Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive if implausible romcom - funny and poignant
I've seen more rom-coms than I care to admit to, and provided you don't make a habit of watching this one on a weekly or even a monthly basis, I think My Best Friend's Wedding is one to place in your top ten. Obviously it's no When Harry Met Sally, but it's still way better than one of those Californian airhead movies.

Roberts' character has a prior claim on...
Published on 18 Mar. 2010 by Philoctetes

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review: a step up in quality...
I purchased this for wife but I enjoy watching it on occasion mainly for Rupert Everett's humorous turn as Julia Robert's (gay) publisher. There is good chemistry among the actors and after watching the extras I can see why - they had a great time filming this. I won't bother reviewing the film, most likely you know the plot already. My review is geared toward how this...
Published on 3 Feb. 2010 by Illustratedman


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive if implausible romcom - funny and poignant, 18 Mar. 2010
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Best Friend's Wedding [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I've seen more rom-coms than I care to admit to, and provided you don't make a habit of watching this one on a weekly or even a monthly basis, I think My Best Friend's Wedding is one to place in your top ten. Obviously it's no When Harry Met Sally, but it's still way better than one of those Californian airhead movies.

Roberts' character has a prior claim on the affections of her old friend Mulroney, who shocks her into action when he announces he's marrying THE ONE. Roberts' knows she's the one and plots to steal Mulroney away from Cameron Diaz before the wedding. Rupert Everett plays the gay pal who is the voice of reason.

For all that this is a mainstream movie sometimes sickly sweet and silly, it also has many poignant and tender scenes - for example, when Mulroney and Roberts are on the ferry and again she misses her chance to claim him with a romantic gesture. Love is a competition where the boldest, the uninhibited win and no matter how deep the feelings of the others, they remain also-rans. What prevents this movie being too icky is Roberts' agreeably nasty attempts to undermine the almost cloying (but not quite) affection of Mulroney and Diaz. For all that Diaz's character is sweet like icing sugar, she still demonstrates a toughness and her determination to befriend her rival is clearly a maniuplative strategy to keep the "big-haired food critic" from becoming a threat. The showdown in the ladies' room was a late addition after focus groups complained Roberts was too evil to be sympathetic.

Everett is superb as Roberts' editor, very funny and very camp. Mulroney is also successful at conveying his character's inner turmoil and burgeoning jealousy. It's also nice to see a rom-com where instead of being reliant upon a pop soundtrack, the cast perform the songs themselves, admittedly in rather contrived circumstances.

Just FF the opening titles and you'll love this more than you might anticipate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer entertainment., 23 Mar. 2008
By 
laineyf "widnes" (warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Best Friend's Wedding [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a great film, funny, girly, a little bit mean at times, but great. I have to say that Rupert Everett totally steals this film from Julia Roberts and co. He is wonderful!! The scene where they are all sat at the table, and they start singing Arethas' 'Say A Little Prayer' is an absolute classic, and has me in stitches!! He is so dry and acerbic, and so very funny. I want him for my friend!! Julia Roberts, is of course, excellent, as are Cameron Diaz and Dermot Mulroney, but for me, it is definitely Ruperts' film!! I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review: a step up in quality..., 3 Feb. 2010
I purchased this for wife but I enjoy watching it on occasion mainly for Rupert Everett's humorous turn as Julia Robert's (gay) publisher. There is good chemistry among the actors and after watching the extras I can see why - they had a great time filming this. I won't bother reviewing the film, most likely you know the plot already. My review is geared toward how this Blu-ray compares to the DVD version. While the quality is not 'heads and shoulders' above the DVD it is certainly an improvement. After watching this Blu-ray I compared a few scenes to the DVD, but this was not a direct apples to oranges comparison since my Sony BDP-350 player was up-scaling the DVD video to 1080p. But even on that basis the Blu-ray version was clearly superior. I could not see any DNR or EE in the mastering to Blu-ray, if it was there I could detect it on my 120" front projection screen. I was hoping for a snappier picture with more color pop but the general quality was somewhat flat. Close-ups showed good details such as complexions and other facial features. Objects in the background were better resolved with the Blu-ray versus the up-scaled DVD. Although the Dolby TrueHD soundtrack is mainly across the front, since this film is dialogue driven, there were a few good surround sound scenes like the baseball park, train station, etc. I found I had to set my volume on my Denon receiver several notches higher than usual for a TrueHD soundtrack, but the dialogue easy to discern.

I imported this Blu-ray to the USA since the release in my country has been delayed since September 2008. For the price (including delivery) this was a easy decision to make and I suspect that the eventual USA release will be an almost exact copy of this Blu-ray version but for more money. This is a region-free (ABC) Blu-ray. The extras on the BD are in standard definition and although there is some minor repetition between the different featurettes they were informative and enjoyable. Here are some additional specs:

Region : 0
Country : UK
Certificate : 12
Number of discs : 1
Media Format : Blu-ray
Studio : Sony Pictures Home Entertainment
Release date : 29th September, 2008
Running time : 104 minutes
Chapters : 16
Sound : English Dolby Digital TrueHD 5.1
Russian Dolby Digital TrueHD 5.1
Subtitles : Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Danish, English, Estonian, Finnish, Greek, Hindi, Icelandic, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Romanian, Slovenian, Swedish, Turkish, Russian
Picture : Widescreen 2.40:1 1080p MPEG-4/AVC
Extras (SD) :
On the Set: My Best Friend's Wedding.
My Best Friend's Wedding Album.
Wedding Dos and Don'ts.
Unveiled: My Best Friend's Wedding.
Say a Little Prayer Sing-Along.
Trailers.
BD-Live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lightweight but heartwarming romantic comedy, 5 Sept. 2001
This is the kookily beautiful Julia Roberts at her quirky best. Whilst My Best Friend's Wedding might not be as polished as Notting Hill, it is the less bland for it. Roberts' best friend is getting married and it is at the point that she finds this fact out that she decides that she cannot let this wedding go ahead because she is in love with the groom to be. Hilarity and pathos ensue as she tries to win back her beau from the delightfully naive and innocent Cameron Diaz. If you want a great girlie movie for a Saturday night in with a box of choccies and a box of kleenex, this is the one to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passable Romantic Comedy, 5 July 2009
By 
GratuitousViolets "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: My Best Friend's Wedding [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Julianne and Michael made a pact with each other after their brief one-month fling in college ended on a good note; that if the time should come when they were both 28 and unmarried, they would get together and tie the knot.

Several years later, and a 28 year old Julianne recieves that all important phone call from Michael saying he has to speak to her about something important. Having always still had a flame for the guy she's been holding as her best friend for all these years, Julianne is hopeful that Michael is about to propose to her as part of their pact, but instead announces that he's about to get married after a crazy whirlwind romance.

Julianne goes out to meet Michael and his fiancee, a sweet and genuine college student named Kimmy who is head over heels for Michael and takes an instant shine to Julianne and appoints her as maid of honor within three minutes of meeting.

Desperate to win back the love of the man she once gave up when she wasn't ready for real love, Julianne must now calculate and devise a devious plan to break the soon-to-be newly weds before they tie the knot.

Julia Roberts does her usual outstanding job of being the heroine while managing to stay likeable yet at the same time, completely dislikable for what her character does during the course of the movie. Rupert Everett stars as Julianne's other best friend, and editor, and flawlessly gives an awesome comedic performance despite falling into the stereotypical gay friend role. Dermott Mulrooney appears in this very fresh faced and genuine, but his performance was lacking something, somewhat (emotion, maybe?).

All in all, a decent romantic comedy though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Under-rated Modern Day Classic, 4 Dec. 2003
This review is from: My Best Friend's Wedding [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
How romantic was that!! I suppose the question should be how silly is Michael (Mulroney) to even think about leaving our Jules on the shelf?!!!
I firmly believe that, whilst this film received reasonable recognition when it was released, it didn't receive anywhere near the accolades it warranted. It was quite simply the best romantic comedy of the nineties - bar none.
The film has every comedic element in spades - refreshingly different premise, lovely likeable characters, great script, and two of the most endearing actresses in Hollywood. It throws one back to the screwball romantic comedies of the Howard Hawks/Billy Wilder era - and more than holds its own in that company.
There are so many truly hilarious moments in the film and the actors display a superb comedy touch throughout. Mulroney is occasionally a bit wet, but Julia, Cameron and Rupert are simply outstanding all the way through.
The romantic moments really pull on the heart strings - I was unfortunate enough to watch this film with a bunch of chick-flick haters, but that didn't stop each and everyone of us screaming at the screen for Julia to tell Dermot that she loved him during the ferry scene.
I won't give anything away about the ending but it was certainly refresing.
In summary: one of most under-rated films of the nineties. Every component of the film is flawless - Julia Roberts showing why she is the Queen of Hollywood, superb supporting cast, great comedy, great romance - great romantic comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the film to watch, 2 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
julia roberts is the queen of chick flicks and this film is no exception. If your having a day where all you want to do is put ya feet up and have a good giggle with the girls or even if you are in a sentimental mood and need a good romantic comedy this film has all the right ingrediants: A women hopeless at love, falling in love with her best friend ( on his wedding week) and being rescued by her larger than life openly gay friend.
it is an hilarous film with many fantastic scenes with side splitting comedy. the actors have all develeloped thier characters to a wonderfall level making you fall in love with them all, a partically good perfomance from careron diaz ( kimmy).
no matter your mood this is an excellent, simple film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Friendship or Marriage?, 16 Feb. 2014
This review is from: My Best Friend's Wedding [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I find very few rom-coms particularly funny and I don't find this one funny, apart from Rupert Everett. He's there to cover up what would otherwise be quite a depressing film. Some of course will call it bitter sweet but for me it's a bit depressing in its values.

Julienne (Julia Roberts) gets a call from her best friend Michael (Dermot Mulroney). She assumes that he's there to fulfil their old promise- if neither was married before they were 28, they would marry each other. However he actually reveals that he's met a pretty perfect little blonde, Kimmy (Cameron Diaz), and is going to marry her. Oh, by the way, they want Julienne to be the maid of honour. Jules realises that she's in love with Michael and goes along to sabotage the marriage.

The idea of Julienne being best friends with an ex from 9 years ago is a bit odd, particularly as he'd been very much in love with her and she'd been stand-offish, but I'll go with it. The problem with the film is not that it isn't completely in the right for portraying Jules as borderline psychotically jealous; there's nothing worse than losing a best friend and having to accept that you're not the woman in their life any more. The problem is the character of Kimmy. She is sweet and perfect and unlike Jules, has an old-fashioned starry-eyed view of romance, where one can have a whirlwind marriage and must give up their life and ambitions all for the sake of love. One could argue that there are some people who are genuinely lovely and sweet and that Kimmy is right in her willingness to accept all of Michael's flaws. However I think they could have made her character less irritating.

It's not clear whether the director is trying to defy the cliches of Hollywood or staunchly reinforcing them. In some ways it's very sexist- you have the shrew and the perfect wifey. The ending may be off-beat but there's an underlying misogyny. You can never be quite sure what the values of the film really are. Still, it's worth a watch because Rupert Everett is quite delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern sophisticated 'Me Tarzan, you Jane' tale., 3 Aug. 2013
By 
Robert Park (Kirriemuir, Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Best Friend's Wedding [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
To those who have seen this DVD it may be recalled that in the first scene it is established that Julianne's editor, George, is gay which is said in a flippant superficial conversation and this metaphor is repeated on four occasions throughout the film. The next of those scenes is in the taxi after the Groom has a fitting for his suit, but, two points come across; one is that being gay is a misconception while the other is that he, George, enjoys acting as gay; it is a ploy to hide his love for Julianne. Those are plants set to fully comprehend the theme of the story and its final resolution.

The third scene is at dinner with the Bride's family and friends where the Bride relates the tales she heard from the Groom about the past behaviour of Julianne which is clearly fiction. At this juncture George tells the tale of how he and Julianne met which seems to reveal that he is gay but this too is obviously fiction and another ploy to mislead as he is astutely playing the game of hiding his love for Julianne but is also protecting her from further embarrassment. In the final scene when George approaches Julianne on the dance floor, he continues this act by saying, '...and although you quite correctly sense that he is gay (referring to the cameo part being played as a gay) you think, "What the hell?" Life goes on. Maybe there won't be marriage. Maybe there won't be sex (at this point he grimaces) but, by god, there will be dancing!'

The film is not about a love triangle but about a man's love for a woman and how he succeeds at winning her. George is in love with Julianne but recognises her infatuation for her long-term male friend. He recognises that he has to be patient so plays with her at her game anticipating hopefully the final outcome; this is why he takes a plane and flies quite a distance even though he does not like flying. He wants to be by her side when she is in difficulty and it will be noticed that he was always there. He cares deeply about her and so too do the Bride and Groom towards each other. George's and Julianne's attraction for each other in the final scene is that of a heterosexual couple.

While this is an enjoyable romantic comedy that expresses affection and love yet also highlights the caring aspect of all good relationships; it is a modern sophisticated 'Me Tarzan, you Jane' story well acted by all involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Your Typical Romantic Comedy, 12 Aug. 2012
By 
J. Baltazar (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The blu-ray transfer was great and I enjoyed watching the film over again. The first time I saw this movie was on a test screening and the opening credits were not even completed. The audience was asked to complete a form explaining things they didn't like about the film. It was interesting to see the differences in the final cut. The original cut was good overall, but there were things that didn't work like the end credits where the catering staff at the wedding were singing "Say A Little Prayer" again. The original ending also had John Corbett meeting Julia Roberts, but you were hoping for someone better like a more famous actor in a cameo. But the decision to bring back George, the best friend, worked better because they played off of each other really well and you knew that Julianne would be OK even after the heartbreak. This is a different romantic comedy because the female lead didn't get the guy and she was kind of a villainess for trying to break up her best friend and his fiancee. The challenge was how to make her likeable and how do you sell the idea of the lead not getting the guy in the end? The movie worked because the cast was great...Julia's chemistry with Rupert Everett made us almost forget her "evil plots". Her character was not mean; just desperate to make Michael choose her. Cameron was not a suffering victim either. She clearly showed why Michael fell for her and her confrontation with Julianne at the train station restroom (this scene was added for the final cut BTW) gave her the opportunity to defend her relationship with Michael and to make up with Julianne. Overall an enjoyable film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Best Friend's Wedding [DVD] [2002]
My Best Friend's Wedding [DVD] [2002] by P.J. Hogan (DVD - 2002)
£2.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews