Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �Sinner�
Now this is what I'm talking about! The perfect balance between power and melody. The Drowning Pool's "Sinner" packs a mean punch while delivering memorable melodies. I found myself yelling right along to the chorus of "Sinner" during the first listen. This CD grabbed ahold from the first note and pulled me relentlessly from track to track banging my head like there was...
Published on 8 Feb 2002

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good album, bit short, needs more variation
Any fans of the WWF wrestling will have likely heard of DP (Bodies - Summerslam 2001 theme, Sinner - Vengeance 2001 theme, Tear Away - Wrestlemania X-8 theme), but for non fans of wrestling don't be put off. The above three songs are all fantastic, I can't stop listening to them, especially Bodies. But the album is not just 3 songs, the others are ok too, but, sad person...
Published on 5 Mar 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �Sinner�, 8 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sinner (Audio CD)
Now this is what I'm talking about! The perfect balance between power and melody. The Drowning Pool's "Sinner" packs a mean punch while delivering memorable melodies. I found myself yelling right along to the chorus of "Sinner" during the first listen. This CD grabbed ahold from the first note and pulled me relentlessly from track to track banging my head like there was no tomorrow.
The second track and first single "Bodies" is a hardcore musical assault that gives you a nice taste of what Drowning Pool is all about, power! A moving backbeat, aggressive vocals, nice thick powerchords-all the good stuff. That intensity keeps up for the entire album.
Comparisons to other bands are often helpful in music reviews. That's a daunting task here since Drowning Pool encompasses a lot of diverse sounds. If comparisons must be made then think of them as Godsmack meets Pantera meets The Step Kings, yes they are really that diverse. Even their slower song "Tear Away" still delivers with solid pure rock credentials.
It's hard to hold back my enthusiasm here. This CD literally knocked me out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great CD but could be improved, 22 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sinner (Audio CD)
'Sinner'is a good record, but Drowning Pool can sometimes try too hard to be something they're not. I have to hand it to them, tracks like 'Sinner' 'Bodies' and 'Pity Me' are all lyrically superb and very well sung, but some tracks such as 'All Over Me' just give the feeling that there's something missing. Could it be that there's not quite enough screaming (shock horror)? There could also be some heavier drumming and guitar riffs going on to give the listener a bit more to shout about. Apart from this, the CD is a great release, and the second is eagerly awaited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Nu-Metal album since Korn, 6 Feb 2006
This review is from: Sinner (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums ever!! From the opening blast of guitar of 'Sinner' to the timeless and awesome 'Bodies' to the strangely haunting 'Tear Away' and the now ironic 'Pity' there has not been such a great Nu-Metal album. With it's loud and gutsy guitars, melodic and growling lyrics, Sinner is an album that was way ahead of it's peers in 2001 and is still ahead of alot of what's out there today. Sinner will go on to be a classic album the future and 'Bodies' a timeless anthem of agressive chords and lyrics. The follow up album 'Desensitized' is good but lacks the depth of Dave Williams' input in lyrics, vocals and melody. Had he survived, Dave and Drowning Pool would have gone on (on the strength of this debut) to become one of the best bands on the planet. Buy this album and you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catchy and addictive!, 24 July 2006
By 
P. M. Carlino - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sinner (Audio CD)
The entire album is catchy and addictive! The first song - Sinner shouldn't have been the first song in my opinion, it should have been Bodies, which just kicks ass! The only point I will make is that the album dissapates towards the end with the songs getting a little bit too similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this album rocks my socks, 2 April 2007
By 
Pyriel (northants, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sinner (Audio CD)
this is such an amazing album. the distorted guitars mixed with the shouty but melodic vocals do this band great justice.
in my honest opinion, there is not one bad song on this album. my favourite tracks though have got to be 'Bodies', 'Tear Away' and 'Reminded'.
alot of people claim this album is too "samey", and while alot of the tracks do have a relatively similar feel to them, they are all very individual and the lyrics are heart-felt.
overall an immensley worthwhile purchase and well worth your hard earned pennies (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good album, bit short, needs more variation, 5 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sinner (Audio CD)
Any fans of the WWF wrestling will have likely heard of DP (Bodies - Summerslam 2001 theme, Sinner - Vengeance 2001 theme, Tear Away - Wrestlemania X-8 theme), but for non fans of wrestling don't be put off. The above three songs are all fantastic, I can't stop listening to them, especially Bodies. But the album is not just 3 songs, the others are ok too, but, sad person that I am, I found myself getting quickly bored of the others and didn't enjoy them half as much as the above. They are good songs and I predict great things for DP, but this album needs more variation than it has to be an all round great. If you are a nu-metal fan I suggest you consider it, but try before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest debut albums in a long time..., 26 May 2004
This review is from: Sinner (Audio CD)
With second album 'desensitised'in the charts now,I was thinking back to the brilliance of 01's debut 'Sinne'-One of the finest debut albums of the last ten years,not to mention one of the most cohesive metal albums.
The band's sound is extremely tight-knit,they play very well together as musicians and are aided by the excellent vocal talents of the late Dave Williams(recently replaced in the band by Jason 'Gong' Jones)-the songs themselves have great resonance also,surprisingly stacked with melody,11 tracks run by in 37 minutes.Yet it is also blisteringly heavy,as evidenced on standout tracks such as the brutal opening title track,WWF anthem 'Bodies',the mellower but still pretty fast'tear away' and 'Reminded' which is one of the most experimental nu-metal tracks i've ever heard.All these naysayers that give out about nu-metal being generic probably have a point,but Drowning pool have always been streets ahead of everyone else in their league.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC ALBUM, 8 Oct 2014
This review is from: Sinner (Audio CD)
Brilliant classic Nu Metal Album it catchy and has some good riffs it is nice and simple so you can sing along too the vocals are good powerful and varied and the music is Bass heavy which is always nice Not to say the guitar is left out it is very good too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best metal albums ever!!, 27 Dec 2004
This review is from: Sinner (Audio CD)
I brought this album earlier this year when I first heard 'Bodies'.The album is great all the way through.
Personally I think 'All Over Me' is the best track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, but somehow the same., 1 May 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sinner (Audio CD)
The problem with nu metal is the same problem I found with the grunge craze of the nineties. Too much of a good thing pretty soon turns out bad.
That's not to say drowning pool is bad, far from it. Catchy riffs, decent lyrics, good melodies, but I can't help thinking that I've heard it all before, only better ("Papa Roach" or "One minute Silence" say).
A couple of years ago this would have been mould breaking, but now with so many nu metal bands creeping out of the woodwork, I find myself longing for something a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sinner
Sinner by Drowning Pool (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews