Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas at its best
I ordered this album and thought it was the best christmas album I have ever bought. The songs are all so christmassy and really put you in the christmas mood. It is a great collection of varied artists, so it suits everyone's style of music. Favourites of mine are the beautiful "silver bells", the pretender's version of "merry little christmas" which is delightful, and...
Published on 11 Dec 2004 by mestesso2004

versus
46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Compilation, but...
This might sound like nit-picking, but before buying this CD you should be warned that most of the tracks are cut short and fade out long before the song is supposed to end. I guess this is the way they managed to fit so many tracks onto 2 CDs, but I found it quite annoying. Otherwise it's a pretty good compilation, better in my opinion than the "Best Christmas Album...
Published on 4 Nov 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas at its best, 11 Dec 2004
This review is from: Christmas Hits: 50 Festive Favourites (Audio CD)
I ordered this album and thought it was the best christmas album I have ever bought. The songs are all so christmassy and really put you in the christmas mood. It is a great collection of varied artists, so it suits everyone's style of music. Favourites of mine are the beautiful "silver bells", the pretender's version of "merry little christmas" which is delightful, and mariah carey's belting powerful version of "o holy night" that sounds like she has desended from heaven. Buy it and feel 100% christmassy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Compilation, but..., 4 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Christmas Hits: 50 Festive Favourites (Audio CD)
This might sound like nit-picking, but before buying this CD you should be warned that most of the tracks are cut short and fade out long before the song is supposed to end. I guess this is the way they managed to fit so many tracks onto 2 CDs, but I found it quite annoying. Otherwise it's a pretty good compilation, better in my opinion than the "Best Christmas Album Ever".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best Christmas album in the world!, 22 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Christmas Hits: 50 Festive Favourites (Audio CD)
This Christmas album has everything you could want from the classic songs like White Christmas by Bing Crosby to Westlife's 1999 Christmas no.1 I Have A Dream. As it says on the back of the album, this has definately got 50 festive favourites on it. My favourite being Eartha Kitt's Santa Baby.
I bought this album when it first came out as I didn't have any Christmas albums with popular hits on it and I love it. Definately an album to be played every Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting collection, 2 Nov 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Christmas Hits: 50 Festive Favourites (Audio CD)
Over the last few years, the double-CD various artists compilation has become a tradition in Britain, especially with Christmas albums. There have been many such compilations, often repeating the same songs. This is a good one, including plenty of classics but also a few less obvious selections.
Many classic UK hits are here (and one or two non-hits that should have been), including Merry Christmas everybody (Slade), Do they know its Christmas (Band aid), Fairytale of New York (Pogues and Kirsty MacColl), I believe in Father Christmas (Greg Lake), 2000 miles (Pretenders), Driving home for Christmas (Chris Rea), Step into Christmas (Elton John), Merry Christmas everyone (Shaking Stevens), Stop the cavalry (Jona Lewie), The power of love (Frankie goes to Hollywood), White Christmas (Bing Crosby), Mary's boy child (Boney M), When a child is born (Johnny Mathis), Millennium prayer (Cliff Richard), Last Christmas (Wham), A winter's tale (David Essex) and Santa baby (Eartha Kitt).
Many other pop and rock singers of the eighties and nineties are also represented. There are excellent original Christmas songs by Cyndi Lauper, Bruce Springsteen and Gloria Estefan, while there are fine covers of classic songs by several others. There are also a few golden oldies such as Frank Sinatra and Doris Day.
If I have a criticism, it is that four songs appear twice - different versions of Last Christmas, Have yourself a merry little Christmas, Blue Christmas and When a child is born appear on each CD. Given the wide choice of different songs available to the compilers, such duplication could easily have been avoided. Nevertheless, this is a very strong compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music Magic, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Christmas Hits: 50 Festive Favourites (Audio CD)
I have had this cd in my collection for years, but, unfortunately my kids have played it and it is now worse for wear so have been looking for a replacement. As soon as I found it I ordered a copy and have had much pleasure this Christmas in listening to it again. I would say it is one of the best Christmas compilations ever released and having now got a perfect copy hope to have many more Christmas's of great music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST CHRISTMAS ALBUM EVER!!!!, 27 Oct 2011
By 
M. Garland "Cornishgirl124" (S.W. England. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Hits: 50 Festive Favourites (Audio CD)
I first listened to this CD a few years ago at my daughter's house as we opened our Christmas presents on Christmas day...it was so beautiful and each song was so lovely and I enjoyed every song on this CD...I have since bought the album for friends and family as a Christmas Present as it has such a beautiful songs and I love to play them at that special time of year ....would recommend that you buy this as it is my one special CD that comes out to be played every year....I was definitely not disappointed with this item at all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love this album, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Hits: 50 Festive Favourites (Audio CD)
i have had 4 copies of this album its just a classic and does get over played a lot but only once a year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars christmas hits 50 festive favourites, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Hits: 50 Festive Favourites (Audio CD)
I brought this cd as it has a good variety of songs, and easy to listen to. enjoyable and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bah humbug!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Hits: 50 Festive Favourites (Audio CD)
This album delivers on certain levels, however I was disappointed by the fading of songs before the end. A huge chunk of Wham's Last Christmas has been cut out by the early fade. Would rather they had left the dismal Cliff Richard out altogether and used the time to complete the other songs. No Wizzard either :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas hits, 28 Dec 2013
This review is from: Christmas Hits: 50 Festive Favourites (Audio CD)
Its a great cd with all of the old favourite on it well worth buying and would recommend it to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas Hits: 50 Festive Favourites
Christmas Hits: 50 Festive Favourites by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews