Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars184
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 20 April 2008
Harrison Ford is Dr Richard Kimble, a specialist at a Chicago hospital. He's out having fun with his wife when he gets a call to do some emergency surgery - so he leaves his wife to go home, as he goes off to help. What he doesn't know is that while he's doing important surgery, some crazed man is killing his wife, and he's squarely put in the frame for her murder, and even sent down for it. Kimble has to prove his innocence - and evade the obsessive Marshal Samuel Gerard (Tommy Lee Jones), who doesn't want to let it slide - he wants Richard, preferably alive.

I really enjoyed The Fugitive, every time you think it can't get better, it does. The action is great and Harrison Ford is very convincing. I also liked the way he kept investigating the case even though he knew the US Marshals were after him.

The HD transfer isn't bad, but not as good as I've seen so far, yet, the MPEG2 running at a steady 20Mbps average is pretty good. The audio is a bit flakey, 448kbps. The picture is full frame 16:9, so you won't be having to peer through a letterbox to watch the action.

The extras are not bad; an introduction, audio commentary which includes Harrison Ford, 2 featurettes and a rather poorly encoded theatrical trailer.

This isn't a bad transfer picture wise, but the audio could have been much better - still if you're an avid Fugitive fan you'll want this, otherwise the DVD is just as good.
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
-

I'm sure many will know lots about this fantastic action flick.

*** BUT what you might not know is that you don't have to accept the rather shoddy treatment it got on the initial-issue Blu-ray which is STILL sold in the UK.

It has been re-issued as a '20th Anniversary Edition' with improved AVC MPEG-4 video encoding, a thumping DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 soundtrack and additional extras.

It is an ALL-Region Blu-ray which although only released in the USA can be bought quite-readily on Amazon; here's the link to it on Amazon :

Fugitive: 20th Anniversary [Blu-ray] [1993] [US Import]

I've also attached a photo of the disc box outer so you can see it in all it's glory !

The additional extras are :

1. The Fugitive: Thrill of the Chase" documentary [HD] (28:21)
2. "The Fugitive" 2000 TV pilot [HD] (45:28)

It also has a wider range of subtitles/language soundtrack options :

English SDH, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian SDH, Croatian, Czech, Greek, Hungarian, Korean, Mandarin (Simplified), Polish, Russian, Thai, and Turkish

English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
Spanish Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround
Italian Dolby Digital 5.1
Portuguese Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround
Czech Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround
Hungarian Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround
Polish Dolby Digital 5.1
Russian Dolby Digital 5.1
Thai Dolby Digital 5.1

So, wait no more - get that newer Blu-ray to enjoy this movie at it's best and in all likelihood cheaper than the crummy UK Blu-ray !
review image
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2010
Just wanted to make the quick point that this film is an excellent action film (4 stars) but there's not really any point in getting it on Blu-ray as the picture quality is not much better than DVD. I assume this is due the quality of the film prints they had to work with the film being a bit older.

Edit: We have a much better HD TV now and whilst you can see more detail (e.g. skin imperfections if really look) the overall quality doesn't have the Lushness and clarity you'd expect from HD. Now it's possible that orginally film was shot like that (deliberate and a nod to the old TV show or just not great quality?) but for me didn't look too much better than DVD quality. If you love this film then probably get the blu ray but if its a more casual buy I'd consider the DVD.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
VIDEO:

The Fugitive (20th Anniversary Edition) escapes onto blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. Compared with the completely flawed 2008 BD-25 MPEG-2 (bit-rate at 20.96 Mbps) blu ray release, this new 20th Anniversary Edition is a major step up, and justly placed on a BD-50 disc (with bit-rate 25.29 Mpbs). First of all, there was no distracting use of DNR and edge enhancement, with a natural layer of grain present. The detail is impressive, both in the many closeups of Ford and Jones, and in larger crowd scenes, such as the chaotic chase in the lobby of the Daley Center and the St. Patrick's Day parade. The debris that once littered the film is now absent. All specs and lines caused by dirt and fibres have been removed. The jutter from the 2006 Blu-ray is also missing, with edges of objects now appearing natural and normal. The black levels, which crushed incessantly before, are now deep and rich. This transfer, while not demo-worthy, is vast improvement over its 2006 blu ray counterpart. (4/5)

AUDIO:

Just as the video encoding was upgraded for the 20th Anniversary Edition, so was the audio quality. The old blu ray carried a standard 5.1 Dolby Digital track, but now we're blessed to have an impressive 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio track to carry us through the film.

The opening credits kick off this great new remastered track. As title letters spin onto the screen and reveal flashlights in the background, the echoing scored tones proudly ring out through all channels loud and clear. James Newton Howard's score is probably the strongest part about this audio mix. Just like the music, sounds effects are also very well mixed. The roar of the water running through the dam sluices accompanies Gerard's chase of Kimble through the drain tunnels, and the police helicopter that pursues Kimble on the roof of the Hilton in the film's climactic sequence can be heard flying around the room. Dialogue is generally clear. The new "Thrill of the Chase" documentary contains a telling comparison of a scene played with and without the score. (4.5/5)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

What is also so fascinating about watching The Fugitive 20 years after it was made is that it comes from a time before widespread CGI, when heroes were ordinary men in extraordinary circumstances, not the other way around. So many big-budget thrillers these days put their protagonists in such over-the-top jeopardy (swinging from flying helicopters, leaping out of exploding buildings in a single bound, etc.) that they don't seem like flesh-and-blood human beings but superheroes. Watching The Fugitive is still so exciting because for the most part, that's really Ford up there on the screen in physical jeopardy - whether leaping out of the way of a speeding freight train (as you learn in this disc's included supplements) or breathlessly eluding his captors during a crowded St. Patrick's Day parade, this doesn't feel like a comic book - it feels real.

Sharply directed by Andrew Davis and filmed on location in Chicago, everything about The Fugitive works with a clockwork precision. It is one of the last remnants of a now-bygone era - the era of the real-world thriller, one that's exciting and involving and suspenseful not merely because of what the fantastical things its characters do, but who they are. I still have the original VHS tape, plus the 1993 Laser Disc, 2001 DVD and 2006 blu ray disc. Even if you have a repeat dipping history resembling mine (other example being Peter Pan, which I got soundly criticized for by my better half), I still highly recommend picking up this 20th Anniversary Edition. The new 1080p transfer is worlds better than the last edition's and the lossless audio mix is fantastic. All of the original features are included, as are two new Blu-ray exclusive special features. The price is also relatively cheap. This set is a Must-Own.

Finally, as per usual Amazon tradition, reviews of the DVD or the 2006 blu ray are included for this latest version. Please read the date of review carefully before you waste time reading unrelated reviews.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2003
What a classic! I can watch this film whenever I want and I won't get bored.Who can forget the scene where he jumps into the reservoir from the sewers.Richard(Harrison Ford) plays the role prfectly as the fugitive.He is clever, cunning and ruthless, all at once and Samuel Gerrard(Tommy Lee Jones) is just as good if not better as the federal marshall who will never give up on his prey.
No one could have played these two roles as good as these two actors in my view, although Wesley Snipes does quite a good job in U.S. Marshals.The supporting cast is also very strong, which is probably one of the reasons it was such a huge success.
The two villains are ones that you just love to hate, especially Kimbles FRIEND, who you would just love to smack yourself!! which I suppose is another reason why my eyes were glued to the screen.
Anyone who hasn't seen this film, should do, I recommend it very highly and I'm sure you won't be disappointed as it is really for any age.
Great film, great plot, great acting!!!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
More than a decade on, The Fugitive holds up surprisingly well, managing to neatly avoid the usual pitfalls of TV-series-to-movie crossovers by opting to tell a single self-contained story rather than trying to set up a new franchise. Thus Harrison Ford's Richard Kimble doesn't go on the road helping strangers resolve their problems because he's too busy trying to evade capture, prove his innocence and catch his wife's killer, making for an entirely satisfying manhunt thriller that stands on its own merits. Chief among them is Tommy Lee Jones, taking over from a dying Richard Jordan and walking off with the movie as his dogged pursuer, getting all the best lines and effortlessly outshining the film's star.

Although not exactly overloaded with extras - audio commentary by Andrew Davis and Tommy Lee Jones, a couple of featurettes including one on the train wreck, trailer and a bizarre introduction by Andrew Davis, Tommy Lee Jones and Harrison Ford - the special edition is definitely worth picking up over the previous barebones release if you stick to the DVD. The first Blu-ray release, however, is infamously poor and looks no better than the DVD and is best avoided - instead track down the region-free US remastered 20th Anniversary Edition Blu-ray, which includes all the extras from the special edition in standard definition and adds a 2000 pilot and a new half hour documentary in high definition as well as a hugely improved widescreen transfer with by far the best picture quality of the film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2003
The Fugitive is a fantastic thriller, one of the best ever, not succeeding only as a thriller, but also as an action movie and a drama. Harrison Ford stars as Doctor Richard Kimble, a surgeon from Chicago who was falsely accused and convicted of the crime of killing his wife, while avoiding Deputy Marshal Sam Gerard played brilliantly by Tommy Lee Jones and his team who are sent to hunt down the doctor and bring him back to prison. Throughout the movie, Kimble evades the police while trying to track down his wife's real murderer. The script is not outstanding, but the story is elevated by endless suspense, great action scenes, and some intense acting between the two leads. The ending climax is also a fantastic piece of work, filled with suspense and very satisfying. The cinematopgraphy is as naturalistic as possible, creating a sense of realism. The Fugitive is one of the finest in its genre. It holds up brilliantly on repeated viewings and is one of the best action films of the 1990's. Don't miss this film it is a must see.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Dr. Richard Kimble, played by Harrison Ford, is wrongly charged and convicted of murdering his wife, subsequently, he is given the death sentence. On the way to prison, the prison bus crashes, rolling down an embankment, and promptly landing on railway tracks. Shackled, he escapes with another prisoner, determined to prove his innocence, and bring the real killer to justice. The investigation is promptly took over by Samuel Gerard, played by Tommy Lee Jones, who originally charged him with his wife's murder. Then starts the cat and mouse hunt, hunter and hunted.

This blu ray has had some negative reviews, one review calls it 'mostly abysmal'. But, I think that this is unfair. Yes, there are some scenes that have heavy grain/video noise, but these are restricted to a few scenes, and only last seconds. Generally, the picture looks fine. It's not as good as a new film, but remember it's now over 20 years old, and has not been restored like some older films have.

The film has been transferred in it's original aspect ratio of 1.85:1 and the soundtrack is in 5.1.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
This 1993 action thriller with an all star cast about a Doctor wtrongly accused for murdering his wife(Harrison Ford), being sentenced to death and escaping after the prison van crashes in bad weather and lands on a railway track, which a goods train then crashes into and gets derailed(Superbly crafted and photographed)and then pursued by an overzealous US Marshall(Tommy Lee Jones)is quite outstanding.

The cinematography is brilliant, the script is excellent, the acting out of the top drawer and action and tension unrelenting. This is the best thriller i have seen since i don't know when.

You will notice that i have only given it 4 stars instead of 5. This is because the storyline at times is really hard to belief. However, don't let that stop you seeing this outstanding piece of filmaking, it really is great escapism entertainment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
My brother and I ordered a bunch of DVDs for a 13 hour car journey to Switzerland, and highly recommended by him was this film. I admit, I wasn't too keen on the idea at first because I'm one of the many people who judge a book by its cover.
We watched this film on the road, and I can honestly say, I was completely engaged in it.

The few bad reviews on 'The Fugitive' saying that Harrison Ford is a bad actor are a complete load of bull. The storyline is fantastic, one-armed murderer? I never would have come up with that.

Even if you're not so keen on thrillers or action films, I would still recommend this to anyone. And I guarantee, you'll enjoy every minute of it.

5 stars from me :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.