Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Xbox launch titles
The original JSR on the Dreamcast was like a breath of video-game fresh air; it was stylish, it was playable, it was addictive, and it took a tired old genre and gave it a new slant. The Xbox update is more of the same, except the game doesn't just look great like it did on the Dreamcast - this time it looks GREAT.
For those who didn't play the original, JSRF is,...
Published on 9 April 2002 by Anthony Lynas

versus
7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite worth the money?
I bought this expecting a lot of fun and expecting a time to complete. Jet Set Radio Future just doesn't make it fun enough to persist with, but in the end it depends what type of gamer you are. If you're going to play for a few hours on end (like me) then it's likely that everything will simply seem like repeating itself too many times after the first few levels: tag...
Published on 6 May 2002 by J. E. Goldspink


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Xbox launch titles, 9 April 2002
By 
Anthony Lynas (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jet Set Radio Future (Video Game)
The original JSR on the Dreamcast was like a breath of video-game fresh air; it was stylish, it was playable, it was addictive, and it took a tired old genre and gave it a new slant. The Xbox update is more of the same, except the game doesn't just look great like it did on the Dreamcast - this time it looks GREAT.
For those who didn't play the original, JSRF is, effectively, a platform game on skates. Imagine Mario 64 given an Adidas / Nike makeover and lent some wheels and you're halfway there. The chief challenge is to skate around large urban environments spraying graffiti tags; to achieve this you have to collect paint cans strewn liberally around the city streets. The action is complicated a little by a series of challenges; races against rival skate gangs, battles with crooked police and the arrival of "boss" machinery intent on destroying you. Whereas in the original much of this was part of the levels themselves, this time they are presented as episodes within the levels, removing much of the frustration you used to feel when you had one tag left to complete and some goon with a jetpack shot you off a 10 storey building.
So, what's good about the game? Well, first and foremost, the graphics are amazing. Jaw-droppingly so in places. The city scapes are alive with people, they tower above you and plunge below you, neon lights glitter, sunlight flares, and every character is cool. Quite simply, it's the best designed game ever. The music is awesome too - a mix of hip-hop, dance and indie with Bis and members of the Beastie Boys contributing. The controls are loose as well - it feels strange at first, but once you're used to it, the freedom it gives to your character is amazing. But perhaps the most amazing thing - and it shares this with the original - is that, no matter how difficult something may seem to achieve, once you've managed it once, invariably it becomes second nature immediately. It stops the game from ever becoming frustrating. Other plus points are the open-ness of the levels and the fact that, once the games complete, there are still challenges to return to on all the levels.
All is not rosy, however. There are moments of slowdown in some of the really technical bits - a shame given the power of the Xbox, but you do suspect this has been pushed out a little quicker than maybe Sega would have wanted. It's also a little easier than the original - it took me about 20 or so hours play to finish the game proper - but I've notched up another 6 already replaying some of the levels. Also, and it's a petty moan really, but the save function is irritating at times - and you can't exit the game without turning the console off.
Was it worth buying? Oh yes, oh yes indeed. This is THE game to show your Xbox off with, much more so than Halo or DOA3 and it is a joy to play. The original was brilliant, and so is this as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another X-Box classic, 23 Oct 2004
This review is from: Jet Set Radio Future (Video Game)
Jet Set Radio Future is one of X-box's best yet! It's a sequal to one of my favorite Dreamcast game of all time Jet Set Radio.
The game's story is kina dull but fun! And the graphic are awesome. Best looking X-Box title yet. You can play Multiplayer with your budds or just play through the awesome story mode.
The gRAphics 5/5
Gameplay 4/5
Story 2/5
The games Music Is just off the Hook. The best song is Probably the aisle 10, I think that's what it's called. I simply loved the flavor of music it had. It was great.
Jet Set Radio is A must half X-Box title. It's cell shading and music is just sooo awesome You'll love JSRF. It's a love hate situation I donno why but for most people it is.
Well You be the person to choose. GET THIS GAME! IT's friggin awesome and just as good as it's original which is one of the best Dreamcast Games ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Style, Great Game, 31 Oct 2003
This review is from: Jet Set Radio Future (Video Game)
Jet Set Radio Future is an immensely stylish, slick game. The cel-shaded look makes it stand out, and the music (Japanese techno/pop/hip-hop) fits perfectly with the overall look and feel.
You play a member of skate gang the GG's, and it's your job to try and sort out what's happening in Tokyo with the help of DJ Professor K, who provides the beats, as well as handy advice, as you skate around town.
Basically, you are told you need to do something - usually starting off with graffitti. This sets into motion other events, such as racing other characters, and when you beat them, they join you in the GG's. You skate around the large environments, and spray the little icons. However, all is not as easy as it sounds - some areas require some skill, or a certain trick, to get to, and you often end up battling the police before you can progress. If this sounds easy, it's because it is. However, it gets a bit trickier when you discover secret tapes - one in each area. These tell you the challenges you have to perform to fully complete the level, and are often difficult, adding an extra dimension to the game for those who like to fully finish games.
As more areas are unlocked, the game becomes better, and it's hard not to enjoy the visually pleasing delights on offer. However, the storyline is a bit weak, and the tricks systems isn't a la Tony Hawks, but merely pressing one button. Nevertheless, if you like a distracting, enjoyable game with plenty of extra features to be discovered, then Jet Set Radio Future is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough, 6 Jan 2003
This review is from: Jet Set Radio Future (Video Game)
I got this game with my xbox bundle and it has been a good laugh and has provided many hours of enjoyment for me.
At first i wasnt sure of the game, id seen some cut scenes and heard it was some sort of skating game. Beware the in game photos of the game do not do it justice. in my opinion "cell shaded graphics" suits the game well.
The actual game it based around you racing round the streets of tokyo in roller blades doing graffiti and missions for people.
The game itself is shallow and doesnt have a good story line. It has an interesting multiplayer and some cool features such as creating your own graffiti. It is backed up with a decent sound track.
as i sais this game provided me with some good fun and is an excellent way to start off your game collection.......it is always one you can go back to and have a laugh with some friends.
If you are not in to shallow skateing games with cartoony graphics and more in to deep serious games then i would not recomend that you buy the game. however if you are just lookingt for a cool, fun game that you can play with your mates then this is an excellent choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game rocks, 8 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jet Set Radio Future (Video Game)
I have recently played this game for the first time and in just 1 hour i fell in love with it. i think that the graphics, levels and the game play is brilliant and the versus mode is superb. if you are after a good game you should really consider this as you will not find much better. its predesessor is lousy, boring, single player and very unrealiable. this game is more fun and the levels appear much easier than the ridiculusly hard first. i think that the company(sega) have finaly got there act together and created a good game. 6some concepts are hard to understand at first but you will definatley get used to them very easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop grinding!!, 21 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jet Set Radio Future (Video Game)
JSRF is a superb game, where you play characters from a rebel skating gang in Tokyo, in the not-too-distant future.
The idea is to skate round the many, enormous, levels, covering opponents' graffiti, and accomplishing various missions. The graphics are superb; super-smooth, with rich, bright, gleaming colours, which shine like something in a hallucinogenic experience. You need to see it to understand it. Massive jumps, from statues, cranes, water towers, and even from the roofs of skyscrapers, create an incredible gaming effect.
The soundtrack is also superb, with a mix of extremely catching tunes, which change from level to level.
Why then not 5 star? because no game is perfect. I have three gripes with JSRF: when you skate and, for example, knock over tables, chairs, boxes, and billboards in your wake, they fall over realistically, but then they just vanish. With XBox's power, I'm sure this could be done more realistically. Two, when you skate through crowds of people, and the jump out of the way, they shout & scream at you, but they only have a repertoire of about 3 phrases that they shout; this becomes very repetitive and annoying. And three, it's hard. Very hard at times, when there's no indication of what to do next. I keep a walkthrough by my side for reference; this makes the gameplay far more enjoyable.
Despite these gripes, JSRF is a fantastic game. The bright colours, the breathtaking jumps, the amazing graphics. Oh yes and that completely addictive soundtrack....... (Like this, like that, like this, this, like that....Just feeeeelllll good........)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Breathtaking, 6 Jan 2003
This review is from: Jet Set Radio Future (Video Game)
JSRF, as you've probably already read, is a platform game on skates. The original on Dreamcast is hailed as a classic, and this continues the trend. The gameplay is truly unique and feels very intuitive, fusing elements of several genres in the process. There's the skate element, but the game builds on this with level constructions that can only be conquered in a certain way, adding button-pushing elements (more Parappa the Rapper than Tony Hawk's Skateboarding) to perform tricks on rails and in the air. If you every played NiGHTS on the Sega Saturn, imagine that on skates and you're pretty close.
Set in the near-future, the game focuses on the city of Tokyo and a skater group, the GGs. Some rich guy is buying up all the areas in Tokyo and oppressing the people within them, and the GGs are fighting this, along with other groups like Poison Jam or Rapid 99. However, despite this, strong territorial feelings evolved so a turf battle between the different groups has developed. Your aim is to go claim as much of this as possible.
Whereas the original game was a race against the clock to score points, this game has become much more platform-genre orientated, with huge structures such as Shibuya Terminal (where several sets of bridges converge over roads and a bus stop), through to 99th Street (with a frankly massive dragon structure as a focal point).
In terms of level contents, Smilebit's game also excels: every pipe, tower, or grind rail is there for a reason and it is both a challenge and a pleasure to find all of the possible uses for them.
The graphics have been a bone of contention with many reviewers. But not me. The original JSR, in my opinion, "invented" a new style of graphics in cell-shading, and this has only been improved with the power of the Xbox. Everything is well-detailed and there are no areas where you feel the construction has been rushed.
The sound of the game is one of the game's strongest points, but there is a slight niggle with me. Kudos to Smilebit for being so brave with the soundtrack selections, varying the content between punk, dance, and other genres. Each song is mixed into the next so that there are no pauses: it FEELS like the Jet Set Radio station would sound in real life. Some of the musical content, however, may be too "strong" for the mainstream however, and herein lies my reservation. One track in particular, which sits on the fence between metal and grunge styles, sticks out in my mind. Having said this, all of the tracks suit the game so well that any reservations quickly melt away.
The controls fit the game, period. The Xbox controller is not an interface method in this game, it's a part of your hand. Everything you do is in easy reach of your fingers, from clicking the left thumbstick to "grind" on flat surfaces (used to regulate speed when tagging surfaces, or to circle opponents) to the use of the other thumbstick to look around the area to figure out routes etc.
My only major negative with the game, which is the only real reason I give 4 stars rather than the full 5, is that perhaps Smilebit attempted too much in some areas. The cell shading utilise a lot of the Xbox's power, and some of the areas of the game use just a little too much. This was a launch game, so it hints that maybe the game engine was rushed. I say this because, for 99% of the game, everything runs at full speed and the frame rate holds constant. But in a few select areas, such as the upper-most area of Rokkudai Heights, slight slowdown occurs. It's not enough to spoil your game or you flow (which is what this game is all about), but it is mildly irritating after a while.
The game will suit you if you look for something else in a game, it's not one where the emphasis is on finishing the game a la Halo, Splinter Cell, Resident Evil. There's a real feeling that the idea is just to enjoy playing the game. If you enjoyed "just playing" games such as NiGHTS, Burning Rangers, or Parappa the Rapper, for their enjoyment content alone, you will find this in JSRF.
A suprisingly refreshing take on an old genre, that harks back to the core element of all those 80s classics: having fun. Buy ten copies...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game I've played in ages!, 2 April 2003
This review is from: Jet Set Radio Future (Video Game)
This game is pure magic! I completed the game last night. It took me just over 43 hours. However, I intend to go back to it to re-spray all the areas, and hopefully collect more graffiti souls. The game is just so much fun! The characters, music, graphics just rock! I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zen and the art of skating., 20 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jet Set Radio Future (Video Game)
JSRF is an odd game to review.. essentially because its a very odd little game. When I say little.. I don't mean it literally.. in fact the environments are quite large and theres plenty of stuff to do, places to explore, that kind of thing. JSRF is a 'little' game in the sense that it is best viewed as a pleasent distraction rather than an intense, Splinter Cell like experience. Theres not much thinking involved at any stage really.. but the graphics and sound are stimulating and the gameplay is so smooth as to be almost zen-like.
I can describe the graphics best by saying that anyone who likes the 'Gorillas' pop videos will simply adore them. The animation is absolutely first class, and the game is full of little graphical frills that keep it fresh for a very, very long time.
The sound is generally good.. beware though, JSRF contains some of the most mind crushingly intense 'House' style music you'll ever hear in a video game. Although not really a dance music officianado, I actually really like the soundtrack and think it fits wonderfully with the rest of the games presentation. I do, however, find it tends to drag after long sessions of play. But JSRF isn't really designed for that.. its a Game-lite.
Gameplay is somewhat harder to pin down.. in many ways it resembles a 3D platform game on skates. You do a lot of jumping, collecting and so on. In the way that you move around a living, breathing city full of cars and pedestrians, it reminds me of GTA3. Simply zooming around town knocking pedestrians flying and doing insane stunts is great fun in itself.
You quickly realise that theres a repeating pattern to the game, which many people are going to find annoying and repetetive. But, although the objectives tend to be similar all the time, the actual details tend to change and, of course.. things get harder, the plot advances, new characters emerge and so on. Theres a rythm to JSRF, but thats all it is, a rythm.
There are a number of multiplayer modes thrown in there.. but none are really as fun as the single player experience. They are mostly one-on-one competetive races and games of tag. Fun, but a little too basic really.
For its original game-play, graphics, sound and controls.. I'd give JSRF 5 stars. There is a fly in the ointment however, and its the camera angle issue. Its quite a serious problem with the game as the awkwardness of the camera movement makes much of it a good deal harder than it ought to be.
To sum up, not recommended for the 'hardcore' gamer, but great for the casual crowd who want some instant entertainment from thier X'Box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 pointed gem of a game, 30 Jan 2003
This review is from: Jet Set Radio Future (Video Game)
I'd never heard of JSRF. Instructions to feeder/carer were kept simple. XBOX + Project Gotham Racing for christmas please. Intending to have PGR permanently installed for months, I though it wise to at least try the bundled games first and chose JSRF to start... I'm still looking forward to taking the cellophane off PGR.
JSRF opens with a cool techno track thumping out over a rolling sequence depicted in odd, 2d-cartoon figures in a 3d setting of downtown tokyo. The graphics look quite retro, like state of the art late eighties 16 bit. Its a bit disappointing at first, with XBOX graphics being the big cheese, but you eventually realise they are an essential ingredient. Along with the highly individual characters, the interactive landscapes, the b-movie story lines and the bizzare mix of soundtracks, it all combines to create a distinctive and powerful identity.
Take away any single ingredient and it might not work. It's easy to see why this game gets both 5 star and 1 star reviews with equal conviction. You either engage the role or hit the power-off button.
The graphics are central to this game. Almost no part of this wired world is off-limit. Contrast this with, for example, Halo where you have the distinctive and beuatulfully rendered backdrops that are essientially filling to make the scene fit the theme.
Here you can glide the rails, fences, billboards, wires, poles, walls, dragons and drains, terrorize pedestrians, play with the traffic, knock over market stalls, leap tall buidings, pet the dogs, fight the police, smash through glass. You can interact with almost everything, and while some of it is just filling, it (subtly) ups the depth and richness of the simulation much more so than beautiful renderings alone.
Skating on top of the skyscraper district (featuring sky dinosaurus square) is superbly depicted and on a large screen telly could easily lead to vertigo and heart-attacks. Keep a paramedic handy.
One niggle is the viewing (camera), it needs a little work to help you keep your barings in certain situations and momentarily losing sight of where you are/going can get a little frustrating. But as I can't award 4.5 stars I'm being generous because the game puts me in a good mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jet Set Radio Future
Jet Set Radio Future by Sega (Xbox)
Used & New from: 6.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews