Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£39.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 11 February 2002
I first saw TCTC (The Cooper Temple Clause) live in May of last year. They were supporting Muse at the Colston Hall,Bristol. I thought that their music was pretty unique, quite unlike anything i've heard before. So as soon as i saw this album was being realeased i had to purchase it. "Been Training Dogs" with its Rage Against The Machine style Riff is my personal favourite, whilst the mello, minor key sounding "Amber" is a real corker as well. There is even a touch of "Prog Rock" in the album as well.... The fact that this album contains 2 cd's is another bonus, with cd 2 containing 5 extra audio tracks and 3 tracks containing the groups videos..... Fans or Muse, Grandaddy, Radiohead, and Rage will love this album, trust me.......i know good music when i hear it..... Buy it and Enjoy it!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 12 February 2002
"We dare you to mean a single word you say" is the skull-drilling core lyric from "Let's Kill Music", an agenda that only a band like TCTC could pull off without seeming to be arrogant b*stards.
The limited edition CD comes with "Devil Walks in The Sand" and "Way Out West" (why aren't they on the album proper?) and all three videos the band have made so far. The live versions of "Panzer Attack" and "Let's Kill Music" almost get the sheer intensity of these guy's live performance across.
Whether it's the melancholy sounds of "The Lake" or "Digital Observations", or the high-energy, sh*t-spitting power of "Film Maker" and "Who Needs Enemies?", this is the kind of album everyone should buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 30 November 2002
This album is a mixture of 70s Space-Rock, Techno, and 90s Indie/Britpop.
Track 1 starts like a mixture of Massive Attack and Pink Floyd but half way through changes direction to 70s Space-Rock. What I mean by Space-Rock is along the lines of Hawkwind, Curved Air, etc - heavy guitars & drums mixed with burbling synthesised beeps, bells, whirrs, etc, ethereal vocals. Track 2 starts with some guitar work that would not be out of place on a Muse CD but progresses as another Space-Rock track. Track 3 is more of the same but a bit more Lemmy, i.e. it is more Motorhead than Hawkwind (Lemmy was part of Hawkwind before he went his own way and formed Motorhead). Track 4 is a change of direction, instead of synthesisers we get a wind section and a singer who allegedly sounds like Liam Gallagher. One of the more pop tracks on the album. Track 5 is difficult the categorise, it starts quite slowly and gently but get quite heavy and at some points the singer sounds more like JJ72 than Liam.
Track 6 starts as a spaghetti western soundtrack but as you soon realise with this group they can be relied on to change style at least once in a song. The background effects give you a sense of listening to "Dark Side of the Moon" at times. Quite cleverly they introduce a violin strain half way through - whoever thought of that is a musical genius.
Track 7 fools you with its techno intro but then progresses into a sort of Oasis sing-a-long. Possibly the weakest track this album but enjoyable all the same.
Track 8 is the weirdest track. Techno sounds mixed with various radio samples, e.g. a weather forecast and BBC news but when track 9 starts it makes track 8 seem like a very elaborate intro to another Space-Rock track. Track 10 follows on seamlessly. It's difficult to describe this track but it works pretty well, sort of Indie/Goth Rock but eventually it transforms into quite heavy Space-Rock. Pretty uplifting stuff!
The last track calms things down again. quite slow and moody with a string section.
The bonus disk contains three tracks not on the main CD and two live tracks and (if you have a access to PC) videos of 3 tracks.
So overall a very good debut album. They are mining a seam that no-one else is (Space Rock) but have a modern sound because of their more recent influences. Given their diverse influences it will be interesting to see what direction they take in the future. I hope they don't change too much.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 November 2002
'My oh my I'm seeing the potential, lets just see what we can do' states Ben Gautrey on 'Who Needs Enemies', I'm sure someone said that upon hearing this band for the first time. What has been done, is that one hell of a great debut album has been made.
It was seeing this band live at the jubilee concert 'Middlesbrough Music Live' that really got me into them.
Possibly the best debut album of 2002 was what I bought afterwards.
Loud, angry and trashy are 3 words that sum up the majority of this album, but also great melodies are somehow fitted in.
Opening track 'Did You Miss Me' is for me the album's highlight, starting off quiet before building to a brilliant bass filled crescendo, then turning into one of the angriest parts of this album.'Panzer Attack' is the most anger fuelled track on here. Chart hits 'Film-Maker', 'Who Needs Enemies', 'Lets Kill Music' and 'Been Training Dogs' are some of the more melodic tracks on here. 'Amber' and 'Digital Observations' are something of a break from the noise created by the opening 4 tracks. 'The Lake' is probably the darkest, and best written track here. The 8 minute finale 'Murder Song' is a great end to a great album. The bonus CD offers more great tracks and live material where the band really excel.
Anyone who is in to bands like The Vines, The Hives, Primal Scream, will love this, The Cooper Temple Clause are right up your street.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 25 June 2002
Since the beginning of time, people have written songs about love. Songs to fall in love to, songs to break up to, songs to reminisce about people you met years ago and never saw again. But seldom do people write such brilliantly twisted songs of revenge and frankly disturbing levels of obsession. The songs snarl, hiss and threaten to rip your arms off (probably); when they sing about training dogs 'or anything that'll tear itself a hole', you can believe they really mean it. About everybody. This is a ferocious beast of a record, and one that you'd want on your side in a fight....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 May 2002
The emergence the indie/punk/rock with a touch of ambient madness thrown in for good measure has taken the music scene aback. Last year's Fine Lines by My Vitriol was an early sign of things to come, and although in my opinion nothing has come close to bettering it, there is so much talent & genius in this area at the moment (BRMC, ESP etc). TCTC's See This Through and Leave features the same high energy, high-pitch but slightly wondering guitar melodies that My Vitriol fans are accustomed to, in particular in the excellent songs Amber and The Lake. This is not all TCTC have to offer, reverting back to a dirty punk-meets-grunge-in-a-rock-type-setting with the songs Panzer Attack and Who Needs Enemies?, both of which are superb, the former undoubtedly one of the highlights of the album. TCTC will always face criticism I feel, probably due to the fact that their vocalist sounds uncannily like he should be a Gallagher. Their tendency to mix a dash of indie with rock in some tracks will earn them little more than disapproving nods of 'unoriginality', which is a shame, because the only track that has this slightly odorous whiff is the otherwise-good Been Training Dogs. Good stuff overall.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 5 July 2005
This is a fantastic album! Cooper were initially a band that I was sceptical of, assuming at a first listen that they were a toned down Muse with Oasis-y vocals. Well after a few listens to the album I was hooked! Something that I adore about Cooper is the precise way they build songs up, expecially 'The Lake' 'The Murder Song' and of course the more upbeat 'Who Needs Enemies'. I prefer this album to 'Kick Up The Fire...' as it is less abstract and there are a few more songs that have a more structured feel to them. This album has songs on it that you can dance around the room to, but songs that you can equally lie back and let relax you. And don't get me started on the lyrics, they're really intriguing [sp?], and there are lots of different ways you can interpret them. I find that 'Amber' has particularly beautiful, dark lyrics. I'd definately recommend this album to a new Cooper fan. Buy it!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 18 February 2002
2001, it seems, was a good year for music. Although the craze of nu-metal reached it's peak and the streets were choked with tatoo-stained Fred Durst-alikes, the resurgence of rock and roll has gone swimmingly so far. With The Strokes and The White Stripes pointing the way, it seemed for a while that the music scene was at last getting healthy.
Well, it's taken a six-piece from Reading called The Cooper Temple Clause to finally shatter the mere 'potential' and nail down one of the best British debuts in history with a large, bloodstained hammer. This album truly is a great record. Not only because it has the tunes and the experimentation and the downright ANGER that so so many bands are lacking in this day and age, but because it has come at absolutely the right time. From the frazzled, tired sounding opening bars of 'Did You Miss Me?' through the acid spitting rant of 'Panzer Attack' and 'Who Needs Enemies?', to the downright genius of the riff-o-rama of 'The Lake', this band really has defined the current rise of the British side of things.
While The New Oasis (The Music) beaver away in the studio on the album of the year (let's hope) and The Electric Soft Parade defy all expectations with their excellent 'Holes In The Wall' album, it's The CTC that really have set the standard with this astonishing album. Since it was bought I have not listenened to anything else and the sheer brilliance of some of the melodies and songs could take years to unfold.
Want good music? Think a Sex Pistols for the 21st century. Or an experimental Clash with keyboards (the less said about Sandinista the better)...actually just think of the best British debut since 'Definately Maybe'. Really, honestly, can you think of a better time for music in this country since those lovely Britpop summers? No, nor can I.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 29 September 2003
The Cooper Temple Clause are most certainly a live band. I brought this album in Feb 2002 but it took until this year, when I saw them live, to truely appreciate what a special talent they are. Songs like 'Panzer Attack' and 'Lets Kill Music' don't quite convey the same power on CD as they do live and thats a shame. Other songs on the album 'Film Maker', 'Been Training Dogs' and 'The Lake' all shine. 'Who Needs Enemies', although overplayed, is still a strong track too. There is a good mix between the high energy tracks and the more mellow slow tempo tracks. 'Muder Song' is a good expample of the latter. It builds up and then tension is released when the vocals kick back in. It really is a fantastic end to a fantastic album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 February 2002
I saw this lot at Muse in May last year. they supported very well. I didn't know of them before the gig, but I really got into it and they were brimming with confidence and real power in their music. I have been following their career ever since, tracking each of their short demos, building to the final album. This album reaks of class and real rock "n" roll style. When indie and rock bands from Britain came in short supply, these guys have given a real booost to music. If you like the indie sound thats coming out. This album really gets the good sounds flowing again. This MUST (or I hope) be the start of something big!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Make This Your Own
Make This Your Own by Cooper Temple Clause (Audio CD - 2008)

See This Through and Leave [6x7" VINYL]
See This Through and Leave [6x7" VINYL] by Cooper Temple Clause (Vinyl - 2002)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.