Customer Reviews


11 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Simply Fantastic!, 21 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Mclusky Do Dallas (Audio CD)
I only recently discovered this gem of an album, I'm devastated to find the band split up last year. I have since purchased their other 2 albums, their debut 'My Pain And Sadness Is More Sad And Painful Than Yours' is also very good although not on a par with this album, follow up 'The Difference Between Me And You Is That I'm Not On Fire' is not nearly on a par, much darker and less immediate tunes.
This album has a nice line in punky thrashes with catchy guitar hooks (reminiscent of Nirvana), frantic cracked vocals (the only similarity to Pixies as far as I'm concerned) and great lyrics. Stand out tracks for me are -Collagen Rock, What We've Learned, To Hell With Good Intentions, Alan Is A Cowboy Killer and Gareth Brown Says, which features the best opening lines ever of 'All of your friends are c**ts, your mother is a ball point pen thief'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surfer Rosa in a blender, 30 April 2002
This review is from: Mclusky Do Dallas (Audio CD)
I have to say that this has easily beaten off extremely good competition to be album of the year already ...and we're only in May. It can't be stressed just how good this album is - equal parts loud and frightening, but also has the best lyrics i've ever heard outside The Smiths; ie a whole song apparently dedicated to Danny Baker ("Cartoon monkeys got you hard/It must have been the hair/Though Jive Bunny stole your creative fire/You really didn't care") and the hilarious 'To Hell With Good Intentions' ("...We take more drugs than a touring funk band/And we're all going straight to hell").
Produced by Steve Albini, as was the Pixies' debut Surfer Rosa, this album sounds just as frightening sonically speaking - the drums seem to be in the same room when you play this record and every track bar 'F*ck This Band' has it's bass distorted. It really has everything; speed rock thrills, songs about doing drugs and having sex in a burning barn (!) and a real sense of tongue-in-cheek humour running all the way through it like a stick of Blackpool rock. In a way, bands like this (ie the Pixies) cannot be lampooned because EVERYONE who hears them likes them. A true classic. 10/10.
Standout tracks - 'Dethink To Survive', 'To Hell With Good Intentions', 'Alan Is A Cowboy Killer', 'Gareth Brown Says', 'Whoyouknow'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relatives Matter When Your Legs Don't Work, 21 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Mclusky Do Dallas (Audio CD)
I agree with all of the majority of the reviews on here, most notably the one which asks 'what did we listen to before Mclusky?' And this is true, I remember seeing them for the first time in Cooper's Field in 2004 and I was amazed, suddenly nothing mattered apart from Mclusky and the tuneful noise they created....but it wasn't just noise, there was a pop sensibility buried deep in there somewhere for all the talk of hate and anger.
'Mclusky Do Dallas' then, is the snarling love-child of Big Black and The Pixies....a 36-minute noise-punk slab that doesn't give a damn about the consequenses. It starts with possibly one of the catchiest songs of the last 5 years 'Lightsabre C*cksucing Blues' with the derranged cries of 'Are You Coming?' echoing over the most frantic playing since 1977. The album hurdles on, pausing briefly for an introspective 'F**k This Band', which, despite the title is one of the nicest songs Mclusky ever wrote, along with 'Flysmoke' of their 1st album.
Just when you think that they're being too nice, 'To Hell With Good Intentions' kicks off, and it feels so right! To put it simply, you NEED this band...in YOUR life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what did we listen to before we bought this album?, 3 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Mclusky Do Dallas (Audio CD)
no, seriously, what DID we listen to before we bought this album? it's strange - I had to hear "to hell with good intentions" about 3 times at offbeat([...]) before I thought 'hang on, that's possibly the best song ever....'. then I got the album, and now the donnas, million dead, hot hot heat and a load of other stuff are all gathering dust on my kitchen table.
buy this album, you'll love it.....violently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous stuff, 29 April 2002
This review is from: Mclusky Do Dallas (Audio CD)
An absolutely fantastic record. Sounds a bit like the Pixies, a bit like Pavement, a bit like Bogshed (!) but, above all else, like McLusky.
Loud guitars, jerky rhythms, hilarious lyrics,
recorded by Steve Albini. What else could you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mean and Lean, 16 April 2002
By 
D. Lloyd "DioBach" (West Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mclusky Do Dallas (Vinyl)
Their first album remains one of the 3 great rock albums of the past half a decade, original, exciting, in-yer-face and off the wall.
The second album picks up the torch well. It could have gone either way. We are treated to a focused blast of early Husker Du sound stabbing F*** You and Pixies riffage.
Lean and mean, they are at their most focused on this record, everything sounds tight, together and as it should be. The excursions aren't as original as earlier work, but the visceral thrill remains.
There in the problem lies. To my mind, the ramshackle, ad hoc bits and bobs soundscape of the first album is what kept it edgy and spot on the mark. This album sounds too clean and too together, without the raggedy arsed charm of My Pain.
Still heads and shoulders above 99.9% of the music out there that purports to be both 'punky' and 'alternative' (they are ironic apostrophes), this is ultimately satisfying, but kinda familiar too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Frank Black SHOULD be doing, 13 Feb. 2003
By 
Sean Jones "Sean Jones" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mclusky Do Dallas (Audio CD)
At times Mclusky sound like the World's best Pixies tribute band playing unreleased PiL songs. I can think of no higher praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 15 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mclusky Do Dallas (Audio CD)
This album used to be difficult to get hold of. I think there was some drama with the rights to the recordings. You could say that Mclusky are the greatest Welsh grunge band ever, though grunge sells them short a bit and 'indy alternative' is a bit too all-encompasing.

The best way to describe Mclusky is think Pixies crossed with Public Image Limited. You get bizarre lyrics that cross between nonsensical and playfully cynical with vocals that alternate between Black Francis-like screaming and John Lydon-like snarling.

In itself this album is a bit of a best-of, simply because pretty much every song is exceptional.

Despite the band now being defunct, if you like this style of music you'll probably like the new incarnation of the band: Future of the Left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Love is Bigger Than Your Love, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
B. Philipson "Johanna" (Gateshead ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mclusky Do Dallas (Audio CD)
It's genius this. I've had this album for years & it's still a favourite. The lyrics are hilarious and after you've had a few shandies the furniture is in peril. They were bloody great live as well. The f***** Maccabees etc, they can kiss my starfish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loud, 11 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mclusky Do Dallas (Audio CD)
Finally a band kicking off where The Pixies left us hungry for more. With a bit of Black Flag thrown in for good measure. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mclusky Do Dallas
Mclusky Do Dallas by McLusky (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews