Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2001
When Brett Gurewitz and BR parted company in 1994 BR changed, dont get me wrong i love the three albums without him but it was only on hearing this title (i got my hands on a copy of the net but im still buying it on the first day of release!) that i realised what they had lost. The songwriting team of Greg Graffin and Mr. Brett is finally reunited and with it comes an energy not seen since 'Recipe for Hate' (although Stranger than Fiction was the last 'Brett' release the internal problems the band was encountering at the time are in my opinion blindingly obvious and effects STF in a very negative way). In short, this album is amazing, a return to form BUT the retain the more refined song writing in the more recent releases. Simply amazing, if you love BR you'll love this. If you've never heard of them then prepared to be amazed and if you dislike them give them one last chance and prepare to love them.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
My 3rd copy of this, 1st overplayed and got way too scratched, 2nd I lent out and he didn't wanna give it back. I adore this album, it's a world away from the previous new america, what with Brooks taking over the drums and Brett rejoining, it takes on a whole new dynamic, such pace and ferocity but keeping that classic bad religion melodic style. If you're thinking about it, just buy it, they've not made an album like this since unfortunately, but I'd call it as one of bad religions top 3 albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2002
I agree totally with the other reviewers. I fell in love with Bad Religion the moment I saw them on their Suffer tour in 1989 and, although later albums have not quite been up to the standard of Suffer and No Control, I've never been disappointed. The Process of Belief has exceeded all my expectations. Anyone who has become disillusioned since No Substance should buy this album as the boys are definitely back on form.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2001
"The Process of Belief" is an astonishing album from ageing punk group Bad Religion, full of energy and life once again. Perhaps the return of Brett Guerrwitz, their old guitarrist and co-songwriter prompted this change; whatever it is, this new disc is classic Bad Religion, possibly one of their greatest achievements (suprising considering their recent lacklustre run of albums: The Gray Race [dreary], No Substance [title says it all] and The New America [tepid series of so-so ballads]).
Happily, the album is free of filler. From the opening "Supersonic" (reminiscent of "Operation Rescue"), TPOB mixes blisteringly fast punk ("Prove It", "Can't Stop It") with some slower, melodic pieces ("Broken", "Materialist"). If there's a poor song on the album, it's "Evangeline", one of Guerrwitz's apparently meaningless songs about unstable women (a sequel to "Anesthesia"?).
Lyrically, TPOB takes a different approach to earlier BR material. The subject matter is just as serious, but gone is the po-faced navel-gazing of albums like "The Gray Race" or "No Substance". In its place is a lighter, more amusing approach. "Materialist" is the jewel in the album's many-sequined crown, featuring the title lyric: "The process of belief is an elixir when you're weak / I must admit at times I indulge it on the sneak / But generally, my outlook's not so bleak." The albums more frivolous approach is seem elsewhere, from the tenuous ("To state the obvious / This world is perilous / For us") to the humourous ("I'd like to watch a thousand cable channels but there's nothing on / And my high-speed connection's monitored daily by the Pentagon") to the immature ("Ain't it beautiful to be alive / Yeah right!"). I have to say this is definitely a direction they should be heading in. At least Greg doesn't sound as if he needs to prove how smart he is anymore!
The songs are all played very well, as you'd expect from the punk veterens of twenty years. The new drummer, Brooks Wackermann is brilliant, definitely better than solid Bobby Schayer, who had to leave the band due to a permenant arm injury. The only weakness is Brett, unfortunately, who despite having been the lead guitarrist for about twelve years before he first left the band, isn't great. His replacement, the highly talented Brian Baker, takes a back seat this time. Brett's songwriting skills and the obvious rejuvination he has brought to the band make up for this, though.
Having listened to TPOB for over a week now, it is certainly one of my favourite Bad Religion albums. Where exactly I would place it among my other favourite BR albums ("No Control", "Against the Grain", "Generator", "Recipe for Hate") I'm not sure. But if you are a Bad Religion fan, I cannot recommend it to you enough.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2002
I never thought i'd hear myself say this, but this record comes close to being the best album since 'Suffer'. I'm sorry, i meant to say IT IS the best album since 'Suffer'. A rollercoaster ride through Socal punk that puts 'No Control' and 'Generator' et-al to shame. Mr Brett is back andits shows, superb lyrics, fabulous riffs and melody to die for. Long live Bad Religion.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2002
Ive been a fan of So'cal Punk for ages but never really had any Bad Religion album. However i would recommend this album to anyone, I enjoy the range of music on the album such as the Heavier sounds of Can't Stop It, the mixture of Broken and the overall greatness of songs such as Epiphany.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2002
This is really a tremendous return to form for the mighty Bad Religion after the somewhat lightweight efforts of "No Substance" and "New America."
Perhaps it is the dynamic 3 guitar line up which gives BR a new edge and chunkiness or the youthful injection to the group by the way of drumming prodigy Brooks Wackerman.
Most likely however is the return to the fold of founding member and Epitaph guru Brett Gurewitz after a 7 year break from the band after their major label debut. He strikes a songwriting partnership with vocalist Greg Graffin of rare craft, not seen since the "Suffer" era of the late eighties.
Of particular interest to me is the issue of climate change, tackled in "Kyoto Now" - in reference to the protocol held in Japan in 1997. Other highlights include the opener "Supersonic" - straight up and to the point, and the lyrically fascinating "The Defense."
They may be the wrong side of forty (well mostly), but their is enough energy present throughout the album to suggest they are like kids in a garage jamming for the first time. They represent a great chunk of punk-rocks past - but they are no means yet past it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2003
This album, at first listen, had me lost for words, it really did! these songs are so politically powerful and so amazingly masterful it refuses to let up, definate highlights on this album include: 'Supersonic', 'Can't Stop It', 'Materialist', 'Destined For Nothing', 'Kyoto Now!', 'Epiphany', 'Evangeline' and 'The Lie'. If you haven't already got it, then get it, you won't regret it! (P.S. 'The Defense' is also good, but all the songs are, so, there you go)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2002
Forget all the Disney punk as good as it may seem at the moment. You NEED to hear some of the guys who have been there since the whole punk scene in the states kicked off. Totally amazing, an awesome combination of tracks that will leave you desperate for more. If you consider yourself a fan of punk rock in any shape or form, you have to add this to your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2004
From first listen, Bad Religion seem like a (you'll hate me for this) normal punk/rock band with startlingly high credentials and intensifyingly intelligent lyrics. Oh, but they are so much more than that. Fantastic musicianship on each track, Greg Graffin's powerful vocals and shining lyrics, Brett Gurewitz's production, masterful guitar and exuberant lyrics, Jay Bentley's solid, never-misses-a-note bass, Greg Hetson's stirring rhythm guitar chords, Brian Baker's Rhythmic lead guitar tricks and Brooks Wackerman's hyperspeed drumming make up an untouchable band with street respect equalling anything close to Eminem. Being around since '81 hasn't made the boy's 'Tired Old Todgers', they are as youthful as they are compelling. Beautiful tracks such as 'Epiphany' and 'Sorrow' only just equal the brooding anthems from their past albums, such as the tranquil and brilliant 'Struck A Nerve' and 'Whisper In Time' from 'Recipe For Hate' and 'The New America'. The hyperactiveness of 'Supersonic', 'Prove It' and 'Can't Stop It' couldn't possibly be played any faster. The meaningful lyrics of 'The Defense', 'The Lie' and 'Destined For Nothing' are unequalled in the field.
***** - Great Band, Great Production... A Winner!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.48

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)