Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kimble On The Run
Harrison Ford is Dr Richard Kimble, a specialist at a Chicago hospital. He's out having fun with his wife when he gets a call to do some emergency surgery - so he leaves his wife to go home, as he goes off to help. What he doesn't know is that while he's doing important surgery, some crazed man is killing his wife, and he's squarely put in the frame for her murder, and...
Published on 20 April 2008 by DL Productions UK

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film But DVD Quality Picture
Just wanted to make the quick point that this film is an excellent action film (4 stars) but there's not really any point in getting it on Blu-ray as the picture quality is not much better than DVD. I assume this is due the quality of the film prints they had to work with the film being a bit older.

Edit: We have a much better HD TV now and whilst you can see...
Published on 26 Nov 2010 by Hagrid's Umbrella


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kimble On The Run, 20 April 2008
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Harrison Ford is Dr Richard Kimble, a specialist at a Chicago hospital. He's out having fun with his wife when he gets a call to do some emergency surgery - so he leaves his wife to go home, as he goes off to help. What he doesn't know is that while he's doing important surgery, some crazed man is killing his wife, and he's squarely put in the frame for her murder, and even sent down for it. Kimble has to prove his innocence - and evade the obsessive Marshal Samuel Gerard (Tommy Lee Jones), who doesn't want to let it slide - he wants Richard, preferably alive.

I really enjoyed The Fugitive, every time you think it can't get better, it does. The action is great and Harrison Ford is very convincing. I also liked the way he kept investigating the case even though he knew the US Marshals were after him.

The HD transfer isn't bad, but not as good as I've seen so far, yet, the MPEG2 running at a steady 20Mbps average is pretty good. The audio is a bit flakey, 448kbps. The picture is full frame 16:9, so you won't be having to peer through a letterbox to watch the action.

The extras are not bad; an introduction, audio commentary which includes Harrison Ford, 2 featurettes and a rather poorly encoded theatrical trailer.

This isn't a bad transfer picture wise, but the audio could have been much better - still if you're an avid Fugitive fan you'll want this, otherwise the DVD is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film But DVD Quality Picture, 26 Nov 2010
By 
Just wanted to make the quick point that this film is an excellent action film (4 stars) but there's not really any point in getting it on Blu-ray as the picture quality is not much better than DVD. I assume this is due the quality of the film prints they had to work with the film being a bit older.

Edit: We have a much better HD TV now and whilst you can see more detail (e.g. skin imperfections if really look) the overall quality doesn't have the Lushness and clarity you'd expect from HD. Now it's possible that orginally film was shot like that (deliberate and a nod to the old TV show or just not great quality?) but for me didn't look too much better than DVD quality. If you love this film then probably get the blu ray but if its a more casual buy I'd consider the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FUN!!!, 14 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Fugitive [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
What a classic! I can watch this film whenever I want and I won't get bored.Who can forget the scene where he jumps into the reservoir from the sewers.Richard(Harrison Ford) plays the role prfectly as the fugitive.He is clever, cunning and ruthless, all at once and Samuel Gerrard(Tommy Lee Jones) is just as good if not better as the federal marshall who will never give up on his prey.
No one could have played these two roles as good as these two actors in my view, although Wesley Snipes does quite a good job in U.S. Marshals.The supporting cast is also very strong, which is probably one of the reasons it was such a huge success.
The two villains are ones that you just love to hate, especially Kimbles FRIEND, who you would just love to smack yourself!! which I suppose is another reason why my eyes were glued to the screen.
Anyone who hasn't seen this film, should do, I recommend it very highly and I'm sure you won't be disappointed as it is really for any age.
Great film, great plot, great acting!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The running man, 12 Dec 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
More than a decade on, The Fugitive holds up surprisingly well, managing to neatly avoid the usual pitfalls of TV-series-to-movie crossovers by opting to tell a single self-contained story rather than trying to set up a new franchise. Thus Harrison Ford's Richard Kimble doesn't go on the road helping strangers resolve their problems because he's too busy trying to evade capture, prove his innocence and catch his wife's killer, making for an entirely satisfying manhunt thriller that stands on its own merits. Chief among them is Tommy Lee Jones, taking over from a dying Richard Jordan and walking off with the movie as his dogged pursuer, getting all the best lines and effortlessly outshining the film's star.

Although not exactly overloaded with extras - audio commentary by Andrew Davis and Tommy Lee Jones, a couple of featurettes including one on the train wreck, trailer and a bizarre introduction by Andrew Davis, Tommy Lee Jones and Harrison Ford - the special edition is definitely worth picking up over the previous barebones release if you stick to the DVD. The first Blu-ray release, however, is infamously poor and looks no better than the DVD and is best avoided - instead track down the region-free US remastered 20th Anniversary Edition Blu-ray, which includes all the extras from the special edition in standard definition and adds a 2000 pilot and a new half hour documentary in high definition as well as a hugely improved widescreen transfer with by far the best picture quality of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLU RAY QUALITY NOT AS BAD AS SOME REVIEWS SUGGEST!, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dr. Richard Kimble, played by Harrison Ford, is wrongly charged and convicted of murdering his wife, subsequently, he is given the death sentence. On the way to prison, the prison bus crashes, rolling down an embankment, and promptly landing on railway tracks. Shackled, he escapes with another prisoner, determined to prove his innocence, and bring the real killer to justice. The investigation is promptly took over by Samuel Gerard, played by Tommy Lee Jones, who originally charged him with his wife's murder. Then starts the cat and mouse hunt, hunter and hunted.

This blu ray has had some negative reviews, one review calls it 'mostly abysmal'. But, I think that this is unfair. Yes, there are some scenes that have heavy grain/video noise, but these are restricted to a few scenes, and only last seconds. Generally, the picture looks fine. It's not as good as a new film, but remember it's now over 20 years old, and has not been restored like some older films have.

The film has been transferred in it's original aspect ratio of 1.85:1 and the soundtrack is in 5.1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A breathless thriller!, 20 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The Fugitive is a fantastic thriller, one of the best ever, not succeeding only as a thriller, but also as an action movie and a drama. Harrison Ford stars as Doctor Richard Kimble, a surgeon from Chicago who was falsely accused and convicted of the crime of killing his wife, while avoiding Deputy Marshal Sam Gerard played brilliantly by Tommy Lee Jones and his team who are sent to hunt down the doctor and bring him back to prison. Throughout the movie, Kimble evades the police while trying to track down his wife's real murderer. The script is not outstanding, but the story is elevated by endless suspense, great action scenes, and some intense acting between the two leads. The ending climax is also a fantastic piece of work, filled with suspense and very satisfying. The cinematopgraphy is as naturalistic as possible, creating a sense of realism. The Fugitive is one of the finest in its genre. It holds up brilliantly on repeated viewings and is one of the best action films of the 1990's. Don't miss this film it is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy remastered region-free 2oth anniversary US import blu ray, 11 April 2014
By 
Robert Coogan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nothing else to say really.
The remastered import disc s very good quality, whilst the UK blue ray is only DVD quality video and audio.
I own the remaster and it was definitely worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defining film for the later Harrison Ford, 6 Dec 2008
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've seen this film a dozen times, and, after Blade Runner, it was the first thing I bought on Blu-Ray.

After Star Wars, Blade Runner and Indiana Jones, Harrison Ford established himself -- largely through this film -- playing middle-aged professionals up against terrifying odds. It's a role he was, perhaps, born to play, and in some ways there is a smooth evolution from Han Solo to Deckard to Indiana Jones to Dr Richard Kimble.

This is an electrifying film. The best known scene is Kimble diving off the side of a dam into the churning water beneath, but, in truth, it turns on the encounter between Gerard (Tommy Lee Jones) and the red-haired A&E doctor Dr Anne Eastman (Julianne Moore). Kimble (Ford) risks his freedom switching the instructions on a patient that Eastman has misdiagnosed. When she finds that the child has been sent to the operating room instead of observation, she runs after Kimble, insisting that he stop. Later, Gerard interviews her. After she has explained herself, she tells him she's very tired and wants to go. Gerard asks: "How's the boy doing?" Eastman replies: "He saved his life."

From that moment on, Gerard pursues Kimble not because he believes he is guilty, but because he believes he is innocent.

A much less successful sequel, US Marshalls, followed as a vehicle for Tommy Lee Jones, but without the frisson of the relationship with Ford, it failed to capture the imagination.

Blu-ray is obviously more expensive to collect than DVD. From my point of view, this film was an easy choice: I shall watch it many, many more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 21 May 2008
By 
M. L. Durham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I didnt think id like this film in all honesty! I asked my dad who Tommy Lee Jones was and 2 hours later he gets this film out and demands that i watch it! With realizing on half way through that 'Han Solo' (Harrison Ford) was Richard!

This film is truly a work of art and since my dad made me watch it iv been obsessed. Great acting and incredible story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazed, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have purchased , The LD , DVD and Blu Ray , of this classic . I have this edition is Excellent , There are updated extras including
a pilot for a short lived series . The Film transfer is beautiful , compare to the earlier release blu ray , which was a dupe from the DVD
and like wise , with the audio . I you fan of this classic grab it . you will be very pleased ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993]
The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] by Andrew Davis (DVD - 2002)
£8.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews