Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie . . . Whatever your age!!!!!
Well, what is there to say that hasnt been said already. This was constantly on my video when i was a nipper, and now its on dvd, its great. I love the idea of the hidden treasure, the bad guy brothers (who play off each other brilliantly), and the gadgets and secret passage ways and. . . . Just watch it, because you will love it, however old you are!!!!
Published on 24 Nov 2004 by glenncowie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles issues....quality of the translation
The Portuguese subtitles/quality of the translation work is very poor. Other than this, nothing to report. The kids enjoyed it, so did I when I was their age....
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by Walking President


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where is that amazing commentary?!!!!!!, 6 Oct 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goonies [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
On the region 1 disc there is the amazing commentary with all the Goonies and Richard Donner, recorded in 2002. It's listed on the back of the DVD as being a special feature but I couldn't find it. I also can't find it as an easter egg.
I'll be really angry if it's missing, especially as it's listed on the sleeve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent transfer but I hoped for more, 9 Oct 2008
By 
A. De Gier (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As stated by the first review that was posted here the picture quality is fair. Not the greatest blu ray disc but a fair improvement over the standard dvd version. The picture isn't consistent which is sort of a letdown. Where some scenes looked crystal clear and vivid other scenes looked like an upgrade standard version but not High Def. Warner has delivered better titles and it looks like no real effort was made to make this look great. Unfortunately this is a new trend on blu ray today.

This also shows in the extra features. They are exact the same as on the dvd. I really hoped to get a PictureInPicture feature where we could watch the entire visual commentary track (which is one of the best features) but instead Warner decided to keep it the same as on the standard disc. I was disappointed that they didn't gave it a bit more effort. Blu Ray is a fantastic format for these kind of extra extras. But I guess Goonies isn't interesting enough for Warner to give it something 'special'

Nonetheless I give this blu ray version 3 out of 5 stars. Merely because I really love this movie. Warner gets 1 out of 5 stars for the release. Lack of effort, lack of appreciation for the fans of the movie but at least they released it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST FILM EVER!!!, 23 Jun 2003
The GOonies is an absolute classic film- and im only 16yrs old!
What else can i say but, TRUFFLE SHUFFLE!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aggravating, annoying, and extremely overrated, 11 Jun 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys."

Shut up!

I honestly cannot fathom the universal adoration that the masses have for The Goonies. It's one of the most overrated movies I have ever seen in my life. Only the Von Trap children and the brats Spielberg cast as the Lost Boys in Hook have irritated me more than The Goonies (with the exception of Chunk). Before I get into the movie I'll give you a run down of the cast.

Sean Astin as Mikey: seems as if he is phonetically reading off cue cards (a-la Peanuts) rather than fully understanding what he is saying.

Josh Brolin as Brand: a constant damper on the adventure as he does nothing but attempt to diffuse the fun with his constant 'grown-up' perspective.

Short Round as Data: so lovable in Temple of Doom, in the space of one year he managed to become the most annoying characters in movie history. Very little he says can be understood. His inventions are cartoonish, out of place, contribute nothing, and spoil many scenes. Whenever he opens his mouth I just want to grit my teeth down to the gums.

Corey Feldman as Mouth: would be tolerable if he stopped screaming so much. This applies to the whole cast, but especially Mouth. Is better when he's serious instead of sarcastic, which isn't often unfortunately.

Kerri Green as Andy: again, she would be bearable is she just shut up. Her random petrified rant about looking after her body is completely un-called-for and spoils the scene.

Martha Plimpton as Stef: likable, but doesn't have much to do or serve any purpose.

Jeff Cohen as Chunk: adorable, and the best (and youngest) actor of the bunch by far. Cohen's talent is infectious and it's a shame that the rest of the child cast undo his effort. In the scene where he confesses his previous misbehavior you can see that Robert Davi is loving it and cannot hold in his laughter.

John Matuszak as Sloth: also adorable, but his "Hey, you guys" moment spoils everything.

The Goonies was the second of three films in a row that Chris Columbus wrote for Amblin. If it had the shades of darkness and horror of Gremlins before it, or Young Sherlock Holmes after it, then it may well have been a true classic. Richard Donner (a loud, monstrous director who I really like) even used darkness to great effect in Scrooged a few years later, but here he seems to be really distracted by the fact that he's laughing at the antics off-camera and unable to see that, as a finished film, it's not as funny as he thinks it is. I mean what teenage kid, in the 80s, played with marbles or pretended to be James Bond? He directs these kids as if they were 7 or 8 instead of 13-ish. A film depicting more realistic teenagers would have won me over right away.

The titular gang themselves live in Astoria, Oregon and are failing to enjoy their last weekend together before the rich folks tear down their houses to build a golf course. That is until Mikey suddenly remembers the treasure map up in the loft. So off they go to find the treasure of pirate captain One-Eyed Willie against the wishes of downer big brother Brand. They soon discover that the entrance to the subterranean world where Willie lies waiting begins underneath an abandoned restaurant used as a hideout by the Fratelli crime family. They only just barely manage to sneak into tunnels without being noticed, leaving Chunk behind to have his own sideshow adventure. Once inside the tunnels they encounter a gauntlet of traps set by Willie to prevent anyone getting his loot.

Sound good right? And it would be if handled by a different director, or was scored by someone other than Dave Gruisin, who turns in a fully generic effort with no standout themes or melodies. Silvestri and Goldsmith were very busy in 1985, but nobody Gruisin, who I have never heard of before or since, was the wrong choice. I fully believe that Columbus' script was worthy, as I have read the novelization and it's far superior to the film, but for above listed reasons it doesn't work for me as a film.

A lot of The Goonies has been rudely forced into pop-culture too. How exactly is 'The Truffle Shuffle' funny? Why do people fondly remember this? It's...nothing. Why do people always quote Sloth's "Hey, you guys!" as if it's hilarious. It isn't. It is absolutely not funny at all. By the end Donner allows the action to become campy and farcical, disrespecting the story and pathos. There are moments towards the climax where I honestly feel like switching the movie off.

Stick with the novelization, and be thankful a sequel was never made.

The Blu Ray features an above-average 2.40:1 1080p picture with Dolby TrueHD sound. All of the extras from the 2001 DVD have been ported over with no new material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Goonies! Goonies! Goonies!, 13 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Goonies [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
When Mikey's house is going to get torn down to make way for a golf course, he's desperate to find a way to save it.

Fortunately he and his misfit friends (the Goonies) find a map in the loft which takes them on an amazing adventure through the mens' shower cubicles to find the treasure of one-eyed Willie.

However standing between them and the treasure are some elaborate puzzles and traps set by Willie, the criminal masterminds the Fratellis on the run from the cops and Willie's water slide, which, when all said and done seemed quite good.

With scenes that somehow veer from slapstick to serious drama through romance and back via high farce, this is a rip-roaring ride that ultimately doesn't make a lot of sense and leaves you mildly thrilled but slightly deflated, a bit like a big pizza (as loved by Chunk). Fun for all the family then but be warned there is a hanging scene early on and Chunk may damage your ears. The bonus features are well worth watching just for the octopus deleted scene alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Classic... Must Buy 1080p.. Excellent, 3 Mar 2013
By 
J. Dunne "jordy dunne" (IRELAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Epic Classic... Must Buy 1080p.. Excellent Epic Classic... Must Buy 1080p.. Excellent Epic Classic... Must Buy 1080p.. Excellent Epic Classic... Must Buy 1080p.. Excellent d
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Goonies, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goonies [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I love this movie. It was bought as a surprise movie for a Halloween night with my grandchildren. It was cellophane sealed. The disc was gouged all around the edges. Still tried to play it, but everything pixelated. Night ruined. Returned and got a refund.
Will buy again elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sean astin is an acting legend!, 21 Dec 2003
By 
Rich Sadler (Uckfield, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The goonies is a superb adventure film for all the family, it stars a Young SEAN ASTIN (SAM IN LORD OF THE RINGS) who plays mikey and a group of friends looking for the lost treasure, whislt the villians want it for themselves and so the race is on between the kids and the villians to see who will find the treasure first. A very good film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DVD vs BLU-RAY, 15 Nov 2008
By 
David Sainz "VaticanSIN" (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was hoping something special with this Blu-ray release, I was so disappointed with the delivery of this edition of the Goonies, I would even say that the DVD version is superior in term of content, a prime example is the menu navigation system, the DVD was beautifully animated and crafted as if you were inside a cave; the Blu-ray edition is just a simple screen with a background picture and selectable text. All I can say about the picture quality is exactly the same as the previous reviews, good in some parts bad in others.

My next grudge with this version of the Goonies is purely personal and probably does not concern much of the customers that will buy this Blu-ray. Because I am half European Spanish I grew up watching it in the Castilian Spanish version, as I loaded the disc and wanted to hear it again to reminisce my childhood I was so disappointed to find out it had Latin American Spanish as de chosen language... Why this is sold on the European market I have no idea but the DVD had Castilian Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, brilliant film; substandard steelbook., 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Goonies is probably my all-time favourite family movie - 5 stars no question. I already the excellent blu-ray edition, but was tempted by this steelbook edition. Unfortunately the quality is not great. The steel is thin and flexible and the graphics on the cover are pale and lack any punch. It looks like a cheap reproduction too. There are no extras such as a booklet or cards. The blu ray disc is exactly the same as the regular version so if you already have that, don't bother shelling out for the steelbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Goonies [DVD] [1985]
The Goonies [DVD] [1985] by Steven Spielberg (DVD - 2004)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews