Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant
James, Laid, is one of the seminal albums of the 90's. As mentioned elsewhere, this is completely different from everything else they've done, which, in my opinion, is something of a bonus.
Laid and Low... are two very witty songs with cracking, catchy, tunes. Lullaby & Skindiving are entrancing while Out to Get You submerges you in their vibe instantaneously...
Published on 22 Jan 2003 by Mr. N. Connolly

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cd laid
recording was rubbish 1 for the bin and that is were it went when i heared it on radio i thought it was great but mine was inaudble
Published 14 months ago by wayne slatcher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull, 5 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Laid (Audio CD)
One of James's greatest, this sees them in introspective mood. full of beautiful minor key acoustics.. wonderfull songwriting. Often intimate & haunting in the way that a dream is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent - every track is special, 22 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Laid (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
This is my favourite of all the James albums. Every track is wonderful. The very first track is a haunting ballad with real soul. This is then followed by more lively tracks, but the album forms a coherent whole, with the focus on relationships, as they are really experienced...Easily the best James album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laid (Audio CD)
brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laid (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
Absolutely fantastic album. Shows there is so much more to this band. Includes some live tracks. If you get the chance to see James live you must go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars total perfection, 28 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Laid (Audio CD)
My favourite James album, total perfection. Really wish I'd gone and seen them live more. Personal favourites are Laid and PS (like a previous review I love the slide guitar), really happy they are still releasing stuff - last 2 mini albums (Morning After / Night Before) are both absolute corkers as well. Love the bananas as well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the 90's classics, 3 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laid (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
Awesome . Up there with 'The Stone Roses' eponymous debut , 'Screamdelica' by Primal Scream , 'Against Perfection' by Adorable , 'Pills , Thrills' by the Mondays . Perfect for chilling out to with a glass of wine and/or exotic ciggie on a sunny summer evening , simply sensational , i was only 20 when this came out and at 36 it still sounds as fresh as it was then , which means only one thing - timeless CLASSIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'This bed is on fire with passionate love', 21 April 2004
By 
H A Chapman "Harry" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laid (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
'Laid' is absolutely classic album full of great songs but none more sothan the title track 'Laid' the greatest hit that James ever did. Aincredibly enjoyable song and makes me think of my favourite film'American Pie'. The rest of the album is fab too. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 10 Nov 2003
By 
Toby le Rhone (StaffordshireUK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Laid (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
The best and most overlooked album from the Madchester phase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my fav James album, a true classic, 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: Laid (Audio CD)
One of the classic albums of the 90's, still sounds as fresh today as when it was released there's not a weak song on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excuse the mistakes in the first review., 9 May 2004
By 
H A Chapman "Harry" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laid (2001 Reissue) (Audio CD)
'Laid' is an absolutely classic album full of great songs but none more so than the title track 'Laid' the greatest hit that James ever did. An incredibly enjoyable song and makes me think of my favourite film 'American Pie'. The rest of the album is fab too. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Laid (2001 Reissue)
Laid (2001 Reissue) by James (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews