Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment at it's best.
Robbie Williams has come so far in such a short space of time. This DVD demonstrates exactly that. How able he is to change roles. The DVD provides a backstage film and scenes of the making of the Swing when you're Winning album. To see him so happy making the album in the recording studio is very emotional, for both him and viewer. The DVD offers excellent...
Published on 7 Dec 2001

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would be very good, but ...
This could have been a great concert with some great numbers from the Rat Pack. RW's voice is good, strong, and in-tune and he carries off these well-known standards with flair and polish. Musically I could not fault him. The band and dancers are really great to work with too. On a big sound system the sound stage is really good and with blu-ray on an LED screen, the...
Published on 4 Mar 2011 by P. C. Cartledge


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment at it's best., 7 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Robbie Williams - Live At The Albert [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Robbie Williams has come so far in such a short space of time. This DVD demonstrates exactly that. How able he is to change roles. The DVD provides a backstage film and scenes of the making of the Swing when you're Winning album. To see him so happy making the album in the recording studio is very emotional, for both him and viewer. The DVD offers excellent entertainment for all Robbie fans and those who perhaps don't follow him quite so avidly! He sings all of the songs to an excellent standard along with his special guests, particularly the duets with Jane Horrocks and Johnathan Wilkes. Superb, go buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***** THE EGO HAS LANDED *****, 19 Dec 2002
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robbie Williams - Live At The Albert [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
The rat pack's cool image made something of a comeback in 2002 with Stephen Soderbergh's remake of Ocean's Eleven, although it seems that for Mr Robbie Williams, in his 2001 concert Live at the Albert, the rat pack sense of style never went out of fashion.
Live At The Albert is primarily a showcase for Robbie's multi million selling Swing When You're Winning, an astonishing album of vintage classics from the '50s swing era, originally sung by Robbie's heroes, namely, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jnr and of course, the legendary Frank Sinatra. Live At The Albert features several live duets including "Well, Did You Evah?" with Jon Lovitz and thanks to the miracle of modern technology, a duet with the late great Frank Sinatra himself. Live At the Albert is a young man fulfilling a childhood dream; wearing a tux, backed by an old style big band and playing to an adoring (sold out) audience at London's famous Royal Albert Hall, with his mom in the front row.
The first time I watched Robbie Williams live concert at London's Royal Albert Hall, on a Saturday evening last November, I was so impressed I went straight online at Amazon to review his debut U.S. release The Ego Has Landed. "The Ego Has Landed" refers to Robbie's often brash public statements about himself, which (if taken at face value) suggest that he is a bit of an ego-maniac. However, despite much of his rhetoric, Robbie Williams has in the past turned to both booze and drugs to conquer his fears and self-doubt. Thankfully he survived both or we would have been deprived of the world's greatest showman. For in a pop world inhabitated by characterless pre-packaged record company girl and boybands and goody two shoes solo-singers (a la Ricky Martin and Britney Spears) Robbie Williams is something of a rarity; the genuine article, a complete showman with a checkered past and a very bright future, having recently signed a British record deal with EMI worth a cool 80 million (approx $110 million), to deliver four more albums.
Robbie Williams formerly of Boy band Take That graduated to the forefront of the British music scene with his single "Angels" and has never looked back since. Several number ones and many many hits later he is not only established as a credible singer/songwriter, he is quite simply Britain's biggest and brightest star. Robbie Williams makes fantastic, original and very funny videos (Rock DJ, She's The One, Millenium and A Love Supreme for example) and regularly plays to sold out stadiums around the world and the only two nuts he still has to crack are America and the movies.
But why is America still cynical? A lack of airplay in America? A lack of record company publicity? I don't know. All I know is that, in my opinion, he is the greatest showman to have graced a music stage since the late great Freddie Mercury. He is so good live that he has played at several festivals on the same bill as Indie bands such as the Prodigy, and stolen the show from them, in front of what would traditionally be hostile audiences for a pop performer. Live tickets for Robbie Williams shows are like gold dust in every place bar North America, such is his reputation for putting on a great live show. If you don't believe the hype then you need to watch Live at the Albert and be converted. Robbie Williams has got a great sense of humour, a great sense of style and a great deal of class and frankly America, you don't know what you are missing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Just one of those nights", 6 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Robbie Williams - Live At The Albert [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Every musical phase that we go through throws up a star like Elvis Costello in the punk era or Sting from the eighties that outlasts and outshines his musical generation. The key to this longevity is the ability to change , to grow to expand. Robbie is one such rare artist no one (not even Robbie) said he was as good as Sinatra. But my God this DVD is like a refreshing bolt from the blue. A true entertainer, and talent that hopefully will continue to grow Buy it..... expand your mind, when it has it will never quite shrink back to the same size again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indeed what a night!, 15 Sep 2002
This review is from: Robbie Williams - Live At The Albert [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Robbie Williams needs no introduction and if he does, it should be more than a couple paragraphs from Rupert Everett at the opening of his concert at the Albert. Robbie's performances are almost flawless, although I would rather have Jane Horrocks performed more than just echoing to Robbie. My favourites are: "Have you met Miss Jones", "Ain't That a Kick in The Head," "Mr. Bojangles," and "My way" . Throughout, the concert proves what a great singer/entertainer he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So you thought Robbie couldn't sing??, 1 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Robbie Williams - Live At The Albert [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This DVD is brilliant. Robbie has a great voice, the songs are classics and the guest stars great. I originally only saw the end of the show on TV but I had to buy this and I wasn't disappointed. It was hard not to get a lump in your throat when Robbie showed the Frank Sinatra footage and when he finished with 'My Way'. Buy the DVD and buy the album, its his best so far.
The boy's done good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would be very good, but ..., 4 Mar 2011
By 
P. C. Cartledge (Shropshire, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This could have been a great concert with some great numbers from the Rat Pack. RW's voice is good, strong, and in-tune and he carries off these well-known standards with flair and polish. Musically I could not fault him. The band and dancers are really great to work with too. On a big sound system the sound stage is really good and with blu-ray on an LED screen, the effect is almost like being there at the Albert Hall.

All of this could have warranted five stars. But, I personally don't like the regular use of the 'F' word he uses between numbers. Why also the need to light up and smoke a cigerette on stage at one point? Neither adds anything to his performance and just insults the audience. These things, plus a couple of crude remarks about his supporting female dancers bring it down to three stars in my book.

I don't think that one would have seen or heard Messers Sinatra, Martin and Davis doing any of these things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, great DVD, 8 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Robbie Williams - Live At The Albert [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I loved the show, it is well captured on this DVD! Robbie Williams is in excellent shape. The only thing missing is the videoclip to "Somethin' stupid" with Nicole Kidman. That would have been great to have it included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Robbie!, 26 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Robbie Williams - Live At The Albert [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Robbie at his crooning best....if u aren't already a Robbie fan then you soon will be. Robbie is on top form, a great watch for christmas day because even your gran will love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great show from a great show man, 28 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Robbie Williams - Live At The Albert [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Who would ever have thought that the fat bloke who spent most of his time in the back of Take That would turn into one of the country's best all-round entertainers.
This DVD Live at the Albert hall finds Robbie singing covers of some of the greatest songs that have ever been written and have been sung in the past by some of the best singers who have ever walked on this earth.
THe best tracks on this DVD are Me and My Shadow sang along with Jonathan Wilkes, Things with Jane Horrocks and Have you met Miss Jones?
Not to be missed however is Rupert Everett in his role as compere. He is absolutely hilarious!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - Like being there!!, 29 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Robbie Williams - Live At The Albert [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I went to Royal Albert Hall and saw this live - the DVD captures it so well. In fact in some ways it's even better then the real thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robbie Williams - Live At The Albert [DVD] [2001]
10.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews