Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant girlie send up..
This is a brilliant girlie send up of Lock stock and two smoking barrels. It is a comedy. It is very funny and is also an action movie with a plot that just might, with a leap of imagination, get near to what the reality could be! The ineptitude of the villains makes them more real not less, and their menacing brutality all the more fun. The girls run rings round them...
Published on 14 Feb. 2008 by Big John

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fast and fun
If you take the plot with a pinch of salt I can quite happily say you will enjoy this fast actioned 'girl power' film. The leads are excellent and gel together really well. I recommend this to anyone -men too!
Published on 12 May 2010 by Freddie Flintstone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant girlie send up.., 14 Feb. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Heels And Low Lifes [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a brilliant girlie send up of Lock stock and two smoking barrels. It is a comedy. It is very funny and is also an action movie with a plot that just might, with a leap of imagination, get near to what the reality could be! The ineptitude of the villains makes them more real not less, and their menacing brutality all the more fun. The girls run rings round them through a combination of luck, circumstance and quick thinking. If you want to be entertained, buy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely one to watch if you're willing to laugh - a lot!, 15 May 2002
By 
clairepicton@yahoo.com (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Take a nurse, with a boyfriend who'd rather listen in on others' telephone conversations, and an out of work actor, who are short on money but have plenty of brains; add some bank robbers who are short of brains but have plenty of money. What do you get? A funny, but action-packed film that will get you laughing so much you'll have to watch it again - to catch the important (but tiny) aspects of the plot that you missed whilst you were laughing.
The box of tissues might come in handy too, if you cry when you laugh hard.
A great British film, maybe comparable to 'A fish called Wanda'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blew me away! Loved every moment! Not to be missed!!, 19 July 2002
By 
This review is from: High Heels And Low Lifes [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Ok I was kinda forced to watch this in the cinema by my female friend. I have to admit I bought the ticket thinking what have I let myself in for!
But hey I loved every moment. It made my laugh, cry and had plenty of suspense to keep the average viewer glued. It had big guns and shooting for the boys and lipstick glamour for the girls! it really is a laugh out loud comedy for all.
The plot is solid and the characters are played perfectly by the talented actors. This movie really deserved to be a box office smash and has firmly become one of my favouraite movies.
I made my cousin buy me the DVD for my birthday and it was still as good as I remembered if not better! The features were good and informative, but the film alone would have been enough.
My advice is: just go and watch it! You will not regret it! Don't let his gem slip by you!
xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daftly brilliant, 21 April 2008
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: High Heels And Low Lifes [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a minor gem, a daftly brilliant British comedy which never aspires to be anything more than Brit-gangster meets Ealing comedy. In the classic Ealing tradition, it trades heavily on the uniquely British comedic possibilities of a series of deceptions which spiral out of control, with increasingly unsustainable impersonations.

For some reason, the British fascination with identity comedy doesn't travel well, and unlike Hugh-Grant floppy haired romanticism, or anarchic Pythonism, these kind of films never seem to get good write ups. Amazon's own review (and also the Radio Times one), in my view, reflect this more than they reflect the film itself.

Anyway, I've watched this film twice, and fully intend to watch it five or six times more. It's charming, energetic, fun, and just on this side of believable. If you enjoy this film, you might also consider watching 'The Steal' and 'Blame it on the Bellboy'.

--

PS: It's also touching in the simplicity of its research: at the end of the film, a million pounds (with something left over) is enough to equip a new casualty unit including buying an MRI scanner -- and that in 2001. If only they knew how much stuff really cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little gem and not just a chick flick, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Heels And Low Lifes [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
It was bought on a whim, the price being a major deciding factor. But it turned out to be a very good black comedy. Once or twice it was laugh out loud and there was some hilarious dialogue and verbal jokes. The direction could have been firmer as it did wander a bit at times, but suspend belief and let the film take you. Driver was her normal good value for money and the rest of the cast were generally her equal. It gets four stars just because of the price and my wife said it should. So perhaps more of a chick flick than I thought.

I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun fun fun, 9 May 2009
This review is from: High Heels And Low Lifes [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Mel Smith directed comedy that could have been terrible but is brilliant. Thanks to great turns from the likes of Kevin McInally, Minnie Driver and Mark Williams; the characterisations are vivid, the action non-stop and the daft plot is a hoot. Great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST IN CASE, 18 Aug. 2007
By 
L. Wilson (Natal South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Heels And Low Lifes [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Dud it certainly isn`t, very very funny, typical of Mel Smith. It does have a limited audience appeal ie. if you don`t have a sense of humour don`t watch, but, if like me you love to laugh get your hands on a copy now. I love the ending, it is in perfect harmony with the whole film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Heels And Low Lifes [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a typical British "feel good" film with a good blend of good british and american actors doing good acting and just the right amount of suspense, witty dialogue and humorous situations to raise it quite a bit above your average hollywood oatmeal. See it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Heels And Low Lifes [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is such a great british film, the ultimate in girl power without resorting to superpowers. Brilliant script, directing, editing and casting, I just can't fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How did I miss this film, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Heels And Low Lifes [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Nice and funny easy to watch film how have i missed this film. The plot and characters make the film enjoyable with som eclassic funny moments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Heels And Low Lifes [DVD] [2001]
High Heels And Low Lifes [DVD] [2001] by Mel Smith (DVD - 2002)
£9.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews