Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling at times, but short of extraordinary
This follow up series to Walking with Dinosaurs takes up from where it left off, and is an obvious improvement in at least one respect: the credibility of the imagery. The series follows the same periodic snap-shot format, following within each snap shot the fate of an individual or a group from a particular species.
I found episode 4 "Next of Kin", the...
Published on 4 Dec 2001 by B. M. Still

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Title
I had this recorded on a VHS tape, but i accidentally taped over it with episodes of Yu-Gi-Oh, that was on TV at the time.
My brothers were annoyed, initally, but we consider this series to be rather "Meh" compared to Walking with Dinosaurs/Monsters, so they got over it.
Published 18 months ago by Fishpop


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling at times, but short of extraordinary, 4 Dec 2001
By 
B. M. Still (CANBERRA CITY, ACT Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This follow up series to Walking with Dinosaurs takes up from where it left off, and is an obvious improvement in at least one respect: the credibility of the imagery. The series follows the same periodic snap-shot format, following within each snap shot the fate of an individual or a group from a particular species.
I found episode 4 "Next of Kin", the most compelling, featuring as it does Australopithecines, our ancestors. I thought that these were quite well rendered, and believably presented in terms of attributed behaviour. At times I even felt a moment of awe. On a second watching, these moments were still felt to some extent, and therefore I feel the series has some enduring merit.
It would not be honest to say that the series is gripping, and I don't feel that either this series or Walking with Dinosaurs is a match for much of David Attenborough's work, for example (in terms of structure, variety of material covered, and photography - simulated or otherwise..!), however it is definitely worthwhile, and in the case of the creatures it features, it opens up a window on a period of our world's prehistory that has never before been convincingly depicted, (certainly not with this favour of authenticity and spectacle) and that is a wonderful thing in itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dinosaur crazy, 29 Mar 2011
By 
Kirsty Elsey (Grimsby, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walking With Beasts : Complete BBC Series [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my 5year old who is mad on Walking with Dinosaurs series, this has now become a joint winner with Walking with Beasts!
Nothing bad to say, it is exactly the same high quality as the other series."Walking with Dinosaurs": A Natural History
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars keeps children quiet, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking With Beasts : Complete BBC Series [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
This is fabulous as it keeps a 2 and 10 yr old boy quiet for hours and hours. Shuts them right up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A milestone in BBC productions, 16 Dec 2010
By 
U. Breimaier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking With Beasts : Complete BBC Series [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
The "Walking with..." series has surely been one of BBC's best over the years!
This DVD comes with brilliant images, specials on the making-of etc. and by all means doesn't deserve less than five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking With Beasts : Complete BBC Series [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
have always loved the series and the CGI`s are great am slowly getting all the BBC series of these dvds they are first rate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking With Beasts : Complete BBC Series [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Exciting DVD, The BBC series are worth watching over and over again. Which is a good job because the boys never have them off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On time and perfect, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking With Beasts : Complete BBC Series [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
The box was in perfect condition and the on DVD this is even better than I remember. This is the best thing to do if you miss the Walking With series and completes my collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as walking with dinosaurs, 8 July 2011
By 
Mr. C. J. R. Beale (Stevenage, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walking With Beasts : Complete BBC Series [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
if you liked walking with dinosaurs, you will like this, it is basically the same idea just with animals after dinosaurs, just as with walking with dinosaurs their are a variety of episodes based around a variety of different creatures and some you will like others you wont, but this is top stuff.

I prefer Walking with dinosaurs because the creatures are far more interesting but at the same time this is a great sequel series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 4 July 2014
By 
DebbieP (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking With Beasts : Complete BBC Series [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant. Bought this for my 5 year old son who absolutely loves this dvd. He has watched it countless times now and has not gotton bored yet. There are a couple of scenes were young or sensitive children might get upset such as meat eaters attacking and killing plant eaters but on the whole its very educational and you will not get bored watching it again and again ......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beast of an experience, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking With Beasts : Complete BBC Series [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched Walking with Dinosaurs and Walking with Monsters with my 6-year-old grandson, I just KNEW he would be fascinated by Walking with Beasts - and he is - after the first two episodes. He is now looking forward to the coming of man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking With Beasts : Complete BBC Series [2001] [DVD]
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews