Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet November
I LOVE this film. It represents the summary of life. Either live it or die. Theron is the embodiment of a rapturous life-lover and you can not help but fall in love with her as she embraces every day as if it is her last. Maybe it is. Reeves portrays his rigid, mechanical advertiser's role quite well, but I can not help but think that there was something missing...
Published on 28 Aug. 2006 by Babooshka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars three and a half stars - worth watching - but average
Well to be honest - i watched it because i like the female lead and fancy mr reeves (well, i'm being honest)!! Wasn't at all sure at first if i could watch it to the end - but i did get into it and rather enjoyed it tell the truth. Mr Reeves is his usual self - a little wooden, but sweet with it. Its like a lot of rom-coms (though i'm not sure where the com actually...
Published 16 months ago by ms. kit nader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet November, 28 Aug. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet November [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I LOVE this film. It represents the summary of life. Either live it or die. Theron is the embodiment of a rapturous life-lover and you can not help but fall in love with her as she embraces every day as if it is her last. Maybe it is. Reeves portrays his rigid, mechanical advertiser's role quite well, but I can not help but think that there was something missing there. Can't quite put my finger on it. However, cast aside, this is a bitter sweet glimpse in to 'life as you want to live it'. WARNING!!!Grab your tissues now! It's a heart-breaker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the girls!, 25 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet November [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a "Love Story" style of romance, with Keanu Reeves and Charlize Theron as the loving couple. Keanu has a chance to show his skills in areas other than stunts and weaponry - this film includes him singing (in a pleasant baritone) and dancing. Charlize looks good and there's also a cuddly dog!
This is unlikely to appeal to macho man (anyone expecting a Matrix-type gunfight will be disappointed) but most females will love it.
Highly recommended for Valentine's night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet November, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Sweet November [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
As far as romantic comedies go, this movie is pretty damn good...if you can get past the horrific acting of Mr Reeves.

An absolutely wonderful movie, as heartwarming as it is tragic! Every character that you find you will fall in love with (with the exception perhaps of our delightfully incompetant Keanu), from little Abs to my own personal favourite Chaz :) You'll want to abando your own life (family and friends included), to live in the fun-filled life you get when you become Sara Deever's monthly partner.

The acting is WONDERFUL...on the whole. Charlize Theron creates a bubbly and beautifully flawed heroin, as quirky as she is loveable. Jason Isaacs presents our brilliantly caring Chaz, (There's more to him than you'll originally expect, making him all the more delightful- but you'll have to watch this to find out), portraying the vital character as the ideal best friend and guardian we all want.
Keanu Reeves... Well, at the beginning he's not so bad, when he's portrayig a heartless, work-orientated, selfish moron with about as much emotion as a kettle. Unfortunately, after his life-changing month with Sara Deever, he's pretty much the same guy. Don't believe me? Screencap the heartwarming Christmas scene- one of the most uplifting in the whole movie, and the tragic scene near the end on the bridge and you'll have the same image (minus a santa hat and with bluer tinted lighting).

But...please do NOT let Keanu prevent you from seeing this film. It's brilliant and so extreme in the emotions it provokes that everyone should see it at least 7 times in thier life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top-notch RomCom!, 14 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Sweet November [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This film was much better than I expected (due to not so flattering reviews by the 'critics')

The good points are that Keanu actually does some great acting. Charlize is wonderful as usual and it maintains realism (despite the unbelievable premise)

I'd like to address the fact that the film gets negativity for its premise. IT'S A ROMCOM!! If they all had storylines that were identical to what really happens in the real-world then how boring would that be?! ALL RomComs have 'fantasy' storylines that don't really happen in real-life etc. Ragging on that is a bit pointless as it's to be expected!

However, I loved that Keanu's character (Nelson) reacted very realistically to 'insanity' (Sarah's weirdo suggestion to a stranger living with her for a month/her neighbour entering whilst they're in the bath etc) and the fact that he proved once more that although his acting style contributes to people thinking he can't act he actually has the ability to become a different person in each of his films (i.e. when you're watching Neo in The Matrix, you don't think you're watching Jack from Speed and whilst watching him in Sweet November I didn't think I was seeing Shane from The Replacements-which I'd just watched again, another excellent and highly underrated film of his-this is an indicator of a strong actor) Maybe he just needs to work on his vocal projection.

Great scenes- Keanu doing his presentation for hotdogs!! Keanu and Greg at the meeting with 'god'! (most of the great scenes involve keanu cos the film centres around his life-changing experience) keanu and charlize as 'bonny and clyde'. keanu and charlize meeting friends for dinner!!! keanu meeting the kid for the first time! actually the list goes on but i don't wanna give too much away!

Great supporting cast (Smallville fans should watch out for Michael Rosenbaum in drag- he's very good!) Yes, it gets sappy at the end again- ROMCOM! and that's why I prefer the first half but as the actors bring us to care so much for the characters I found myself just ignoring the 'sap-seepage' and simply watching what was happening with great sadness.

One of the best of its genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very touching romantic comedy, with a poignant ending., 11 July 2008
By 
Mr. TC Kong (Peterborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet November [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I first saw this film on the plane at the start of a holiday to visit my brother in New York in June 2001. I enjoyed it so much (yes, blokes can enjoy a romantic comedy just as much as the girls!), I watched it twice on the flight going out to New York, and again at my local multiplex when I returned to the UK! Over the years, I have been searching for this film on DVD, but it was either too expensive for my budget at the time, or it was no longer in stock. However, I managed to find it on Amazon last year (and reasonably priced as well), so snapped up a copy!

While there have been mixed reviews of this film on this page so far, I personally found the film quite touching. The twists and turns in the plot give an almost rollercoaster effect to the story - much as a love affair does in real life. The acting of Keannu Reaves and Charlize Theron was also sufficiently good to lend a degree of credibility to their characters, although their natural good looks, in my opinion, doesn't do any harm either. (At any rate, Theron can always charm MY socks off!)

The clincher for me came at the end, when Sarah disappears into the dawn light (as opposed to the sunset), while Nelson tries to feel for her presence, blindfolded with her scarf, reprising a game the two played when he first moved into her apartment. For a very long time (in fact, years) I had felt sad for Nelson that Sarah did not stay with him. However, after watching an interview with one of the producers (one of the bonus features on the DVD), I realised that this was how it HAD to be. The moral of the story was how Nelson's life had been changed and turned around by Sarah's love for him, so that he woke up to the fact that there was more to life than just his work, and he COULD let another person into his heart and soul, and how Sarah, in turn, could experience true love for herself before she died. If Sarah had stayed with Nelson, then the impact of their love for each other would have been severely diminished, if not totally negated, by his caring for her while she died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It has the feel good factor, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet November [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Go Jason! Watched this solely because of backtracking into Jason Isaacs performances because I noticed that he shines in every role, overshadowing all the big stars, and you always wish for more Jason. This is no different---a good little movie made special and memorable by Jason and juxtapositioning of the humor and the sad circumstances. Definitely a romance which is different and rises above the usual clichés inherent in the genre. Well made, well acted and that spark that makes it memorable and worth rewatching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars three and a half stars - worth watching - but average, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet November [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Well to be honest - i watched it because i like the female lead and fancy mr reeves (well, i'm being honest)!! Wasn't at all sure at first if i could watch it to the end - but i did get into it and rather enjoyed it tell the truth. Mr Reeves is his usual self - a little wooden, but sweet with it. Its like a lot of rom-coms (though i'm not sure where the com actually is) ------------ kind of worth watching on a boring afternoon with nothing else to do! Overall - not the strongest film in the world but ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a chick flick, 8 Sept. 2004
By 
This review is from: Sweet November [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
As far as titles in the "chick flick" genre go, this film is a lot more deep and meaningful than others. Casting Keanu Reeves (Nelson) and Charlize Theron (Sarah) as the leading characters was a stroke of genius, providing welcome eye candy for all viewers and brilliant acting skills to boot.
While some people may complain that Keanu's acting appears wooden in efforts such as this, I would tend to disagree. He not only plays the distanced workaholic to perfection at the beginning of the film, but develops the character into an amusing, warm, reawakened and happy individual as it progresses. He has been partnered with Charlize Theron for the second time since The Devil's Advocate - when you have found a winning casting combination, why change?
Charlize is stunning as ever, injecting a certain light and enthusiasm into the title from the start.
The soundtrack of this film is just beautiful and includes the haunting tune "Only Time" by Enya.
City slicker Nelson (Reeves) is so busy thinking about his career and achievements that he neglects to focus his energies on his personal life. A chance meeting with the unconventional Sarah (Theron), who invites him to spend the month of November living with her in her tiny apartment so she can "help" him, sends him on the path towards true love and personal fullfilment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid performance, not much of a story..., 4 Oct. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet November [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Keanu Reeves is Nelson Moss who has a successful career in advertising. One day, he meets a beautiful and unusual Sara Deever and gradually falls in love with her only to discover that she is dying.

I won't spoil the story for those who haven't seen it but would like to say that Keanu Reeves and Charlize Theron look absolutely beautiful as a couple and deliver solid performances. Unfortunately, this still doesn't bring out either the chemistry between the two actors or much of a story. The storyline is extremely poor and never really develops into much. You keep expecting more from it but, sadly, this film never delivers.

However, if you like either Keanu Reeves, Charlize Theron or both, they are still a delight to watch. Great for the girls :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Sweet November, 11 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet November [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If your a romance lover then buy this video as its a must. Not many people have heard about this movie and they are missing out
The movie starts slow but builds up to a intense story of mixed emotions from love to hate and back to love again.
Keano Reeves is a man with no time for anything except work. His life is excellent until one day where he is fired and things all go wrong. Now he has no one and nothing. Or does he? on one side he has work bringing him a wealthy lifestyle on the other he can have love and happiness.
I dont wana ruin the story so il say if your proned to crying at movies make sure ur boyfriend/girlfriend can swim as this movie will make you shed a few tears!
hope you enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet November [DVD] [2001]
Sweet November [DVD] [2001] by Pat O'Connor (DVD - 2002)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews