Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars28
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2016
Wonderful Bollywood film an epic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2004
This film looks, soungs and is GREAT!
Shah Rukh is wonderfull, and although i'm not a Kareena fan, she is very good in this film.
The acting is great, the 'look' is butiful and the songs are realy catchy.
Asoka is a film on the scale of meny Hollywood Blockbusters and hasnt, in my opinon, been given the credit it diserves.
Must be seen to be belived. - Go and watch it now!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2010
This is a bollywood take on the sword and sandal genre. The film focuseson a general prince who leaves his people to find "himself" I think. There are some nice scenes of landscapes and the costumes are detailed but the sword does not look authenticly Indian. The fights scenes are poor however and Bollywood still has some work to do tomake them more convincing. It might be worth looking at if you want to learn about Ancient Indian fuedal times but don't expect Gladiator epicness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2006
Overall, this is a pretty disappointing film, given the subject matter it is based on. The film only follows Asoka up to the point where he renounces violence and becomes a Buddhist - that's where it stops. It has all the characteristics of a Bollywood film which are likely to infuriate the Western viewer: the plot basically revolves around a convoluted and nauseatingly sentimental love story, the characters periodically break out into song and dance routines which are totally incidental to the plot and, at almost three hours, the film is far longer than the fairly thin plot can possibly justify. Having said this, the film is really stunning from a visual point of view, which makes it just about bearable. But really, only just.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2006
The film is a standing testimony as to why India that was at the helm of the world during Asoka's period is now part of the third world. The greedy, senseless and unimaginative directors have mangled the beautiful story of Samrat Asoka into a horror love story between the most overrated actor Shahrukh Khan and an equally dissappointing raunchy actress Kareena. I cannot imagine that the directors and storywriters would go on and twist the original story to cater their commercial greed to such an extent that the movie would come accross so tasteless. For years I was thinking that a movie on Asoka would be a bridge between the Western cinema and Bollywood. It was a golden opportunity for Bollywood directors to make an epic movie that is a true story of one of the greatest emperors of the world. But lo! Here comes Kareena shaking her butt limping towards a born overactor that belittles Samrat Asoka with every tainted smile of his. A golden opportunity bites dust and Indian directors show their worthlessness. I am bitter. It was my dream to make a great movie on Asoka.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2006
I give 3 stars to be nuetral since I haven't watched the movie and decided not after reading the reviews. I can't stand typical Bollywood movies and was hoping that Aoska would be different in that it would carry the significance the story deserves but as one reviewer puts it, the greediness of the people involved in making this movie must be the mian the reason that India is a 3rd world country today. Of course, that statement is to convey my extreme disaapointment after I have been aiming to watch this movie as an epic story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)