Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, underated portrait of a smalltown reunion
Ted Demme's film is extremely warm, despite its snowbound landscape- more suited to Egoyan's 'The Sweet Herafter'. This film did squat at the box office, despite the fact that it has a wonderful script by Scott Rosenberg (Things to do in Denver when you're Dead, High Fidelity, Er, Con Air...)and a wonderful ensemble cast. Tim Hutton puts in the best performance of his...
Published on 17 Sep 2000 by Jason Parkes

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Awful
Published 1 month ago by IAN DORAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, underated portrait of a smalltown reunion, 17 Sep 2000
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ted Demme's film is extremely warm, despite its snowbound landscape- more suited to Egoyan's 'The Sweet Herafter'. This film did squat at the box office, despite the fact that it has a wonderful script by Scott Rosenberg (Things to do in Denver when you're Dead, High Fidelity, Er, Con Air...)and a wonderful ensemble cast. Tim Hutton puts in the best performance of his career, Natalie Portman is beguiling in a reverse-Lolita role and Uma Thurman is simply angelic. Think 'Swingers' with a dash of Capra or 'My so-called Life'. Other plus points include The Afghan Whigs as the local bar band, an extremely amusing Neil Diamond singalong and a wonderfully slobbish Michael Rappaport- with his disturbing philosphy on women ("they're all sisters Wil. Leave it alone!"). If you liked 'Grosse Point Blank' or 'Swingers' this is as good. 'Beautiful Girls' may have been overlooked because its just too human- maybe a little old fashioned and it hasn't got cool pastiches of Scorsese or Tarantino- which may mean critical reassessment in the future when we're bored of all those 'I'm worried I might be homosexual, so here's some stylised-violence'films (think Guy Ritchie or parts of 'Grosse Point Blank'). The perfect film for the upcoming winter and an example of Hollywood at its most thoughtful. Really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful girls, beautiful story, 29 April 2002
Despite its rather suggestive title, this film is as sweet and innocent as the lovely Natalie Portman making snow angels.
There is, of course, a more substantial level to the film - leitmotivs of friendship, love and return to innocence feature strongly - which leave you with something more than feeling good about the world. Although the principles of good ol' hometown America are prevalent the feel of this film is anything but conventional, introducing us to the sometimes bizarre world of mid-west America. It's not uncomfortable, just different.
A truly lovely film that will help you appreciate your friends and their often brutal honesty....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful girls......beautifully evocative, 22 Aug 2002
I happily stumbled across 'Beautiful Girls' one evening on terrestrial TV and was at first captivated by the great cast. Timothy Hutton, Michael Rappaport, Matt Dillon, Uma Thurman, Annabeth Gish and Martha Plimpton are all actors that have popped up in films that are not necessarily well known, but stretch back over my film watching history. It seemed fitting that they were playing in a film that mirrored the current stage of my life, albeit in a different place and lifestyle.
That is where Beautiful Girls hits the mark; it evokes universal feelings for time and place the way that Ang Lee's 'the ice storm' did for the bored married, or 'the Breakfast Club' did for the teen.
Its not a showy movie, but lulls you with well realised set pieces and dilemmas. Rosie O'Donnell's diatribe is fantastic, but it is Natalie Portman's astute turn as Marty that makes the film for me. You truly believe that Willie would fall for this smart 13 old - who wouldn't? She exudes intelligence and vitality and communicates with a man who 'was in 12th(?) grade when she was a zygote' on his level, reducing him to a nervous suitor at points with her wit. The Pooh and Christopher Robin reference is a poignant tool which the actors use to its full potential in this setting.
All in all, the film is a quiet pleasure, sketching the difficult, indifferent 20-something descisions of life - do you cling to your youth or move on to the next stage of life willingly? Ted Demme and cast do an admirable job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Girls, 2 May 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Girls [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This film is hilarious. So enjoyable. Lots of issues being brought to light without making each story line too heavy. Older man liking the very much younger girl, another girl dealing with an eating disorder as her boyfriend is having an affair with a married woman. The lives that have never changed when one man returns home from the city to try to analyse his life, and the breath of fresh air that is (apparantly) Uma Thurman, to a town of men who will never do anything but plough snow in their home town. A touching film with very amusing characters. I recommend a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming drama, 23 May 2004
This review is from: Beautiful Girls [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A heartwarming drama on the problems you face as you hit your late twenties in a smalltown American town. Top-notch performances from the ensemble cast, touching and funny at the same time. Watch out for the relationship between Timothy Hutton and Natalie Portman it's heartbreaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 2 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Girls [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Having spent the best part of forty years watching hundreds of films on screen, tv and dvd, I`ve come to the slightly surprising conclusion that Beautiful Girls is quite possibly the one I enjoyed the most. It's a film about thwarted ambitions and trying to get the most out of life in small town America and, within this modest remit, it's just about perfect. The dialogue is smart and involving without being patronising or clichéd, and it is matched by some faultless ensemble acting from the cast The direction is so good you don't notice it, and I can't think of any higher praise than that. The only thing I can fault is the banal title, which was probably meant ironically but grates nonetheless. It's one of those priceless films that leaves you with a good feeling inside no matter how many times you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a wonderful life!, 29 May 2007
By 
I. Varey "(instantproductsuk)" (Stafford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beautiful Girls [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Whilst most of the reviews have said it all I still felt moved to add my 2 cents worth. Starting slowly and gently I was immediately comfortable with this movie but wondering if it was going to go anywhere. Perhaps it might lull you into a false sense of security and then explode into violence. There is humour and wit aplenty but for me it wasn't a comedy, more a tale of love and friendship and a healthy dose of real life. The characters are all immediately recognisable, be they American, British, or from any part of the world. The word comfortable returns again and gradually I was drawn into their small town world and felt like I lived there and wanted to know these people. The stars for me are Timothy Hutton, a real fave of mine and Natalie Portman. Their tenderly drawn blossoming friendship across the picket fence becomes a beautiful glowing "courtship" of sorts that could have led somewhere "in five years time." Natalie, a self described "old soul" is very wise beyond her years, captivating Hutton's days back in his old hometown. His friends have their own relationship difficulties with twists and turns, pain and angst. There is much flirting in the movie with the arrival of Uma Thurman seriously cranking up the heat. How it all turns out is for you to discover and I cannot recommend this movie highly enough. Six stars out of five, immensely and richly enjoyable and rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Girls, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Girls [DVD] (DVD)
I just love this movie. Well written, well observed and very well acted by every performer. Leaves the watcher with a hint of sadness
that real life is exactly like this - never quite matching up to the younger persons dreams and expectations but well worth the living anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The art of creating the right atmosphere, 22 July 2013
By 
Elleppi (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not the story, it's the characters, the words between the thoughts, the spare dialogues, the moments spent among friends, when you stop and reflect on the way youre life's going. And it's the basic things in life, friends, girls, past and future. All very lighthearted, no drama, just some vibes. It takes talent to tell a story where nothing great happens. The late Ted Demme at his best, with a bunch of good actors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beautiful Girls [DVD] [1996]
Beautiful Girls [DVD] [1996] by Ted Demme (DVD - 2002)
6.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews