Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect
If you buy this album I guarantee that you will never tire of listening to it. Every song builds up to sheer greatness. Another reviewer mentioned similarities to Granddaddy and Ash, both I fell are fair but this album really does have its own sound. The songs are mainly guitar based but what makes this album work so well is the way the vocals build up, becoming more...
Published on 30 Jan 2003 by Rich

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars i hate to go against popular opinion, but.............
What's so special about it? I appreciate the songs are solid, but compared to most bands playing the minor league circuit, who isn't. The songs seem to me to lack thought, experimentation and diversity.......maybe i'm too much a fan of experimental, diverse bands, and the 90's british bands that didn't quite make it,....but after a month or so of searching for something...
Published on 21 Mar 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 30 Jan 2003
By 
Rich (Leicester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes In The Wall (Audio CD)
If you buy this album I guarantee that you will never tire of listening to it. Every song builds up to sheer greatness. Another reviewer mentioned similarities to Granddaddy and Ash, both I fell are fair but this album really does have its own sound. The songs are mainly guitar based but what makes this album work so well is the way the vocals build up, becoming more and more powerful along with the rest of the instrumental elements of the song. Every track seems to have been written and performed with passion, all the songs on this album are classics, buy this and you won't regret it, I promise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This cannot be right surly ?, 4 Feb 2002
This review is from: Holes In The Wall (Audio CD)
... well what I mean is, this I quite possibly the greatest debut album from an English band for as long as I can remember, and ..erm .. they are still teenagers !!. I was blown away, I never right online reviws cos quite frankly I'm rubbish at it, but after listening to this album by the Electric Soft Parade, I felt to the need to spread the word.
It's hard to pin down, sure they are obvious influenced, 'Oasis', 'Boo Radleys', and even the Flaming Lips' and the wonderfull 'Granddaddy' sping to mind on tracks like 'Silent to the dark' & 'Why do you try so hard to hate me'.
This ablum simply is fantastic, if you like the simple melodic guitar driven songs of 'Ash' with the madness & complexity of 60's Pink Floyd then this album is for you.
I know, It's a crazy mishhash, and you will love it for that very reason, if the brother's White can produce this quality age 17 & 19, its scary to think what their next album is going to sound like.
UNPREDICTABLE, BEAUTIFULLY MELODIC... JUST SIMPLY
OUTSTANDING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Brit-Pop Revival Album, 22 April 2004
This review is from: Holes In The Wall (Audio CD)
If Blur and Oasis had offspring, it would be definately the Whitebrothers, Tom and Alex (popularly known as the electric soft parade), andHoles in The Wall is every bit as great as "Parklife" and "DefinitleyMaybe", so much show this was an album of the year in 2002 and mercuryprized record.
I first heard them on their American Adventure album and i was in awe asto how they created such classics between the two of them. So Holes inThe Wall had all the attraction, a list of good reviews, the mercury prizesticker and of course they were a best newcomer in Q awards.
So the album itself is very much on the verge of the "oh my god play itagain" style of music, particularly with Start Again, There is a Silenceand Empty at the End. But its not just really rocky, positions andinstruments are swapped between them varying the music, taking Silent toThe Dark as an example boasting an incredible 9 minutes.
The only real problem that can be found is that the album is a bit toolong, but thats no big deal, it still rocks, and it will always be one ofmy favourite cds.
Buy it Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly cool rock-poppy debut., 4 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Holes In The Wall (Audio CD)
What a belter. Anybody who likes the way music plays with the hairs on the back of your neck after a really great tune change which brings the melody out shining is in for a treat here.
These teenagers really do give it everything and it comes out to be one of the best albums i have heard in a very long time. The melody is as good as oasis and the beatles. The lyrics are superb and it rocks.
From the beginning the hits flow freely with no weak tracks. The astonishing 9 minute epic that is "silent to dark" and the catchy "theres a silence" are just superb and if justice is fair this band would be as big as the beatles or oasis. They cope with the rocky poppy melodies superbly well and it never gets out of control.
It plays with your emotions and makes you want to dance round and round and round the room until the breathtaking finale finishes and then theres only one thing to do. Put it back on again. Its too good to miss.
As good as any hot newcomer this year (if not better). Triple A. BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 27 Feb 2002
By 
M. Speller "mattwareherts" (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holes In The Wall (Audio CD)
It is really a breath of fresh air. I have spent the last year listening to the White Stripes, Strokes and the Hives. ESP, although a slightly more poppy, are on par with all of them. I say this as they are a pretty unique band/sound. A bit of Beck in parts, Mull Historical Society in others, Pavement pop up in a few places. It is a real journey down the road of good music.
It is an album that leaves you feeling happy, better than the Stereophonics - Just Enough Education To Perform as they don't try to be clever, it just comes naturally.
Each song is different, so there is none of the 'sameyness' that some bands seem to stick to on debut albums.
I can guarantee you have heard at least 3 of the songs, maybe without even knowing it, like me!
In closing the album is very strong, very upbeat, very influenced, very listenable and very diverse.
Trust me, you will like some of it, and most probably, all of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic, 25 Mar 2004
By 
Keith Hughes "Kidda" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holes In The Wall (Audio CD)
I can’t believe that anyone can give this album such a lowly review, so I just had to add my piece on here. This is superb, definitely in my top 10 albums of the last 10 years. It’s one that I keep going back to again and again and am yet to tire of. Refreshingly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great at Glastonbury, fab on my stereo!, 28 April 2003
By 
This review is from: Holes In The Wall (Audio CD)
Firstly, if you love British guitar pop, you'll love this. It's got the singalong factor for playing in the car, you can awkwardly sway to it at gigs - just go out and buy it.
If you need a bit more convincing, here it comes. The songs are full of influences - Red Balloon for Me sounds like Oasis, there are moments of Bluetones-y (and even Supertramp style) optimism, driving guitars reminscent of early Garbage, and Radiohead-like roboticism and occasionaly melancholy. Yet it doesn't seek to copy, and makes its own sound - pacy and tight.
Every song is slightly different, and yet the album works well as a unit and provides a versatile 55 minutes of sound equally suitable for playing at a party or for turning up loud and shutting out the world.
The amazing thing about this album is that it is created by two teenage boys. It's surprisingly mature for a debut, and this band can only rise in esteem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant debut LP that should be bought by everyone!, 5 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Holes In The Wall (Audio CD)
The Electric Soft Who? Alot of people would ask the same question. I asked that question and took a gamble after to reading a number of great reviews from various sections of the media. And I am glad to say the gamble paid off as this album is fantastic!
It is an album that does not have any weaknesses, with every song showing this vast musical talent that the two brothers possess. It is an album that should appeal to many people, and if given a chance The Electric Soft Parade will achieve great things. Go buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best new guitar acts this year..., 3 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Holes In The Wall (Audio CD)
Along with the likes of elbow, Electric Soft Parade are looking like the discerning choice for Britain's music lovers. Unlikely to be hyped to the levels of Starsailor and foreign imports BRMC or The Hives, the Brighton band are still an engaging prospect, and their songs are just as good as their rivals'. Catchy as hell, anyone who has heard the singles must already have this towards the top of their wish-list. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bitesize, unfussy review, 31 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Holes In The Wall (Audio CD)
Guitars with funny effects.
Vocals with funny effects.
Huge, epic, progressive-indie anthems with funny effects.
Some songs that seem to take you in a completely different direction to the one they start off in. Using funny effects.
= Superb :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holes In The Wall
Holes In The Wall by Electric Soft Parade (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews