Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winning romance courtesy of a great director
'Written, produced and directed by Peter Weir'. That sounds about as much control as Woody Allen could boast (usually actor rather than producer in his case). From Aussie Peter Weir you get a winning odd couple romance devoid of sentimentality and with an Enya soundtrack which discreetly reminds one of the '80s.

French legend Depardieu is Georges, the one...
Published on 10 Sept. 2011 by Philoctetes

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed.
This movie didn't work, every minute or so the film went fuzzy for about 30 seconds, then came back on then went fuzzy again, we persevered for about 20 minutes, then gave up, very disappointed.
Published 10 months ago by Sallyanne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winning romance courtesy of a great director, 10 Sept. 2011
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Green Card [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
'Written, produced and directed by Peter Weir'. That sounds about as much control as Woody Allen could boast (usually actor rather than producer in his case). From Aussie Peter Weir you get a winning odd couple romance devoid of sentimentality and with an Enya soundtrack which discreetly reminds one of the '80s.

French legend Depardieu is Georges, the one seeking the elusive Green Card. His marriage to the absurdly named Bronte (MacDowell) is one of mutual convenience - she wants to get round one of the city's demanding co-op boards and secure a lovely flat with a greenhouse - but when questions begin being asked they have one weekend to get their stories straight before finally being rid of each other.

Perhaps calling this a romance is wrong because it's more about the creation of intimacy, albeit under exceptional circumstances. In a sense a bit like method-acting preparation dramatized. Everything is delightfully subconscious as opposed to restrained. Depardieu is hugely likeable and it's nice to see Bebe Neuwirth with some colour in her cheeks. MacDowell is way better here than in Four Weddings but still in some respects not a born actress. If anything is wanting it is more conversation, more debate and argument, maybe a longer time span to make it truly believable.

Not much mentioned in rundowns of the grest romantic flicks, but more rewarding than something like Lost In Translation, I'd say. If you'd forgotten about Green Card it's time you got reacquainted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Film for a night in with a loved one., 26 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Green Card [VHS] [1991] (VHS Tape)
Green Card is the perfect film to watch when you want to spend a night in your loved one. A great date movie with an unlikely leading couple that you will laugh along with. I watched it on original release in the cinema and still enjoy watching it again and again. You will be glad you bought this film and wondered why on earth it took you so long. Buy it NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars but back then he was a bit of a hunk as I do like my men with some meat on them, 22 Aug. 2014
By 
Mrs. J. P. Penny "Jacki" (England The Quantocks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Card [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Sadly Gerard is now a huge blob, but back then he was a bit of a hunk as I do like my men with some meat on them, this is a great film, yes you know whats coming but sit back and enjoy the ride, great fun, nothing rude, just fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars green card, 29 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Card [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
this is an old favourite of mine which was very reasonably priced - I knew the story having seen it several times before but still enjoyed the strong characters and especially the piano scene with the french commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed., 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Card [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This movie didn't work, every minute or so the film went fuzzy for about 30 seconds, then came back on then went fuzzy again, we persevered for about 20 minutes, then gave up, very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A solid rom-com, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Card [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Green Card is a light-hearted and enjoyable romantic comedy. It is very gentle and easy to watch. The fact that it was written, produced and directed by the same person, Peter Weir, ensures the film's consistency and the story throughout is unpolluted and complete. The plot, man marries stranger to secure access into a country, whilst she has her own motives for marriage, does seem somewhat contrived and cliched, however, it remains fresh and feels to some extent unburdened by the cliched expectations that the story line offers. Moreover, Gerard Depardieu and Andie MacDowell have good on-screen chemistry in this film, an important ingredient for any rom-com.

The only way this film could be better, would be by making the time span of events a little longer. They only spend a weekend together and I can't help but feel the film would gain more weight if they had known each other for longer and allowed the romance to develop over a larger time period. In addition, this may have provided more opportunity for the characters to have become explored further, whilst we do begin to delve into the character's pasts, lives, thoughts and feelings, I feel this could have been done more effectively in the 1hour 40 minutes running time.

Overall though a warm hearted and enjoyable rom-com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant and easy viewing, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Green Card [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film - its setting in the garden flat is engaging and rather romantic, Andie MacDowell is stunningly beautiful and Gerard Depardieu is, well, Gerard Depardieu. The film seemed to have been written as a vehicle for him, providing, as it did, a new and wide audience in the English speaking world; but I have to say that it did not really seem a very good fit. He is a superb actor with powerful presence but, frankly, I thought he looked embarrassed and slightly out-of-place in the role. This is the reason that I gave the film four stars, rather than five. Good looks are not his forte and he has a large, clumsy presence. I could not really see why this mismatched couple fell in love, although I could see why any man would wholeheartedly fancy Andie MacDowell. This may sound a serious criticism, but it only niggled at the edge of my consciousness as I enjoyed the story and atmosphere of the film. Clearly, not everyone agreed with me, because Depardieu won a Golden Globe for the role, and Peter Weir's screenplay was nominated for an Oscar. The film is worth viewing if you like romantic comedies. It makes New York seem a great place to live, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True romance, 21 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Card [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I saw this film when it came out and then again and again ... and again. In my opinion it's one of the greatest romantic comedies of its era. It's funny and really hits you in the heart too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good Love Story, 29 Dec. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Card [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
A good Love Story with no violence or foul language and keeps you interested all the way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A class above most other modern rom-coms, 9 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Green Card [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
A very decent premise for a rom-com is nicely written, nicely directed, and very smartly played by the stars. Well, that's mainly Depardieu to be honest, but McDowell at least is well cast in her role. The ying-yang contrast of their polarised personalities is the source of most of the fun, and much of it is far more credible than is usually the case in rom-coms now. It's not too silly, certainly in plot line it is almost believable, and it's actually quite a mature example of the genre, and credit must go to the screenwriter. It also owes much of its class to the acting pedigree of the big nosed Frenchman. He brings the whole movie alive with his charisma and presence. It is a tad predictable, and some may even say a tad dull, by today's standard of rom-com, but I'd rather watch this more believable, more classy film than most of its modern day rivals. It reminded me somewhat of the old Cary Grant or Clark Gable rom-coms and very few other modern rom-coms do that. If there was any on screen chemistry at all between the two leads, then this would be a celebrated movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Green Card [DVD] [1991]
Green Card [DVD] [1991] by Peter Weir (DVD - 2002)
£3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews