Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do you like your river rat?...
Racer Alex Furlong is snatched by time travel, a split second before a fatal explosion, by Vacendak's 21st-century team of techies, who plan to sell his healthy body to an ailing rich man at McCandless Corporation, for a mind transfer.

He escapes, but has no rights in this nightmare future of violence and sleaze.

The story concerns his survival, and...
Published 14 months ago by Corey Newcombe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book based bonkers B-movie brilliance!
The movie is twenty years old. It looked tired when it was released and although it looks knackered now I still enjoy it from time to time. Disaster befalls racing ace Alex Furlong (Estevez) as his car flips out mid race and explodes in an impressive set piece. The next thing we see is Furlong materialising in a mobile operating room which is being attacked from all sides...
Published 13 months ago by Steven


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book based bonkers B-movie brilliance!, 1 July 2014
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Freejack [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
The movie is twenty years old. It looked tired when it was released and although it looks knackered now I still enjoy it from time to time. Disaster befalls racing ace Alex Furlong (Estevez) as his car flips out mid race and explodes in an impressive set piece. The next thing we see is Furlong materialising in a mobile operating room which is being attacked from all sides by armed forces. In the confusion, he escapes to find himself in the future and his part of town has gone to the dogs! He then finds out that some nasty rich guy wants his consciousness implanted into Alex's much younger body. There's some guff about mind transplants and grabbing people from the past just as they are about to expire but to be honest they don't spend much time on that nonsense. The idea is that Furlong (or rather his body) is now someones property and a group of mercs have been tasked to return him. Rene Russo was cast at short notice as the love interest because Debora Fiorentino had scheduling conflicts, Rene is about three feet taller than our hero and with Emilio being so fresh faced, she also looks considerably older - which comes in handy later on.

Mick Jagger sneers his way through some awful dialogue and as the leader of the mercs, he is less convincing than a wolf in sheeps clothing. The fashions and hairstyles make Russo look like our heros older aunt - but meh, who cares, the makers certainly didn't. The script has a go at creating some kind of future world where trade wars have established power and theres a clear economic divide between the haves and have nots. The set dressing is pretty good at times, pretty lame in others, the spiritual switchboard isn't particularly convincing on any level.

Having said all that, this has a relentless pace and is a fun action adventure which doesn't take itself too seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do you like your river rat?..., 7 May 2014
This review is from: Freejack [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Racer Alex Furlong is snatched by time travel, a split second before a fatal explosion, by Vacendak's 21st-century team of techies, who plan to sell his healthy body to an ailing rich man at McCandless Corporation, for a mind transfer.

He escapes, but has no rights in this nightmare future of violence and sleaze.

The story concerns his survival, and his attempt to revive his relationship with his fiancée Julie, now 15 years older and an executive at McCandless....

Loved this movie when it was released in 1992, had doubts if I would like it nearly twenty years later with rose coloured specs, and while the film has many flaws, you cannot deny the stupid fun you have whilst watching it.

Basically, Murphy has taken Estevez's Billy the Kid and made him into a sci-fi hero, thats plain and simple, as there are many connotations to young guns 2.

Even though the story and narration is convoluted throughout, watching Mick Jagger spouting many a classic line is alone worth watching the movie.

The swagger he has when saying every line, and the audience can physically see him trying to act so much, he just stops caring toward the end, and it's all the better for it.

Emilio is good, but as i've already said, it's just Billy the Kid.

The rest of the cast really support well, even if its obvious Hopkins did this for the cash. Characters go and go without any explanation, especially Frankie Faison, and the chap who appears to know Alex when he goes back to his apartment, why didn't Alex have a chat with him/

Set pieces are fun even if the are cheesy, and the film is only semi-serious, nothing here to test the grey matter.

It's a fun Friday night movie, never boring, always silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So bad it's good?, 15 Feb. 2015
By 
chelios1981 (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Freejack [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
4 stars is pushing it but anyone of a certain age that liked very corny sci-fi maybe in for a treat.

It's dated badly, but it was never up to date when it originally came out in the early 1990's so that's not an issue really.

The special effects were not great for even that period, but the action, including lots of car stunts, gunshots and explosions are still very good.

With a top drawer cast and some clever ideas it rises above it's failings to deliver a what essentially is a Jason Bourne chase thriller with science fiction add on's.

Emilio Estevez takes the lead as a racing driver transported to the future so a wealthy business man Cajun use his body to live on.

Emilio escapes and goes on the run, cue lots of chases and dubious paranoia from our hero as he has to figure out what's true and who he can trust.

Directed by Geoff Murphy who helmed Youngnguns 2, this is pure entertainment full of of humour, some style, lots of chases and implausible escapes.

With a very starry cast, most one suspects for the paycheck this is no Shakespeare but taken on face values a tongue in cheeck science fiction action movie with lots of action and a little romance it is pure fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's Sci-fi, 23 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freejack [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
What can I say? Mick Jagger is Tremendous in this flick and steals the show completely. Emilio plays, well, himself, which is to say irreverent, charming and a little silly. Good supporting cast but the film mainly revolves around these 2.

I'm not going to go on too much but - superb pulp Sci-Fi. One for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent trashy sci fi, 10 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freejack [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
No spoilers here. An excellent enjoyable trashy sci fi with terrible acting by mick jagger. Great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW ! Still an amazing film after all this time ! Interesting storyline and good acting performances !!!, 6 Jan. 2013
By 
Goth Girl (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freejack [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Good to see Mick Jagger in a film when, we all know him, as the lead singer/performer of Rolling Stones !!!!!
There aren't a lot of films that you remember as a kid that stack up once you're older, this one defies all that perception !!!
Great film, good purchase. GO AMAZON, GO !!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So Bad its Good, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
shane lynch (dublin, ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freejack [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I first saw this movie when i was a kid..... and being a kid back then i actually thought it was good.
But its not.... its really not.
But the saving grace about this movie is that its fun to watch... Still!
I bought it on dvd a while back and im delighted i have it in my collection.
Its worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars freejack, 19 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freejack [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
i injoyed this film a lot had a good cast as well if you like films like running man dead zone blade runner you will love this film well worth getting i have given this film 5 stars . i like this sort of film and also well worth the money so if your a fan like me dont delay get yours today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars welcome to my mind..., 20 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Freejack [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Well I enjoyed it. Jagger is better at the end than at the beginning -- it's a fun part and you can see why he'd have thought it worth doing. The others are good and it rattles along at a fun pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for such an old film, 22 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freejack [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Compared to the great Anthony Hopkins and Rene Rosso, Mick Jagger's acting is rather cheesy. A good film which I remember seeing at the cinema does look dated in places but an easy enough watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freejack [DVD] [1992]
Freejack [DVD] [1992] by Geoff Murphy (DVD - 2002)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews