Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kimble On The Run
Harrison Ford is Dr Richard Kimble, a specialist at a Chicago hospital. He's out having fun with his wife when he gets a call to do some emergency surgery - so he leaves his wife to go home, as he goes off to help. What he doesn't know is that while he's doing important surgery, some crazed man is killing his wife, and he's squarely put in the frame for her murder, and...
Published on 20 April 2008 by DL Productions UK

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film But DVD Quality Picture
Just wanted to make the quick point that this film is an excellent action film (4 stars) but there's not really any point in getting it on Blu-ray as the picture quality is not much better than DVD. I assume this is due the quality of the film prints they had to work with the film being a bit older.

Edit: We have a much better HD TV now and whilst you can see...
Published on 26 Nov 2010 by Hagrid's Umbrella


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Very good film we really enjoyed watching this full off action good story line well worth getting to watch again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
i have watched this film quite a few time since purchasing and enjoy it every time.after this reveiw think i will watch it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top film, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brill film . good quality , arrived on time , ive been trying to find this on dvd for ages well pleased now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fugitive, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Watched it at the cinema and have loved watching it again and again. Harrison Ford and Tommoy Lee Jones were absolutely brilliant as far as i was concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Running Out Of Ideas!, 3 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Harrison Ford (born Horris Frump, but changed the name as another actor with this name already existed) plays fugitive Doctor Richmond Winkler.

Winkler is on the run from the law after accidently killing his wife while playing croquet. (Winkler hits his ball so hard, it bounces off a wall and knocks the wife out cold. She doesn't die from this, but it is when Winkler carries her back into the house, he carelessly drops her body into their pond en route, where she swallows a koi carp and duly chokes to death.)

Ford is used to playing men on the run. The little discussed straight to video 'The Man Who Ran At A Leisurely Pace' was a notorious box office flop, thanks largely to the man in question being caught by the law in the first ten minutes of the film. The rest of the film focusing on him filling in legal forms failed to excite audiences.

The Fugitive is a fun film full of twists and turns and breathtaking stunts. There is one scene where Ford jumps onto a fast-moving tram. For me, the best part of the film is where Ford dons all manner of disguises to hide from the law. Dressing up as a woman to attend an all female sycronised swimming class and later pretending to be a lamppost by arching his back carefully, these disguises are executed superbly.

The guy on the tail of the fugitive is wisecracking sheriff Tim Curry, who brings a delicious camp charm to the part. It is such a shame that he is only used in two scenes and has just two lines 'Where are you hiding Richmond?' and 'Oooh there you are!'

What makes this so interesting is that our fugitive is visually impaired and also has a false leg, which means he limps everywhere, frequently crashes into things and makes him stand out like a sore thumb in crowds. Ford plays this with sensitivity and charm.

When the film finished I rushed out to buy all the merchandise, including the two available action figures (The Fugitive figure was fun, but there was less play value with 'Man Who Thinks He Has Seen Fugitive In Shop' figure).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars shocking blu ray transfer of a top notch movie!, 8 Jun 2012
This blu ray is one of the worst transfers that i have seen and i have seen alot of blu rays.The picture quality was terrible and in places it looked like a vhs tape,i have never seen this movie on dvd and so i cannot comment on the dvd quality but,i can only assume that it can't be as bad as this blu ray release and so if you already own the dvd and are looking to upgrade to blu ray,i would advise to not to waste your money and keep your dvd.
The film itself is a top notch thriller and i would have given it 4 stars for the movie but,as a blu ray i have awarded it 2 stars and it was lucky to get that.
I expected more from this blu ray release but it delivered absolutely nothing. Blu ray is supposed to offer mind blowing picture and sound quality but,this failed to offer anything near that kind of quality and i think warner brothers should be ashamed of churning out medocre transfers like this in the future. The future of blu ray discs depend on the highest quality transfers and if major studios like warner cannot deliver what the public wants,then we might as well stick with dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The quality of the DVD is poor. The images are broken at many intervals, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The quality of the DVD is poor. The images are broken at many intervals. Very disappointing. When I played it I wish I could get it replaced, but did not know how to go about it and thought I would not bother. It is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action all the way, 14 Mar 2000
Based on the 1960's television series The Fugitive is about Richard Kimble played by Harrison Ford who is wrongly accused of his wife's murder. He is convicted and on his way to jail the train crashes and he escapes. He tries to prove himself innocent and at the same time is being chased down by Tommy Lee Jones who is hell bent on catching him. Loaded full of great action scenes notably the train crash this film keeps you excited the whole way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good movie - poor transfer, 5 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Fugitive [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
The movie is an engaging thriller and well worth watching but the HD-DVD transfer is very disappointing and doesn't really look any better than a standard dvd. Shame...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD ESCAPISM !, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good remake of the original TV series(accepting they had to cram it into 2 hours)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993]
The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] by Andrew Davis (DVD - 2002)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews