Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars breathtaking animation
Somewhere in Australia, a young boy and his eagle friend are in trouble, so once more, Bernard and Bianca come to the rescue. It's a wonderful story filled with charming characters, all different in their own way. It's not too sentimental, yet, it has it's moments. This is not just a kid's movie. This is a movie the whole family can enjoy, since the content is not goofy,...
Published on 4 Aug. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
fine.
Published 14 days ago by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars breathtaking animation, 4 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
Somewhere in Australia, a young boy and his eagle friend are in trouble, so once more, Bernard and Bianca come to the rescue. It's a wonderful story filled with charming characters, all different in their own way. It's not too sentimental, yet, it has it's moments. This is not just a kid's movie. This is a movie the whole family can enjoy, since the content is not goofy, but serious, though it does have a lot of funny moments. This movie is not exactly the newest animated movie Disney has created, but the animation is still as beautiful as their newest classics. In short, this movie has it all. The only thing I miss in this movie are the usual songs, which are in almost all Disney's masterpieces, but the story is still great, and it doesn't need music to be a good movie. Don't miss out on this lovely Disney classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breakthrough in 3d vfx for 2d animation, 21 May 2008
By 
P. McCauley - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rescuers Down Under [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This sequel to the rescuers was something special to disney, as this is the first sequal of feature animation to also become a feature. This is currently the only sequel to date to become a feature; this shows disney had great expectations and faith in this film.

This film has a similar story style to the original film, where a kid gets captured and its up to the rescue aid society to come to the rescue. The character cast in this film is amazing, and the animators do an incredible job at portraying emotion and expression through them.

This film also, as many may not know, include disney first 3d visual effects in 2d animation. There is a flying sequence at the start which is actually 3D which at the time of release was breathtaking, and was a huge impact on how film is today.

This film is really special, maybe not 'the best' disney feature, but its among some of the best animation films ever, and includes some of the best character animation I have ever seen.

This film will inspire you and wont fail to entertain.

- Pete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two little mice save the day again, 9 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers Down Under [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Disney produces another masterpiece to follow 'The Rescuers'. Great little story perfect for the adventurer and escapist in everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blown away, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers Down Under [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I've a vague memory of seeing 'The Rescuers Down Under' at the movies when it was first released in the good ole Down Under; yes I'm from Australia :) The vague memory part: I was only in kinder hence I only remember Bernard, Bianca, Cody and Jake in terms of character but not the plot.

The thing that blew me away hence the title of this review was the animation! If you buy this DVD the production staff in the making of documentary tout the movie for its artwork and animation; and rightfully so! Scenery was well researched and gave the film a great deal of dimension. When Cody is standing atop the cliffs with the eagle, I really felt I was in the picture. And the scenes with the golden eagle; flying, falling, gliding again gave the feeling of being Cody in the movie.

Only real criticism hence the 4 star rating: stereo types! I realise the idea of Jake's Steve Irwin/Paul Hogan like mannerisms and demeanour were to hammer the point that he's Australian and it was the outback. Even so, as an Australian I can't help but cringe at the immitation slouch hat and faux Australian accent; it just sounds so fake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rescuers down under, 22 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers Down Under [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This dvd was bought to replace a much loved video so I knew what I was buying. For anybody who has not seen the rescuers, it is a story about two mice sent to rescue a little girl held captive in the everglades. This the sequel about a little boy in Australia, same basic plot of nice and nasty animals to keep the children entertained, but enough Australian parodies to amuse the accompanying adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining., 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers Down Under [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this, and as I have the Rescuers DVD as well, it made sense to get it. Remember seeing "The Rescuers" in the 70's, and remember it as light relief from gloomy news all the time! This is just the same, and I like the plot anyway. Subtitles very helpful. The price is a steal, and it is unobtainable anywhere else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cant beat originals, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great family fun!! definitely a feel good film, great music not too bad graphics and firm favourite :)

just wish it would have been longer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 9 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers Down Under [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Watched this film years ago as an avid Walt Disney fan , bought it to show my children ,they vary in ages from 8 to 16 . We all thoroughly enjoyed it.There are mistakes (the changing size of the golden eagle)but it was made in the day when the story was the important part of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WALT DISNEY DVD's, 12 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers Down Under [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
These videos were bought as a present for our 3 year old grand-daughter we were very impressed with the quality a little bit disappointed with delivery which was a few days over the estimated time and the last two dvd's arrived two days after her birthday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars childhood favourites, 12 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers Down Under [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
had this on video as a child, my own son is now two years and bought it as one of the first in his collection, just as good as it was then. a lovely Disney film suitable for any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rescuers Down Under [DVD] [1991]
The Rescuers Down Under [DVD] [1991] by Mike Gabriel (DVD - 2002)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews