Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Howells/Warren get it on without the fireworks you'd expect!
In no way do I mean this in a derogatory way, but this CD is only just good. I have given it 4 stars as the first CD is so addictive, with it's blend of funky, then tribal, then tough progressive house. Opening track Bent - 'Always' is blinding.
The second CD is not, however, as listenable as the first. Nick Warren's mixing is spot on (though no doubt better than he...
Published on 16 Mar 2002

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly average
I received this compilation as a Christmas gift and am pleased I did, because I would be a bit unhappy if I'd had to shell out for it myself. The mixing is OK (and so it should be), but the tracks are not especially interesting, save for the Southern Comforter and Soul Providers' tunes. Nick Warren's disc is really way off the mark - It sounds like it has been put...
Published on 8 Jan 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Howells/Warren get it on without the fireworks you'd expect!, 16 Mar 2002
By A Customer
In no way do I mean this in a derogatory way, but this CD is only just good. I have given it 4 stars as the first CD is so addictive, with it's blend of funky, then tribal, then tough progressive house. Opening track Bent - 'Always' is blinding.
The second CD is not, however, as listenable as the first. Nick Warren's mixing is spot on (though no doubt better than he is live - I've been a witness to his mistakes in the past), and his accapella mix of dirty is amazing. BUT although many of the tracks it features are top, this mix fails to excite me. And, apart from anything else, the track numbers are messed up - though that's hardly surprising when they try to make an accapella it's own track!
Overall, a very good compilation, just don't expect to hear too much from CD2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy for the 1st track, 10 Dec 2001
By 
Andrew Murray (Wimbledon Village, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I love the renaissance label and the style of house music that they release in their compilations.
As ever the music is classy and the mixing thoughtful.
However the main reason for me buying this Cd is because it has the Ashley Beedle Dub of 'Bent' by "Always". Features on Danny Howells mix
This tune is class. Pumping house beats, uplifting vocals and a majestic piano jam makes this a great tune.
Worth buying it just for this one track
In summary - good, but there are better Renaissance compilations - esp Dave Seaman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars howells & warren success, 4 Feb 2002
By 
Johnny (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
I admit, Ive really neglected the second CD of this compilation, mixed by Nick Warren, not necessarily because it isnt as good as the first but because Danny Howells has put together a truly addictive mix with CD1!
Starting off with the renound Ashley Beedle's Mahavishnu vocal mix of Always by Bent and including excellent songs such as Plato/Nothing From This World, Soul Providers/Rise and Ubu/Pixels plus the best mix on the whole compilation Nebulus/Blueless and Southern Comforert/Another Late Thursday.
Although I enjoy Howells more, the Nick Warren CD is still quite good, but just not enough to make me want to listen again and again. It's probably worth buying this just for the Howells CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly average, 8 Jan 2002
By A Customer
I received this compilation as a Christmas gift and am pleased I did, because I would be a bit unhappy if I'd had to shell out for it myself. The mixing is OK (and so it should be), but the tracks are not especially interesting, save for the Southern Comforter and Soul Providers' tunes. Nick Warren's disc is really way off the mark - It sounds like it has been put together by someone who has only just started out as a DJ. There are much better mixed compilations out there. Try Ashley Casselle's 'Response', Lucien Foort's 'Singularity', Fred Numf's 'Universal Language' or Fluid Recordings 'Fluid' - these all show off the DJ's own particular take on the progressive trance theme in a much better way than this Renaissance mix. There are also other Renaissance discs which are better (eg Dave Seaman), and the Global Underground CD's are in a different league. All in all, this mix lacks credibility and is average only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Renaissance deliver up yet another masterpiece!!, 19 Nov 2001
By 
tomhancock1979@hotmail.com (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Renaissance have continued their tradition of providing quality cutting-edge progressive house for the underground listener. This latest offering provides a masterclass in bassy lines and drifting melodies, bringing together the talents of both Howells and Warren in two mind-blowing CDs. I have stayed faithful to the Renaissance label for years, and while the bewildering choice of compilations currently available can be overwhelming, i can guarantee that this latest collaboration will delight all. Both CDs represent the music you would hear on a Saturday night at its Nottingham residency. The first mix introduces a deep, warm-up set from Howells, keeping it tight and crisp throughout, yet the variety in tracks selected is pure genius....finishing off brilliantly with the energy level rising Nightflight. The 2nd CD is of equal stature, providing a few familiar names, yet delivering heavenly vocals over dark, progressive, uplifting beats. The mix gets ruthless and shows some serious attitude, a complete gem!!! This is such an essential addition to any enthusiastic progressive house collection, and truely stands out in the over-crowded compilation market!! Enjoy it, that's what renaissance albums were made for!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Have a few beers instead, 29 Aug 2002
By A Customer
Generally, I'm well into the whole prog sound as espoused by Global Underground and Renaissance. But, following the excellent previous mixes for Renaissance from Dave Seaman and Deep Dish, this one is a real let down. On their previous outings with Global Underground and Nocturnal Excursions respectively, both Nick Warren and Danny Howells came up with top notch selections and mixes. This time around they've failed to put together anything other than rather forgettable and pedestrian noodlings that barely get the feet tapping. I gave each CD several spins to see if they'd grow on me. Nowt happened, so off I went to the 2nd hand music store. So, if you're looking to buy this CD on the strength of Howells' and Warren's previous stuff, put your dosh back in your wallet/purse and have a few beers instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howells + Warren = First class, 31 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Well, what can be said about the latest Renaissance offering? The first CD (Danny Howells) is really good, probably one of the best mix cds of the year in it's genre, it starts of with the excellent Bent "Always" Ashley Beedle mix and continues to astound all the way through. Uptempo and well mixed. The Nick Warren CD is not as good, containing a few obvious tracks (Dirty, Rapture) but still manages to create a nice vibe. All in all top release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 25 April 2013
By 
Jamie Williams (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought the cd was a bit better than others I have had so was a bit happy.i would probably have more at a later date thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Renaissance: Revelation
Renaissance: Revelation by Nick Warren (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews