Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a good job the only book is pretty good
There is a shocking amount of information available on Maxscript and despite the language being a bit poor this is a decent enough resource for what you need to know. It has a series of good examples and is good for both artists and people who have a more coding based history.
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to write anything in script.
Published on 21 May 2001 by simonbrislin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough at all
This book has been written solely because it would be the only one on the market and it's bound to sell.
Don't be tempted to buy it because of this. It does not actually take you into anything useful and I never thought I'd hear myself saying the MAXSDK docs are actually BETTER than this.
I spent a week as a beginner learning the MAX SDK and had already come up...
Published on 10 Oct 2002 by epirocks


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a good job the only book is pretty good, 21 May 2001
There is a shocking amount of information available on Maxscript and despite the language being a bit poor this is a decent enough resource for what you need to know. It has a series of good examples and is good for both artists and people who have a more coding based history.
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to write anything in script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough at all, 10 Oct 2002
This book has been written solely because it would be the only one on the market and it's bound to sell.
Don't be tempted to buy it because of this. It does not actually take you into anything useful and I never thought I'd hear myself saying the MAXSDK docs are actually BETTER than this.
I spent a week as a beginner learning the MAX SDK and had already come up with more advanced plugins than what this book comes up with, and even then the book doesn't even explain it's own code (which it lists inside small pages).
I was amazed to find it had barely mentioned REFERENCES (probably the most commonly used tool in MAX SDK).
It uses class block version number 2 for everything it does.
bahhh what a waste of money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 22 Nov 2001
By A Customer
The typical useless computer book: pages are filled with big letters and big margins, and too much code.
The part about Maxscript is not very deep and you'll find less in the book than in the manuals; but could be used as an introduction.
The part about the max SDK, however, is very very shallow and very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint-hearted casual user of MAX, 25 Dec 2001
By 
Marque Pierre Sondergaard (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Aimed at advanced users who need complete control over 3D Studio MAX, this manual teaches the black art of MAXScript writing. The last third of the book also covers the Software Developers Kit (SDK), which enables you to design your own plug-ins.
If you have no programming experience then Mastering MAXScript was designed for you. Through over 11 chapters, which begin with a basic overview and conclude with a look at MAXScript extensions, you'll be able to gain unprecented control over MAX R3 and its previous versions.
On the other hand, if you want to make the most out of the SDK you'll need knowledge of C++ (MAX' native language) and Win32 programming. Not for the fain-hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decidedly ordinary, 21 Sep 2001
By A Customer
The book is ok but it teaches you nothing that doesn't come in the help files. The best way to learn is to read the examples and watch the listener but it does give you a base to start from...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maxscript and the Sdk for 3d Studio Max
Maxscript and the Sdk for 3d Studio Max by Simon Feltman (Paperback - Aug 2000)
Used & New from: 33.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews