Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depp's dashing Don Juan
Since purchasing this film i have thoroughly enjoyed every viewing. Johnny's stunning performance as the young lover of women is really charming and he comes across as a believable Don Juan. It's hard to define who supports whom in this movie but Marlon Brando and Faye Dunaway are both good actors in their own right too and so the mix of all three i think made for a...
Published on 5 May 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Depp
The film didn't live up to its cover blurb of 'terrific' and 'hot and sexy'. It started out very promising but quickly reduced to mediocrity though the rekindled relationship between Dr Mickler and his wife was a bonus.
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by H. Sunley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depp's dashing Don Juan, 5 May 2004
By A Customer
Since purchasing this film i have thoroughly enjoyed every viewing. Johnny's stunning performance as the young lover of women is really charming and he comes across as a believable Don Juan. It's hard to define who supports whom in this movie but Marlon Brando and Faye Dunaway are both good actors in their own right too and so the mix of all three i think made for a pleasant viewing experience. Johnny's ability to get into the charaters he chooses is play are what makes him such compelling viewing. This is one of his films that'll keep me going back for more....his sense of timing with humour is precise and well delivered. the man is gifted and holds every movie that he's worked in with well executed acting...all credit to him.
The film is a lighthearted romantic 'comedy(?)' and with Bryan Adam's song Have You Really Ever Loved a Woman running through the film in various guises it does delight the senses. Overall it has something foe all romantics out there and a taste of spice as Johnny gets to grips with the sensual touch...making most women if not all.. wanting to be in his hands. One of the best from Mr Depp's film career and well worth a second glance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There aren't enough stars available to rate this film!!!, 12 Dec 2003
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Juan De Marco [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I watched this film today in complete and utter bliss!!!
It's a wonderful story of love and passion that will leave you tingling all over.
Marlon Brando gives yet another outstanding performance. It was great to see him in a slightly comedic role. The rest of the supporting cast were all very good too. But the most marvellous performance for me came from Johnny Depp.
Here is an actor who never ceases to amaze me with his acting abilities. Everything about his character is spot on, from his clothes and mannerisms to his wonderfully delicious accent. I am still smiling now several hours later!!!
I would suggest this film to anybody, regardless of whether or not it is your usual type of movie. I think there is something in it for everybody, so do yourselves a favour and buy it now!!!
I am now going to go away and sit swooning over the dvd case!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sweet, funny romantic film, 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This is a great first-date video - and an all-round wonderful film too, unfairly overlooked at the box office. Johnny Depp is fantastic as the story's hero, a man who may be an incarnation of the legendary prolific latin lover Don Juan or may simply be a nutcase from Arizona. He gets to be both charming and dashing in this role - surely a must for the ladies everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fancy a sensitive mexican womanizer?, 14 Feb 2003
This review is from: Don Juan De Marco [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This is a different version of the mexican Casanova: Don Juan de Marco, as it's presented in a modern way. Johnny Depp's character is a ladies man with a high score on women, such as the real Don Juan, save the fact that the story is placed on the late nineties and everbody thinks of him as an insane dude who thinks of himself as the real Don Juan. The performance of Marlon Brando as Depp's shrink is great, considering the fact that he was a ladies man himself.
The point of the movie is the endless search of real love any person has, even the well known Don Juan.
All in all, this is a good piece of acting that shows Depp's ability to perform any kind of characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite feelgood films, 9 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Don Juan De Marco [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Marlon Brando is retiring from psychiatry and his last job is to make the delusional romantic Johnny Depp face up to reality or his senior will put him (JD that is) on medication. An unusual set up for the best feelgood movie since "It's a wonderful life". ok, maybe I've overhyped it but its a nice gentle film and the most wonderful aspect is the effect JD's romantic view of life has on MB's relationship with his wife, Faye Dunnaway. Don't expect it to be believable, just sit back and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depp is brilliant as the world's greatest lover, 2 Mar 2000
By A Customer
A film which inspires mixed feelings in it's audience - all the men I know who have seen this movie, rate it highly, women don't get it. Weird.
A whimsical fantasy, as psychiatrist Brando attempts to unravel the true story of Depp's life. But at the end of the film, it is hard to tell where fantasy ends and reality begins: who really is mad, Don Juan in his fantasy world, or the psychiatrist who starts to believe him - but in doing so revitalises his own love?
A must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don Juan De Marco - a really simple and hopeful little film, 27 Mar 2006
This review is from: Don Juan De Marco [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
If Monday mornings make you feel as though your soul has been sucked out then a Monday evening watching Don Juan De Marco is an excellent way to recover. With an exceptional cast and a great script the film delivers an amusing, sexy and heart-warming experience.
I really, really enjoyed it - and, quite unexpectedly, phoned my girl up to tell her I loved her directly afterward....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, incredibly romantic and very sexy film, 12 Jan 2004
By 
Carly Smee (Oxfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don Juan De Marco [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
As a Johnny depp fan, I sat down with a friend to enjoy yet another film starring him. The film was absolutely stunning. We laughed throughout at the amazing storyline, and were not surprised at the superb acting by both Johnny Depp and Marlon Brando.
There is only one word to describe this film and that is 'beautiful'. The acting, directing, plot and even Don Juan's accent can be described as beautiful. A must see for Johnny Depp fans and even those who just want a good laugh.Perfect for a girls night in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven, 7 Mar 2009
I have just finished watching this beautiful enchanting film and found it a joy from start to end, the performance from each actor was sublime, this wonderful movie was funny ,deeply moving, erotic and quite honestly one of the most sensual experiences of my life. Johnny Depp was perfect and totally believable as one of the worlds greatest lovers and Brando outstanding as the psychiatrist who's life was changed for the better for having Don Juan as his patients. If I could rate this movie as 100 out of 100 I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a plane movie, boosted with Depp, 13 Mar 2004
By 
AM (Austin, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don Juan De Marco [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I like Johnny Depp but had not particularly heard about this movie, maybe I was too young when it was in the cinema. So I watched with curiosity, not necessarily expecting the greatest movie of the century. But it was a good one - simple idea, filled with Depp charachter and charm, and a lot of small enojoyable moments in it.
If it was without Depp, it woulld still be of the kind of movies that I love to watch in the intercontinental flights or on boring Sunday afternoons. With Depp, it is a lot more. I enjoyed this movie, and I think this movie should be a lot better known than it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don Juan De Marco [DVD] [1995]
Don Juan De Marco [DVD] [1995] by Jeremy Leven (DVD - 2001)
9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews