Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's MB20, but not as we know it!!, 20 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tabitha's Secret (Audio CD)
First of all, big thanks to Amazon as i have been searching for Tabitha's Secret for ages as i am a massive MB20 fan. I have even been unable to get it on 3 trips to the States. Basically this CD is Rob's first band. Some of the songs you'll know, most famously the original version of 3am that later ended up on the debut YOSLU. It's far more accoustic. Other songs no note are Forever December, Dear Joan and Dizzy.
If you like MB20 i'd say get this as you'll love this cd too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but you may have heard it all before, 27 Mar 2004
This review is from: Tabitha's Secret (Audio CD)
This is the second album by Tabithas Secret, the band that would eventually evolve into Matchbox 20. And if you are a fan then you will like this album, as it is very much along the same lines as their later work.
The songs on this record are as good as Rob Thomas and the rest of the band have written, but the issue I have with this album is that out of the 11 different songs on this cd, 8 of them appear on Tabithas Secrets second album (and a few pop up on early Matchbox 20 albums too). To be fair you can tell the difference between the different versions, but which versions are best will depend on if you prefer the raw sound displayed on the first cd or the much more polished/produced sound of this album.
So really there are only 3 unique songs on this cd, and they are fine. But the rest of the album you can hear on Tabithas Secret first album, if you don't have that cd then this is great and I would highly recommend this, but if you already have the first album I warn you that you will have heard nearly all this album before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 19 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Tabitha's Secret (Audio CD)
I recently heard this album and i have to say that it is one of the best albums ever made. Not suprising considering rob thomas is extremely talented. Anyhow this album has amazing tracks such as the original version of 3am, which is great for any of the MB20 fans. Also without a doubt forever december is just brilliant,I highly recomend this album to everyone because it is full of great music with inspiring lyrical content and if that isn't enough, i garentee that once you hear it you'll be hooked by the emotion and passion that is put into all of the tracks on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different..... But brilliant!, 14 July 2002
This review is from: Tabitha's Secret (Audio CD)
After borrowing YOURSELF OR SOMEONE LIKE YOU from a friend, I decided to check out MB20 further and found out about Rob Thomas's old band 'Tabitha's secret'. I downloaded a few songs on the off chance and from then on was hooked!
This CD proves that an artist's past work can definately be better than their current as I much prefer this CD to any of MB20's stuff.
Tabitha's secret? is the perfect CD for almost any mood. 'Blue Monday' and 'And around' are upbeat whereas 'Dear joan' and 'dizzy' are more more mellow and dark.
It's hard to put the music in one category as it goes from Rock into a more country style.
This is unlike any other CD you'll ever buy, so give it a chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, a must have for any MB20 fan, 15 Feb 2002
By 
JSB (Essex, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tabitha's Secret (Audio CD)
Tabitha's secret turned up before Matchbox twenty but the similarity is uncanny, not only because of Rob Thomas' vocals.
A bit more upbeat and less polished than Yourself or Mad Season, but still heart felt, raw and passionate music. Contains the original version of the Push single b-side Tired and a stunning acoustic 3am.
Moody, bluesy, toe tapping and addictive, it's barely been out of my stereo since I got it.
You like Matchbox 20, shame on you for not owning it yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 21 Dec 2004
By 
Cassie White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tabitha's Secret (Audio CD)
This is defently a must have album!
Even if, like me, you have the orgional album and the live one, you still need to have this one too!
it does have many of the same songs, but the sound quality is excellant and really clear.
there are also two new songs and different versions of Forever December, Here Comes Horses (which i love), Paint me Blue and Dizzy. and also a nice little booklet with all the song lyrics as well.
Everyone should own a copy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars from the guys who bought you Matchbox 20 ..., 10 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tabitha's Secret (Audio CD)
yep, Rob Thomas of Matchbox 20 fame offers the vocals of this band who were around way before MB 20 but released this cd as a remixed and remastered collection from there "Don't Play With Matches" album plus a few new tracks added.
Check out the track "Dizzy" it really makes ya think when you listen to the lyrics, the whole album is a mix of up beat and ballads (no not the Mariah Carey sort) and blends well too.
Many thanks to Amazon cause i've been searching everywhere for Tabithas Secret material and finally found it ... here
In general, if you like MB 20 then you'll love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album that Bent should have been, 6 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tabitha's Secret (Audio CD)
As a MatchboxTwenty fan and disappointed at Bent in whole (although it contained some great individual moments) I got this from Amazon.com and paid the transatlantic postage! With the exception of one song, this is materful. There is 3am like you haven't heard it - but I'm more akin to the MB20 version. Tracks like And Around and Forever December are your Long Day stuff. Dizzy could nestle against the likes of Back to Good. Dear Joan is something MB20 haven't did yet - stunningly honest and not many would put to rhyme what's been poured out here.
I kid you not, this is what MB20 should have released instead of Bent. I've seen MB20 in the smallest and biggest arenas and this is stunning - buy it and buy it now. For me the gauntlet is down for MB20's 3rd album to touch it - If you don't love it - I'll buy it off you. I'm in Scotland so I am by nature a tight git. That's how good it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tabithas secret, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tabitha's Secret (Audio CD)
great cd if you like the matchbox twenty albums you will love this . same class and quality buy it you will not be let down five star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally and utterly gobsmacked...and why weren't they more popular in the UK...i just don't understand it!!!!, 15 Oct 2010
This review is from: Tabitha's Secret (Audio CD)
Oh my god...oh my god...oh my god. I've been a total mb20 fanatic for around 12-13 years, ever since i saw the video for 'if youre gone'. I love Rob Thomas's songwriting...all his songs seem to have some relevance to my marraige..his voice can be strong and raw..or soft and haunting. when i heard Dear Joan..i stopped dead in my tracks and shivers went down my spine, Dizzy made me cry and Swing made me dance around the kitchen like a total nutter.
How a talented gifted band like these guys have never really broken the UK baffles me. Tabitha's Secret is my new obsession and i'm just sorry i never had the chance to see them live cos they rock!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tabitha's Secret
Tabitha's Secret by Tabitha's Secret (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews