Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars10
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2003
Not one of the most well-known of Bullock's films (in fact the US version is entitled something completely different - "Two If By Sea")! But certainly not to be over-looked.
The movie has one of those genuine "feel good" things going on which are often found in the independant film market. The score by Irish group The Chieftans is worth a mention in itself. (The US DVD release makes better use of this with scored menus. Why not on this region 2 version?!) Sinead O'Connor sings over the opening title sequence, and thus sets the Celtic undertones of this little treasure.
There is a unique and quirky onscreen chemistry between Bullock and Leary - one of those couplings that you can feel and know had a laugh during the making (just watch the "making of"). The script, although not Shakespeare, is natural and refreshingly blunt and to-the-point, and Bullock's bronx accent is not at all distracting, but adds to her "girl next door" -ness!
All in all a resonably undiscovered gem - it's in my top 10 list!
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2009
This is a good film, it shows what a great actress Sandra Bullock is, however she is so many great films, I wouldn't say this is in the top league, it certainly comes close, it is still a very enjoyable film.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2000
I really enjoyed watching this film. It's one I'll watch again. Denis Leary was very believable in his role.Very funny, well acted and a good script, although not the most original, make this film a good night in if you're easily pleased.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
This is an older movie of Sandra Bullock's . I had never even heard of it before finding it on here. I am a huge fan of all her movies and this I think would appeal to most of her fans. Mostly a story about love and the complicated ups and downs of relationships acted well and def worth a watch.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2009
As much as i like both actors in this film, it is a little dated, and just not one of the really good romance comedies.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
I love Sandra Bullock. And though not her best film - the script was good (just a few weak bits) and she was funny and lovely in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
My favourite. Movie. Many thank you's. xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2008
I quite like Sandra Bullock but this just seemed to be predictable drivel. Don't waste your time.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
A good human relations comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
It was ok thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.35

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)