Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great sequel
The time between myself viewing the first and the second part was about 5 years, but the continuation works very well in Part 2. Jason makes a much better serial killer than his mother (even if he does have a pillow case over his head). The film has a great way of being gory and making the viewers jump, and what you think is predictable sometimes works out differently...
Published on 24 Sep 2002 by Jason Myers

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the film, 2 for this edition
The impending release of Michael Bay's "reboot" for Jason prompted DVD reissues of Parts 2-8, the rights of which are still owned by Paramount in the UK. This means new cover art, better transfers and extras for Parts 2 & 3.

Whereas the 'My Bloody Valentine 3D' remake resulted in an extremely satisfying special edition of the 1981 original with the MPAA-excised...
Published on 10 Feb 2009 by Moto Moto


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the film, 2 for this edition, 10 Feb 2009
The impending release of Michael Bay's "reboot" for Jason prompted DVD reissues of Parts 2-8, the rights of which are still owned by Paramount in the UK. This means new cover art, better transfers and extras for Parts 2 & 3.

Whereas the 'My Bloody Valentine 3D' remake resulted in an extremely satisfying special edition of the 1981 original with the MPAA-excised footage restored in its gory-glory, when it comes to 'Friday the 13th', it's still stinge-ville in terms of extra material...

There's an interview with Peter Bracke, author of Crystal Lake Memories, footage from horror conventions, interviewing 4 of the Jason-players and the curious 'Lost Tales of Camp Blood Part 1' vinette, which is a no-budget sub-10 minute scene of a couple slaughtered in a cabin by a killer who isn't Jason... It's set to Harry Manfredini's trademark score but has little point to it. Parts 2 & 3 appear on the next DVD.

The film itself looks better than ever, still my favourite in the series (edging out the original thanks to steadicam and Amy Steel as the uber-heroine). It's just a real pity that the franchise owners *still* refuse to either present the fans with the sought-after cut footage (especially the double-impaling) or at the very least confirm it no longer exists at all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great sequel, 24 Sep 2002
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part II [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
The time between myself viewing the first and the second part was about 5 years, but the continuation works very well in Part 2. Jason makes a much better serial killer than his mother (even if he does have a pillow case over his head). The film has a great way of being gory and making the viewers jump, and what you think is predictable sometimes works out differently. I watched this film twice in a week and thouroughly enjoyed it more the second time around and I gave it a better rating than 'Friday the 13th'. It is one of the few sequels which may, actually, be better than the original. So, if you didn't really enjoy the first part, watch Part 2 and I'm certain you will want to watch the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never looked better, 7 Mar 2010
By 
I. Vaughan "Vagster" (Caldicot, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Friday the 13th 2 looks really good on blu-ray, standing miles above the dvd release and also better than the Friday the 13th blu-ray. It's not perfect, some grain exists but given the age and source this is understandable. The image is sharp and clear with good detail. The night scenes hold up well too.

This is the R rated version, so no new gore has been reinstated. Which, as is suggested in the extras, may not even exist any more. Don't hold your breath for a better edition of this film being released. Paramount doesn't seem to care a great deal for this series of films, which is a shame, you can only think that is someone like New Line had the rights to these films there would be better editions. Never the less, Paramount has done a good job with the picture quality at least.

The extras are ports of the dvd edition. Brief and not too interesting. Worth upgrading if you have the dvd. The film has never looked better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars friday the 13th part2, 10 May 2004
By 
Jake (Staffordshire,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part II [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Although this isn't the first in the MASSIVE series of 'friday the 13th',it's the first big appearance of the hatchet wielding maniac JASON VORHEES (one of the best 80's slasher killers, along with FREDDY KRUEGER,MICHAEL MYERS and the king of the 70's, LEATHERFACE).Along with the blood stained machete,the other trademark for JASON is the hocky mask.The mask has got more and more beaten up as the films go on (JASON really seems to like it) untill he changes it for a more futuristic one in 'JASON X'.As you may or may not know he doesn't get it untill 'friday the 13th part3'and instead seems to wear a pillow case on his head(don't knock it 'till you try it)!His grossly deformed head means only one eye will open so he only cuts out one eye hole(either that or he just got bored while massacring his feather bed and could only be bothered to cut out one eye hole).Paired with some dungarees and a pitchfork you may be aprehensive but DON'T be,you'll grow to love the combination that has come to be affectionately known as BED HEAD.This is as good as sequels get so BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking sharp on Blu-Ray, 26 Oct 2009
For a film pushing 30 years old this is a surprisingly good transfer. The opening sequence which recycles scenes from Part One is unpromising, with unnatural looking colours and a generally low amount of HD credibility. But this reveals itself to be a stylistic choice when the film gets rolling. The picture from then on is very sharp and clear, colours are great. The only criticism would be that close-ups don't offer the absolute wow factor for depth and plasticity; long and medium shots sometimes look better than close-ups. But when/if you see Part III on Blu you will think that this disc is a miracle. The True HD 5.1 soundtrack is also well-balanced and forthright.

The film itself is right up there with the original. The plot is not quite as good, but this is the film where we really see Jason get to work and establish the identity of the franchise. The 1980 original, for all its merits, was not always clever enough about hiding its debts to "Psycho" and "Halloween". For much of the film Jason (or often Jason's shoes and legs!) has real threatening presence, only late on does he occasionally turn a little goofy, perhaps a sad precursor of how the film was to eventually lose its way. When he reveals his deformed face, this is done no favours by HD, and it is clear that the deaths are both tamer and less well done by the FX standards of the recent "Friday the 13th" film from Marcus Nispel. But none of this should detract from a film that has spawned imitations and cultural quotations far and wide. Better than ever on Blu, and if you hate black bars on your TV, you'll be pleased to know that like the first and unlike the third this is in aspect ratio 1.85:1 so you're bar-free. Happy Halloween!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Sequel, Confusing Ending, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Positive.
1)The gore is more graphic in this sequel & the Jason character takes centre stage now as Crystal Lake's killer of campers.
2)The return of crazy Ralph albeit a short one.

Negative.
1)Paramount still haven't released a unrated version of this film & the footage still exists as I've seen it on You Tube, Come on Paramount the fan's want a unrated release of the first 8 movie's,Jason Goes To Hell is uncut as is Freddy vs Jason & the remake on dvd & Blu ray.
2)The ending is badly edited as it makes no sense whatsoever,See Backstory & ending explanation below my review.
3)Steve Miner directed Friday The 13th Part 3 & also directed, My Bloody Valentine 1981 version, Halloween H20 & Lake Placid.
4)In the book Crystal Lake Memoirs there's a argument on who actually played Jason as actor Warrington Gillette was replaced by a stuntman Steve Daskawisz after arguments on production & only scenes featuring Jason unmasked are those of Warrington Gillette.
5)This had a $1.2 million budget & made over $21 million in the US in 1981.

Dvd Info.
Running time 87 minutes,Trailer, Interview with Jason actors at a convention.

Review.
My mother used let me watch horrors as a kid & these films, Halloween & A Nightmare On Elm Street were the one's i used to hire regularly from the video store remember VHS cassettes lol.

This sequel follows on from the original featuring the only survivor Alice Hardy who decapitated Mrs Voorhees in the previous movie's climax.

But in a shocking opener way before Scream did this with Drew Barrymore Alice is killed in the pre credit sequence by an icepick to the temple as Jason isn't dead at all he's been surviving in the woods of Crystal Lake & seen his mother's decapitation by Alice & now has come to take his revenge on Alice & whoever ventures into his woods at Crystal Lake.

The formula is similar to the first movie,As this now is set 5 year's after the original film as around the camp fire Paul Holt who's in charge of a new camp across the lake of former Camp Crystal Lake discusses the Jason myth in jest that he deems a urban legend taking as nobody takes any notice of the townsfolk or crazy Ralph & sooner or later the camp councillors get killed in inventive ways by Jason leading up to one or two survivor's Ginny & Paul.

This film is more polished than the original but the ending is incoherent & unless you know the backstory of what was intended it makes no sense whatsoever.

The Backstory & Ending Explanation.

Originally the head of Mrs Voorhees was due to smile at the end of the movie as when Jason lunges out at Ginny & Paul attempts to stop him we see the next day Ginny being taken away by Ambulance to hospital wondering how she survived shouting out Paul's name.

This then was meant to focus in on Mrs Voorhees head as it begins to smile indicating Jason had in fact killed Paul but the pyrotechnics didn't work correctly so all we see in the finished movie is just the head.

Another issue is this is the R rated release & as a fan i want an unrated release of these films as two edits were made by the MPA totalling 58 seconds to obtain a R rating, One scene you see the spear go through the couples body when Jason creeps up on them unawares while they making love & another was the following kill you see the knife penetrates the girl by the stairs.

It's tame by today's standards & can be viewed on You Tube.

This is a decent sequel, Shame about the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars friday the 13th part 2, 8 Jun 2004
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part II [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
this is better than the first one the worst part about this film is that he dosent have his hockey mask he gets that in part 3 instead he goes around in the film with a bag or somthing on his head but you do see his disformmned face at the end and i would reccommened this one to your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Friday the Thirtheeths Ive seen!, 8 May 2004
By 
Mrs. S. L. Taylor "Matt Taylor" (Merry Old England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part II [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
I know what you're thinking. Whos idea was it to have Jason wearing a large sack/pillow case over his head, all he needed was a small monicle over his eye hole and he would have been the laughing stock of the Horror Psychos.
Any whom, when you first see this film, or see pictures of the Part 2 Jason, you'll probably want to give Paramount (I think thats who make them)a good slap! But suprising after all that complaining I have grown to love the Part 2 Jason Vorhees. Not as much as the Hockey Mask Version, but only Freddy could beat that. I have unfortunatly only seen the first four so far but Im buying one a week (my paper round money).This film has good deaths, gore, jumpy moments not to mention a cool killer! Despite what everyone else says, I love this film and I love the pillow case!!! Give it a chance because this Jason will grow on you. ITS A GOOD FILM!!! HONEST!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unworthy of it's predicessor, but still a good watch!, 28 Jun 2002
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part II [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Well what can i say. This film is OK to watch but mainly if your a slasher fan, or just a horror fan altogether. The acting wasn't great, but hey it's an old slasher film, and if you can show me a slasher film from the 80's- early90's that is full of great actors then I'll, I'll, withdraw my comment (ahem). the film follows on a few years after the original as we follow a group of kids going into the woods for a holiday camp, and dispite the warnings, people go wandering into the woods. That is when it strikes, yes you guessed it Jason strikes, with a pillow case over has head (scream) visiosly killing everyone he can, (how unpredictable!). there is not a great deal of difference in the stiry line for this one as there is for the original, but it is worth watching, and fans of the series will probably love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Sequel, 18 May 2004
By 
Mrs. S. L. Taylor "Matt Taylor" (Merry Old England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part II [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Hi my names Matt and I'm here to clear up all the mixed views on Friday the 13th Part 2. I can't say whether you should buy it or not because we probably have differant tastes but any whom.
Friday the 13th Part 2 starts years after the first one. Pamela Vorhees (Granny Groplin as my best friend refers to her as)is well dead and a group of camp cousellors decide to set up near the infamous Camp Crystal or 'Camp Blood' as Crazy Ralph refers to it as (he just makes the film). Everything is going well untill a local citizen decides to end their fun. That man is JASON VORHEES! Yes, Jason Vorhees, the infamous renouned Hockey Mask Phsyco that has lived through an impressive 11 films including Freddy vs Jason (checkout my review for that aswell). Howver there is one slight snag. He is wearing (a hockey mask...no) a (nothing!...no) a large pillow case!!!!
Yes I can see you now, A PILLOW CASE!!!?? Ok, more of a sack, but still. I like to think of him as BED HEAD, oh and by the way, I am friends with Jake (another reviewer of this film) and I made up the name. As strange as this sounds, despite almost dying of horror when I found this out, It has actually gorwn on me. I have come to love this version of Jason (Bed Head) almost more than the Hockey Mask Version. This is a realy good film, the jumpy bits are impressive, the gore is just right. There are a few nude bits which lets face it, are neccesary. I own the first four films currently and think that this is by far the best of the bunch! Sequels don't get much better than this I can tell you. So, in my opinion. Don't be put off by the pictures, or the 'Absolute rubbish' review because I love this film.
All round it is a very impressive sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friday The 13th Part II [1981] [DVD]
Friday The 13th Part II [1981] [DVD] by Steve Miner (DVD - 2002)
11.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews