Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
10
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2003
This is a wonderfully sweet, funny, heart-warming film. It's shocking that it is almost completely unknown. Buy it. Watch it. You will love it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 April 2006
An interesting movie that takes us through several different relationships as individual stories only to tie all the characters together piece by piece.

Joan (Angelina Jolie) is an aspiring actress who has just come out of a relationship that ended badly and finds herself falling for a guy she meets in a club (Ryan Phillipe) who says he 'does not date' and keeps brushing her off. She tries everything but he remains aloof...

Meredith (Gillian Anderson) is a play writer who has been burned one too many times and cannot see a future in any relationship. A pessimist inside and out she meets an architect who threatens to make it behind her walls which terrifies her causing her to push him away even harder.

Gracie is having an affair with a man about whom she knows nothing. To her that is the beauty of it. They come into the room without baggage and leave without any either. But why is she doing it? And what does her hubby know?

Paul (Sean Connery) and Hannah are a couple who have survived the decades only to find out that Paul has a brain tumour. Hannah finds a picture of another woman (who she is sure he had an affair with years ago) in his desk and delves into the past asking him for the truth. It leads to a very sticky situation and shows that even 40yr old marraiges have there problems but you just have to wade through it.

These are the main characters but there are a few more stories running alongside these ones. Its not all happy and wonderful and there are a few tear jerking scenes as is the way in real life...

A good movie, with an excellent cast and some fine acting. Worth watching. Im just not sure if its worth purchasing the dvd! There are no special features (unless u count subtitles!!!) and all you get is the movie really.

Maybe one to rent....?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
I thought I would give this film a go after Amazon 'recommended' it to me. As it had Gillian Anderson in it, I was looking forward to it even before I sat down to watched it, and I was not disappointed.

It is short and sweet and I found myself with a big grin after watching it, but I would have loved about 20 mins more. Angelina Jolie was very impressive (not really being much of a fan of her as an actress, it was nice to see her in this, pre-worldwide fame). Gillian Anderson just has this phenomenal screen prescence whenever I watch her, and I couldn't take my eyes off of her, and not once did I think about Scully when I watched her. It was also nice to see her playing a vulnerable character. The rest of the cast were decent.

This is an ideal girls night in/date film, and I think people would find it hard not to enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
And if that weren't enough to fill ya boots you got Dennis Quaid and Jon Stewart in the same film. Plus Patricia Clarkson and Nastassja Kinski. Heaven. And Jay Mohr and Ellen Burstyn. And a blink-and-you'll-miss-her Amanda Peet. And Ryan Phillipe. Oh Lordy. Plus it's a great movie to boot. Made me cry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2008
I wondered what made such a superb ensemble appear together in a single movie. Sean Connery, Gena Rowlands, Madeleine Stowe, Dennis Quaid, Angelina Jolie... the list goes on and on, and I'm counting several Oscar winners and nominees. What made them all come together; money? Hardly. After watching the movie, I came to the conclusion that all these guys must have agreed to do this because the script is excellent. Good actors like to play interesting roles in good movies; it must be that simple.

To be honest, I only watched this because I saw Connery's name on the board. I was amazed. I really HATE "chick flicks", and there's a lot of talk about love and life and that sort of thing here... it's a movie made for girls, no less. So what made me like it?

1. The acting is first-rate. Jolie did this only the year before her acclaimed Oscar-winning performance in "Girl, interrupted", and you get the feeling here that she's really getting warmed up. Some times you can't help but think of such shallow roles as Lara Croft or Sara Wayland from "Gone in 60 seconds", but this performance reminds you that she's actually a talented actress. Sean Connery is flawless, of course, and his dialogues with double Oscar nominee Gena Rowland are both deep and interesting. Normally, while your girlfriend cries during scenes such as these, a normal guy is bored stiff. Not so, here, for some reason; it never gets to that point. And how about Gillian Anderson playing against "A daily show" Jon Stewart? Then there's Ryan Phillippe, Jay Mohr, Anthony Edwards... people you'd almost expect to make a mess of it all. What would you say if I told you Phillippe is actually good in this movie? Incredible, isn't it?

2. The plot is very tidy; the one objection I have is that things are some times moving forward a bit fast. You feel like you've landed in the middle of a story which you should have heard from the beginning. Yet, if you've ANY sort of reasoning mind, you'll soon put things together and find out what is going on. The movie is jumping from one story line to another, and at times it seems you're watching two different films. Still, if you pay attention to the language used and to the things that happen in the background, you begin to understand that everything is connected. How, for instance, do three people who are seemingly not connected, all use the term "anger ball"? The five major story lines are tied together near the end and everything makes sense.

If you're looking for a movie to watch with your girlfriend, look no further. This will keep her more than happy, and you won't be wanting to gouge your eyes out to somehow end the boredom. It's really survivable, and you won't be sorry you watched it. As for the girls, this film is about life, love and people - and it's a really well-built story played out by excellent actors. Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2003
Not for the impatient, Playing by Heart is a particularly good example of the complex romantic comedy. The excellent acting complements the apparently disparate -most definitely quirky- plot lines and incisive dialogue. A four star script, slightly weak on characterisation, works due to the presence and competence of the A-list cast.
It's not though; the film for casual watching and to really get anything from the film a fair amount of concentration is essential. Definitely not the movie for everyone you will have few laugh-out-loud moments but should leave the cinema touched and amused.
A solid 5 star movie overall some truly entertaining twists make this well worth your time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2006
This film delves into the range of relationships that people can have today. It examines the mother/son relationship, the family relationship and a range of others yet presents problems that people may not have suffered from a 100 years ago. Over the course of several evenings, this film follows the lives of the protagonists as they learn and play with new feelings and situations that may be uncomfortable at times but they overcome their fears in the end. This film is well worth a watch and then you will fall in love with it like i did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
This movie is a slow burn. You have all this classy actors who apparently play random parts and then it all comes together beautifully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
A story about love and how hard it can be to let it in, and actually allow your self to be happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
All as per description...no complaints at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.75
£4.93

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)