Customer Reviews


270 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, Emotion, Love, Adventure, Hatred, Revenge
I bought this for Christmas this year and, honestly, I wasn't anticipating much (the only reason I bought it was due to all of its amazing reviews).

But...wow...this game (in my opinion) the greatest game to ever be inserted into my PS2. The graphics on the cutscenes are amazing, although the minor characters in the game do still look a little pathetic compared...
Published on 16 Jan. 2007 by A. Russ

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So torn
Years ago, I tried a few of the older FF games, and didn't like them at all. I didn't like the battle style, but I was more into platforms so I never really gave RPG's a chance. Then someone got me into FFXI, and I'm still playing that 5 years later. Since I'd developed a massive fondness for it, and then got into the music in a big way, I decided to give the older ones...
Published on 14 Dec. 2011 by Me


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, Emotion, Love, Adventure, Hatred, Revenge, 16 Jan. 2007
By 
A. Russ "RKO" (Chesterfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
I bought this for Christmas this year and, honestly, I wasn't anticipating much (the only reason I bought it was due to all of its amazing reviews).

But...wow...this game (in my opinion) the greatest game to ever be inserted into my PS2. The graphics on the cutscenes are amazing, although the minor characters in the game do still look a little pathetic compared to today's standards.

The storyline is what has made me love this game. That and Auron (play the game to find out who that is, but to me he's one the two greatest characters in gaming history). It twists, confuses, and mostly grips you so you keep battling all those damn demons/ monsters if just to find out more.

The music is magic, and relaxes you until you fight a boss where you just wanna destroy it!

Anyway, I'm near to finishing it now, but when I do it's gonna be a sad day as the greatest game in the world will now be completed. :( (But I get to continue the story with FFX-2 though).

But if you like RPGs, or if you are just looking for a cheap game to buy, the buy this game! It's emotional, it's got adventure, it's got love (not much though so don't worry), and it's got some of the greatest characters in video gaming history!

It's at least 60/70 hours long, it keeps you gripped, and its the best RPG since FF7!

BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Story Ever told!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 18 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Final Fantasy X (PS2) (Video Game)
FFX was the first final fantasy game that i had ever played. i had heard the reports that the series was a work of masterpiece but i had never been bothered with rpgs before. THIS GAME ROCKS! The characters, the story, the music (of which there is a four disc set - recommended)everything about this game is amazing! I love it. I have never gotten so emotionally caught up in a game before and felt so close to the characters. You will actually care about them and about their fates. Buy this game NOW! This is for me, the best game i have EVER played! It even beats (though only just)FFVII! The best game EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone's Got A Favourite Final Fantasy..., 18 July 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy X (PS2) (Video Game)
... And this is mine.

I've been a Final Fantasy lover since my kid-self learnt to use a controller and this very quickly became one of my favourite ever PS2 games, perhaps a contender my favourite game ever.

This review is a complete breakdown of all the game's features that I can think of right now and how it might affect your enjoyment of it whether you're new to the series or a fan of the past. So in short: One of the few things Square Enix did right with the series since the Squaresoft merge, it's a beautiful, interesting, uncomplicated story in a brilliant fantasy world with gameplay right at the Final Fantasy roots and endgame monsters to boot. There's love, there's tragedy, there's humour, there's drama, there's an evil guy with rock-hold hairspray. It's got it all.

True enough, sometimes you want to punch Tidus in the face for being so annoying and whiney but by the end your views probably will have changed as you move through the story with him, experiencing all he does. So many twists and turns in the plot with subjects relating directly to the modern world of religion and corrupt government, it's a fascinating, gripping story. You won't get bored with it, that's a promise.

The gameplay is the last of the true turn-based battle system that was one of the defining features of the Final Fantasy series. Even the movement from area to area is gonna remind you of the classic FF9 and backwards. You play almost completely with Tidus (or, like with previous FF's, you can rename him) but your party contains seven people, all with unique attacks and abilities as well as unique personalities. During a fight you can switch characters in and out, however, unlike the newer FF's, when a member is out of fighting trio and doesn't get a hit on the monster then they won't get exp, which is annoying. Another annoying thing is the Cloister of Trials in each temple. ALWAYS have a guide handy for those, ESPECIALLY if you want to get Anima the secret aeon near the end.

If you're a completionist, you're going to be a long time doing it. You have enough endgame to last you a lifetime. You've got an airship to travel the globe, Dark Aeons in this EU version, Celestial (ultimate character) weapons, the Al Bhed primers, secret aeons for Yuna, the Monster Arena and ridiculously hard monsters in it, plus more. One of my saves has a playtime of 120 hours and I know I'm nowhere near finishing yet.

The levelling up system is less complicated than it sounds. I'm going to try explaining it anyway... You gain exp in fights, which are used to get sphere levels. The sphere levels allow you to move across nodes on character sphere grids, but you also have to use spheres obtained from monsters and chests through the game to activate the special powers in the node. Geddit? :o
After completing the game the first time you'll get the Advanced Sphere Grid, which unlike the first one, allows you to be much more flexible in what kind of job and ability/stat combination you want your characters to have. My Tidus always ended up being a Paladin...
You can also customise your weapons and armour with abilities from items. With the right items you can give yourself things like break damage limit, triple AP, triple overdrive and evade and counter on your weapons, and things like break HP/MP limit, complete status ailment immunity, "eater" on all spell types, Auto-Phoenix and Auto-Haste on armour. There's even more, the list is too huge. But of course, these items don't come easy, so be prepared to work for it.

Blitzball is yet another happy addition. This game inside a game like most of the FF series has had in one form or another, is interesting to say the least - like if you mixed rugby and water polo together. This definitely could have been improved with a bit of fleshing out beyond being able to scout players for your team in the game world, but it's still a very enjoyable mini-game when you get a little bored of saving the world, and very good plot moments in-game too.

As for the graphics - it's a PS2 game, of course they're not mind-blowing, but they're not anywhere near Pacman either. They are completely fine, the FMVs are very good, the scenery is beautiful and the characters look like characters. If you dearly, dearly love ABSOLUTE realism on your buff PS3 then can't play a single game without it because the slightest flaw makes you cry then this probably isn't the game for you.

Additional improvements on the previous FF's - the first Final Fantasy to feature voice actors playing characters. This includes a few people who have also voiced characters including Wooldoor Sockbat (Tidus) from Drawn Together, Bender (Wakka) from Futurama, Raven (Rikku)from Teen Titans, and even a regular from the old UK Whose Line Is It Anyway? TV show (Cid). Also, the composer, Nobuo Uematsu and his little band of musical geniuses don't let us down either with their beautiful compositions.

The fun rating however is four, as if you want to play comfortably without using ultra tactics on bosses you're going to need to do a bit of grinding levels. But it is quite a feeling when you get to the final battle and your characters are hitting 99999 in auto-haste and it's dead in a grand total of nine seconds. :D

I would also advise (like with all other FF games) on getting the official game guide with this if you want that magical 100%.

I hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars **** Very Surprising ****, 31 Dec. 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
I decided to ask for this PS2 game for Christmas because I had often heard mentions of the 'Final Fantasy' series and how fun they are to play and the fact that two of my friends recommended it to me.

Bearing in mind that I'd never played a 'Final Fantasy' in my life, I loved it. You can see that the creators and producers etc have taken care and effort into every aspect of the game, for example the battle system and the looks of the characters.

All I can say is that if you want a lengthy game to amuse yourself with for a while and you like Role-Playing Games purchase 'Final Fantasy X'. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its Great!, 18 May 2002
By 
This review is from: Final Fantasy X (PS2) (Video Game)
I Managed To play it by borrowing the game from my friend who got the american version, and its soo much fun, the graphics are amazing, the FMV look so realy squaresoft excel themselves, its easier to raise ur charectors than before,instead of gaining exp points like the previous versions u now have a sphere grid, in which you can customise your charectors, at first it looks complicated..but pretty much soon you will get the hang of it. u can also summon Gf, now called Aeons (Ifit is back, and 2 new ones Ixion and Valefor) your fist Aeon is valefor(Yuna Summons Them).
There are also new charectors such as the misterious Swordsman Auron, the beast Kimahri, Spell Weilding Lulu, The Thief Rikku and of course the main man tidus as well as summoner Yuna.
The Combat side is pretty much easy if you know your monsters, as a bonus, targeting monsters with there weakness gives u a "overkill", which gives u more Ap.
Apart from That weird blitzball side game everything elses is just the best, the charectors even talk unlike before. with breathtaking graphics, an unfolding plot and wonderus gameplay this is a must have for all FF fans like myself.(to be honest i still havent completed it yet!.)
Good
-Hugely Epic (Compelling At times)
-Amazing Graphics
-Easy To Use Controls
-music Is Fitting at times
Bad
-It's sometimes quit frustrating
-Um Blitzball....
-The plot drags a little
looks 9/10
Gameplay 8/10
Sound 7/10
Longativity 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 11 Mar. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This was admitedly the first FF game i played. I borrowed it off a mate who said it was amazing. And oh wow was he right. I spent hours upon hours playing this game, the story line gets you completly hooked as you start off not knowing what the hell is going on and you just want to find out. One great thing about this game is the charecters especially Auron who is amazing, he's dark and mysterious and he has the atmosphere of someone evil but i'll let you play to find out about him. Then theres the focus of the game, Tidus he starts off being this annoying cocky kid but you learn so much abou him on his travels and become so attached to him. Then you've got the others...these arent as good theyre story isn't as in depth as aurons and Tidus' and you know everything about them very early on.

Now to the Cut Scenes....WOW I mean there is gran turismo 4 and then there is the cut scenes .... epic just doesnt cut it.(excuse the pun^^)

The one flaw I find with this game is the random battles.....how tiresome. You dread the next pointless battle which will take 5 minutes and offer you no challenge.

Besides that a 5 star game I just brought XII and hope it wastes as much hours of my life as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still brilliant, even after ten installments, 2 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Final Fantasy X (PS2) (Video Game)
I don't know how Square does it, but the entire Final Fantasy series has been great fun to play, and it continues to grasp the imagination with the deep storylines.
I was unsure how the voices for the characters would turn out at first, but in the end, it was of good quality.
The new method of character enhancement is also unique and well crafted, as well as the abilities of each character.
The quality of the graphics will also astonish you, as the in-game and FMV graphics is so well produced.
The music is also still at its best, with tunes and sounds fitting every situation and location.
The only slight let down is the lack of a PAL screen display. i.e. there are borders around the screen. This isn't a great problem, as you get used to it after about 10 mins of play.
The bonus CD is also an interesting watch.
If you like the recent Final Fantasies, then you'll love this.
Another AAA title for the PS2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars epic, 28 Jan. 2007
By 
Hedon (Eternal Night) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Being a big rpg fan i was really looking forward to getting this, an initially i was quite dissapointed. the game really takes a while to get moving and is very linear up untill the final stages. Also, you spend most of the first few hours watching cutscenes rather then playing, which can be frustrating. but i stuck with it and discovered that FFX really does live up to the hype and is a fantastic role playing game which has stood the test of time

The graphics are, as expected, awesome. The developers really went to town by incorporating asian, indian and pacific island styles into the game to give it a very unique and interesting look. great affects and monsters too

the music is on a par, ranging from ochestral themes to soft piano pieces as well as some electronic stuff. really gives the game an epic feel and picks up on the emotion of the story

Great battle engine. FFX does away with the time gauges and instead goes for a more turn based combat. however, this doesn't meran its boring. you have to be very tactical and use careful timing to get anywhere. the enemies also require you to use specific tactics and abilities rather then simly mashing the attack command. Throw in your Aeons (huge monsters that aid you) and the ability to switch characters in at any time and you've got a really deep, enjoyable system. just wait for the boss battles

There's a few other neat innovations, like the sphere grid. instead of leveling up automatically, you gain AP points and use them to by new stats and abilities. this gives you a great degree of flexibility and customisation in shaping your characters, almost like a pc rpg

its not perfect though. like i said it is very linear. I also fet this was alot shorter then the previous FFX games, but it still took me around 40 hours to get through. The camera can also be a bit frustrating to use, although there's an optional map

But the real star of the show, the thing that makes it all worth while is the EXCELLENT, CAPTIVATING story line which really sucks you in. there;s plenty of twists and turns, and we learn more about each characters past as the story moves on. there's alot of character development and i really felt myself getting quite attached to them.

and i don't wanna spoil it, but what an ending

All in all its slow to start out but delivers in the end. this isn't the best rpg ever, but i'd say its probably in the top ten and probably the best on the ps2

you can get it cheap now so if you haven't already then go for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Fantastic, 18 Aug. 2005
By 
Mrs. J. Pitcher (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Reading the 1-star reviews I would like to point out one thing: THIS IS AN RPG. An RPG is a role-playing game, in other words, it is telling a story. You cannot tell a story without a lot of dialogue and cut-scenes. There. I've now got that off my chest.;)To start off this review, here are the bad things on FFX:
...sometimes the random battles are a bit too frequent.
...admittedly, the section in Baaj Temple with the Al Bhed can get a bit tiring after a while.
...that's it. Seriously. Apart from those two minor little quirks, this is worthy of at least a 99% mark, if not 100%. It really is that good.
the story: a young Blitzball (underwater football) superstar named Tidus lives a very easy life in his home of Zanarkand, until one day a huge monster called Sin attacks. with the help of Auron, Tidus is sucked through Sin and finds himself dumped on a desolate land. he is found by people called Al Bhed, but before long, Sin again appears and washes him up on the isle of Besaid. he learns that Zanarkand was destroyed a thousand years ago and the people live in fear of Sin. tidus learns of a summoner called Yuna, who has begun a quest to obtain the Final Aeon and defeat Sin. Believing if he finds Sin again he can go home, Tidus journeys with Yuna and her guardians.
from then on, all you can really do is just be completely blown away by how good this game is. for instance, the storyline is very easy to go along with, with many little side-adventures and quests. the new battle system, different from the others, is brilliant, allowing you to make your best moves without wasting time scrolling through a long list of attacks while the enemies maul you. as always, the music is a joy to hear and lives up to FF's reputation of a good music score. but where the brilliance lies is in the graphics. the best bits are so good that it is like watching real-life people, and the in-game graphics are immense, with beautiful scenery and many in-game characters to interact with.
the thing that separates this FF from the others is the amazing depth it goes. the Sphere Grid levelling system is pure genius, allowing you to delete things, add things or completely rebuild the Grid (once you're very far in); there are tons of sidequests and Secrets to keep you going for hours on end. i have played my best game for over 150 hours and i still haven't finished it completely.
Overall, this is a mind-blowing game. Buy it and see for yourself. If you don't, then you really are missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly spot on..., 18 Feb. 2004
By 
Adam (Gilmorton, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Final Fantasy X (PS2) (Video Game)
Though the Final fantasy series seems never-ending, you will once again find yourself entirely absorbed in a rich and ridicuosly large environment asking you to forgo work and sleep for more escapism.
But what's different about Final Fantasy X? First off, the graphics are far richer than the FF games befoe it, showing the difference between PS and PS2, soundtrack is also enjoyable to play along to though doesn't have quite the catchiness of its predecessos.The characters have also been given more substance than in VII and IX making the game more involving.
The magic system has changed once again, and is now controlled by the 'sphere grid'. What does this mean? Headaches mostly and one of the slight drawbacks of the game. A choice is given of beginner or advanced grid systems, but be warned that some magics are missing from the beginner grid. The upshot is that IF you spend the time each of your 7 characters can become equally good at fighting and magic, and you have unique freedom over what kind of attributes your character will have. This grid system also means that your characters no longer advance in levels...they advance on the grid.
The major drawback of FFX is that those of you who want to attain every item, aeon and ability in the game will most likely find disappointment. FFX just asks for to much time, patience and repetitveness from even the most hardened gamer. This leaves the game feeling somewhat incomplete, reminiscent of FFVIII's irritating synthesis rare item hunt.
The storyline is absorbing, unique and is definately stronger than FF VIII, and probably beats IX but still doesn't macth VII's truly involving plot. The start of the game is particularly enjoyable with beautiful FMV's.
It is most likely that you will devote a huge period of time to this thoroughly excellent game, but only once...you will most likely find yourself not being able to begin the game again.
Nevertheless, rest assured the upsides to FFX will leave you happy with your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Fantasy X (PS2)
Final Fantasy X (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
£10.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews