Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable value, 17 April 2002
By 
P. Bryant (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1927 - 1934 (Audio CD)
This is one of those stunning bargains which leaves you with gaping jaws and a big smile, if that's possible. For the price of ONE cd you get FIVE instead, all packed with 70 plus minutes of Carter Family gems, all in chronological order, and with fabulous sound quality which is BETTER than the American Rounder releases (They each cost 15 per single cd, and each cd has about 45 minutes of music - I know, I bought some of them!). Can this really all be true? YES! It's true. The only thing you don't get in this dirt cheap box set is decent sleeve notes, but I'm not going to complain!
As for the actual music, it's unmissable early country music sung and played by Sara and Maybelle Carter with the help of A P Carter, husband of Sara. It has a deep magic about it - try a few if you never heard them, they'll hypnotise you. The harmonies are splendid, the guitars are luminous, it's pure like a mountain stream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good As Volume 1, 28 Feb 2003
By 
D. Knight "David Knight" (The Shadow Of St Albans Abbey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this today - I have just listened to it and it is every bit as essential as the 1st JSP volume of the Carter Family. Having listened to this, Vol 1, Louis Armstrong JSP Set, Jimmie Rodgers JSP Box set, Louis Jordans JSP box etc etc - the sound quality that JSP achieve is truly without equal (& I have & have listened to the exactly the same tracks on other labels). The value for money combined with the sterling sound that JSP offer on all their boxes just makes this set another one I couldnt live without !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The heartbeat of American song, 18 Feb 2004
This review is from: 1927 - 1934 (Audio CD)
In the grand scheme of things, The Carter Family remain cruelly overlooked. Maybelle's unique guitar style of picking the bass strings and strumming the higher notes pretty much invented bluegrass, but where did bluegrass end up? So while the Carters' contemporaries in Delta blues, gospel and even more conventional country music (Jimmie Rodgers) are idolised by modern musicians of many genres, the Carter Family's legacy remains firmly rooted in country and bluegrass music.
A shame really, as the original Carter Faimly trio is the touchstone of modern American song. At a time during the Depression where the demand for recording artists was restricted, The Carters used their phenomenal popularity to record and copyright over 300 songs from blues, gospel and folk traditions. Often learnt by ear on "song catching" missions throughout the South, the Carter Family adapted their inimitable combination of driving rhythm guitar, distinctive vocals and spiritual harmonies to songs that would ultimately have died, cementing them forever on record to be loved and used by future generations, and not just in the Carters' limited locality.
Woody Guthrie would take wholesale from the Carter Family songbook in much the same way Bob Dylan would use his. The influence of Dylan, of course, is incalculable and so therefore is that of the Carter Family. Without these recordings the modern world would sound an altogether different place.
Yeah, so what? All well and good for the pop historian, but why should you want to actually listen to this stuff? Frankly, this is as pure as it gets. I defy anyone not to feel the old goose bumps as Sara's imperfect, deeply soulful lead vocal is joined by the band's harmonies on such gems as Worried Man Blues and I Ain't Going To Work Tomorrow. This music is filled with life like so little else. Here are songs of birth, death, murder, marriage, childhood, illness, love, hate, sorrow, the faithful and the cheating. More than this, the songs generate a most profound pathos; they quickly crawl under your skin and stay with you forever. This stuff may be 75 years old, but it remains largely without date or postmark - you will find yourself humming these songs at work, muttering these words over spilt whisky following a break up, falling in love again to these recordings. These sides are as relevant now as they ever were and speak to every listener in a personal and private and special way.
Even better, JSP records are simply the premier American roots reissue label in the world. As with equally essential collections of Memphis Minnie, Charley Patton, Jimmie Rodgers and others these recordings represent the best available quality (to be fair, given their relative popularity the Carters' material must have been considerably easier to remaster than, say, Charley Patton's output - and it shows in the fabulous sound quality of this set) at outstanding value.
This is very much the root of modern American song, and close to the root you'll find the heart. Life-changing in every sense, and at this price I'm afraid you only have one option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the beginning of rock and roll, 29 Aug 2008
By 
P. J. Wear "cd pete" (Norfolk uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1927 - 1934 (Audio CD)
anybody who enjoys the songs of dylan,springsteen or johnny cash needs to buy this box of cds.these are some of the songs that the artists above and many more like them first heard via bob wills,hank williams woody guthrie and leadbelly and many more.
the carter family were the pioneers of country music along with jimmie rodgers(featured on this set).recording was still in it,s early days,but look at their volume of work,126 songs featured on these cds with still more to follow.an output greater than the beatles.
if you have seen the johnny cash biopic"walk the line" then you will already know some songs featured here,especially wildwood flower performed by reese witherspoon(june carter,maybelles daughter,married johnny cash).
once you have bought this 1927-1934 you must buy 1935-1941 and also "early country radio" both featuring the carters and both on jsp records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second half of their career, 30 Aug 2011
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This compilation contains 130 of the songs that the Carter family (A P Carter, his wife Sara and Sara's cousin Maybelle, the wife of A P's brother Ezra, himself not a member of the group) recorded for Victor between 1927 and 1934. It does not contain everything, for which you would require the Bear Family 12-CD boxed set In the shadow of Clinch mountain. I compared the Bear Family track listing and identified the omissions, confirming that this set and the first set Carter Family 1927-1934 don't omit much and between them include everything that I need.

This set includes re-recordings of many of their classic songs that can be found on the first set, but also contains a few classics not featured in the earlier set, including Can the circle be unbroken? (now better known as Will the circle be unbroken?), My Dixie darling (later revived brilliantly by Carlene Carter, granddaughter of Maybelle), Hello stranger, My home's across the blue ridge mountains and You are my flower. The re-recordings are interesting because some of them are clearly different from the earlier versions. They are often smoother, which doesn't necessarily mean better, but in any case everything is relative. They still sound quite raw compared to a lot of recorded music, albeit less so than the originals to be found in the first box.

Another notable cover featured in this box is Are you lonesome tonight?, first recorded in 1927 by Vaughn DeLeath, one of the most popular female singers of the twenties, who had an American top five hit with it. Comparatively few covers of this excellent song were recorded prior to 1961. The credits in the track listing of this compilation list A P as the songwriter, but he definitely didn't write this one. The booklet notes acknowledge Lou Hardman and Roy Turk as the writers and these are names you'll find elsewhere, including on Elvis Presley`s recording. The writer of the notes in this compilation clearly didn't know the song's history when he wrote the notes. I guess he had thought Elvis was the original artist (as I once did) prior to hearing the Carter family version, as he didn't mention Vaughn DeLeath's version, which I knew about long before I knew about the version here, but he did notice the discrepancy in songwriting credits. The version here is very different from the other two and while I enjoy it, this is one song where I prefer the pop versions.

There is, of course, much more to the Carter family's music than the famous songs and there are plenty of other songs to keep listeners interested. There are plenty of great but lesser known songs here, as there are in the first set, covering love songs, gospel songs and story songs on a variety of subjects.

Both this set and its companion are excellent, and for those who can't afford (or who can afford but can't justify the price of) In the shadow of Clinch mountain, this box and its prequel Carter Family 1927-1934 between them offer excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first half of their career, 30 Aug 2011
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1927 - 1934 (Audio CD)
This compilation contains 126 of the songs that the Carter family (A P Carter, his wife Sara and Sara's cousin Maybelle, the wife of A P's brother Ezra, himself not a member of the group) recorded for Victor between 1927 and 1934. It does not contain everything, for which you would require the Bear Family 12-CD boxed set In the shadow of Clinch mountain. I compared the Bear Family track listing and identified the omissions, confirming that this set and its sequel Carter Family 1935-1941 don't omit much and between them include everything that I need.

An omission that is mentioned in the JSP notes, but not included in the Bear Family box either, is their Victor recording of Can the circle be unbroken? Victor didn't release their recording of the song at the time, and its absence from the Bear Family box may mean that it is has been lost forever. The Carter family later re-recorded that song for another label. which released the song. That recording therefore became the official version. You can find it on the sequel to this compilation.

The Carter family recorded many excellent songs throughout their recording career, but the majority of the recordings for which they are best remembered come from the period covered by this set. Many of the songs are a lot older, being traditional folk songs from a variety of sources. A P Carter found some of them on collecting trips that he made with an African-American musician named Lesley Riddle, who also found other songs that he gave to A P.. Between them, they would have been able to find suitable songs from all the communities in the region, adding to the diversity of the material. A P Carter nearly always claimed the songwriting credits, sometimes including songs that others had recorded and copyrighted. It appears that he wrote a few himself, but it's not easy to say which ones so I won`t try.

Everything here appears to be in chronological order. The first CD with the oldest recordings is particularly strong, including as it does Little darling pal of mine , Keep on the sunny side, Wildwood flower, My Clinch mountain home and I'm thinking tonight of my blue eyes among others. The tracks on this CD, together with the first five tracks on the second CD (which include Foggy mountain top) were recorded prior to the Wall Street crash of 1929 and the subsequent depression that certainly affected record sales even if it didn't affect their style of music. Along with Foggy mountain top, the most famous tracks on the second CD are Wabash cannonball, Jimmy Brown the newsboy and Worried man blues. The famous songs on the remainder of the set are more thinly spread, but include Lonesome valley, I never will marry (incorrectly listed here as I will never marry, and later covered by Linda Ronstadt for her Simple drams album, where the song is correctly titled, with Dolly Parton harmonizing) and Gold watch and chain. Nevertheless, the quality of the music remains high.

Later Carter family classics including Can the circle be unbroken?, My Dixie darling, Hello stranger, My home's across the blue ridge mountains and You are my flower are available on the sequel Carter Family 1935-1941.

While this set contains the majority of the original recordings of the songs that the Carter family are most famous for, don't assume that this set is any better than the sequel. Both are excellent, and for those who can't afford (or who can afford but can't justify the price of) In the shadow of Clinch mountain, this box and its sequel between them offer excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars depression years, 29 Aug 2008
By 
P. J. Wear "cd pete" (Norfolk uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
129 tracks,6 hours 20 minutes of brilliant remastered carter family 78s.
i think the sound quality on this boxset is better than on 1927-35.i,ve just finished listening to this set,the delivery is much the same but these songs are originals but you can hear alot of these tunes in mr dylans early work.theres a couple of reworking of old songs,wildwood flower for one.
finding the time to listen to these songs is the only bad bit although a sunday morning with a good book is ideal.
if you enjoy music that is 70 years old but never heard on the radio this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm glad there was the chance to retrieve what I had lost, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1927 - 1934 (Audio CD)
I have always deemed Carter Family my favourite folk music/singers of all time.
I'd recommend this to anyone who likes folk music.
When these CDs stopped being available in the shops,and were no longer in print,I was ready to search on-line for anyone able to sell these very CDs to me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The sort of music you never get tired of., 26 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic music. Strong Christian theme. Brilliant harmonising. Generally, great American country music from way back in the 1930s. If you like traditional country & western/ blue grass music, the Carter Family are unequalled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful stuff, 12 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. P. Dean (ripon uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1927 - 1934 (Audio CD)
you can see from this disc where most of those who followed got there idea's from
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1927 - 1934
1927 - 1934 by Carter Family (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews