Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its all about love be it new or old, dead or alive...., 21 April 2006
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Playing By Heart [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
An interesting movie that takes us through several different relationships as individual stories only to tie all the characters together piece by piece.

Joan (Angelina Jolie) is an aspiring actress who has just come out of a relationship that ended badly and finds herself falling for a guy she meets in a club (Ryan Phillipe) who says he 'does not date' and keeps brushing her off. She tries everything but he remains aloof...

Meredith (Gillian Anderson) is a play writer who has been burned one too many times and cannot see a future in any relationship. A pessimist inside and out she meets an architect who threatens to make it behind her walls which terrifies her causing her to push him away even harder.

Gracie is having an affair with a man about whom she knows nothing. To her that is the beauty of it. They come into the room without baggage and leave without any either. But why is she doing it? And what does her hubby know?

Paul (Sean Connery) and Hannah are a couple who have survived the decades only to find out that Paul has a brain tumour. Hannah finds a picture of another woman (who she is sure he had an affair with years ago) in his desk and delves into the past asking him for the truth. It leads to a very sticky situation and shows that even 40yr old marraiges have there problems but you just have to wade through it.

These are the main characters but there are a few more stories running alongside these ones. Its not all happy and wonderful and there are a few tear jerking scenes as is the way in real life...

A good movie, with an excellent cast and some fine acting. Worth watching. Im just not sure if its worth purchasing the dvd! There are no special features (unless u count subtitles!!!) and all you get is the movie really.

Maybe one to rent....?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, my! Check out that cast! Scully, 007, Lara Croft, Victoria Grayson, Professor Furlong, that dr from ER??..., 15 May 2014
This review is from: Playing By Heart [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
And if that weren't enough to fill ya boots you got Dennis Quaid and Jon Stewart in the same film. Plus Patricia Clarkson and Nastassja Kinski. Heaven. And Jay Mohr and Ellen Burstyn. And a blink-and-you'll-miss-her Amanda Peet. And Ryan Phillipe. Oh Lordy. Plus it's a great movie to boot. Made me cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lovely journey with the heart, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playing By Heart [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I love movies exploring relationships. And this one does that beautifully, there's young romance, older contemplation on attitudes toward relationship, mature relationship showing a reflection on life and commitment to one another. There is great tenderness and a lovely weaving of the characters as they try to find their way forward and their own expression of playing by heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Left smiling but maybe wanting more..., 28 Feb 2013
This review is from: Playing By Heart [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I thought I would give this film a go after Amazon 'recommended' it to me. As it had Gillian Anderson in it, I was looking forward to it even before I sat down to watched it, and I was not disappointed.

It is short and sweet and I found myself with a big grin after watching it, but I would have loved about 20 mins more. Angelina Jolie was very impressive (not really being much of a fan of her as an actress, it was nice to see her in this, pre-worldwide fame). Gillian Anderson just has this phenomenal screen prescence whenever I watch her, and I couldn't take my eyes off of her, and not once did I think about Scully when I watched her. It was also nice to see her playing a vulnerable character. The rest of the cast were decent.

This is an ideal girls night in/date film, and I think people would find it hard not to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Playing By Cheek!, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playing By Heart [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Willard Carroll (director of the utterfly woeful 1990 horror 'The Runestone') creates one of the Top 3 cinematic splashes of 1998 with this utterly absorbing, winningly clever and beautifuly wrought multi-stranded drama with liberal pilings of wit along the way. Bringing 'Short Cuts' to mind structurally, it hinges around a small number of characters getting to grips with flailing marriages, past indescretions, hesitant puppy-love, the hell of single-dom and more. And to say anything more would be to criminally take out the amazing surprises that the script pulls as the story unfolds. As with 'Short Cuts', you may tell the wretched Paul Thomas Anderson has been watching this film closely to help complete his turgid 'Magnolia' (along with several other 90s dramas)once you've seen it-once again there's a supporting actress pulled from this pretty much doing the same thing but to a far less worthy screen-timer in his absurd and derivative production.

Quite how Mr Carroll gets from the noneity of 'The Runestone' starring no one of any worth to probably the best cast ever assembled for a 90s movie really takes your breath away. The dialogue is fun and frantic where it needs to be, but always measured, perceptive and cohesive, the direction unfussy, and the film looks beautiful. Sean Connery's best movie in ages and his teaming with Gena Rowlands is pitched so prefectly, you can't think of them as anything other than married and for a good many years. Gillian Anderson is wonderful too, but it's the excellent and smoking hot Ryan Phillipe who deserves the awards and attention for his star-making turn as a shyest, sweetest hunk ever to go dancing on his own in the LA club scene. Such a contrast from the niave brat of '54' and 'I Know What You Did Last Summer'-and this would be the first film, along with the almost unknown 'Little Boy Blue' to tell us he was an actor of considerable depth and measure to completely belie his astounding looks. And he has continued to date to know exactly the right kind of movie to make, something his ex-wife Ms Witherspoon and many of his contemporaries have major hurdles with themselves.

Angelina Jolie herself is his perfect foil-but only in this. Perhaps she should have stuck with him, as after 'The Bone Collector' she sadly became a big star/celebrity as opposed to becoming a great actress, and typically, all the promise of decent features were tomb raided as she sought to be one of those few women who sit at the top and command skyline prices for no other reason than they can. She, like Ryan's ex, may have become the 'bigger' name, but he, like everyone in this, remains the bigger and better actor.

Disgustingly there are no extra features on this film at all, but it is a rarified gem of a piece, something destined to be beholden by few, despite its burning star wattage, yet sitting on here hoping to improve its quota, so Buy Heart and go Play. Few vanilla discs like this are actually worth getting just for the movie alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 19 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Playing By Heart [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is a wonderfully sweet, funny, heart-warming film. It's shocking that it is almost completely unknown. Buy it. Watch it. You will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct 2014
By 
Gems (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Playing By Heart [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Great film with a full well known cast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playing By Heart [DVD] (DVD)
ending was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Playing By Heart [DVD] [1999]
Playing By Heart [DVD] [1999] by Willard Carroll (DVD - 2002)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews