes.
5)Body Count: 17 (including the opossum & dog).
6)In the scene where Michael is ambushed by Dr. Loomis & beaten with a 2x4, Don Shanks was really hit with the plank. He later admitted in an interview that one of the blows broke his nose.
7)Donald Pleasence stated his character would die in this movie but returned in Halloween 6.

What's The Story.
Young Jamie Lloyd is committed to the psychiatric care of Dr. Loomis after a psychic link to her uncle made her stab her mother, Meanwhile, Michael Myers is presumed dead following a shoot-out with the Haddonfield Police & a fatal fall down a mineshaft entrance.

However a well-meaning derelict nurses Michael back to health & one year later he is back to kill again!

Jamie finds herself the object of Michael's murderous rage, & along with new friends & Dr. Loomis, she tries to prevent Michael from continuing his bloody rampage. However, there is a new visitor in town - a man dressed in black who quietly walks the streets with an unknown but sinister purpose. Why is he here? & what is his connection to Michael?

Timelord Thoughts.
Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers continues on from the last movie & is a little more grittier & graphic with the blood & gore compared to the previous Halloween movies plus a bigger bodycount & a somewhat overweight looking Michael Myers.

The film is the usual run-of-the-mill formula with the odd moments of suspense & a fairly moody atmosphere, yet this low-budget production feels like a rushed job & considering how successful the previous instalment was better efforts should've been made with the script that at times just doesn't work while the films tone is uneven despite the shocking killing of one of the survivors of the previous film & the a inclusion of a man dressed in black that seems to be following Michael around is left unresolved in a very poor anticlimactic ending.

Danielle Harris is excellent as Jamie Lloyd & is completely believable in her performance proving she can act, while Ellie Cornell is terrific as Jamie's foster sister Rachel who returns for 20 minutes at the start of the movie only to be then murdered by Michael Myers.

Donald Pleasance is brilliant as the obsessive Dr Loomis who dominates his every scene he's in by adding a morbid streak to his character by delivering his usual monologues about how insane & rageful Michael is, Pleasence always gives a good performance especially the scenes with Michael which show the obsessive strangle hold Myers has over Loomis' mentally as Loomis would do anything to kill Michael even risking the life of young Jamie to do so.

The pumpkin carving opening is fantastic & there's some genuine thrills including Jaime being stalked by her uncle through the hospital to a chilling car chase scene & The laundry chute sequence as Michael tries to kill his niece creates claustrophobic tension, it's just a shame the ending is anti climatic, we don't know if Loomis is dead or alive or discover who the man in black is & although there was sequels to follow on from this film, at the time it wasn't known there would be another movie & I felt the story would've benefited from been tied up at the end of this movie & given the franchise some closure.

As it stands this is a above average horror movie thanks to Pleasence & Harris performances & while there are some gory deaths, the film at times loses the plot & adds hints about Michaels background but doesn't deliver on the pay off while it's anti climax ending concludes this film on a very disappointing note.

Timelord Rating.
6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Michael's Blade is getting Blunt, 9 Jan. 2008
By 
S. Wilcock (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halloween 5 - the Revenge of Michael Myers [DVD] (DVD)
Has of the title you can feel that it is a very dull movie, but it has some good stuff in it like the connection between Jamie and Michael and of course this film has to be the darkest yet of all the Halloween movies, michael is again after Jamie and after the shootout at the end of H4 he is once again in a coma for 1 year until Halloween when he reawakens and goes after jamie who after the events of H4 she is in a childrens hospital where she gets images of michael
well thats enough of the plot now, the 5th halloween and things are going a little dull the usual formuler isnt working and again this series feels like it needs a reboot a reworking it needs Jamie lee curtis back!
This film again is worthy of adding to your Halloween collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I knew that hell would not have him, 1 Mar. 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halloween 5 - the Revenge of Michael Myers [DVD] (DVD)
There are clearly a few problems with this movie, but I hardly noticed them at the time of its original release. I left the theatre more excited about this movie than any horror movie I had yet seen. The ending caught me totally by surprise and had my little circle of friends (all two of us) speculating over its implications for many days thereafter. To say that this movie left things a little up in the air would be a misstatement of massive proportions. Not only was I left to ponder the fate of Michael, Dr. Loomis, and little Jamie, I was mystified by "the man in black." Who was he? What was his role in all of this? I still think the concluding 10 minutes of this movie are the best 10 minutes of the entire Halloween series, although I would not dare place this movie on the same pedestal as the original Halloween, which is basically untouchable by all pretenders to the horror crown.
I have nothing but the greatest respect for nine-year-old Danielle Harris. The makers of Halloween 5 put this poor girl through the wringer, and she shines from start to finish in one of the most physical roles I have ever seen man, woman, or child play. As the movie opens, she is living in a children's clinic, unable to talk since the shocking events of the previous Halloween night and increasingly prone to seizures and fits brought on by some kind of psychic connection with her uncle Michael. Eventually, she finds herself running for her life as her uncle chases her down with a car and then his trusty knife. Then toward the end comes the unforgettable scene in which she finds herself lodged in a laundry chute inside the abandoned Myers house desperately trying to stay alive. The depth of emotion and sense of utter terror she is able to convey is really quite extraordinary
I have to admit I didn't particularly care for this incarnation of Michael. No man can compare to the original Shape, Nick Castle, but the real problem for me in this movie is Michael's mask. It just hangs loosely around his neck, and the sight of it flopping out on both sides like an extra pair of very large earlobes really kept me from seeing this masked killer as the Michael I know and love. Donald Pleasance is, as usual, incredible as Dr. Loomis. I admit, Loomis seems to be getting a little bit loony by this point in the series, but who can blame him? Every time, he tells the authorities what is going to happen, yet no one ever believes him until it is too late. Bearing the scars of previous encounters with Michael, his bravery and obsession with Michael Myers earns him five stars in my book every single time.
Here are a few "problems" with this movie. Let's start with the obvious. What is wrong with the people in Haddonfield? It is very important to keep in mind the fact that no body was ever found of a seemingly vanquished Michael after the events of the previous year. Rachel, having barely lived through Halloween 4, not only leaves a spare key to her house on top of the doorframe, she leaves the door wide open while she is taking a shower. Then there are these moronic teenagers consuming far too much of our time. They insist on playing practical jokes on each other and even on the cops, finding the whole Boogeyman subject incredibly funny for some reason unknown to me. It's hard not to cheer for Michael as he goes after these goofs. Tina is incredibly immature, her boyfriend with the car fetish is unbearable, and her horny friends annoyed me as much as they apparently annoyed Michael. Then we come to the cops. Apparently, Michael's previous adventures have decimated the local police force because they are letting some incompetent people wear a badge these days. Hearing some type of obvious clown music play when the two "super cops" first appear is basically unforgivable as far as I'm concerned. Apparently, these two characters were supposed to supply some comic relief to a movie that needed nothing of the kind.
Overall, I think this movie has moments of greatness that, for the most part, make up for its flaws. Danielle Harris is amazing, and the final 10-15 minutes are riveting. More than anything, though, I have to return to the fact that I left the movie theatre all those years ago totally excited about this movie and its mysterious twists and turns. Any slasher movie that can inspire untold hours of speculation after the fact has achieved something quite rare indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One Year Later and Michael has Recovered !, 15 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Halloween 5 - the Revenge of Michael Myers [DVD] (DVD)
Halloween 5 continues well from part 4 but unfortunately it's not as good a film. It's great to have Donald Pleasance back as well as some other characters from part 4 but they're not used as well as in that entry . One character from part 4 is killed early on, perhaps for shock value, but I'd of liked to have seen her for much more of the film. It would still have been shocking if she'd got it later. There is some positive points to the continuation of the story and returning cast such as the Police chief acknowledging his upset over his daughter being killed in part 4, something I think was foolishly omitted from the end of the previous film.
The director manages to create some tension and Michael Myers is still a scary presence but other areas of the film are not as well done as the previous entries. The internal logic of the film is not as tight as Parts 1-4 and things seem more random and messy. For instance I quite like the crazy ending but I think it might confuse and make certain viewers angry at how vague the conclusion is.
I think the Halloween series would have been better off ending at Part 4 but you can still find entertainment value from Halloween 5 and the later sequels and remakes(especially those that have Donald Pleasence). The only one I'd never watch again and will always avoid is Halloween 8-Ressurection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "..MYERS IS BACK FOR REVENGE..", 16 Jan. 2015
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THE REVENGE OF MICHAEL MYERS 1989

Indeed he's back for revenge on anyone who gets in his way so what's new! once again this is for die hard fans only as the average horror buff wouldn't get much from this, the Halloween series takes a few turns over the years but I think 4 and 5 are rather great movies, its just your classic slasher story with the killer coming back once again after his supposed death, back to Haddonfield to continue his search for his niece who now is in a hospital being treated after her last ordeal, the cast is good, your usual fodder for the kill, There's a few good kill scenes nothing that's major gory though, Danielle Harris again is great and is one of few child stars that can carry a horror movie, if your a fan make sure you pick this up on Blu-ray.

Blu-ray picture is pretty good, lots of great features including a commentary and several short behind the scenes and interviews etc.
If your a massive die hard fan of this movie you can get a cool German import media book which is 3-discs including the Blu-ray, DVD and CD soundtrack, English, Region B. has all the features and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok! a few scary bits!, 19 Mar. 2012
a follow up to number 4. after being shot in to a deep hole in to the ground, micheal managed to crawl through! and make his way down a stream where a local man takes him in and he sleeps till the next halloween to continue his rampage!... jamie his now in a hospital type place after going a bit mad when she stabbed her foster mum in number 4. (as ya would)... however, it is a shame that racheal dies not long into the start of the film. a lot of people (including me) was a bit dissapointed in her being killed off!... as she was seen by many as a second laurie! another that micheal would struggle to defeat!... when i saw the making of this the director and elle cornell herself (racheal) says that her being killed off was deeply regretted as they saw a future for her in these films (i must admit she was good!). still,too late now!. anyway.... this aint a bad film and its still worth it to have specially if you already own all the rest!... not a bad watch and still holds a few scares!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally more to add to the collection, 19 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a lot to say you either love these films or no, I'm a big fan of he series so glad there is more to add to my collection.

The reason for the low stars. The picture is not what I would justify an upgrade to bly ray disk.

Very disappointed considering how good part one looked and I assume part 5 will be the same.

I really wish they wouldn't release bluray upgrades if they don't look any different its a waste of time, no more doubling dipping for this Halloween fan.

Now I await the rest of the series as long as same quality as part 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The weakness, 24 Dec. 2008
By 
This review is from: Halloween 5 - the Revenge of Michael Myers [DVD] (DVD)
If it wasnt for a strong cast this film would have failed. Jamie Lloyd is back and is suffering from her trauma in Halloween 4 so this picks up just hours after the 4th. The continuity here is quite well done and the actresses and Donald Pleasence reprise their roles. However one actress is "ended" in the most weak way considering her role in the 4th was well written. This is a weak sequel, the pace is off and at times very dull, even the stalk scenes arent as good. Though the chase in the corn field was done well, the death scene will please the gore hounds. There is a moment between Myers and Jamie which is quite moving, a first for the series! This sequel could have been strong but because it was rushed into production it didnt quite cut the mustard. The mark of thorn and the weird shadow people are hinted here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween 5 - the Revenge of Michael Myers [DVD]
Halloween 5 - the Revenge of Michael Myers [DVD] by Dominique Othenin-Girard (DVD - 2002)
£7.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews