Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class stuff from the Glasgow duo
Talk about a low key release. I didnt realise this album was out till i stumbled across it on this site. In Ireland it is getting no airplay at all but it should be. This in an excellent album. It reminds of earlier stuff in the mould of New gold dream with a more updated sound. All songs are crackers especially my favourite Lazy lately. The second last isnt the best...
Published on 10 Jun 2002

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cry Again
A first reaction was 'who is that?' as the opening track like one or two others sounds nothing like JK. Charlie is all the more conspicuous by his absence. 'Cry' is actually a rather pleasant mostly electronically produced album musically speaking and on checking the credits found that Charlie is only credited on two tracks.

I've mixed feelings about this album...
Published on 15 Aug 2006 by Susan Dean


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cry Again, 15 Aug 2006
By 
Susan Dean "music lover" (Co Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cry - Simple Minds (Audio CD)
A first reaction was 'who is that?' as the opening track like one or two others sounds nothing like JK. Charlie is all the more conspicuous by his absence. 'Cry' is actually a rather pleasant mostly electronically produced album musically speaking and on checking the credits found that Charlie is only credited on two tracks.

I've mixed feelings about this album which matches the mix of tracks. I enjoyed tracks like 'New Sunshine Morning' and 'One Step Closer' and loved the moody 'Cry Again' like early morning blues and greys a sharp contrast to the upbeat 'Cry'and found 'Face in the Sun' lacked conviction as most artistes do when singing other people's material.I'm afraid this album won't go down on my list of favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing mixed bag, 27 Aug 2008
This review is from: Cry - Simple Minds (Audio CD)
After a long 4 year wait for new material after the poor Néapolis, Simple Minds returned with Cry. This although more refreshing than Néapolis, was just as disappointing however. They had recruited other writers to help, and so much so borrowed music, or let others do entire tracks too. The whole project was different to the way they had gone about making a new album, with a lack of togetherness on this project, and this shows all too well! At least they broke out of the lazy 9 track syndrome, but over used the sound gadget boxes to make over long intros, and poor sounding songs musically. The writing is of a poor standard too, complete with dodgy album cover. Jim's voice has never sounded so bad. The tracks I do enjoy are Spaceface, Sleeping Girl and Slave Nation...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class stuff from the Glasgow duo, 10 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cry - Simple Minds (Audio CD)
Talk about a low key release. I didnt realise this album was out till i stumbled across it on this site. In Ireland it is getting no airplay at all but it should be. This in an excellent album. It reminds of earlier stuff in the mould of New gold dream with a more updated sound. All songs are crackers especially my favourite Lazy lately. The second last isnt the best but i enjoyed the last song. Its a real nightclub floor filler, not really a simple minds standard. Other standouts are Spaceface, one step closer and Cry. Also liked the acoustic song Face in the sun. I must say i enjoyed the album Real life, i thought there was a lot of good songs but this is even better. If you are a Simle minds fan of old, throw back the years and purchase this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it now!, 23 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cry - Simple Minds (Audio CD)
this album is excellent, anyone who has enjoyed simple minds in the past will love this. top tracks include new sunshine morning, lazy lately and sleeping girl, although all the tracks are great except the last 2 (one of them being a techno instrumental) but with 10 other belters on the album who cares. there are a lot of cool keyboard sounds here but there are still a lot of guitar sounds as well.
this is much better than their last 2 albums, a definite return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant return to form for Simple Minds., 4 April 2002
By 
K. Ellington "Ken Ellington" (North Shields) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cry - Simple Minds (Audio CD)
This album marks a brilliant return to form by Simple Minds after the disappointing Neapolis. Cry returns to a heavier sound, with strong, distictive keyboard work in particular. Standout tracks include One Step Closer, Sugar and Sleeping Girl which are right up there with the very best Simple Minds songs. This album is a real pleasure, and is in the same league as Good News From The Next World, it is that good. Buy it. Today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long drive music, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. Bridget M. Watts (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry - Simple Minds (Audio CD)
I hadn't listened to 'Cry' for a decade - but on a long journey in the car I listened to it twice straight through.
Seems to be the story of a great love - a proper essay in the way an album used to be, a one way listen.
In the wonderful line of Simple Minds albums it has a stand alone feel - intimate and small - I am really pleased to once again have a copy to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry - Simple Minds (Audio CD)
As a long standing fan of Simple Minds I found the CD as good as anything I have heard from the band in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CRY.....You'll be crying for more....., 6 Oct 2002
By 
Sam the Simple Minds nut. (Meriden, England (YEAH !!!!)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cry - Simple Minds (Audio CD)
I am chuffed to have bought this gem. It is their best album for a couple of years. I did like Neapolis, but this is even better. The mix of keyboard, guitar, bass and anthemic melodies have you listening to it for hours. Im listening to it as I write this. Sod the eardrums !!!!
The best tracks for me are One Step Closer, Disconnected and Sleeping Girl. As a Simple Minds fan, this only proved how diverse and multi faceted and talented Jim, Charlie et al really are. Im proud to be a fan.
Its a lesser known gem, get some airplay, give it the praise it deserves !!!! Come on Radio 1, open your ears !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Minders Keepers, 27 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Cry - Simple Minds (Audio CD)
After the fantastic Real Life album, my interest in the Minds dropped of the radar after 'Good News' and stayed firmly that way until the triumphant return to form of Black & White 050505. So, with the love rekindled,it was only a matter of time before my curiosity turned to Cry. On first listen, my suspicions seemed to be correct - an album that seemed to lack focus and tunes and that was continuing along the same unfortunate road as Neapolis. But, after listen number 3 something odd happened - I was hooked. This album does feel different - there's a notable absence of Charlie in much of the writing and a rawer treatment to Jims vocals, but once you adjust to that, there are some great tracks hidden in here. 'Disconnected' is sublime electro pop, 'One Step Closer' has undertones of classic Minds chorus hooks and 'Cry Again' is simply beautiful. Interesting thing for me, Simple Minds have always been my autumn band, like a warm familiar blanket on a cold night. This album has a distinctly lighter sound and for me is a summer album. Give this album a chance, I was the biggest doubter ever but have been pleasantly surprised. Let's hope there's more in them to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry - Simple Minds (Audio CD)
Great cd by one of the GREATEST BANDS .Seen them live at Alnwick Castle in July 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cry - Simple Minds
Cry - Simple Minds by Simple Minds (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews