Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable tale for everyone.
I brought this video for my 3 yr old and she absolutely adores it! (Daddy & Mummy quite like it to). However, I do know a few 3 yr olds who were frightened of King Mouse on first viewing, therefore you should sit with them just in case. Tim Curry's voice is instantly recognisable to anyone who has seen The Rocky Horror Show and he is by far the most impressive of...
Published on 24 Feb 2002

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not happy.
I bought this DVD and put it on, well tried, the quality is appalling the picture is horribly pixelated and it completely froze on the 2nd chapter.
Published 19 months ago by Mrs. B. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable tale for everyone., 24 Feb 2002
By A Customer
I brought this video for my 3 yr old and she absolutely adores it! (Daddy & Mummy quite like it to). However, I do know a few 3 yr olds who were frightened of King Mouse on first viewing, therefore you should sit with them just in case. Tim Curry's voice is instantly recognisable to anyone who has seen The Rocky Horror Show and he is by far the most impressive of all the characters. Can be sickly sweet at times, but that's what little girls love. Need to watch it a few times to really enjoy it, especially Pimm, who comes out with some great one liners. Clear your room as all the girls seem to want to copy the ballet moves on every viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic fairy tale you'll love, 28 Oct 2001
By A Customer
My friend's son and daughter both love this film! I got them a copy from friends in the states. The animation is very lifelike, it combines the classicism of a world-renowned fairy tale with powerful music by The London Symphony Orchestra.
You'll love Barbie and the Nutcracker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, enjoyable, has all the right ingredients, 26 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This was so much better than we'd expected! The animation's good, the music's good, the story has all the right elements for its target audience. It's slightly too long, maybe, there are 'boring bits'(to quote our 3yr old daughter) with soldiers in, but all in all it's a nice way to spend an hour with your little kid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Barbie movie ever made, even after ten years, 2 Nov 2010
This review is from: Barbie in the Nutcracker [DVD] (DVD)
That may sound a bit presumptous, but I am completely serious. I have watched all the Barbie movies - mostly as guilty pleasures - and, in my opinion, this one is still the best.

I ought to tell you now, though; this isn't the original Nutcracker story. Barbie's version is more of an adventure story, dealing with Clara and Nutcracker's journey to defeat the Mouse King by finding the Sugar Plum Princess. Any devoted ballet fan can probably spot the differences right there, but it's still a fun story with some interesting characters. They even manage to feature some dancing scenes and Tchaikovsky's music.

The animation is not perfect, but it's watchable enough, and the voice acting is great; Tim Curry, Christopher Gaze and Kelly Sheridan are particular highlights. For people who aren't too keen on the cutesy aspect of later Barbie movies, this one manages to make a story which appeals to young girls without feeling the need to feature talking animals or sparkles - not until the end, anyway.

If you are going to give any Barbie movie a chance, make it this one. Just be careful if you've got really small kids, though; the Mouse King has been known to frighten some children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie Fairy Tale at its best, 21 Nov 2001
By 
Ms. Sarah L. Cheesman (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this film for my two little girls who are Barbie crazy, I thought that it was going to be a cartoon, but i was very surprised and pleased that it was not. The grahpics are wonderful ...Its so for little girls with sugar and spice and all things nice, with a bit of slug and snails thrown in ,in the form of the mouse king booh!!!..From Start to finish my children and I where ingrossed the music is beauitfuly done as is the whole movie with fairys everywhere..It makes you want to be a little girl again, I recomend this movie for the children mummys and daddys. But one word of warning once they have seen the movie they WILL want the toys , perfect timeing for christmas......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie enjoyed by all!, 9 Nov 2001
the thought of a 13 yr-old going to see a movie about barbie is rather odd but i enjoyed this movie thoroughly even though i have no passion for ballet or barbies.
with the classic plot of 'the nutcracker' and stunning choreography this movie provides entertainment for all children, young and old and all ballet lovers.
maybe this movie is not meant for the parents however as the plot is well known for them and the entire fairy tale story is just slightly boring afet about 45 minutes.
on the whole i would say that this movie is great, especially since it is barbie's first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Our five year old loves this movie, 11 Jan 2003
By 
Aaron Gatt Floridia (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbie in the Nutcracker [DVD] (DVD)
If you have young children who like ballet and Barbie, this is just the ticket for them. The animation is excellent and the music is very well chosen and executed. Our daughters were a bit apprehensive about the mouse at first !!! He's a very well portrayed character and a pretty nasty guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My daughters love it!, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbie in the Nutcracker [DVD] (DVD)
My daughters love this series of films and whilst this one isn't the best (princess and the pop star is the fave!) it's still keeps them entertained. Good delivery too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie still reins supreme, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbie in the Nutcracker [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD with another Barbie DVD for my 6 year old granddaughter who apart from loving verything Barbie now has ballet and tap lessons and we took her to see The Nut Cracker Ballet 2 years ago performed by a professional ballet company and she fell in love with the ballet and the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbie in the Nutcracker [DVD] (DVD)
it is in excellent condition and can easily be given wrapped up as a brand new pressie! am replacing video's and love cheap second hand stuff in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barbie in the Nutcracker [DVD]
Barbie in the Nutcracker [DVD] by Owen Hurley (DVD - 2002)
£4.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews