Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kimble On The Run
Harrison Ford is Dr Richard Kimble, a specialist at a Chicago hospital. He's out having fun with his wife when he gets a call to do some emergency surgery - so he leaves his wife to go home, as he goes off to help. What he doesn't know is that while he's doing important surgery, some crazed man is killing his wife, and he's squarely put in the frame for her murder, and...
Published on 20 April 2008 by DL Productions UK

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film But DVD Quality Picture
Just wanted to make the quick point that this film is an excellent action film (4 stars) but there's not really any point in getting it on Blu-ray as the picture quality is not much better than DVD. I assume this is due the quality of the film prints they had to work with the film being a bit older.

Edit: We have a much better HD TV now and whilst you can see...
Published on 26 Nov 2010 by Hagrid's Umbrella


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kimble On The Run, 20 April 2008
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Harrison Ford is Dr Richard Kimble, a specialist at a Chicago hospital. He's out having fun with his wife when he gets a call to do some emergency surgery - so he leaves his wife to go home, as he goes off to help. What he doesn't know is that while he's doing important surgery, some crazed man is killing his wife, and he's squarely put in the frame for her murder, and even sent down for it. Kimble has to prove his innocence - and evade the obsessive Marshal Samuel Gerard (Tommy Lee Jones), who doesn't want to let it slide - he wants Richard, preferably alive.

I really enjoyed The Fugitive, every time you think it can't get better, it does. The action is great and Harrison Ford is very convincing. I also liked the way he kept investigating the case even though he knew the US Marshals were after him.

The HD transfer isn't bad, but not as good as I've seen so far, yet, the MPEG2 running at a steady 20Mbps average is pretty good. The audio is a bit flakey, 448kbps. The picture is full frame 16:9, so you won't be having to peer through a letterbox to watch the action.

The extras are not bad; an introduction, audio commentary which includes Harrison Ford, 2 featurettes and a rather poorly encoded theatrical trailer.

This isn't a bad transfer picture wise, but the audio could have been much better - still if you're an avid Fugitive fan you'll want this, otherwise the DVD is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The running man, 12 Dec 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
More than a decade on, The Fugitive holds up surprisingly well, managing to neatly avoid the usual pitfalls of TV-series-to-movie crossovers by opting to tell a single self-contained story rather than trying to set up a new franchise. Thus Harrison Ford's Richard Kimble doesn't go on the road helping strangers resolve their problems because he's too busy trying to evade capture, prove his innocence and catch his wife's killer, making for an entirely satisfying manhunt thriller that stands on its own merits. Chief among them is Tommy Lee Jones, taking over from a dying Richard Jordan and walking off with the movie as his dogged pursuer, getting all the best lines and effortlessly outshining the film's star.

Although not exactly overloaded with extras - audio commentary by Andrew Davis and Tommy Lee Jones, a couple of featurettes including one on the train wreck, trailer and a bizarre introduction by Andrew Davis, Tommy Lee Jones and Harrison Ford - this special edition is definitely worth picking up over the previous barebones release if you stick to the DVD. The first Blu-ray release, however, is infamously poor and looks no better than the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FUN!!!, 14 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Fugitive [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
What a classic! I can watch this film whenever I want and I won't get bored.Who can forget the scene where he jumps into the reservoir from the sewers.Richard(Harrison Ford) plays the role prfectly as the fugitive.He is clever, cunning and ruthless, all at once and Samuel Gerrard(Tommy Lee Jones) is just as good if not better as the federal marshall who will never give up on his prey.
No one could have played these two roles as good as these two actors in my view, although Wesley Snipes does quite a good job in U.S. Marshals.The supporting cast is also very strong, which is probably one of the reasons it was such a huge success.
The two villains are ones that you just love to hate, especially Kimbles FRIEND, who you would just love to smack yourself!! which I suppose is another reason why my eyes were glued to the screen.
Anyone who hasn't seen this film, should do, I recommend it very highly and I'm sure you won't be disappointed as it is really for any age.
Great film, great plot, great acting!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film But DVD Quality Picture, 26 Nov 2010
By 
Just wanted to make the quick point that this film is an excellent action film (4 stars) but there's not really any point in getting it on Blu-ray as the picture quality is not much better than DVD. I assume this is due the quality of the film prints they had to work with the film being a bit older.

Edit: We have a much better HD TV now and whilst you can see more detail (e.g. skin imperfections if really look) the overall quality doesn't have the Lushness and clarity you'd expect from HD. Now it's possible that orginally film was shot like that (deliberate and a nod to the old TV show or just not great quality?) but for me didn't look too much better than DVD quality. If you love this film then probably get the blu ray but if its a more casual buy I'd consider the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A breathless thriller!, 20 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The Fugitive is a fantastic thriller, one of the best ever, not succeeding only as a thriller, but also as an action movie and a drama. Harrison Ford stars as Doctor Richard Kimble, a surgeon from Chicago who was falsely accused and convicted of the crime of killing his wife, while avoiding Deputy Marshal Sam Gerard played brilliantly by Tommy Lee Jones and his team who are sent to hunt down the doctor and bring him back to prison. Throughout the movie, Kimble evades the police while trying to track down his wife's real murderer. The script is not outstanding, but the story is elevated by endless suspense, great action scenes, and some intense acting between the two leads. The ending climax is also a fantastic piece of work, filled with suspense and very satisfying. The cinematopgraphy is as naturalistic as possible, creating a sense of realism. The Fugitive is one of the finest in its genre. It holds up brilliantly on repeated viewings and is one of the best action films of the 1990's. Don't miss this film it is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy remastered region-free 2oth anniversary US import blu ray, 11 April 2014
By 
Robert Coogan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nothing else to say really.
The remastered import disc s very good quality, whilst the UK blue ray is only DVD quality video and audio.
I own the remaster and it was definitely worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sharp and typically exubrant Jones thriller, 27 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
After a traffic collision convicted murderer Dr Richard Kimble (Ford) tries to clear his name whist Samuel Gerard (Jones) attempts to track him down.

This Andrew Davis picture brings together a slick plot flowing with action and intrigue and with Tommy Lee Jones and Harrison Ford on perfect form this is the perfect remedy to an absent action injury.

With James Bond being "reborn" these last few years and The Bourne trilogy racking up plaudits from everywhere it seems we have reinvented the term of thriller in a genre that is often scrutinized for its lack of realism in context.

What makes the Fugitive tick? For starters this is a fun adrenaline soaking thriller that needs minimal explanation to get the blood pumping. From waterfall jumps to train crashes this has enough to fulfil the viewer's requirements.

There is an array of credited actors who have broken barriers in their lifetimes previous to this Oscar winner. Tommy Lee Jones (winner of best supporting actor) has of course starred in plenty of action thrillers. Under Siege, No country for old men and possibly Men in Black he knows how to tackle the action. Having just reviewed the Oscars from 15 years ago I must confess to having liked John Malkovich's protagonist in the Wolfgang Peterson thriller In The Line of Fire plenty more. The swagger and evilness of Booth was elaborate, eccentric and malicious with a delicious cunning that made his character seem approachable but undeniably sick and evil. Jones nevertheless presents a character with baggage but does not convey it and with an intelligent appreciation of law and crime he sets the benchmark to the law breaking citizens of America.

Ford establishes himself as mystery man in the early stages where we believe he could be good or evil and when the plot momentarily loses its balance we know the truth of his innocence.

This narrative of a man needing to escape and prove his name as innocent is reflective of numerous other thrillers there's no question. Bearing in mind this concept can become tedious when seeing repetitive viewings of various thrillers it is significant to recognize this was one of the early films that brought this technique to the attention of the critiques and various other filmmakers. It is a stunning concept that adds tension and mystery from every aspect.

The scene setting is wonderfully exuberant. The forest setting generates the feeling of isolation exquisitely whilst the montages of the flashbacks fittingly reflect this isolation and gives the central character development and contemplation.

There are lapses in the action with an overhaul in dialogue and the Bourne series has shown the meaning of thriller but this is undoubtedly fast and fun mystery.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazed, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have purchased , The LD , DVD and Blu Ray , of this classic . I have this edition is Excellent , There are updated extras including
a pilot for a short lived series . The Film transfer is beautiful , compare to the earlier release blu ray , which was a dupe from the DVD
and like wise , with the audio . I you fan of this classic grab it . you will be very pleased ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fugitive's name is Doctor Richard Kimble., 17 Mar 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Dr Kimble is falsely accused and sentenced for the murder of his wife. Whilst being transfered to prison a breakout occurs, seizing his chance, Kimble goes on the run in a desperate search to clear his name. Hot on his tail is staunch Marshall Sam Gerard, a man who always gets his man.

Based on the long running and popular TV series of the same name, The Fugitive stands up as one of the best thrillers of the 90s, it's full of action and tight sequences that dovetail excellently with the who done it plot. The film opens harshly with the murder of Helen Kimble, and we are shown that it wasn't Richard who killed his wife, this puts us firmly onside with Kimble and his pursuit of the truth. Much credit must go to Harrison Ford who layers Kimble perfectly, Kimble is an honest hard working man reduced to fugitive tactics to avoid capture, always seemingly one step away from being caught, Kimble becomes something of a modern day hero figure, and in this Ford excels. As Sam Gerard we have Tommy Lee Jones having the time of his life, gruff and ready for a rumble, and with a quip at every turn, Gerard is a man we know is not to be messed with, and Jones portrays him wonderfully as the obsessive pursuer he is.

From that harsh opening, to a quite breath taking sequence with a train, the film cements itself as a bona fide top draw thriller, however, the second half of the picture, whilst still an intriguing mysterious chase movie, does veer down the formulaic road with it's conspiracy plot line, but it really is a minor complaint that doesn't send the film to averageville. The Fugitive at any one point is never less than great fun, high on action and containing great performances to crown the smart David Twohy/Jeb Stuart screenplay, the film is a winner from start to finish. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Escapism Entertainment., 23 Feb 2013
By 
B. D. Compton "Gettysburg" (Johannesburg,South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
This 1993 action thriller with an all star cast about a Doctor wtrongly accused for murdering his wife(Harrison Ford), being sentenced to death and escaping after the prison van crashes in bad weather and lands on a railway track, which a goods train then crashes into and gets derailed(Superbly crafted and photographed)and then pursued by an overzealous US Marshall(Tommy Lee Jones)is quite outstanding.

The cinematography is brilliant, the script is excellent, the acting out of the top drawer and action and tension unrelenting. This is the best thriller i have seen since i don't know when.

You will notice that i have only given it 4 stars instead of 5. This is because the storyline at times is really hard to belief. However, don't let that stop you seeing this outstanding piece of filmaking, it really is great escapism entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993]
The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993] by Andrew Davis (DVD - 2002)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews