Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the favourite list!
This is an outstanding game. Having played and completed tens of Role Playing Games, this stands out as perhaps the most engaging and addictive of them all.
What is it that you like about RPGs? Do you like the unfolding storyline? Do you like the type of game in which the environment is interactive? Do you like challenging fights? A landscape to explore? The ability...
Published on 7 Oct 2003

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing first chapter, downhill from there
I started this game and was frankly gobsmacked - beautiful and astonishingly well designed world that gives the illusion of being much larger than it is, yet without any wasted space.
The gameplay also starts out very open-ended and free-form - you get to explore and talk to everyone and find quests to do and choose which of the camps you join, a process that takes a...
Published on 30 April 2002 by Sam Graham


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the favourite list!, 7 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gothic (Video Game)
This is an outstanding game. Having played and completed tens of Role Playing Games, this stands out as perhaps the most engaging and addictive of them all.
What is it that you like about RPGs? Do you like the unfolding storyline? Do you like the type of game in which the environment is interactive? Do you like challenging fights? A landscape to explore? The ability to build your character's skills and weaponry? - This game has the lot.
Needless to say, I recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing first chapter, downhill from there, 30 April 2002
This review is from: Gothic (Video Game)
I started this game and was frankly gobsmacked - beautiful and astonishingly well designed world that gives the illusion of being much larger than it is, yet without any wasted space.
The gameplay also starts out very open-ended and free-form - you get to explore and talk to everyone and find quests to do and choose which of the camps you join, a process that takes a very long time.
Sadly, once you've done that the plot becomes completely linear regardless of which faction you chose to join, and by the time you reach the end of the game you're bored with it - it starts out as a wonderful RPG/Adventure with a multitude of branching choices and consequences; and after the first chapter descends into simply a beat-em up with no choices in how to progress the plot.
I'd easily rate the starting chapter of the game a 5 star, and the game after that is a 1 or 2 star. The engine and the outside "level" design is fantastic and gets a 5 too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 20 April 2002
By 
This review is from: Gothic (Video Game)
Gothic is the best RPG I have played in several years. Only game I can remember that tops this is Wasteland (Commodore 64, 1987 or 1988..). Gigantic, beautifully drawn world, complete with rivers, cities, dungeons, forests, mountains, mines, waterfalls, shipwrecks, you name it! And it's all explorable and free! You can spend hundreds of hours just walking around admiring the scenery. There's also hundreds of NPC's that you can talk to, fight with, share a meal with, whatever. And of course, experience, weapons, magic, spells and skills.. The controls are a bit unusual to start with but after an hour or so they're actually more fluid than any ordinary FPS or RPG! Just buy it. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the favourite list!, 7 Oct 2003
This review is from: Gothic (Video Game)
This is an outstanding game. Having played and completed tens of Role Playing Games, this stands out as perhaps the most engaging and addictive of them all.
What is it that you like about RPGs? Do you like the unfolding storyline? Do you like the type of game in which the environment is interactive? Do you like challenging fights? A landscape to explore? The ability to build your character's skills and weaponry? - This game has the lot.
Needless to say, I recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beutifully Flawed, 1 Sep 2006
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gothic (Video Game)
Gothic is one of the better RPG's out there in my opinion. It has hours of gameplay (20+), good graphics (for the time at least) and an appealing story (with orcs no less)A nice original touch also sees you spending experience points by talking to people and having them upgrade your skills. However the plot is quite liniar despite the fact you can join one of three factions. The control system is pretty dreadful too. No mouse clicking in this one folks!

Also important to say that Gothic has to be one of the most buggy, glitched games I have EVER played! NPC AI is terrible and a number of bugs can halt the games progression. The game testers should be shot! Thank heaven for patches...

Anyway there is much to like about Gothic, flaws aside. A good fantasy RPG with bags of gameplay hours, a decent plot and strong character development. Hence 3/5. Buy it if its cheap :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 20 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gothic (Video Game)
This game blows my mind! I've never played a game with such a fantastic world to involve myself in. I've spent literally days just wandering around, exploring the landscape and talking to people! It's huge, it's addictive and it's quite a difficult nut to break. The controls are quite unusual, but if anyone would let CONTROLS stop them from playing this fantastic game, they'd be morons. I absolutely love it! I really hope there's gonna be a Gothic 2..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great but flawed, 10 May 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gothic (Video Game)
After hearing a lot about this game I finally got round to playing it and I've got to say I was impressed. It has everything you could want from an RPG and a bit more. True it might not be up there with the likes of the Elder Scrolls series, but it's not that far off.

Plot: The kingdom of Myrtana is at war with the orcs. The kingdom has defeated every other enemy in its way and only the orcs are left. However, the kingdom is running low on both men and weapons. The answer to this is a special mine that contains a magical ore that can create unbreakable weapons.

To fuel this mining colony, ever prisoner no matter how small the crime is sent there. However, the mining conditions are poor and a lot of prisoners keep escaping. In order to prevent this, the kind sent his most powerful mages to rectify the problem. There solution was to create a huge barrier surrounding the mining colony that would let new prisoners in but none out. As you can probably guess, this is where it went wrong. The mages spell malfunctioned and trapped not only the mages within but a huge area of land compared to what was planned.

The prisoners decided this could be worked to their advantage and decided to do a deal with the king. For the ore the king so desperately wants, he has to give anything they want in return.

You begin the game as a newly convicted prisoner who is sent through the barrier to work in the mining colony. You are tasked with taking a letter handed to you before you went through the barrier to the head of the fire mages. When you have done this, it's a matter of levelling up and exploring with the goal to choose one of the three camps that have established themselves since the barrier was created.

Once you have chose the camp you want as your own, you then have to help them further their own goals for most of the rest of the game until something sinister is unearthed.

It's an open world RPG which means that there is no set path to do anything. You can do whatever you like whenever you like within a little. There are goals within the game to achieve to further the story but most of the time you can do your own thing.

Graphics: They've aged quite well in my opinion. When your down on the ground fighting, everything looks a bit clunky but when say your stood up on a hill gazing at the scenery surrounding you, it's just as much of a wow moment as it would have been when it first came out.

Sound: I liked the way that each character actually had a voice instead of the endless noiseless dialogue present in most games like this. True some sounded the same but seeing the effort was even made at all makes it have thumbs up in my eyes. The music accompanying the game throughout was also enjoyable. Sometimes during games I end up turning the music down as it can become quite monotonous but I never once thought of doing so for this. It changes depending where you are helping to set the mood well.

Controls: Found that it was lacking in this department. You hardly use the mouse relying completely on the keyboard buttons which for a PC game is rather annoying as to me the two come as a pair. It doesn't take too much away from the game but if included would have made the game a lot less frustrating to play.
Lifespan: Took me just under 30 hours to complete doing pretty much all there is to do storyline wise. You could add another 5-10 hours on top of that if you wanted to explore everywhere that was available on the map.

I wouldn't say it has a huge replayability. You can change what faction you chose at the beginning but after you've done that and completed the quests they offer, the other parts of the game are the same no matter which faction you choose.

Overall: A flawed classic. Although from the review, you can probably tell I really enjoyed it, it has to be one of the buggiest games I've ever played. Even after internet search after internet search, I couldn't get it working as well as it should. It kept crashing every half hour or so from one thing or another. So when it's working it's great but getting it working is the hard thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, great game !, 29 Oct 2003
This review is from: Gothic (Video Game)
This is a truly involving action-RPG - beautiful landscapes, free roaming gameplay, a plethora of beasts and NPCs, and many tasks to complete.
Make sure you put plenty of time aside if you decide to take this game on cos it's HUGE and requires a lot of attention and patience, and a little bit of thought...but then I've always felt these are the most rewarding type of games in the long run.
A delight for fans of sword'n'sorcery and all in REAL TIME !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars is this it?, 11 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gothic (Video Game)
after a lot of hype, the game was purchased and... it looked amazing. and that's where the dream ended. poor control method, slow story line, and a REALLY poor control method. good if you like to have to look at the book to see what does what every 5 minutes, for all other RPG fans, wait for neverwinter and icewind dale2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gothic is a fantastic game!, 1 Dec 2001
This review is from: Gothic (Video Game)
The wrld of Gothic is very large and there are intelligent monsters for you to kill. The graphics
and the sounds are great and you should buy this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gothic
Gothic by THQ (Windows 95 / 98)
Used & New from: £1.57
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews