Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to the good old days
When Brett Gurewitz and BR parted company in 1994 BR changed, dont get me wrong i love the three albums without him but it was only on hearing this title (i got my hands on a copy of the net but im still buying it on the first day of release!) that i realised what they had lost. The songwriting team of Greg Graffin and Mr. Brett is finally reunited and with it comes an...
Published on 26 Dec 2001 by barneyk19

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Uncles of Punk!
When reviewing Punk material, you have to avoid such exclamations as "they rock!!" like the plague, but the truth is Bad Religion do certainly know how to bang out a good tune with harmonised vocals aplenty!
Now, whilst Bad Religion may be more like the Great Uncles of Punk rather than the Godfathers, their influence throughout Hardcore history is...
Published on 15 Feb 2002 by privatepayne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to the good old days, 26 Dec 2001
This review is from: Process Of Belief (Audio CD)
When Brett Gurewitz and BR parted company in 1994 BR changed, dont get me wrong i love the three albums without him but it was only on hearing this title (i got my hands on a copy of the net but im still buying it on the first day of release!) that i realised what they had lost. The songwriting team of Greg Graffin and Mr. Brett is finally reunited and with it comes an energy not seen since 'Recipe for Hate' (although Stranger than Fiction was the last 'Brett' release the internal problems the band was encountering at the time are in my opinion blindingly obvious and effects STF in a very negative way). In short, this album is amazing, a return to form BUT the retain the more refined song writing in the more recent releases. Simply amazing, if you love BR you'll love this. If you've never heard of them then prepared to be amazed and if you dislike them give them one last chance and prepare to love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 8 Feb 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Croydon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Process Of Belief (Audio CD)
I agree totally with the other reviewers. I fell in love with Bad Religion the moment I saw them on their Suffer tour in 1989 and, although later albums have not quite been up to the standard of Suffer and No Control, I've never been disappointed. The Process of Belief has exceeded all my expectations. Anyone who has become disillusioned since No Substance should buy this album as the boys are definitely back on form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Religion Greatness, 9 April 2002
This review is from: Process Of Belief (Audio CD)
Ive been a fan of So'cal Punk for ages but never really had any Bad Religion album. However i would recommend this album to anyone, I enjoy the range of music on the album such as the Heavier sounds of Can't Stop It, the mixture of Broken and the overall greatness of songs such as Epiphany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best, 7 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Process Of Belief (Audio CD)
I never thought i'd hear myself say this, but this record comes close to being the best album since 'Suffer'. I'm sorry, i meant to say IT IS the best album since 'Suffer'. A rollercoaster ride through Socal punk that puts 'No Control' and 'Generator' et-al to shame. Mr Brett is back andits shows, superb lyrics, fabulous riffs and melody to die for. Long live Bad Religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Believe!, 7 Feb 2009
This review is from: Process Of Belief (Audio CD)
A relentless journey of uninhibited high-brow punk-rock joy. Bad Religion are masters of the genre and every offering delights. But 'The Process of Belief', quite apart from having a rare conceptual unity, is their greatest album, at least to these ears. That places it high in the running for best punk album ever. Seriously. Or, at the very least, best US punk album of the last decades.

The pace, from 'Supersonic' to the last refrain, is irresistible. The choruses are as anthemic as ever, particularly on 'Sorrow', and the politics suitably pugnacious ('Kyoto Now!'). For anyone not familiar with the vocal stylings of Greg Graffin, the rhymes are unabashed intellectual joy, if tamer here than on other works.

There is less repetition and more intensity than on the Bad Religion albums that didn't feature the guitar-slinging skills of one Brett Gurewitz. The songs rush towards their climax, pulling your grinning face with them, and the whole perfect storm is over in just under 40 minutes. But what a trip. With an appropriate punk disdain for the cliches of fading stars, this album begins the run of late career genius which also gave us such sonic masterworks as 'The Empire Strikes First' and 'New Maps Of Hell'.

Absolutely essential listening. Believe!

Essential tracks: 'Broken', 'Materialist', 'Sorrow', 'The Defense' and 'The Lie'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Are Back, They Attack!, 8 May 2003
This album, at first listen, had me lost for words, it really did! these songs are so politically powerful and so amazingly masterful it refuses to let up, definate highlights on this album include: 'Supersonic', 'Can't Stop It', 'Materialist', 'Destined For Nothing', 'Kyoto Now!', 'Epiphany', 'Evangeline' and 'The Lie'. If you haven't already got it, then get it, you won't regret it! (P.S. 'The Defense' is also good, but all the songs are, so, there you go)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 24 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Process Of Belief (Audio CD)
Forget all the Disney punk as good as it may seem at the moment. You NEED to hear some of the guys who have been there since the whole punk scene in the states kicked off. Totally amazing, an awesome combination of tracks that will leave you desperate for more. If you consider yourself a fan of punk rock in any shape or form, you have to add this to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form!, 25 Dec 2001
By 
This review is from: Process Of Belief (Audio CD)
"The Process of Belief" is an astonishing album from ageing punk group Bad Religion, full of energy and life once again. Perhaps the return of Brett Guerrwitz, their old guitarrist and co-songwriter prompted this change; whatever it is, this new disc is classic Bad Religion, possibly one of their greatest achievements (suprising considering their recent lacklustre run of albums: The Gray Race [dreary], No Substance [title says it all] and The New America [tepid series of so-so ballads]).
Happily, the album is free of filler. From the opening "Supersonic" (reminiscent of "Operation Rescue"), TPOB mixes blisteringly fast punk ("Prove It", "Can't Stop It") with some slower, melodic pieces ("Broken", "Materialist"). If there's a poor song on the album, it's "Evangeline", one of Guerrwitz's apparently meaningless songs about unstable women (a sequel to "Anesthesia"?).
Lyrically, TPOB takes a different approach to earlier BR material. The subject matter is just as serious, but gone is the po-faced navel-gazing of albums like "The Gray Race" or "No Substance". In its place is a lighter, more amusing approach. "Materialist" is the jewel in the album's many-sequined crown, featuring the title lyric: "The process of belief is an elixir when you're weak / I must admit at times I indulge it on the sneak / But generally, my outlook's not so bleak." The albums more frivolous approach is seem elsewhere, from the tenuous ("To state the obvious / This world is perilous / For us") to the humourous ("I'd like to watch a thousand cable channels but there's nothing on / And my high-speed connection's monitored daily by the Pentagon") to the immature ("Ain't it beautiful to be alive / Yeah right!"). I have to say this is definitely a direction they should be heading in. At least Greg doesn't sound as if he needs to prove how smart he is anymore!
The songs are all played very well, as you'd expect from the punk veterens of twenty years. The new drummer, Brooks Wackermann is brilliant, definitely better than solid Bobby Schayer, who had to leave the band due to a permenant arm injury. The only weakness is Brett, unfortunately, who despite having been the lead guitarrist for about twelve years before he first left the band, isn't great. His replacement, the highly talented Brian Baker, takes a back seat this time. Brett's songwriting skills and the obvious rejuvination he has brought to the band make up for this, though.
Having listened to TPOB for over a week now, it is certainly one of my favourite Bad Religion albums. Where exactly I would place it among my other favourite BR albums ("No Control", "Against the Grain", "Generator", "Recipe for Hate") I'm not sure. But if you are a Bad Religion fan, I cannot recommend it to you enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Religion "boys" are "back in town", 12 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Process Of Belief (Audio CD)
This is really a tremendous return to form for the mighty Bad Religion after the somewhat lightweight efforts of "No Substance" and "New America."
Perhaps it is the dynamic 3 guitar line up which gives BR a new edge and chunkiness or the youthful injection to the group by the way of drumming prodigy Brooks Wackerman.
Most likely however is the return to the fold of founding member and Epitaph guru Brett Gurewitz after a 7 year break from the band after their major label debut. He strikes a songwriting partnership with vocalist Greg Graffin of rare craft, not seen since the "Suffer" era of the late eighties.
Of particular interest to me is the issue of climate change, tackled in "Kyoto Now" - in reference to the protocol held in Japan in 1997. Other highlights include the opener "Supersonic" - straight up and to the point, and the lyrically fascinating "The Defense."
They may be the wrong side of forty (well mostly), but their is enough energy present throughout the album to suggest they are like kids in a garage jamming for the first time. They represent a great chunk of punk-rocks past - but they are no means yet past it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing Bad Religion have done in ten years, 25 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Process of Belief (Audio CD)
What can i say? Bad Religion have come up trumps. After a disappointing run of albums (No Substance, The New America), it seems Mr Brett's triumphant return to the ranks has given Bad Religion the oomph they needed. Classics at every turn - Sorrow is a bitter-sweet tale of hope, Supersonic is a raw punk blast - superb. All in all, a masterpiece. Recommended for punks old and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Process Of Belief
Process Of Belief by Bad Religion (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews