Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise
This is the best cd ever. The fact that ' White Lilies Island ' has
not got much attention of the media, gives the cd an atmosphere as if
Natalie plays just for you. Natalie's voice is pure... and the
songs can be only described as pure pop! Here is a survey of all twelve songs:
#01 THAT DAY : This is a nice entrance to the cd. It grows on you after...
Published on 13 Dec 2003 by JR

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice songs, bad CD
I don't like to criticise an artist whose records I otherwise own, but I can't in any honesty recommend this. I've no problem with Ms Imbruglia's voice or song writing, but I've tried to buy this album twice since it came out and each time it's gone back to the shop for a refund. Why's this you may ask? Well, put simply the CD this version of album comes on is not an...
Published on 22 Mar 2011 by G. McAdam


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise, 13 Dec 2003
By 
JR (the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White Lilies Island (Audio CD)
This is the best cd ever. The fact that ' White Lilies Island ' has
not got much attention of the media, gives the cd an atmosphere as if
Natalie plays just for you. Natalie's voice is pure... and the
songs can be only described as pure pop! Here is a survey of all twelve songs:
#01 THAT DAY : This is a nice entrance to the cd. It grows on you after two listens. Nice arrangement, beautifully sung. It was however a mistake to release it as a single in Europe. The song is about escaping from all the pain that is in your life. 9/10
#02 BEAUTY ON THE FIRE : This song is a little dancy compared to the rest of the album, especially in it's excellent radio mix, included on the single (which also includes three amazing b-sides and the splendid video). Fresh and catchy, it is one of my favourites. 10/10
#03 SATELLITE : Quite good, but not great. It offers some fine 'Hawaiian' beats, and it is very catchy. It's feel however is quite bubblegumpoppish. 7/10
#04 DO YOU LOVE : This one was a grower for me, although the chorus is very catchy. The melody is haunting. The meaning is however quite vague, something about avoiding a person fall into chaos. 8/10
#05 WRONG IMPRESSION : Ah, the album version of the UK #10 song. It's different from the radio mix which is heard in the video, less catchy. Don't play it too often, if you don't want it to become dull. 7/10
#06 GOODBYE : This song is very very great. Depressive but great. As it builds tension, the sound becomes much rockier. The song is, yes, about saying goodbye. 9/10
#07 EVERYTHING GOES : Another good song, has a nice 'paradise' feel, is however somewhat unremarkable among the other songs. 8/10
#08 HURRICANE : Slow and beautiful. "You're all that I could be/And I'm falling on my knees", you are likely to play this song every time you play the cd. 9/10
#09 SUNLIGHT : Another favourite, could have been a single. Very catchy and grown-up, respected the lyrics: Natalie tells us to enjoy the small good things in life, like sunlight on your face. She is right. 10/10
#10 TALK IN TONGUES : An amazing song, with some nice vocals (especially when singing "Crying like a baby"). Not very catchy. 9/10
#11 BUTTERFLIES : As 'White Lilies Island' fades to an end, the songs build more and more melancholy and maturity. Like 'Goodbye', the sound becomes fuller towards the end. I don't know why not many people like it. It rocks. 10/10
#12 COME SEPTEMBER : Everybody is holding his breath for this. A song full of hope, with a fantastic orchestral arrangement. 10/10
Average: 8.83/10. That's five stars! If you don't already have it, you should go buy it immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Australian Beauty !, 25 Jun 2004
This review is from: White Lilies Island (Audio CD)
Born just outside Sydney, in 1975 and first became known as an actress - firstly in commercials and then in the Australian soap "Neighbours". After leaving the show, she moved to London before clinching a record deal and releasing her first single, "Torn". The song became a huge success, and is featured on her debut album "Left of the Middle".
"White Lilies Island" is Natalie's second album and was released in 2002. Not unlike her first, it has an indie / guitar feel to it. Three singles were released from it - "That Day", "Wrong Impression" and Beauty on the Fire" - and all twelve tracks see Natalie with a co-writing credit. While none of the singles as instantly memorable as "Torn", they are strong tracks and give a good indication of the overall 'sound' of the album.
Of the singles, I liked "Wrong Impression" the best - I'd consider it to be one of the best tracks on the album. However, there are several tracks at least its equal, and some that I think would've been better choices as the album's singles. "Sunlight" springs straight to mind - the singing style used by Natalie and the guitar playing comes together superbly. For me, it has the best 'hook' on the album. "Butterflies" comes very close to being my favourite song on the album, starting off acoustically before becoming a little more energetic. It's not an entirely up-tempo album though - three songs in the middle of the album are a little more laid back. I'd describe "Goodbye" as the album's slow and moody song. "Everything Goes", a very strong song, keeps the guitars plugged in - but also adds some strings and a strong acoustic element. "Hurricane", the last of the three, takes a similar approach, though it feels a bit more introspective.
An excellent album, and highly recommended. I really can't understand how she doesn't have a higher profile !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strong sense of Imbruglia's will and passion., 24 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Lilies Island (Audio CD)
Four years in the music industry can make a huge difference. The ever changing pace can be cruel to some artists, leaving them behind as they try to keep up with their next album release.
So when Natalie Imbruglia's name faded, the short hair and tom boy chick just a reminiscant of pop past, suddenly she's back, with a new look, new style and new direction.
And was she left behind, like all the other artists? No. In fact, it's the opposite, she's grown, matured and geared up for one of the best album releases of the year.
A four year gap has given Imbruglia a stronger direction, a much more definitive sound. Whilst Left Of The Middle road a wave of angst, pain, and sorrow, it lacked confidence. Imbruglia, in these past years, has not only found the confidence, she's found a style. A style which she can call her own, a style in which she's embraced beautifully. From the rising bud of a beautiful songtress, came a beautiful lily. A white lily, or to be more exact, White Lilies Island, the name of her second album.
Although her style isn't directed in one way, it gives a perfect mix of indie and rock collaborations. A guitar driven, band sounding heartfelt album with collaborations once again from Phil Thornally (Torn) and many new artists which weren't featured on Left Of The Middle.
No longer screaming how she's torn, shamed or lying naked on the floor, she now opens up with words like sad, scared, small, alone. Beautiful. The very diversity of the album geared towards emotional set backs of the born again star. Each song works beautifully with lyrics and sound, and written by Imbruglia herself, capturing the pain of loss, the cliche that is love, from her own life experiences. And now she's grown, matured, and enraptured it all with her album.
The album tracks are quite different to Left Of The Middle. For instance, there's "That Day", the opening track of the album. Although guitar driven and angst ridden, it is not another Torn, in fact, it could be better - it's a rock ballad on it's own. And moving onto "Beauty on the fire", an indie track which has a likliness of U2, but captured with Imbruglias strong voice and sense of direction, making it stand out as her own. Then the very pop sounding "Satelite", although sounding pop, it still has it's unique charm that seperates it from the marketed pop that is common in todays industry.
Moving on from the pop, indie, and rock are the ballads. A very winter sounding album is made from these, and Imbruglia proving that she can sing, and doesn't need to string as many words as she can into a song to make it catchy to get the attention of the listener. These songs ooze with emotion, emotions that can be discribed as "scared, small, alone, beautiful".
Hard hitting ballads, guitar driven rock, beautifully composed indie and addictive, yet, mature pop wraps altogether to make Natalie's second album by far her best to date. If you loved Left Of The Middle, you are bound to love Imbruglia's second masterpiece. Although underated by more "pop critics", indie critics love it. Make White Lilies Island part of your cd collection, hidden talent is an understatement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 31 May 2003
This review is from: White Lilies Island (Audio CD)
Following her 'Left of the Middle' smash album, Imbruglia headed into the studio to try and recapture the magic of 'Left of the Middle'. With 'White Lilies Island' she's captured that magic, and more, her pure, heavenly voice is matched with good producing, to produce one of the albums of the year!
The album starts with 'That Day' which got to number 11 in the british music charts. It's a mix of rock and pop, with interesting vocals from Natalie, 'Beauty on the Fire' follows, which got to number 26 in the british music charts. With an amzing video to go with it, it should have been higher. Her calm, whole vocal is a contrast to the almost raging 'That Day'.
'Satellite' has a true Australian feel, it is easy to imagine this being played on a c.d player, in Sydney on a blazing hot day! It's a sweet song, that maybe doesn't have the potential for a hit single, but it's a classis Natalie song. 'Do you Love' is an example of melodic and lyric genius from Natalie, it's a chilled out song, which is nice to 'chill out' too. 'Wrong Impression' is the hit single, that got to number 10 in the british music charts. The violins and guitar at the start compliment eachother nicely, it's a perfect pop song. 'Goodbye' is similar to 'Do you Love', it's a chillout song, Natalie's vocals are amazing on this track, it's one of her many songs that highlight her amazing voice. 'Everything Goes' again is a nice pop song, 'Hurricane', again beautiful vocals from Natalie, and a sense of frustration in the song which is ultimately overcome.'Sunlight' should have been a single, with a burst of heavy guitars at the start, and again the vocals to match, it would have been a sure fire hit. 'Talk in Tongues', has a sort of Spanish feel to it to start, there's a sense of simplisity to the track, which highlights the vocals, again brilliant lyrics aswell.'Butterflies' is a good pop song, there's no more to say.'Come Septemeber' is the last track on the album, and does have a strong sense of relief, maybe this is the relief of natalie knowing shes written an amazing album?? Again there are amazing vocals and producing, and violins and guitars! The album is a must for fans, and any other curious music lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUCH better than Left Of The Middle!!, 11 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: White Lilies Island (Audio CD)
I always liked Natalie's first album "Left Of The Middle" but i did feel there were several filler tracks that just didn't stand out. However, her 2001 follow up "White Lillies Island" proves that she can produce an album PACKED with catchy consistant songs. Although this album did less successfully commercially, it certainly deserves far more credit and attention than it gets, because this album is definately Natalie at her strongest.
I think one of the reasons why the album sold less was because of the first single "That Day" - by far one of the weakest songs on the album. I nearly didn't buy this album because I wasn't struck on this song - but thankfully I was pleased to see the rest of the album follows the similar style of "Wrong Impression" and "Beauty On The Fire"
I'd probably say my least favourite song is "Butterflies" because it's not quite so instantly catchy as most of the others.
Virtually all the tracks stand out, but I have to say my highlights are "Beauty On The Fire", "Wrong Impression", "Sunlight" and "Come September".
So if you like beautifully sung irrisistably catchy pop/rock, then this album is DEFINATELY for you!
2 - B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great second album, 15 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: White Lilies Island (Audio CD)
Following up her brilliant debut album "Left of the Middle", which was a huge success critically and commercially, was never going to be an easy task for Natalie Imbruglia. But refreshingly for a soap-star turned singer, she took her time and thought long and hard before following up her first offering.
45 songs and 4 years later, Imbruglia has hand picked 12 to appear on "White Lilies Island". She points to groups such as Travis, Radiohead, and Coldplay as her influences this time, as opposed to the more feminine influences of "Left of the Middle". Not that's you'd necessarily notice--the album has its own sound entirely, largely thanks to Imbruglia's divine voice which comes shining through all the tracks, but also thanks to her movement on the album towards the sound of her B sides from her previous releases (try "Diving in the deep end" and "Something Better" on her old single releases for a taster of what's to come on "White Lilies Island"). It's all a recognisable development from Imbruglia past, but is surprising enough never to bore.
The CD opens with a great piece of guitar and strings based rock/pop, which is also her first single release from the album: "That Day" lets us know that Imbruglia's not just out to recreate her smash hit "Torn" in as many was as she can. On the contrary, this song shows a touching self awareness, and a fragility that seems surprisingly genuine. Here sings a lady with many superficial reasons to be happy (money, looks, a voice to die for...), but who instead chooses to smile at the chaos and peculiarities of life: "that day, that day, what a marvellous mess... sad, scared, alone, beautiful, it's supposed to be like this, I accept everything: it's supposed to be like this... and I'm tired, and I'm right, and I'm wrong, and it's beautiful".
This frailty and emotional nakedness continues in the same totally believable way into "Wrong Impression", which in its uncomplicatedness shows how Imbruglia's songs are good songs, and not just good 'tracks': they don't rely on clever production or over-layered collage-ing of sounds. Which is not to suggest the album is under developed acoustically, nor is it totally introspective or navel-gazing. "Beauty on the fire" and "Everything goes" are both beautifully produced tracks, with a big sound (strings and all) entirely suitable for their analytical subject matters.
"Satellite" might sound a bit like Jewel-meets-Alisha's Attic, but as ever Imbruglia has brought plenty of her own personality to this love song. No new thinking here, nor vocal or lyrical gymnastics, but this simplicity is what makes the song work: it's in the non verbal "do do do do do da do da" and "shaba da da da-da" lines that she gets across the true emotion of the song.
Perhaps most spectacular is Imbruglia's use of the conceit, and her mastering of the memorable and sometimes surprising musical 'hook'. The stand out track of the album, "Goodbye", is a perfect example. It's a gorgeous but tragically sad song, which is at once a vehicle for her exquisite voice (here haunting us, almost crying the lyrics), but also her poignant lyrics: "but they tell me I'll be fine / That it will all get better. / Just try to write it down / Or put it in a letter. / But the words won't play, / And there's no easy way to say / Goodbye". The music is again perfect-- shifting mood as her thoughts do so-- and the over all sound is just right. This is by far the best track (positioned suitably exactly mid-album), with all of the best Imbruglia features presented together at once: the voice, the emotion, the careful lyrics with their matching melodic shifts, all designed to make just the right bits stay in the listener's mind.
There isn't really a track you'll skip over regularly. You might want to listen to one that suits your mood at a particular moment-- and if that's your style you'll be pleased to have one to suite most moods-- but the album plays through pretty well too, holding itself together competently. Perhaps notable for a closing mention would be "Come September", which combines beautifully Imbruglia's dreamy vocals with a partly mechanical instrumental sound that conjures up a strangely modern make-believe world of fairy tale well suited to the twenty-first century. We find ourselves in a brave new world: a slightly jaded place, a place where "as the passion dies her magic heart will break", but where "everything wrong gonna be alright". That place, where we realise nothing's quite what we thought it was, but where there's beauty none the less in that discovery, is called White Lilies Island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, more mature second album, 12 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: White Lilies Island (Audio CD)
Following up her brilliant debut album "Left of the Middle", which was a huge success critically and commercially, was never going to be an easy task for Natalie Imbruglia. But refreshingly for a soap-star turned singer, she took her time and thought long and hard before following up her first offering.
45 songs and 4 years later, Imbruglia has hand picked 12 to appear on "White Lilies Island". She points to groups such as Travis, Radiohead, and Coldplay as her influences this time, as opposed to the more feminine influences of "Left of the Middle". Not that's you'd necessarily notice--the album has its own sound entirely, largely thanks to Imbruglia's divine voice which comes shining through all the tracks, but also thanks to her movement on the album towards the sound of her B sides from her previous releases (try "Diving in the deep end" and "Something Better" on her old single releases for a taster of what's to come on "White Lilies Island"). It's all a recognisable development from Imbruglia past, but is surprising enough never to bore.
The CD opens with a great piece of guitar and strings based rock/pop, which is also her first single release from the album: "That Day" lets us know that Imbruglia's not just out to recreate her smash hit "Torn" in as many was as she can. On the contrary, this song shows a touching self awareness, and a fragility that seems surprisingly genuine. Here sings a lady with many superficial reasons to be happy (money, looks, a voice to die for...), but who instead chooses to smile at the chaos and peculiarities of life: "that day, that day, what a marvellous mess... sad, scared, alone, beautiful, it's supposed to be like this, I accept everything: it's supposed to be like this... and I'm tired, and I'm right, and I'm wrong, and it's beautiful".
This frailty and emotional nakedness continues in the same totally believable way into "Wrong Impression", which in its uncomplicatedness shows how Imbruglia's songs are good songs, and not just good 'tracks': they don't rely on clever production or over-layered collage-ing of sounds. Which is not to suggest the album is under developed acoustically, nor is it totally introspective or navel-gazing. "Beauty on the fire" and "Everything goes" are both beautifully produced tracks, with a big sound (strings and all) entirely suitable for their analytical subject matters.
"Satellite" might sound a bit like Jewel-meets-Alisha's Attic, but as ever Imbruglia has brought plenty of her own personality to this love song. No new thinking here, nor vocal or lyrical gymnastics, but this simplicity is what makes the song work: it's in the non verbal "do do do do do da do da" and "shaba da da da-da" lines that she gets across the true emotion of the song.
Perhaps most spectacular is Imbruglia's use of the conceit, and her mastering of the memorable and sometimes surprising musical 'hook'. The stand out track of the album, "Goodbye", is a perfect example. It's a gorgeous but tragically sad song, which is at once a vehicle for her exquisite voice (here haunting us, almost crying the lyrics), but also her poignant lyrics: "but they tell me I'll be fine / That it will all get better. / Just try to write it down / Or put it in a letter. / But the words won't play, / And there's no easy way to say / Goodbye". The music is again perfect-- shifting mood as her thoughts do so-- and the over all sound is just right. This is by far the best track (positioned suitably exactly mid-album), with all of the best Imbruglia features presented together at once: the voice, the emotion, the careful lyrics with their matching melodic shifts, all designed to make just the right bits stay in the listener's mind.
There isn't really a track you'll skip over regularly. You might want to listen to one that suits your mood at a particular moment-- and if that's your style you'll be pleased to have one to suite most moods-- but the album plays through pretty well too, holding itself together competently. Perhaps notable for a closing mention would be "Come September", which combines beautifully Imbruglia's dreamy vocals with a partly mechanical instrumental sound that conjures up a strangely modern make-believe world of fairy tale well suited to the twenty-first century. We find ourselves in a brave new world: a slightly jaded place, a place where "as the passion dies her magic heart will break", but where "everything wrong gonna be alright". That place, where we realise nothing's quite what we thought it was, but where there's beauty none the less in that discovery, is called White Lilies Island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Amazing Natalie record, 15 Mar 2002
This review is from: White Lilies Island (Audio CD)
When I bought this CD, I didn't really know what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised, this album has been on my CD player since I bought it, a true pop gem. In this album Natalie shows not only her vocal range but also her amazing writing stills, with thought provoking songs such as 'That Day','Come September' and 'Talk in Tongues' and the more uptempo love songs 'Wrong Impression' and 'Satellite'. If you are a self respecting music fan, this CD is a must for your collection, keep up the good work Miss Imbruglia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only two words to desribe this....Simply Amazing, 12 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: White Lilies Island (Audio CD)
Yet again, Natalie delivers with and album arguably better than the amazing Left Of The Middle. Every song is strong and emotional and it's like she is connecting with you through her powerful yet catchy lyrics and songs. She cowrote all the tracks, so that already puts her above many 'pop' singers and her voice is just so relaxing. Favourite songs include the singles and Come September. Definately a must have album for any respectable music fan in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 24 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: White Lilies Island (Audio CD)
When I first heard this album I was a little disappointed. I thought the songs were bland. However, this is the kind of album that will grow on you and after listening to it about 4-5 times, you will begin to fully appreciate the passion that's gone into it. The songs are very clever and very grown up. They may not be catchy but it's normally the catchy songs that become boring and dull later, whereas these songs become better after each listen. Well done to Natalie for choosing an album with songs from the heart rather than just choosing a load of pop rubish that will do well in the charts for the ignorant masses like a lot of other pop stars do.
Beauty on the fire, Do you love, Sunlight, Wrong Impression, Talk in tounges, Goodbye and Hurricane are the best songs on the album.
Give this a try, it should never have flopped it's a work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Lilies Island
White Lilies Island by Natalie Imbruglia (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews