Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply... Superb
As the follow-up album to Scenes From a Memory, this record had a lot to live up to. How the band would top their previous effort would have been a step too far for most other bands. However, in a manner typical only of DT, they have managed to come up with a collection of fantastic new material and, not only that, in a double album format!

Here we have...
Published on 12 Sep 2006 by gingerguru

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glimses of brilliance but..... Metropolis was dormant
I have listened and listened and try as hard as i can this new album fails to hit the spot that other albums have hit (and continue to do so). I feel that DT have tried too hard and rushed this album. 'Take the time' next time.
Published on 5 Feb 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply... Superb, 12 Sep 2006
By 
gingerguru "gingerguru" (Billericay, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
As the follow-up album to Scenes From a Memory, this record had a lot to live up to. How the band would top their previous effort would have been a step too far for most other bands. However, in a manner typical only of DT, they have managed to come up with a collection of fantastic new material and, not only that, in a double album format!

Here we have basically two albums packaged as one and neither "side" will disappoint seasoned DT fans. If there are people out there who are unfamiliar with the band's work, this offering presents a tantalising flavour of just about every side to the band's prolific output. Throughout the epic journey that is Disc 2, we go from the Pantera-esque riffage in the chorus of The Test That Stumped Them All to the exquisite acoustic meanderings of Solitary Shell, ending up with the suitably grandiose Losing Time/Grand Finale. In short,Three Degrees.. is 42 minutes or so of near musical perfection. And then there's the first disc which would have been accepted as a fine album in its own right. Glass Prison, Misunderstood & Blind Faith are excellent extended tracks displaying the virtuosity of each member of this extraordinary band. The riffs in Glass Prison are particularly splendid and surely a homage to the best of Metallica, Megadeth et al. Need I say more....buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just try air guitaring to this one . . ., 10 Sep 2002
By 
D. M. Baldwin "Dave B" (Gloucester, Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
What you have here is DT's next two albums in one package. Disc 1: Well, the opening track "Glass Prison" is worth the price on its own. This is Metallica crossed with Yes, interpollated with Pantera. Play it as loud as you dare, annoy your neighbours (I never told you that) they'll think the devil has ripped a sphincter in your living room. The other 4 tracks are slightly more mellow, but do have their moments. Disc 2: Superb, and typical of their earlier material. The first few minutes are a bit tedious, however the next fourty more than make up. This is probably the best 42 minute track you will ever hear. So good it seems shorter when listened to. Overall; LaBrie's vocals, strong. Petrucci's guitaring sets his frets alight. Portnoy's drumming is just unbelievable and Rudess and Myung as outstanding as ever on keyboard and bass respectively. BUY THIS ALBUM you wont be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 2 Feb 2002
By 
J. W. Furlong (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
I'm an old Dream Theater fan, my first exposure being "When Dream and Day Unite", an album I had on vinyl. Having listened to them mature and evolve over the years I was beginning to think they might hit a plateau and then start going downhill. Well, if you thought the same, I have good news - they haven't.
6DoIT is certainly going to be on my list of albums of the year. Musically the band have reached a new height - none of this bland recycling some groups exist by, or as in the case of some progressive rock/metal bands just blatantly ripping off other peoples ideas. Instead Dream Theater have given us an album that is just outstanding. Where are the weak points? Simple - there aren't any. This is more than just an album after Scenes From A Memory, it is new, fresh and just superb.
Never a band to shy away from issues that they feel they need to talk about, songs like the Great Debate deal with contemporary topics. They even go so far as to use a sample of George W Bush here.
Then the 42 minute title track. This is so good it seems to pass you by in a matter of seconds. Sheer genius.
My recommendation of the year so far. If anyone can produce something better than this I will be very surprised.
5 out of 5, because I can't give it any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy follow up to Scenes From A Memory, 21 Jan 2002
This review is from: Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
Following Metropolis Part II: Scenes From A Memory was never going to be easy, but Dream Theater have produced a worthy successor in Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence.
The album opens with The Glass Prison, following a subtle intro, it slowly builds in to what is proably the heaviest track on the album.
Blind Faith, again starts quite quietly, and builds more slowly towards a typical Dream Theater instrumental section.
Misunderstood has a quiet, brooding start but really kicks in about a third of the way through.
The Great Debate starts with sampled voices remeniscent of Awake, and builds into a fairly heavy mid-section.
Disappear is a quiet, haunting song which brings the first disc to a disturbing close.
The high point of the album must however be the 45 minute title track which takes up the entire second disk. In typical Dream Theater style it begins with Overture offering glipses of what is to follow before plunging in to the melodic About To Crash. War Inside My Head takes the narrative in to heavier, darker territory, and The Test That Stumped Them All is a dark, frenzied piece. Goodnight Kiss takes things much quieter building in to a Marillion-like guitar solo. Solitary Shell is probaly the most commercial track on the album with a chorus hook witch lodges itself in your yead and refuses to budge. About To Crash (reprise) re-visits earlier territory, before the rousing closer of Losing Time - Grand Finale.
Overall the blend of styles that one would expect from Dream Theater - and in typical Dream Theater style, if you don't like a particular track, just wait a minute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darker but still good, 15 Mar 2004
By 
Sam Roberts (Bletchingley, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
Overall this is a very good DT album with great attempts by all members. The riffs are fantastic as we are used to them being and the band themselves still work toghether perfectly. The complexity and technicality of Dream Theater has progressed more on this as it is a frenzy of guitars, drums, keyboards and well applied vocals. Petrucci works very well with some great guitar solos. On the first Cd the first song "The Glass Prison" is the best on teh album and it deeply shows Drummer Mike Portnoys alcoholism and Jamies Labre uses his voice very well on this. The first cd contains only 5 songs with an average lenght of over 10 minutes.The Other tracks on this side particulary "Misunderstood" are still very good and Great Debate shows the opinions of Genetic engeneiring well. On the other CD is a huge 45 minute epic song which is broken into 8 parts on 8 tracks and this ruins the effect of one long song as there is quite a long pause between the tracks. The Lyrics on this epic are not that good as other songs on the Album or their previous albums. Overall this is a very good semi-concept album which should not be expected to be like Scenes from a Memory as they are more quiter and are using more FX and settings. Keyboardist Jordan Rudess has peformed better on this album though as he has grown into the brothership of the band more and their are some excellent bass parts by John Myung. This is not as good as Scenes from a Memory but both of these albums are true masterpieces and this along with Images and Words is required in any modern progressive rock/metal fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Theater Prevail Again, 7 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
This album is stonkingly good with exceptional performences from all involved. One of the highlights has to be the glass prison, a track that any Pantera or Metallica fan will love, Petrucci excells himsef here with legatos everywhere. The best bit of this song though has to bee the call and answer between the chinese tinkily bit with keys and bass (where Muyng plays superbly)and the hard and heavy shredding of petrucci. Portnoy drumming is amazing as always,he is the real powerhouse behind this song. Blind faith though leads us through an atmospheric journey and sounds like it should be on Faloing Into Infinity but we hear superb solos from Ruddess and Petrucci respectivly. The next song, misunderstood, is very powerfull and meaningfull.It creates an eerie atmosphere throughout, even through the solo sections with the strange rytham patterns and virtuossic soloing from Petrucci and Ruddess. The great debate tackles the issue of Stem Cell research and has a grat idea with the stero panning where people who dissagree are panned to one side, people who do to the other, and people who dont have an opinion are in the middle. Fantastic thoughts from the producers. Here again the lyrics are greatand are delivered brilliantly by James La Bri. Good use of sampling on this song. Great Solos Again. The first time i heard this song i was like, is this Dream Theater? But as i heard it more and more it started to grow on me, and now i love it. Its just such and original song, reminding me of the space dye vest. Kind of like the kevin moore days. Petrucci gets out the old trusty e-bow again here (once in a livetime vid.hehehehe) You think thats like an albums worth of stuff and it is but then you get the 2nd disc which is just as good.
Some people dont like the overture but it is a ctually a really cood composition where it tracends through all the diffrent ideads in the main song and keeps rapidly changing between majaor and minor keys to great effect i find. This party though, i dbout could be done live, but hey, its dream theater. You never know. The whole of the 45 minuite song seems to fly bye with highlights including the test that stumped them all, goodnight kiss (with the usual slow ballady solo from pertucci, but itas still amazing playing. His phrasing is great in this one. its just a genuinly good solo) and solitary shell with a definate Yes feel to it. It just so upbeat. This was also the best part of the 45 minuite song live. It was just like the CD.Incredible. It ends on a rather strange not with a 2 minuite sustained chord from Ruddess. ??????????? wonder why they thought that neseccary. Overall this is an amazing sound. It sounds just huge. I dont know hoe Kevein Shirly gets it to sound so ggod. Hes a genius. Along with obviously a great job of recording the whole thing Doug Orberkirker. A fantastic album living aup to all my expectations from the greatest band on the planet. Yes Laddies, another amazing album. YOU NEED THIS ALBUM IN YOUR COLLECTION. BUY IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars for Six Degrees, 29 July 2002
By 
Steve D (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
I have been interested in Dream Theater ever since "The Spirit of Rush" fanzine pushed their debut album to the front of my mind. "When Dream and Day Unite" would never qualify as one of my favourite discs. I could never get to grips with Charlie Dominici's voice (some would say that's rich coming from a Rush fan!) or the self-indulgence that was prevalent for much of the album. Yet in tracks such as "Afterlife" and "A Matter of Time" it sowed the seeds that meant I bought the classic "Images and Words" immediately upon its release.
Some may say the band have struggled to live up to the standards set by that album. "Awake" was certainly a step backwards and whilst "A Change of Seasons" redressed the balance it was, in my opinion, "Falling Into Infinity" that saw the band stepping in a more bold and accessible direction. With its wealth of great songs and stand out moments (John Petrucci's guitar solo on "Lines In The Sand" still rates as his best) the cd stayed in my player for months. So it was with some disappointment that I learned of the band's intention to release a concept album as a follow up. The fact that "Scenes From A Memory" is such an accomplished and, at times, astonishing piece of work is testament to the creative freedom they were finally given. The subsequent concert dvd showed Dream Theater at their awe-inspiring best, a band well and truly on top of their game.
Then along comes "Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence". Over 90 minutes of music and only six songs? It was all a bit much to take in at first. And then it began to worm its way into my subconscious. "The Great Debate" was the first track to grab hold, riding in (and out) on John Myung's insistent and ominous bass line. Petrucci's lyrics explore each side of the stem cell research argument - both bold enough to ask, over an explosive riff, whether man is justified in taking "life to save life" and circumspect enough to suggest the listener "pay attention to the questions" he has raised.
The Metallica-esque assault of "The Glass Prison" is memorable as well as bludgeoning, and flies by despite its 13+ minute running time. "Blind Faith" is atypical Dream Theater in its more standard structure and softer approach but it builds to a stunning instrumental section which makes you realise that, in the original trio of Petrucci, Myung and drummer extraordinaire, Mike Portnoy, Dream Theater possess three of the finest musicians in the business.
Disc 2 brings about the 42-minute title track, and it is here that proceedings take a slight downturn. I only have two minor niggles with this album. Firstly, the ending of the otherwise excellent "Misunderstood" drags on a bit too long. Secondly, Jordan Rudess's brilliant keyboard work goes awry during "Six Degrees"' "Overture". In fact, during that opening six minutes they sound like something out of a bad 80s soap opera (was there any other kind?). These are the only times during the entire undertaking that the previously rampant self-indulgence raises its ugly head. Thankfully, once "About To Crash" arrives, things quickly get back on track and from "War Inside My Head" onwards the second disc bursts into life. Indeed, as soon as Portnoy's driving beat kicks in during the guitar solo on "Goodnight Kiss" and gives way to the blissfully superb "Solitary Shell", a song more catchy and memorable than any the band have hitherto recorded, "Six Degrees" takes a grip and doesn't let go.
Yet it is "Disappear" that sticks in my mind. Having myself recently suffered a great loss this song really hits home. It is beautifully underplayed and uncomplicated and James Labrie's previously unmentioned vocals are heartfelt and evocative. This is a deeply moving song.
"Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence" is certainly a defining release and one that will take some measure of inspiration and invention to follow. It's hard to believe that the band can ever surpass this level of both accomplishment and maturity. Time will tell. In the meantime I'll see you at the Astoria in October!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Close but still no cigar, 29 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
To begin with, I must admit that I am not actually a DT fan, although I have followed their career and progress with a keen ear since I first heard the then new "Images and Words" album back in the early 90's. I have always had the feeling that this is a group of great potential and surely they have shown a lot of promise over the years, but somehow they haven't been able to come up with an album that would have really knocked me out.
I guess there's still some waiting for me to do, because "Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence" just is not the great Dream Theater CD I have been expecting. (It'll come one day, I'm sure of that!)
However, the 42-minute title track (ie. the entire disc 2 of the set) is very much what I would like to hear from DT and it probably is the best extended piece of music I have heard from the group so far. Sadly, the rest of the album is not nearly as good as this magnum opus. If one wishes to employ the much used "progressive metal" tag here, DT has chosen to take apart these two distinct musical strains and put "metal" on disc 1 and "progressive" on disc 2, which results in the first disc being far too heavy to my tastes (and possibly the CD2 being too close to traditional progressive rock for some listeners). I almost gave up listening before I reached the second disc of the set, which - frankly - after the hard-hitting metallic assault of the CD 1 is like putting on a recording of another band altogether.
I'd say it's 3 stars for CD1 and 5 for the title track, thus 4 stars to the whole package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Awesome, 14 Jan 2006
By 
M Caffekey-Danes "neo_9000" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
This album kicks off with disk one and the ear splitting, emotional masterpiece that is "The Glass prison" then move onto the slower paced "Blind Faith" and "Misunderstood" Then comes the polotical song "the great debate" and finishes with "Disapear" a bloody good album in itself, the masters of noise that are Dream Theater were not content, and added a second disk, containing the 42 minute long mamooth "Six Degrees of inner turbulence" Which starts with the relaxing, classical sounding Overture, the slow pace doesn't last long however as "About to Crash" kicks in followed by the ear splitters "War inside my head" and "The test that stumped them all" then turning the whole thing back round they slow right down for "goodnight kiss" and "solitary shell" then knock it up for "about to crash - Reprise" finishing with "losing time"
All in all this album is near perfect, reflecting the players musical ability and amazing lyrics writing talent, a truly inspiring contribution to the Prog Rock scene once more by Dream Theater.
Listening to the album from the glass prison through to losing time, you will see why they are the best at what they do, and why they have been around for so long, truly awesome original work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intense stuff., 12 Dec 2002
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
Possibly the longest release of the year, 6 degrees is once again a bit different - but then, Dream Theater have never been ones to stagnate.
Apparently they didn't originally set out to record a 42 minute song, but here it is, occupying a whole CD of it's own. It starts in a similar way to the opening section of "Scenes...", with a big anthemic instrumental, but it's slower, and the main theme is from the keys. Reminds me of Pink Floyd in some ways.
The 8 "movements" do vary in feel, fast medium and slow tempos are explored, and there is a loose common thread throughout to keep the "one song" concept going. A good song, just perhaps a bit too much of a good thing.
CD 1 opens with a doomy rhythm and lost of bottom B string (7 string guitars are back), before a fast and furious tempo change, remnicent of some of the Liquid Tension Experiment material. The vocals are more in the middle of the vocal range, not as much screaming as on earlier releases.
Blind Faith is a mid tempo (for DT) anthem, with hints of Floyd and early Genesis.
Misunderstood is a slow song, heavy and moody.
Great Debate (my favourite) is a fast piece, starting with a 2+ minute intro peppered with sound clips from news reports from both sides of the fence (it's about embryo stem cell research), and an excellent vocal hook in the chorus (life - don't say life; excellent).
Disappear is a much softer piece, piano and keys mainly, plus vocals, and by far the shortest song.
Perhaps not the best CD to discover DT on (get Images and Words, then Scenes..), but I like it - in fact, I'd probably have been happy with just CD 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence
Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence by Dream Theater (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews