Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good, the Great and the even Better!
There's nothing bad or ugly about this game - its all good! It's so refreshing to have a western on the PS2, I just HAD to buy this! It follows Red, a gunslinger who has travelled the land looking for his parents' murderers. Along the way, he becomes a bounty hunter for the sheriff of Brimstone, providing lots of oppotunities to take out the local heavies.
Red Dead...
Published on 6 Aug 2005 by M. JONES

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, linear gameplay. Boooring.
I really don't like this game. It's just - Plodding, uninspired level followed by Boss Fight - Over and over and over. There is no roaming world, no map, no sense of location; it's just - tedious task after tedious task. And it has you playing a different character almost every level, so you feel no connection with any character or any so-called story. I much preferred...
Published on 29 Mar 2010 by Benito


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good, the Great and the even Better!, 6 Aug 2005
By 
M. JONES "mj1001" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dead Revolver (PS2) (Video Game)
There's nothing bad or ugly about this game - its all good! It's so refreshing to have a western on the PS2, I just HAD to buy this! It follows Red, a gunslinger who has travelled the land looking for his parents' murderers. Along the way, he becomes a bounty hunter for the sheriff of Brimstone, providing lots of oppotunities to take out the local heavies.
Red Dead is pure magic - the level design is marvellous, with alot of them being set piece shootouts and duels rather than spawling maps. The graphics are smooth and the scenary is stunning with terrific effects - looking like something Leone would be proud of! The controls are fiddly to begin with, but after a while, you realise that Rockstar have done a great job with the gameplay - allowing yu to jump, kick, punch, shoot (obviously) and roll over fences etc. like summit outa Magnificant 7! Plus loads of good weaponry and horses and bufalo that you can ride!
The multipayer allows up to four combatants and is also a real good laugh, and each character has their own special weapon. But the icing on the cake (aside from a wonderful soundtrack, pace and replay value) is the DEAD EYE mode. During gameplay, you build up your DEAD EYE and when activated, it provides a slow motion target display - in other words, you can target all six bullets on various limbs etc or multiple enemies and take them all out at once! COOL!!!!
You have to buy this game - it reminds me of the type of action that used to be good in Syphon Filter 1 and 2. Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first of its kind, 20 May 2005
By 
C. O'Connor "chrisuk5" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dead Revolver (PS2) (Video Game)
Red Dead Revolver, is a shooting game that takes place in the wild west. Different and unique to many of the games currently on the market.
You play as Red, a stone cold mercenary who's a sharpshooter, and doesn't really care what the mission is, as long as he's paid at the end of it. Storyline wise, there's not much there, but its no worse than most of the action games out there.
The graphics are unusual. Grainy, almost like your viewing them through sand. Deliberately done to give you an old western video sort of feeling. With that in mind, its certainly a nice refreshing change from the typical. The wild west looks beautiful and shows off in sections such as the town and the old home ranch.
The gameplay is what sets this apart. There is a fast action pace, requiring you to eliminate all the baddies, and trust me, there are a lot of baddies. This is in the usual shoot and duck sort of mode. However, there are a nice range of weapons to unlock throughout the game, which are brought with ransom money you've earned. The game also has unlockable characters which you can also use. It takes you accross train jouneys, to deserted towns, to the rocky mountains and back. However, one of the nicest features is the showdown option, which is the equivalent of a quick draw contest, where you will need to use the right analogue and aim quicker than your opponent.
With all this in mind, the sound could be neglected, but all it does is casually follow a Western theme whilst voice overs of your enemies can also be heard. This is a good game, and certainly one worth owning, but if you cannot stand the wild west (i mean really cannot stand) then this may not be the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dead Revolver, 25 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Dead Revolver (PS2) (Video Game)
When I purchased Red Dead Revolver, I wasnt really a fan of western type genres, but once the game was up and running I realised how mistaken I was. This game is simply awesome. There are so many enjoyable elements to it from the gritty enviroments, to the hard tough characters, this game has an intense western atmosphere thats so enjoyable I found myself wanting to jump out of my seat screaming YEE HAW! "Red" as all great westerns go, is driven by a story of revenge, a young boys parents are murdered and years later the once young innocent child, now brutal Bounty Hunter is tracking down the killers, along with taking out a few bad ass villans on the way. It has a great story line and allows you to play as many different characters including ranch babe Annie Stoakes, and fine english man Jack Swift, which adds a large amount of variety to the game. Speaking Of Variety theres loads of different play modes to the game, from riding on horses down rocky canyons, to the intense duel mode where you can almost hear your enemy whispering " do you feel lucky punk" , one flaw from critics is the compaints of the games bad graphics, which i honestly dont know why, ok well its set in the wild west and i suppose its not the prettiest of places, but like i said it has a great atmosphere to it, and its not all wild desert hunting, within the game you get to visit lush forests, wild ranches, and luxurious mansions. And I also may add that the game includes a typical cowboy town, with its on townsfolk which are all interactive. Armed with a range of weapons from pistols to the good old dynamite youll be able to make your way through many levels defeating villans, most of the levels have a typical western enemy at the end, but they all have their own abilities which makes the game a lot more interesting. The game does get tough sometimes and may drive you insane with frustration but the thing with this game is its not just mindless shooting, every level needs a certain tactic to get through ( not 2 forget the mindless fun shooting ;D ) the controls are easy to master and the game provides helpful walkthroughs, It didnt really take me that long to finish the game (because I couldnt put it down ), but i throughly enjoyed it while it lasted, and theres also an unlockable bounty hunter mode which gives you extra objectives, to top all that a good multiplayer is included. Overall Red Dead Revolver is a highly enjoyable game which is well worth your money all we need now is an equally as good sequel :D .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Will Follow, 15 Feb 2006
This review is from: Red Dead Revolver (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game with great gusto and when I started to play it, I was not dissapointed. The gameplay is exceptional and very good, helped by the in game graphics; and the story is great for a video game.
Of course, this being a Rockstar game, there are some of the developer's touches: the blood, although nowhere near as horrid as GTA (which I am ashamed I ever played) is reminiscent of it in a vage way. For example it is watchable (and I am very sensitive when it comes to gore) but when you shoot someone in a "Showdown" it sort of spurts/dissipates out in front of the victim before dissapearing in to thin air.
In game however it is no worse than Timesplitters 3.
There are also some almost supernatural elements eg. Circus Freaks, Grizzly and the "boss" wearing the coffin.
But despite how this sounds this is a fantastic game.
There are some wonderful locations, controls, settings and even music! (tracks from Ennio Morricone)
It succsesfully portrays the feel of a spagetti western and the cut scenes are really atmospheric.
All the levels are really fun and some are more than excellent; especially where you get to ride a horse!
At the end of the day my overall summery would be that this is the first of it's kind and more will follow (hopefully they won't all be 18s - Gun) and they will hopefully become more sophisticated and will end in perfect quality. Maybe a Dollars game?
Having said this, it seems to me that, because this game captures the Western feel 90% (at numerouse times 100%), someone would have to come up with a really ingenuitive game to surpass it. Otherwise games may feel just a cleanup of this one.
But I am excited about the prospect of the Western genre in video games, especially after this.
This is almost perfect and I give it 5 stars. A "Must Have" and it holds the feeling that you get when you first spot the cover.
Retrospect is good but it is also a shame when you finish this game.
One last thing: I can bet the makers of this have seen "Death Rides A Horse"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saddle up!, 31 Mar 2005
By 
Mr "X" (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Dead Revolver (PS2) (Video Game)
Red Dead Revolver was a good game, it wasn't as good as I had hoped, but Rockstar managed to do a good job of the western game genre, considering it is not the most common of game settings.
The player controls are quite good, the violence is as you would expect from a Rockstar game, thick and fast. The weapon selection is also good and the fact you can upgrade weapons is a great feature.
One of my main problems with the game was the difficulty level, considering it was set to normal mode (hard mode and bounty hunter mode are now unlocked after completing it) the game was incredibly difficult. The bosses at the start of the game are harder than the ones towards the end of the game. There are also too many baddies and not enough health bonuses within each level. I found myself having to start some of the levels again because of the mass of baddies that swamped your character. This is a game for the experienced gamer, and even then it can be quite frustrating.
Also another problem I had with the game was I found the graphics not up to much (a few too many glitches and the characters faces looked terrible). That said the scenery graphics of the game are very good.
Aside from that this is a really good game and is worth buying to try a different setting. Plus there are unlockable features for the showdown mode - which is also good. And I forgot to say the story is good, but let down at the end.
Worthy of 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic!, 13 July 2005
This review is from: Red Dead Revolver (PS2) (Video Game)
There's nothing I can say here that hasn't already been said, but I feel I must make some comment on this superb game.

It's definitely the most authentic-feeling western based game I've played, and although games in this genre are few and far between, Red Dead Revolver sets the standard for others to follow. And what a high standard it is!

The gameplay is fast and smooth and although the controls may seem difficult to come to grips with when you're reading about them in the manual, believe me, once you get into the game, you'll pick it up straight away.

I would recommend this game to any western fan and also anyone who likes a highly addictive, playable and enjoyable action/adventure game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smoke and shooting irons anyone?, 25 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Red Dead Revolver (PS2) (Video Game)
When a new genre of game is approached and written, you must always approach with trepidation. Wild West games do not normally do well, usually poorly programmed, poorly tested and generall slack efforts with gaudy graphics and linear play.
So Rockstar games get involved- whom have a pritty good pedigree of games to their name (grand Theft auto etc).
I am delighted to say this game cracked it for me.
A good old revenge story line- a good multi player function (I regard this as essential for any console game) and an interesting control system. Many people will damn this game purely on it's controls- not so- it makes the game very much more than a simple 'run round shooting' affair. The 'quick draw' faceoffs part of the game is done especially well- really drawing you into the gun slinging.
Downside? Well the 'boss' characters you have to defeat are sometimes quite bizarre- and it falls all to easily into the 'blast at them with your biggest gun' affair. Plus some levels just end up being a frustrating plod whereby enemies pop up and you nail them. Plus the lack of any 'sniper' type weapons mean some long distance rifle battles become annoying guesswork and straining the eyes to see them.
Overall it is a worthwhile title- you will not find yourself thinking it the 'best game' in the collection but definitely one to keep playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Wild West, 16 July 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Revolver (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a fantastic game. The graphics are graet and the gameplay is extensive. Added with the easy controls you will jump into this game and just start to have fun.

I was really surprised by how long this game is and how many levels there are. The story line is enjoyable and with many different weapons and style of level, you will not be bored with this game.

There are a couple of bad points: firstly, there is no free roam when you are in the town, and so you quickly just jump from one level to the next. Secondly, you only really get on a horse when that is the type of level and it is not that great when you do. (however this is compared with GUN which has these aspects, yet not the good points of Red Dead).

You will have so much fun with this game, well worth buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dead ROCKS! YEE HAW!, 16 Aug 2004
This review is from: Red Dead Revolver (PS2) (Video Game)
Rockstar have done it again, they`ve created another truly mesmorizing game which follows up GTA`s triumph and leaves other shooters wallowing in the mud (or any other kind of gritty kind of excreta). The controlls are dead simple to use and the levels are extremely enjoyable. The initial close-up graphics are not incredible but it dosen`t half make up for it when playing the game. There are 27 Rootin` Tootin` levels to complete on three kinds of difficulty settings and a multiple choice of characters aswell. The game also provides a two player showdown mode where you can test your gunslinging manoeuvre`s on an inexperienced freind. Levels can range from Old Western ghost towns to huge dusty caverns. From showdowns to plain old shoot em` ups Red Dead ROCKS! YEE HAW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST A FEW HOURS MORE!, 16 Aug 2005
This review is from: Red Dead Revolver (PS2) (Video Game)
This is by far and away the greatest western game ever made. If you're a fan of the genre in film, you will appriciate and revel in the atmospherics, freedom and sound, taking elements from classic films such as 'the Good, the Bad and the Ugly', 'the wild bunch' and 'the outlaw Josey Wales'. A noticable feature is the town that can be explored, with its own saloon and a number of different shops where goods can be purchased. While the action can become repetitive at times, it never becomes dull with a vast amount of different enemies to conquer and landscape to explore. From jumping onto trains to tracking indians through woods this game has it all with long lasting appeal. Well worth spending your hard earned on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dead Revolver (PS2)
Red Dead Revolver (PS2) by Rockstar (PlayStation2)
23.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews